Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Coleman Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

The Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler keeps up to 98 cans cold for up to five days, even in temperatures as hot as 90 degrees F. With environmentally friendly ThermOZONE insulation, this Coleman Xtreme cooler allows you to keep your drinks cold. Featuring a hinged lid with four built-in beverage holders, this Coleman 70-quart cooler also has two-way handles for easy lifting, allowing you to take it where it is needed. This Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme cooler also features a channel drain for no-tilt draining of liquids, making it simple to keep clean. The Xtreme cooler lid accommodates 24" elastic cords for additional storage. Please note the cords are not included with this cooler.
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(286 Reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
206
4 stars
59
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation94%268 out of 286reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 96 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
206
4 stars
59
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Xtreme Mash Tun

10/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooler was purchased to make a mash tun for 10 gallon home brew batches.
The size is perfect and it holds temperature flawlessly for 90+ minute mashes.
The only down side is that the drain hole was a little larger than I would have liked it to be once the plug was removed. I used some o-rings to help center the nipple though.
The plug simply screws right out, but the resulting hole is a bit large for a 1/2" pipe nipple.
Also, the cooler wall is right at 3/4" thick, so you will have to use a 2" (or larger) nipple to attach the manifold to the ball valve. The 1.5" nipple that is offered with standard cooler conversion kits is too short.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Excellent Mast Tun Cooler

07/14/2011
By ,
Indianapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler to convert into a mash tun because I am a home brewer. This was shipped to my door for less than $40, so the value can't be beat. I really liked the drain channel in this, which means you can drain more wort out of the mash. The conversion was pretty simple. I used 3 SS washers, two zinc washers, a 1/2" ball valve, a 1/2" male hose barb, a 1/2" female hose barb, a 2" x 1/2" brass nipple, a 20" toilet supply line, a 1/4" brass plug and a couple of SS hose clamps. I brewed with this last weekend and didn't lose one degree, so it insulates heat very well. I can see what everyone else is saying with the handles and hinges. I'm not using it and lifiting it full of stuff, so i'm not worried about the handles breaking while i'm carrying stuff in it. I will still probably replace the handles with rope though. The hinges we'll just have to wait and see. If they break, i'll replace them with metal ones.
With all that said, I gave this a 5 star because it does exactly what I need it to do at a great price. If you are going to be making a mash tun and you are batch sparging, do yourself a favor and buy this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

coleman cooler

04/11/2011
By ,
gastonia, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. It keeps ice for the entire weekend. I am an Assistant Scoutmaster and I have ordered 5 of these for my troop. They all held together in a recent storm during Camporee.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best Cooler I ever had

08/19/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a coleman x-treme 70 quart cooler at Walmart recently. It was marked down to $30.
We went on a little trip this week and I put 2 one gallon jugs of ice and 3 of those little square blue refreezable ice pack things you buy at walmarts in it along with our drinks and some meat and stuff for sandwiches. That was on Sunday morning. Sunday evening, I put a 10 pound bag of cubed ice in it and we used a lot of of that ice during the trip to put in our drink cups. Monday morning, I put about 5 pounds of ice from the hotel ice machine in it. We got back on Tuesday and it sat in my hot car all day Wednesday. Outside temperatures were in the high 90's and probably well over 125 in the car. I went out this morning (Thursday) thinking I would have to throw away any leftover food, but there was still ice in the cooler. The gallon jugs were about half melted and there was still a little of the cubed ice left. If you want a cooler that will hold ice, you need to get one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Buy this cooler

07/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I packed this for a 4-day camping trip. Loaded it up with food and drinks, threw some cube ice on top. Ice had not melted in 4 days. For real. All my friends' coolers were filled with water.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

good cooler for price

07/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband does construction work and keeps this cooler in the truck. It has not keep the ice for 5 days but it has keep it 2-3 days. Seeing it stays in the truck in mid to upper 90 degree weather with no shade I don't expect ice to last 5 days. My husband is happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best price and quality.

07/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good price offered by Walmart and a very good product by Coleman. I have 7 of these I use for my business. It does an excellent job of keeping my foods frozen for several hours without ice.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great Cooler

07/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice cooler, great price, quick shipping
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler

07/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seals well, keeps cold for long period of time. Drains easily. Holds enough food n drinks for 12 people
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Too narrow on the inside.

07/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had bought a Coleman 70 quart cooler at Walmart and I assumed this was the same cooler. The one I bought at the store was about an inch and a half wider the this cooler which is also a 70 quart cooler. We carry a lot of milk when we camp, so I like to put a row of gallon ice jugs in a row with a row of 4 milk jugs next to the ice. This cooler is too narrow to fit the ice and milk this way. This is a poor design and it is confusing having two Coleman 70 quart coolers that are different like this.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best cooler for the money

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler, when fllowing the directions, kept everything cold during our last 5 day camping trip. I put pre cooled objects only into the cooler. Covered everything with two 7lb bags of ice and did not drain the cooler at any time. The cooler was kept in the shade and the average daily temps were in the mid 80's. The water in the cooler was still cold enough to give me a "Frozen Hand" feeling when unpacking it. Thanks Coleman for a great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler

07/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stays cold for a very long time. Kept ice and food cold for nearly a week in 80-90 degree temps.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best cooler I've ever had!

08/06/2007
By ,
Amarillo Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical when I ordered this cooler. A cooler is just a cooler right! I was looking mainly looking for that size +/-. But the clams and price sold me. I use it daily to take drinks to the job site for my crew in the summer in Amarillo Tx (mid to high 90's and dry) and it works great. I keep mine shaded in the back of my Pathfinder and I don't have to top it off with ice either, just three 7 pound ice bags. After the cooler and drinks cool down the first few hours or so the rest of the week is easy street. By Friday the ice is almost all melted, but the water is still ice cold. I don't add any more ice unless I add alot more new drinks to the cooler at mid week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Good price, Great cooler

07/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this cooler. Insulated walls should keep it from melting the ice.... if we ever get a real summer. I've used it on warmer days and it does the job. Nice size and very sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

$ GREAT COOLER $

08/12/2009
By ,
Hawthorne, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this cooler for a week long camp-out and it worked great. You should pre-cool all items before you put them in the cooler. I put in 3 blocks of ice, my beer and food, then put cubed ice over the top of everything. Always keep your cooler in the shade as I did and it kept my stuff ice cold for 6 days. After I got home I took my food and beer out and put in the fridge ( no spoilage ) I then put the cooler on the back porch and 2 more days went by and still had ice ( 8 days total ) I highly recommend this ice chest for long camp-outs where you are very remote and cant get more ice. Thanks Coleman and Wal-mart for a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Just right!

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what we wanted. Right size, Easy to lift. Stays cold. It is used weekly!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler, good value

01/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler for my parents. They go camping often and love this cooler. Dad's already used it on several occasions.
They had initial concern about the lack of a latch, but I bought this cooler because the plastic latch on their other cooler broke. However, the lid stays closed and it keeps stuff cold.
I also chose this cooler because it had no wheels. The lack of wheels offers extra room inside, preventing my parents from having to lug another smaller cooler on their trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler worked fantastic for me, keeps ice frozen for a cpl days. Worth the price, last cooler you will have to buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

nice cooler

07/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

great deal

07/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what a great deal!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 251 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next