Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Coleman Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

The Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler keeps up to 98 cans cold for up to five days, even in temperatures as hot as 90 degrees F. With environmentally friendly ThermOZONE insulation, this Coleman Xtreme cooler allows you to keep your drinks cold. Featuring a hinged lid with four built-in beverage holders, this Coleman 70-quart cooler also has two-way handles for easy lifting, allowing you to take it where it is needed. This Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme cooler also features a channel drain for no-tilt draining of liquids, making it simple to keep clean. The Xtreme cooler lid accommodates 24" elastic cords for additional storage. Please note the cords are not included with this cooler.
Average Customer Rating:
4.553 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(275 Reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
58
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation94%258 out of 275reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 95 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
196
4 stars
58
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Xtreme Mash Tun

10/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooler was purchased to make a mash tun for 10 gallon home brew batches.
The size is perfect and it holds temperature flawlessly for 90+ minute mashes.
The only down side is that the drain hole was a little larger than I would have liked it to be once the plug was removed. I used some o-rings to help center the nipple though.
The plug simply screws right out, but the resulting hole is a bit large for a 1/2" pipe nipple.
Also, the cooler wall is right at 3/4" thick, so you will have to use a 2" (or larger) nipple to attach the manifold to the ball valve. The 1.5" nipple that is offered with standard cooler conversion kits is too short.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Excellent Mast Tun Cooler

07/14/2011
By ,
Indianapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler to convert into a mash tun because I am a home brewer. This was shipped to my door for less than $40, so the value can't be beat. I really liked the drain channel in this, which means you can drain more wort out of the mash. The conversion was pretty simple. I used 3 SS washers, two zinc washers, a 1/2" ball valve, a 1/2" male hose barb, a 1/2" female hose barb, a 2" x 1/2" brass nipple, a 20" toilet supply line, a 1/4" brass plug and a couple of SS hose clamps. I brewed with this last weekend and didn't lose one degree, so it insulates heat very well. I can see what everyone else is saying with the handles and hinges. I'm not using it and lifiting it full of stuff, so i'm not worried about the handles breaking while i'm carrying stuff in it. I will still probably replace the handles with rope though. The hinges we'll just have to wait and see. If they break, i'll replace them with metal ones.
With all that said, I gave this a 5 star because it does exactly what I need it to do at a great price. If you are going to be making a mash tun and you are batch sparging, do yourself a favor and buy this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

coleman cooler

04/11/2011
By ,
gastonia, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. It keeps ice for the entire weekend. I am an Assistant Scoutmaster and I have ordered 5 of these for my troop. They all held together in a recent storm during Camporee.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best Cooler I ever had

08/19/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a coleman x-treme 70 quart cooler at Walmart recently. It was marked down to $30.
We went on a little trip this week and I put 2 one gallon jugs of ice and 3 of those little square blue refreezable ice pack things you buy at walmarts in it along with our drinks and some meat and stuff for sandwiches. That was on Sunday morning. Sunday evening, I put a 10 pound bag of cubed ice in it and we used a lot of of that ice during the trip to put in our drink cups. Monday morning, I put about 5 pounds of ice from the hotel ice machine in it. We got back on Tuesday and it sat in my hot car all day Wednesday. Outside temperatures were in the high 90's and probably well over 125 in the car. I went out this morning (Thursday) thinking I would have to throw away any leftover food, but there was still ice in the cooler. The gallon jugs were about half melted and there was still a little of the cubed ice left. If you want a cooler that will hold ice, you need to get one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Just right!

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what we wanted. Right size, Easy to lift. Stays cold. It is used weekly!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best cooler for the money

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler, when fllowing the directions, kept everything cold during our last 5 day camping trip. I put pre cooled objects only into the cooler. Covered everything with two 7lb bags of ice and did not drain the cooler at any time. The cooler was kept in the shade and the average daily temps were in the mid 80's. The water in the cooler was still cold enough to give me a "Frozen Hand" feeling when unpacking it. Thanks Coleman for a great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best cooler I've ever had!

08/06/2007
By ,
Amarillo Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical when I ordered this cooler. A cooler is just a cooler right! I was looking mainly looking for that size +/-. But the clams and price sold me. I use it daily to take drinks to the job site for my crew in the summer in Amarillo Tx (mid to high 90's and dry) and it works great. I keep mine shaded in the back of my Pathfinder and I don't have to top it off with ice either, just three 7 pound ice bags. After the cooler and drinks cool down the first few hours or so the rest of the week is easy street. By Friday the ice is almost all melted, but the water is still ice cold. I don't add any more ice unless I add alot more new drinks to the cooler at mid week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

$ GREAT COOLER $

08/12/2009
By ,
Hawthorne, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this cooler for a week long camp-out and it worked great. You should pre-cool all items before you put them in the cooler. I put in 3 blocks of ice, my beer and food, then put cubed ice over the top of everything. Always keep your cooler in the shade as I did and it kept my stuff ice cold for 6 days. After I got home I took my food and beer out and put in the fridge ( no spoilage ) I then put the cooler on the back porch and 2 more days went by and still had ice ( 8 days total ) I highly recommend this ice chest for long camp-outs where you are very remote and cant get more ice. Thanks Coleman and Wal-mart for a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great Cooler

06/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler keeps things cold for days even in the heat.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

coleman 70qt exteme cooler

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked excellent!.. went on a 3 day float trip. put in two blocks of ice and topped with small ice.... we still had block ice after we got off the river!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great large cooler

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to take 20 pounds of ice it's wonderful
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

NICE Tight LID ! This cooler won't loose ITS cool!

06/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler is a great size, and holds the cold IN very well. The very tight lid with hinges is quite secure - somewhat to the point of needing TWO hands to open. That lid won't blow off in the back of a vehicle ! Holds loads of food, Fish, drinks, ice - VERY roomy -
Love the drink holders on the outside of the lid - very convenient !
Yeppers ! I would recommend this !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler, good value

01/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler for my parents. They go camping often and love this cooler. Dad's already used it on several occasions.
They had initial concern about the lack of a latch, but I bought this cooler because the plastic latch on their other cooler broke. However, the lid stays closed and it keeps stuff cold.
I also chose this cooler because it had no wheels. The lack of wheels offers extra room inside, preventing my parents from having to lug another smaller cooler on their trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Disappointed...

06/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading rave reviews, I had high expectations for this cooler. Took it on a recent camping trip and by morning, the ice was all water- in less than 24 hours! My "non-extreme" cooler held ice much better than this. Waste of money, it's going in the garage to sit...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great little cooler

06/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a shelf and a divider for this cooler, you can use any commercial food pan either 1/2 or 1/3 size. I used a plastic cutting board and trimmed it to the needed size for the divider slot built into the inside of the cooler.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler, questionable handles

06/02/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cooler was larger than my old cooler and held everything cold. The handles felt like it was about to break when the cooler was fully packed. They may want to improve the handles for future designs. Overall, it does it's job.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Keeping it Cool

06/16/2014
By ,
Burbank, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this to replace a 20-year old Coleman Marine Cooler. This did an amazing job! I always freeze a partially filled 1-gallon water bottle for an ice block. We went on a 6 night trip to the Easter Sierras and I loaded the ice block + 30 lbs of ice into the chest the night before we left. The regular ice froze together! I did not need to add any ice until Wednesday qwhich is great and even more amazing was the fact that when we were away from camp, I stored the cooler in our sites metal "Bear Box" with sunny weather conditions and temps in the mid - 60s to low 70s. Could not be happier with this cooler and it is made in the USA!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Good price

06/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Keeps things cold for an extended period of time. When the ice does melt, starts leaking from the drain. :( Purchased on "deal of the day" and got for a very good price. Would purchase again at the same price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

chillin

06/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have always used coleman coolers for camping. The extreme cold is the best. Look to see if it has 5 day ice it does make a difference. This cooler lived up to the name. The lid fits tight and snug.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Coleman 70 Quart Xtreme Cooler

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the cooler faster than expected and I am very pleased with it. It is very roomy and the ice lasted for an entire long 3 day weekend. It seems very sturdy and I like how the lid locks down tight. I am overall happy with this purchase
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 240 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next