Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Coleman Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

The Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler keeps up to 98 cans cold for up to five days, even in temperatures as hot as 90 degrees F. With environmentally friendly ThermOZONE insulation, this Coleman Xtreme cooler allows you to keep your drinks cold. Featuring a hinged lid with four built-in beverage holders, this Coleman 70-quart cooler also has two-way handles for easy lifting, allowing you to take it where it is needed. This Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme cooler also features a channel drain for no-tilt draining of liquids, making it simple to keep clean. The Xtreme cooler lid accommodates 24" elastic cords for additional storage. Please note the cords are not included with this cooler.
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(238 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
54
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation95%225 out of 238reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 94 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
54
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Xtreme Mash Tun

10/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooler was purchased to make a mash tun for 10 gallon home brew batches.
The size is perfect and it holds temperature flawlessly for 90+ minute mashes.
The only down side is that the drain hole was a little larger than I would have liked it to be once the plug was removed. I used some o-rings to help center the nipple though.
The plug simply screws right out, but the resulting hole is a bit large for a 1/2" pipe nipple.
Also, the cooler wall is right at 3/4" thick, so you will have to use a 2" (or larger) nipple to attach the manifold to the ball valve. The 1.5" nipple that is offered with standard cooler conversion kits is too short.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Excellent Mast Tun Cooler

07/14/2011
By ,
Indianapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler to convert into a mash tun because I am a home brewer. This was shipped to my door for less than $40, so the value can't be beat. I really liked the drain channel in this, which means you can drain more wort out of the mash. The conversion was pretty simple. I used 3 SS washers, two zinc washers, a 1/2" ball valve, a 1/2" male hose barb, a 1/2" female hose barb, a 2" x 1/2" brass nipple, a 20" toilet supply line, a 1/4" brass plug and a couple of SS hose clamps. I brewed with this last weekend and didn't lose one degree, so it insulates heat very well. I can see what everyone else is saying with the handles and hinges. I'm not using it and lifiting it full of stuff, so i'm not worried about the handles breaking while i'm carrying stuff in it. I will still probably replace the handles with rope though. The hinges we'll just have to wait and see. If they break, i'll replace them with metal ones.
With all that said, I gave this a 5 star because it does exactly what I need it to do at a great price. If you are going to be making a mash tun and you are batch sparging, do yourself a favor and buy this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

coleman cooler

04/11/2011
By ,
gastonia, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. It keeps ice for the entire weekend. I am an Assistant Scoutmaster and I have ordered 5 of these for my troop. They all held together in a recent storm during Camporee.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best Cooler I ever had

08/19/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a coleman x-treme 70 quart cooler at Walmart recently. It was marked down to $30.
We went on a little trip this week and I put 2 one gallon jugs of ice and 3 of those little square blue refreezable ice pack things you buy at walmarts in it along with our drinks and some meat and stuff for sandwiches. That was on Sunday morning. Sunday evening, I put a 10 pound bag of cubed ice in it and we used a lot of of that ice during the trip to put in our drink cups. Monday morning, I put about 5 pounds of ice from the hotel ice machine in it. We got back on Tuesday and it sat in my hot car all day Wednesday. Outside temperatures were in the high 90's and probably well over 125 in the car. I went out this morning (Thursday) thinking I would have to throw away any leftover food, but there was still ice in the cooler. The gallon jugs were about half melted and there was still a little of the cubed ice left. If you want a cooler that will hold ice, you need to get one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Keeping it Cool

06/16/2014
By ,
Burbank, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this to replace a 20-year old Coleman Marine Cooler. This did an amazing job! I always freeze a partially filled 1-gallon water bottle for an ice block. We went on a 6 night trip to the Easter Sierras and I loaded the ice block + 30 lbs of ice into the chest the night before we left. The regular ice froze together! I did not need to add any ice until Wednesday qwhich is great and even more amazing was the fact that when we were away from camp, I stored the cooler in our sites metal "Bear Box" with sunny weather conditions and temps in the mid - 60s to low 70s. Could not be happier with this cooler and it is made in the USA!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler with tight seal.

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cooler seals tightly and keeps the items inside cold for days under normal conditions. I don't know if it would keep COLD for five days in 90 degree, but it most certainly will outlast any other cooler for the price. I paid around $40. It works best by using a combination of frozen "chillers" along with ice. If it's not exceptionally hot you can get by using the chillers only, which is great if you have food you don't want floating in melted ice water. Try to have items cold already BEFORE putting in the cooler, and keep the cooler in the shade to extend the cooling life. It's very sturdy and can be used as a seat as long as you don't treat it too roughly. Overall, this is a great cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best cooler I've ever had!

08/06/2007
By ,
Amarillo Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical when I ordered this cooler. A cooler is just a cooler right! I was looking mainly looking for that size +/-. But the clams and price sold me. I use it daily to take drinks to the job site for my crew in the summer in Amarillo Tx (mid to high 90's and dry) and it works great. I keep mine shaded in the back of my Pathfinder and I don't have to top it off with ice either, just three 7 pound ice bags. After the cooler and drinks cool down the first few hours or so the rest of the week is easy street. By Friday the ice is almost all melted, but the water is still ice cold. I don't add any more ice unless I add alot more new drinks to the cooler at mid week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

$ GREAT COOLER $

08/12/2009
By ,
Hawthorne, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this cooler for a week long camp-out and it worked great. You should pre-cool all items before you put them in the cooler. I put in 3 blocks of ice, my beer and food, then put cubed ice over the top of everything. Always keep your cooler in the shade as I did and it kept my stuff ice cold for 6 days. After I got home I took my food and beer out and put in the fridge ( no spoilage ) I then put the cooler on the back porch and 2 more days went by and still had ice ( 8 days total ) I highly recommend this ice chest for long camp-outs where you are very remote and cant get more ice. Thanks Coleman and Wal-mart for a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

very unhappy

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First time I went to use this cooler all 4 screws that hold the lid to the cooler pulled out and the lid fell completely off. I am hoping this is an isolated incident and I will be contacting walmart.com to find out how to replace it since I have an identical cooler that we got years ago that has held up well and been a very good cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Coleman cooler

08/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great cooler...........except I wish they would attach a strap to the cooler ( to catch the lid when it's opened)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler for the money compared to a Yeti

09/03/2014
By ,
Leesburg, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using these for a number of years I am quite satisfied with the proformace. The handles could be a little stronger for slinging up onto my tailgate since I can't just pick it up at ease full of ice or whatever. When it gives I just use my smarts and modify it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Good insulation

01/20/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler to convert it into a mash tun for my home brewing hobby. This cooler has excellent insulation and keeps in the heat of the water very well. It's light weight which helps if you have to lift it with ten gallons of water in it. There's much debate over which cooler is the best for a mash tun, but I recommend this one!
BTW, you will need a 1/2" allen wrench to get the factory drain plug out, and the hole is about 1" in diameter. I strongly suggest using the interior washer that comes with the cooler.
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Excellent Cooler

08/30/2014
By ,
Midlothian, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best cooler I have purchased. Keeps ice a lot longer and I rate this the best bang for the buck.. Great job on this cooler Coleman....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

too big and heavy for my needs

08/09/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consider the size and weight of this cooler before ordering. I had to return it because I knew it would be too heavy for me to lift it once it was filled. I'm looking for a smaller size. Unfortunately the smaller sizes don't hold much because of the thick walls, so I might just stay with my current cooler and keep on filling it with ice every couple of days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great value for your money!

06/17/2014
By ,
Tarpon Springs, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend this cooler. We put 20 pounds of ice and drinks at 9 am.
We were out in the Gulf of Mexico until 4:30pm. The cooler was brought back
to the porch and 10 pounds of ice went back into the freezer. Temperature was 90 degrees.
2 days later it still had ice and water in bottom of cooler.
Several coolers were researched on line, and this was rated as 3rd or 4th.
I rate it as a "1".
We use it for camping and boating.
For the value, Coleman coolers are highly recommended.
5 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler, good value

01/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler for my parents. They go camping often and love this cooler. Dad's already used it on several occasions.
They had initial concern about the lack of a latch, but I bought this cooler because the plastic latch on their other cooler broke. However, the lid stays closed and it keeps stuff cold.
I also chose this cooler because it had no wheels. The lack of wheels offers extra room inside, preventing my parents from having to lug another smaller cooler on their trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Holds ice well for many days

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second of these coolers that I've bought over the last couple years. Plenty of storage and holds ice for the number of days stated. Worked perfectly for our trip to the Adirondacks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

very good

03/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cooler was better then I expected. Love that it was made in the u.s.a!! Love the channel for the water to drip out. Great buy!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

We love it!

07/19/2007
By ,
Cape Cod,MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We went camping this past weekend, and we used this cooler. I put ice and Icepacks in it on friday morning and everything was still nice and cold Sunday afternoon when we came home. The ice was a little melted but not all melted. We also had the cooler outside the whole time I bet if we put it in our tent it would of helped. But this is a great cooler we are very glad we bought it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Love it!

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these coolers and I couldn't be happier, they work great and are very nice looking. I gave one to my daughter and she loves it as well :)>
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 203 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next