Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Coleman Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

The Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler keeps up to 98 cans cold for up to five days, even in temperatures as hot as 90 degrees F. With environmentally friendly ThermOZONE insulation, this Coleman Xtreme cooler allows you to keep your drinks cold. Featuring a hinged lid with four built-in beverage holders, this Coleman 70-quart cooler also has two-way handles for easy lifting, allowing you to take it where it is needed. This Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme cooler also features a channel drain for no-tilt draining of liquids, making it simple to keep clean. The Xtreme cooler lid accommodates 24" elastic cords for additional storage. Please note the cords are not included with this cooler.
Average Customer Rating:
4.596 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(223 Reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
160
4 stars
49
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%212 out of 223reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
160
4 stars
49
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Xtreme Mash Tun

10/18/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooler was purchased to make a mash tun for 10 gallon home brew batches.
The size is perfect and it holds temperature flawlessly for 90+ minute mashes.
The only down side is that the drain hole was a little larger than I would have liked it to be once the plug was removed. I used some o-rings to help center the nipple though.
The plug simply screws right out, but the resulting hole is a bit large for a 1/2" pipe nipple.
Also, the cooler wall is right at 3/4" thick, so you will have to use a 2" (or larger) nipple to attach the manifold to the ball valve. The 1.5" nipple that is offered with standard cooler conversion kits is too short.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Excellent Mast Tun Cooler

07/14/2011
By ,
Indianapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler to convert into a mash tun because I am a home brewer. This was shipped to my door for less than $40, so the value can't be beat. I really liked the drain channel in this, which means you can drain more wort out of the mash. The conversion was pretty simple. I used 3 SS washers, two zinc washers, a 1/2" ball valve, a 1/2" male hose barb, a 1/2" female hose barb, a 2" x 1/2" brass nipple, a 20" toilet supply line, a 1/4" brass plug and a couple of SS hose clamps. I brewed with this last weekend and didn't lose one degree, so it insulates heat very well. I can see what everyone else is saying with the handles and hinges. I'm not using it and lifiting it full of stuff, so i'm not worried about the handles breaking while i'm carrying stuff in it. I will still probably replace the handles with rope though. The hinges we'll just have to wait and see. If they break, i'll replace them with metal ones.
With all that said, I gave this a 5 star because it does exactly what I need it to do at a great price. If you are going to be making a mash tun and you are batch sparging, do yourself a favor and buy this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

coleman cooler

04/11/2011
By ,
gastonia, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. It keeps ice for the entire weekend. I am an Assistant Scoutmaster and I have ordered 5 of these for my troop. They all held together in a recent storm during Camporee.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best Cooler I ever had

08/19/2010
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a coleman x-treme 70 quart cooler at Walmart recently. It was marked down to $30.
We went on a little trip this week and I put 2 one gallon jugs of ice and 3 of those little square blue refreezable ice pack things you buy at walmarts in it along with our drinks and some meat and stuff for sandwiches. That was on Sunday morning. Sunday evening, I put a 10 pound bag of cubed ice in it and we used a lot of of that ice during the trip to put in our drink cups. Monday morning, I put about 5 pounds of ice from the hotel ice machine in it. We got back on Tuesday and it sat in my hot car all day Wednesday. Outside temperatures were in the high 90's and probably well over 125 in the car. I went out this morning (Thursday) thinking I would have to throw away any leftover food, but there was still ice in the cooler. The gallon jugs were about half melted and there was still a little of the cubed ice left. If you want a cooler that will hold ice, you need to get one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Best cooler I've ever had!

08/06/2007
By ,
Amarillo Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical when I ordered this cooler. A cooler is just a cooler right! I was looking mainly looking for that size +/-. But the clams and price sold me. I use it daily to take drinks to the job site for my crew in the summer in Amarillo Tx (mid to high 90's and dry) and it works great. I keep mine shaded in the back of my Pathfinder and I don't have to top it off with ice either, just three 7 pound ice bags. After the cooler and drinks cool down the first few hours or so the rest of the week is easy street. By Friday the ice is almost all melted, but the water is still ice cold. I don't add any more ice unless I add alot more new drinks to the cooler at mid week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

$ GREAT COOLER $

08/12/2009
By ,
Hawthorne, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this cooler for a week long camp-out and it worked great. You should pre-cool all items before you put them in the cooler. I put in 3 blocks of ice, my beer and food, then put cubed ice over the top of everything. Always keep your cooler in the shade as I did and it kept my stuff ice cold for 6 days. After I got home I took my food and beer out and put in the fridge ( no spoilage ) I then put the cooler on the back porch and 2 more days went by and still had ice ( 8 days total ) I highly recommend this ice chest for long camp-outs where you are very remote and cant get more ice. Thanks Coleman and Wal-mart for a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Perfect for my project (going to use as a Mash Tun

04/07/2014
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very impressed - free shipping and arrived 2 days early. Keeps things hot and cold for far longer than my last cooler and the walls seem more durable. My wife wants another one for our summer camping.
I am replacing the drain plug this weekend with stainless components (you will need a long bulkhead extension because the walls are so thick) and will use as a mash tun for my all-grain brewing at home. I also like the low placement of the outlet and the drainage channel so there is little liquid waste.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

very good

03/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cooler was better then I expected. Love that it was made in the u.s.a!! Love the channel for the water to drip out. Great buy!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

VERY WELL WORTH IT

04/06/2014
By ,
Groveland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY WELL WORTH IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Good insulation

01/20/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler to convert it into a mash tun for my home brewing hobby. This cooler has excellent insulation and keeps in the heat of the water very well. It's light weight which helps if you have to lift it with ten gallons of water in it. There's much debate over which cooler is the best for a mash tun, but I recommend this one!
BTW, you will need a 1/2" allen wrench to get the factory drain plug out, and the hole is about 1" in diameter. I strongly suggest using the interior washer that comes with the cooler.
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Strong and works well

03/29/2014
By ,
DENVER, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We like this cooler because it's roomy a and works well. Other coolers of the same price are either too small or don't work as well. This one is just right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler, good value

01/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler for my parents. They go camping often and love this cooler. Dad's already used it on several occasions.
They had initial concern about the lack of a latch, but I bought this cooler because the plastic latch on their other cooler broke. However, the lid stays closed and it keeps stuff cold.
I also chose this cooler because it had no wheels. The lack of wheels offers extra room inside, preventing my parents from having to lug another smaller cooler on their trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great, but GIANT

08/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler for weekend trips. It is very well made and I have great faith in it, but the one downside for me is that it does not fit in my car's trunk! Dimensions are posted and are accurate, however; I just wasn't expecting something made for travelling to be quite so bulky. Oh well, my own fault. I returned it (which was enormously inconvenient by itself considering it was EMPTY when I struggled to take it back) and bought two smaller Coleman Xtreme coolers to use instead. I would still recommend this to people; just confirm you know what you're getting ahead of time. Be sure you can lift it when it's filled with ice and drinks, and make sure it fits in your car!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

We love it!

07/19/2007
By ,
Cape Cod,MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We went camping this past weekend, and we used this cooler. I put ice and Icepacks in it on friday morning and everything was still nice and cold Sunday afternoon when we came home. The ice was a little melted but not all melted. We also had the cooler outside the whole time I bet if we put it in our tent it would of helped. But this is a great cooler we are very glad we bought it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Excellent Cooler... does more than described!

02/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to keep our meat cold while we BBQ... well I refused to allow my husband to help me carry it out of the car, thew it over my shoulder and low and behold, I dropped it, it fell on it's lid corner and it was dented... looked like a decorative flower :( I was so upset since we had not even used it. 2 days later, I went to the garage to take it out for our BBQ and guess what? The dent had disappeared... it had popped up back in place, and it kept all our meat, sausages, chicken cold for the whole day with just one bag of ice. It's perfect! Highly recommend it. :) Happy accident prone wife here!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

nice cooler but watch out for racoons

08/25/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooler does the job of keeping everything cold and holds a lot. But be aware that even though the lid is fine for normal use, it is not as difficult to open as some coolers I have had. Racoons can get into this cooler very easily so don't leave it out overnight. It fit nicely under the bench of a picnic table and that did the trick of keeping out the racoons. Otherwise, great cooler!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler
10/26/2007
By ,
Morgantown,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy my colemen xtreme. It keeps everything cold for days and it has lots of room. I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great cooler - Great price

09/19/2010
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great cooler. Follow directions that come with it. Pre chill things going into it. I also used 3 to 4 blocks of ice I made in plastic containers. After 3 days of camping, the ice was still there, everything stayed cold. Only thing is you have to push the top shut to make a good seal everytime you open it, but besides that, it was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great value

11/18/2010
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the color...has cup holders which are extremely convienent. Good quality and easyto drain out the melted ice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 70-Quart Xtreme Cooler

Great value for an ice chest

10/22/2011
By ,
Forest Grove, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this Coleman chest. I had read reviews before purchasing it that it would not keep ice frozen for 5 days as claimed. I can vouch for the time. I used two gallon jugs of water frozen in my freezer and placed in the chest. After 5 days, the water was still frozen. I used the chest every day getting out colas and restocking it. If you purchase ice bags from public venders (or even WalMart), expect the ice temp to be just below freezing and will start melting before you're out the door. This is an excellant ice chest. I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 188 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next