Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for West Bend West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

West Bend West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

The West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper is a convenient and efficient way to make tasty popcorn from home. It has its own built-in butter well and a motorized stirring rod to evenly coat your snacks. This electric popcorn holder provides heat-resistant handles for improved safety and convenience. Its base is also heat-resistant to protect your counter tops. The West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper's popping surface features a nonstick coating to help make cleaning simple and fast. It offers a 6-quart capacity and is made for easy maintenance. This electric popcorn popper also provides a lid that can be flipped over and used as a serving bowl. It's a convenient and economical alternative to pricy theater snacks. Now you can make fluffy, light, delectable popcorn in the comfort of your own home with the help of the West Bend popcorn popper.
Average Customer Rating:
4.489 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(307 Reviews) 262
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
216
4 stars
55
3 stars
18
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation91%279 out of 307reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 138 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
216
4 stars
55
3 stars
18
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

We are repeat customers

01/23/2014
By ,
Rural PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably my 4th or 5th Stircrazy over the last 20+ years, so we get 4 or more years out of each one. The last one was still stirring but didn't heat up sufficiently to consistently pop anymore. The large bowl (cover) was also cracked but who isn't after that much use? We make popcorn at least 2-4 times/week. All 3 of my adult kids each have a Stircrazy in their homes and are very happy with them also. My daughter-in-law taught me that I CAN put the cover in my dishwasher since I do not use a heated dry cycle. It was a few days before my replacement Stircrazy arrived so I retrieved and used a Cuisinart stirring popper that was left over from a daughter's college days. It worked OK but the popcorn was not as good as that from Stircrazy. It was a bit soggy from no ventilation holes in the lid and the popcorn wasn't as fluffy. We were glad to see the new Stircrazy arrive! Try it with coconut oil - it doesn't taste like coconut but has a wonderfully different taste. Please keep making this product - we'll be back in a few years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Never Eat Microwave Popcorn Again

08/04/2008
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our household is famous for its popcorn, and the Stir Crazy is the reason why. NOTHING makes popcorn like this popper. We've literally used three poppers to death. The plastic covers have never broken for us and they're fun to watch through. The motor lasts years for us and probably longer for you.
You're in control of the amount of oil you use and popcorn you make. At our house, we like to flip it out of the top immediately so it doesn't get soggy from the steam. I have never bothered to use the butter holes on the top. I melt mine in the microwave.
Butter and garlic salt and the Stir Crazy make unforgettable popcorn!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Best buy for a corn popper

11/09/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is number 4 for us now. The best we can get out of one is about 2 ½ years. This is about the same for any electric gadget that has a heating element that's used a lot. Coffee pots and so forth.
We read reviews for this and other Corn Poppers and the Stir Crazy seems to hold up the best. We pop a lot of corn and this popper is easy to clean - just wipe the inside base off with a dry dish cloth and the top that serves as the bowl cleans up nicely in the dish water ( I don't think it would last long if you put the bowl top in a dishwasher). The popper pops most All the kernels if you put a little less than a cup of corn in it. The heating element WILL burn out faster if you leave the black cap on the top while popping however... ask me how I know. ooops
But it's still the Best buy for your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Great popper so far

04/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was reading the reviews and wanted to add my opinion to some of them. This popper pops much better than a microwave.There will always be some kernals that are un-popped, but that is almost always the fault of the popcorn itself, and not the machine. I am confused as to why the instructions say to not use "gourmet" popcorn. It says this will not pop as well as the regular, but it worked fine with me. As to the stirring rod scraping the floor of the machine - if it is set right, it should be slightly above the surface and not touching the surface. I like that the stirring rod switches directions every minute or so.. This popper is quite large and you need a large space to store it. My only real negative is that the dome is rather thin and seems it could easily crack. It barely fits in the sink when washing. Still, a good popper and a great value from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

I like it!

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It pops most of the kernels. So no waste, which is good. I like it a lot. I wish it had an on/off switch. Instead you need to unplug it from the outlet. The best part I think is that the popcorn doesn't seem to burn easily. I needed to answer the door when it was just about done and when I got back to it, there weren't any burnt kernels.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

StirCrazyPopcornPopper West Bend

01/05/2014
By ,
Latham, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are in our late 70's and have had only 3 of these in the past 50 yrs one of which I purchased in a garage sale because the people never used it. Ever since I've had this popper that's the only snack we use in the house; it's good for you, whole grains, sodium free; we don't use it; I use Mrs. Dash, parmesan cheese or garlic festival flavoring; all are delicious and healthy for you. I use olive oil for the oil or peanut oil. Don't use the top for butter as I don't like butter so I do some in the microwave for my husband and split the bowl with him. It's a great popper and I've given many as gifts and all agree how easy it is for them especially at a kid's b'day party. Excellent for college students. They're not just eating pizza. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Great machine!

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews and looked at a lot of poppers before buying this one. You don't have to use a lot of oil and there are very few unpopped kernels. The butter dispenser is not very good so I melt it separately and pour it over the finished popcorn. I think this is a great appliance!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Exactly what I expected

11/13/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This thing is pretty basic. It pops the corn. I have no issues with un-popped kernels. I have no issue with the bar thingie scraping the non-stick surface. If you put it on straight I do not see how this could happen. I plug it up and put the oil in(I use coconut oil), pour in the popcorn and put on the cover. That is all there is to it really. It is a cheap, good alternative to the poison in the microwave bags. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it is a bit inconvenient to clean, but nothing really bad to say about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Great for Dieting

08/25/2007
By ,
Mathis, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this product average of once a day. Popcorn is a meal and a snack in our house. The only problem is the stir rod stops after about 7 to 9 months of continious use. It has a year warranty but we would always be taking it back. I emailed the manufacturer to get advice with no response. It works, so our house will keep buying it. We have decided to buy two so we will have a spare. Any advice in keeping it working longer would be appreciated. We are on our 4th Stir Crazy. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cypress, TX
Stirring rod stopping.
Posted 07/23/2013
I'm not saying this is what is happening to your units but if it's happening every 7-9 months and it's happening to more than one popper it's most likely a cleaning error. Instead of wiping it with a damp cloth or sponge to clean it and drying it with a paper towel you may be using an overly wet cloth or running it under water and getting water into the unit through the opening for the stirring rod shaft. Once water gets inside from cleaning and you put the unit up to dry or for your next use in a cabinet that water that has leaked into the unit will rust and corrode the motors parts and magnets causing it to not work over time. Try using a dryer cloth or sponge or not running it under water to clean it to keep water out of the hole in the heating plate that the shaft goes through and I'd bet that it last much longer. We had this same popper when I was a kid and it lasted my dad for nearly 12 years before he dropped it and broke the outer case.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Popcorn Popper

06/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to use and makes good popcorn. Easy clean up!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

so far okay

11/05/2013
By ,
Fort Walton Beach Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1st time used the recommended amount of oil. Was a bust. Tried to triple the amount and had much better results. Still healthier then microwave style
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Good popcorn maker

06/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only used it once, but seems ok to me. Doesn't have power switch though.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Greatness!

06/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great! I love making popcorn as a healthy snack. This makes it easy and fast and the kids love to help and watch. Had it for about a month now and we use it at least 3 times weekly. No complaints so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

It works like crazy!

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the popcorn popper as a gift for my friend and her daughters. They absolutely love it. They use it almost every day. My friend was using a saucepan to pop with and she was burning up the pan by over heating it, so that was the motivation for the gift. She's glad I didit.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

west bend stir crazy popcorn popper

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent popper, had been using microvave for years, boy am I happy I made this decision!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

great popcorn popper

11/19/2013
By ,
orlando, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my popcorn popper. It pops every kernel and is so easy to clean and take care of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Best popcorn maker

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely the best popcorn maker!! I highly recommend this!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Quick and Easy

05/28/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's quick and easy to use. The popcorn is a little dry so use plenty of spray butter, which kinda defeats the purpose of popping your own popcorn to be healthier.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Makes great kettle corn

07/16/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this popper. I make kettle corn in it about every other day. It's simple and delicious - 1/4 cup corn oil, 1/2 cup popcorn kernels, and 1/3 cup sugar - YUMMY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Too much fun!

04/26/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product reminds me of popping popcorn the old fashioned way when I was a child !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 263 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next