Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for West Bend West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

West Bend West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

The West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper is a convenient and efficient way to make tasty popcorn from home. It has its own built-in butter well and a motorized stirring rod to evenly coat your snacks. This electric popcorn holder provides heat-resistant handles for improved safety and convenience. Its base is also heat-resistant to protect your counter tops. The West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper's popping surface features a nonstick coating to help make cleaning simple and fast. It offers a 6-quart capacity and is made for easy maintenance. This electric popcorn popper also provides a lid that can be flipped over and used as a serving bowl. It's a convenient and economical alternative to pricy theater snacks. Now you can make fluffy, light, delectable popcorn in the comfort of your own home with the help of the West Bend popcorn popper.
Average Customer Rating:
4.504 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(276 Reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
195
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
5
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation91%252 out of 276reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 138 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
195
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
5
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

We are repeat customers

01/23/2014
By ,
Rural PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably my 4th or 5th Stircrazy over the last 20+ years, so we get 4 or more years out of each one. The last one was still stirring but didn't heat up sufficiently to consistently pop anymore. The large bowl (cover) was also cracked but who isn't after that much use? We make popcorn at least 2-4 times/week. All 3 of my adult kids each have a Stircrazy in their homes and are very happy with them also. My daughter-in-law taught me that I CAN put the cover in my dishwasher since I do not use a heated dry cycle. It was a few days before my replacement Stircrazy arrived so I retrieved and used a Cuisinart stirring popper that was left over from a daughter's college days. It worked OK but the popcorn was not as good as that from Stircrazy. It was a bit soggy from no ventilation holes in the lid and the popcorn wasn't as fluffy. We were glad to see the new Stircrazy arrive! Try it with coconut oil - it doesn't taste like coconut but has a wonderfully different taste. Please keep making this product - we'll be back in a few years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Great popper so far

04/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was reading the reviews and wanted to add my opinion to some of them. This popper pops much better than a microwave.There will always be some kernals that are un-popped, but that is almost always the fault of the popcorn itself, and not the machine. I am confused as to why the instructions say to not use "gourmet" popcorn. It says this will not pop as well as the regular, but it worked fine with me. As to the stirring rod scraping the floor of the machine - if it is set right, it should be slightly above the surface and not touching the surface. I like that the stirring rod switches directions every minute or so.. This popper is quite large and you need a large space to store it. My only real negative is that the dome is rather thin and seems it could easily crack. It barely fits in the sink when washing. Still, a good popper and a great value from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Best buy for a corn popper

11/09/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is number 4 for us now. The best we can get out of one is about 2 ½ years. This is about the same for any electric gadget that has a heating element that's used a lot. Coffee pots and so forth.
We read reviews for this and other Corn Poppers and the Stir Crazy seems to hold up the best. We pop a lot of corn and this popper is easy to clean - just wipe the inside base off with a dry dish cloth and the top that serves as the bowl cleans up nicely in the dish water ( I don't think it would last long if you put the bowl top in a dishwasher). The popper pops most All the kernels if you put a little less than a cup of corn in it. The heating element WILL burn out faster if you leave the black cap on the top while popping however... ask me how I know. ooops
But it's still the Best buy for your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Never Eat Microwave Popcorn Again

08/04/2008
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our household is famous for its popcorn, and the Stir Crazy is the reason why. NOTHING makes popcorn like this popper. We've literally used three poppers to death. The plastic covers have never broken for us and they're fun to watch through. The motor lasts years for us and probably longer for you.
You're in control of the amount of oil you use and popcorn you make. At our house, we like to flip it out of the top immediately so it doesn't get soggy from the steam. I have never bothered to use the butter holes on the top. I melt mine in the microwave.
Butter and garlic salt and the Stir Crazy make unforgettable popcorn!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Great if you are a popcorn eater

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third stir crazy in 37 years. Pops all the corn. Would use nothing else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

works great

10/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second West Ben Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper. It's convenient to use
and does a great job popping all the kernels evenly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

StirCrazyPopcornPopper West Bend

01/05/2014
By ,
Latham, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are in our late 70's and have had only 3 of these in the past 50 yrs one of which I purchased in a garage sale because the people never used it. Ever since I've had this popper that's the only snack we use in the house; it's good for you, whole grains, sodium free; we don't use it; I use Mrs. Dash, parmesan cheese or garlic festival flavoring; all are delicious and healthy for you. I use olive oil for the oil or peanut oil. Don't use the top for butter as I don't like butter so I do some in the microwave for my husband and split the bowl with him. It's a great popper and I've given many as gifts and all agree how easy it is for them especially at a kid's b'day party. Excellent for college students. They're not just eating pizza. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Exactly what I expected

11/13/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This thing is pretty basic. It pops the corn. I have no issues with un-popped kernels. I have no issue with the bar thingie scraping the non-stick surface. If you put it on straight I do not see how this could happen. I plug it up and put the oil in(I use coconut oil), pour in the popcorn and put on the cover. That is all there is to it really. It is a cheap, good alternative to the poison in the microwave bags. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it is a bit inconvenient to clean, but nothing really bad to say about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Great Popcorn Popper

10/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Using Orville Redenbachers popcorn and oil, the unit heats up and pops all the corn quickly. Virtually no unpopped kernels. Cleans up easy. I'm very satisfied with the popper and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

so far okay

11/05/2013
By ,
Fort Walton Beach Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1st time used the recommended amount of oil. Was a bust. Tried to triple the amount and had much better results. Still healthier then microwave style
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Great for Dieting

08/25/2007
By ,
Mathis, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this product average of once a day. Popcorn is a meal and a snack in our house. The only problem is the stir rod stops after about 7 to 9 months of continious use. It has a year warranty but we would always be taking it back. I emailed the manufacturer to get advice with no response. It works, so our house will keep buying it. We have decided to buy two so we will have a spare. Any advice in keeping it working longer would be appreciated. We are on our 4th Stir Crazy. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cypress, TX
Stirring rod stopping.
Posted 07/23/2013
I'm not saying this is what is happening to your units but if it's happening every 7-9 months and it's happening to more than one popper it's most likely a cleaning error. Instead of wiping it with a damp cloth or sponge to clean it and drying it with a paper towel you may be using an overly wet cloth or running it under water and getting water into the unit through the opening for the stirring rod shaft. Once water gets inside from cleaning and you put the unit up to dry or for your next use in a cabinet that water that has leaked into the unit will rust and corrode the motors parts and magnets causing it to not work over time. Try using a dryer cloth or sponge or not running it under water to clean it to keep water out of the hole in the heating plate that the shaft goes through and I'd bet that it last much longer. We had this same popper when I was a kid and it lasted my dad for nearly 12 years before he dropped it and broke the outer case.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

great popcorn popper

11/19/2013
By ,
orlando, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my popcorn popper. It pops every kernel and is so easy to clean and take care of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Very easy to clean. Pops a lot of popcorn

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The popcorn has an excellent flavor. Almost every seed pops.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Very disappointed

04/28/2008
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used this product almost every night. The 1st month, it was terrific. Best popcorn next to cinema popped. After that, it started popping less and leaving more un-popped kernels. Within the next few weeks, it started going down hill fast. Using top quality (gormet) popping corn, it is disappointing to see half of the kernels still un-popped....not to mention, very costly! With a machine (less than 2 months of usage) wasting quality popcorn like this, I just can not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Exactly
Posted 01/12/2014
I just came in here to post the exact same review. Wish I knew what causes this so I could avoid it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Great Popper!

09/19/2007
By ,
Wheaton, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best popper's I have ever had. It makes great tasting popcorn!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Great popcorn popper!

01/02/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old Stir Crazy finally bit the dust after some twenty years or more and I was so happy to find that they still make this popper! I love it. Works great, cleans up easily, and the popcorn is delicious! Make sure you don't put in too much popcorn, especially if you use the gourmet style, or else you'll pop the lid off the popper! If I use gourmet, I put in 3/4 cup instead of a full cup, and that works just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Too much fun!

04/26/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product reminds me of popping popcorn the old fashioned way when I was a child !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Plug & Play

09/30/2011
By ,
Fort Myers, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got my West Bend Popcorn popper quicker then expected. After unpacking and looking it over my initial reaction was wow this is great. I have now used the popper 5 times and as soon as I can figure out how much popcorn I need to pop the better. It does pop fast and when you put a half cup of corn in, it was too much.
Now as for the popper itself, the lid seems flimsy and I am worried about it breaking. The lid also serves as a bowl too. One of the things with the lid as a bowl is that you can put some unmelted butter on the top where holes are and as the corn pops, the butter melts onto the popped corn. The area where you put the butter on the lid for melting, a snap on cover goes back on so when you flip the cover over and use a bowl, the melted butter doesn't get all over the place (in theory). I suggest using a paper towel or something to keep the lid from leaking excess butter.
For years we used microwave popcorn and little mess. Now we pop corn and have to clean the popper. All in all the aroma is great and the corn is fresh as possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Makes great kettle corn

07/16/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this popper. I make kettle corn in it about every other day. It's simple and delicious - 1/4 cup corn oil, 1/2 cup popcorn kernels, and 1/3 cup sugar - YUMMY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper

Makes the Best Popcorn EVER

11/21/2013
By ,
Sacramento, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used my old West Bend Popcorn Popper for several years. I make popcorn for a group that meets every Thursday. Everyone comments on how great the popcorn is, and there are hardly ever any kernels. This popper is actually for a friend who has been having trouble making decent popcorn, now she can make as good of popcorn as I do . . . well, almost as good. My popcorn popper is also a West Bend Stir Fry that is about ten years old and still makes great popcorn. I NEVER WASH MINE, only wipe out the bottom with a paper towel. The top can be washed but dont lose the plastic bowl cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 232 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next