Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Brother Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

The Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine CS-6000i features an LCD screen with four +/- buttons for stitch selection and settings. With 60 different stitch functions, you can stitch garments in any style of sewing. Some of the functions on this Brother computerized sewing machine include button holes, zigzags, decorative stitches, heirloom and utility stitches. The speed control slider helps you control the speed at which the machine sews. This electronic sewing machine can be operated either with a foot pedal or the one-touch button. The automatic needle threading feature consists of a spring type hook and lever operation, which helps you insert the thread to the eye of the needle with ease. This electronic sewing machine uses needles in size ranging from 9-16. This sewing machine can sew 850 stitches per minute. Adjust the speed with which you stitch using the electronic speed adjustment feature. You can easily carry this lightweight sewing machine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(1332 Reviews) 1190
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,017
4 stars
217
3 stars
29
2 stars
21
1 star
48
Customer Recommendation94%1,256 out of 1,331reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
278 Questions | 711 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,017
4 stars
217
3 stars
29
2 stars
21
1 star
48
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

would not recommend

11/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will be returning this sewing machine. The foot keeps fallilng off no matter how tight I put it on. Last night it came off and bent the needle. It seems like a nice machine with some nice features and it sew well, but I can't deal with the foot coming loose all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Great Machine, easy to use

06/18/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine to replace a much beloved Brother machine that is no longer sold, this one is SOOOO easy to use has the needle up[/down feature, also when you stop sewing the needle ends up in the needle down position makes it great for turning corners.
With the speed control it makes it super easy to control for beginners and with all the stiches it features well why would you ever need another machine????
I also enjoy using the little table that came with it to help you machine quilt. all in all I really like this machine still miss my other machine but I had used that other one for 6+ years so I think I will always miss that one.
This opne is a great starter machine I highly recommend it
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Service on Day 1

12/10/2009
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine a week ago, and it arrived last night. I spent last night familiarizing myself with the machine and manual. Today, I sewed. I was highly impressed with the stitches. My old machine was not great, and more of a headache than not. This machine ran smoothly, the stitches were perfect, and it was quiet.
Or, was until it started jamming up, locking up, and giving me constant E6 errors. Customer service was no help the first time. They simply referred me to a set of pages in the manual and got me off the phone, after asking for ALL of my contact information- phone number, mailing address, email address- they even asked for fax info!
I tried what they recommended (which was limited to asking if I had done what was on pages 57-58, and when I said no, he told me to try it, and call back, then hung up). The recommended action, cleaning the bobbin casing and race, did not do anything. I called back, and was told it was a service problem, and to take it into a dealer.
It would be free to fix, but would take 2 weeks minimum, depending on the issue. I've had the machine less than 24 hours, and it needs a service call? That's shoddy workmanship. If this is typical of Brother, I have no desire to own one. Mine is being returned, and I'm going to go with a Singer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Returned!!!

05/21/2012
By ,
Mccook NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It pains me to even have to give this one star.. From the very first stitch I knew there was something wrong with this machine.. On the decorative stitches like say the flower stitch, only 1/2 of the flower would be there.. Always the left side stitch.... The right side just wouldn't stick, the thread would go down but wouldn't catch the bobbin thread.. I had a friend come look at it to see if may be i was doing something wrong but it did it to her too... We changed out fabric, thread, needles and adjusted the tension. Nothing worked... Even the straight stitches were a mess on the back side of the fabric.. I returned the Machine and got the Brother SQ9050 and have had no problems yet...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Brother CS-6000i

10/19/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this machine for mending, fixing hems, and general quick fixes. My old singer (the one with the self wind bobbin) could no longer be fixed -- so I needed a machine. I thought this machine would do the job, and it does, but the bobbin wind is "tricky" you must be careful with the threading or the thread goes under the bobbin ... the work space by the needle is small which is hard to work on bulky items. Also, the drop arm is large and no good for sleeve cuffs. The needle is hard to see, the light could be brighter. The whole needle/bobbin/stitch area is small and hard to view. The needle threader works, but you need patience. It's worse to try to thread the needle manually. It's OK for the price, but not like my old Singer!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Disappointed

01/22/2008
By ,
Washington, DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am new to sewing and I couldn’t wait for this machine to arrive. Unfortunately, it never worked properly from the moment I plugged it in. The tension in the upper thread never seemed to be correct despite doing all the adjustments suggested in the manual. For what ever reason this problem cleared up only to replaced by a bigger problem. The needle started hitting the bobbin casing below. I cleaned the bobbin casing, switched the needle, adjusted the stitch length, and created another bobbin…nothing helped. For the two days that there were no problems the machine was a dream. I really think the issue is that proper quality control measures are not in place for this product, which is really unfortunate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

So Long Brother!

03/06/2009
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this machine only twice and the tension malfunctioned. This is an upgrade to another Brother machine I purchased a month earlier. Same problem. Tension malfunctioned after 4 uses. I won't buy a Brother machine again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Amazing machine!

11/09/2013
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so pleased with this machine. I researched for at least 2 weeks on which machine would fit my needs and be a great price as they can get pretty pricey. I decided on this machine because 1) Price, can't beat it. 2) Computerized, because I love to sew but hate figuring out what settings I need. 3) All the attachments and goodies included. You can't go wrong. Do yourself a favor and just buy this machine :) Also a tip, years ago my grandmother purchased an serger foot attachment for my old machine and it fits on this machine! You can still order it on amazon. It's called the "Side Cutter II" $11.99
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Was Great At First

10/10/2009
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved this sewing machine for about 2-3 months. After that, it stopped working. I was told it would be $70+ to repair.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

A lousy product

06/24/2008
By ,
Detroit Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my cs6000i in April of 07. I really loved it until I found out that I couldn't sew anything heavy. I was trying to stitch some fur material but the needle wouldn't even go into the material. I called Brother and told them the problem I had and they gave me the number for a repair shop in my area. The repair shop told me that unfortunately my machine wasn't made to stitch anything heavy. I then called Brother back and they told me that it stated in my manual that the only thick fabrics were Denim, Corduroy and Tweed. (Not sure how you are supposed to know that before you buy the machine.) So needless to say I now have to buy me a machine that will work on heavier material. I have been sewing for years and I never had this problem, all my machines would sew on anything I wanted .So unless you want to have to buy 2 machines I wouldn't recommend the cs6000i.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Great Machine for a Very Reasonable Price

05/08/2011
By ,
E. Syracuse NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my Brother 6000i! One complaint--the manual really leaves a lot to be desired. For example, the manual isn't even model-specific; the manual says things like 'if your machine has this option'...it's hard to tell what your machine actually does or doesn't do. I found the machine very easy to set up and easy to use. It really fits every sewing I have, and the you can't beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Wow! What a machine

07/22/2010
By ,
Milford, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off let me say that I am a guy. Yes, I sew. This is second machine. And as a novice I can say that this machine does everything and more of what I need. I do a lot of quilting, and this machine gives me stitch options that I not even considered. Took it out of the box and was sewing with it in 20 minutes. I really like the auto thread feature, takes a lot of the frustration out of sewing. I would recommend this machine to anyone just starting to sew, and would recommend it for quilters.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Great sewing machine for the low price.

10/01/2011
By ,
Excelsior Springs, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this sewing machine. I bought a comperized sewing machine 23 years ago for about $700 and this machine has all the features it had and then some. It is so easy to thread with the needle threader. I like the needle up, needle down button. It sews knits beautifully. I didn't know they made sewing machines that had a button to push so you don't have to use the pedal. I usually use the pedal, because that is what I'm used to. It is light weight so I can take it to my sister's "sewing bee". I was considering saving my money for a more expensive sewing machine, but I'm really gald I bought this one. I am very pleased with it and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Best machine I have had

07/21/2011
By ,
Athens, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this machine for 3 weeks. I previously had Singer and Kenmore, and this one seems better. The price is excellent for what you get. Mine is not noisy like I read in another review, but the LED work light is not bright enough. You do need to study the manual to insert bobbin and use the automatic needle threader. The directions for the needle threader were slightly too brief. After learning and a little practice this machine is easier than others. I have been sewing for more than 40 years and would highly recommend this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Great value machine. Nothing more to buy.

01/12/2012
By ,
94606
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine came with a load of extras, like 7 extra feet, needles, bobbins, and a twin set needle. Is computerized which makes it impossible to use the wrong feet and adjustments. It will error out. For the beginner, it has a drop in easy loop bobbin and also has the ability to do free motion quilting, which opens the machine up to many embroidery options besides tons of decorative stitches. Just add add a hoop. Came with a hard case and an extended table. More and more...love it. This replaced my starter Brother Pacesetter. Definitely would have paid >$300 for it. Great bargain and it beat out other online sales during xmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i
07/01/2013
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sewing machine has exceeded my expectations .
It's very easy to use , and has a ton of wonderful stitches.
Light weight but heavy enough to hold itself down.
I did a lot of research before buying and I'm glad I did .
I've been sewing for a couple years now and really needed to upgrade from my old brother as basic as you can get sewing machine. This one is wonderful and has opened up endless possibilitys.
If this is possibly your choice I think you would be very happy, what a great buy and I love all the extras I got with my CS 6000i !
Definately worth the wait for site to store .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Great Value

08/17/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this machine to replace a REALLY old Omega. I love the fact that it sews like butter. I just finished a nap mat with 2 layers of fabric, 2 layers of extra loft batting and it didn't even flinch. Even when sewing through all that AND the strap which was another 4 layers of fabric It didn't have any problem. I really like the features, stitches, accessories ... everything BUT the case. This was a big downer seeing this. It isn't a case but a hard sided tent that sits on top and doesn't even cover the machine completely. Fine for storing on a shelf or in a closet but if you plan on taking it anywhere invest in a case... about $20. Other than that this is an EXCELLENT buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

Sews great BUT very flaky bobbin case and cover!

04/03/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm an experienced seamstress and have used a small Singer machine and a heavy-duty Singer machine before for years. I bought this machine because of the good reviews. I have used it over the last 2 months and sewing different fabric types. It is very easy to thread. Setting different stitch styles, stitch length and width, and winding bobbins are very simple and easy to do. The only problem I have had is the flaky design of the bobbin case and cover. I noticed this from the first time I placed the bobbin in the case. The way the bobbin cover closes made me wonder if it would hold up when sewing. Well, it didn't pop out as I thought until the bobbin case got somehow misaligned while I was sewing and the it popped out. I stopped fast enough not to break any needle and spent some time to get the case back in place. I have never seen the bobbin case misaligned in my previous machines, though in the old machines, it was more difficult to drop in the bobbin. After putting the bobbin case back, I was able to sew like normal though the tension is not that great even with adjustments suggested in the manual. A couple of times, I did get a big chunk of thread jam on the bottom of my fabric for no reason but the flaky design of the bobbin case which seemed to start moving out of alignment.
For this reason, I will return the machine and might not buy another Brother machine again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i

not excited

02/19/2008
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this as a gift from my mother for Christmas. I had been sewing with a brother machine I bought used for 50 dollars o naturally I was excited when I got this machine as a gift. I went to sew inmediately, only to find out that the tension changes in the middle of my sewing. It starts perfect and then starts messing up and I tried everything in the manual. Even changing to better quality thread and it still does that. I am exchanging it.
Product Attributes:
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Brother 60-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine, CS-6000i
10/06/2011
By ,
Janesville, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an avid sewer, and I sew fabrics thick and thin (from thin cottons to heavy wools and anything in between), and this sewing machine has not had a bit of trouble with any of them! It had all the features I wanted for a great price. Another machine with the same features is $350, and I've had the opportunity to use it many times, and this one is just as good. I highly recommend it!
It seems like a relatively quiet machine (although I've been using one from the 40s, so my opinion may be biased). The stitches are very even, which is great. I really like the sliding switch where you can set the speed: There's three settings, so if you set it on slow you can't accidentally press your peddle too hard and go to fast and mess up your delicate work. I also love that it has hand controls. I find this great because my sewing machine frequently travels, and I've forgotten the peddle before...
I think it's great from beginners to advanced! It's very easy to use. I haven't had any trouble whatsoever. This machine is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 1,191 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  60 Next