Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Brother Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Perfect for basic sewing, mending, crafts, and scrapbooking projects this Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine is designed keeping in mind everyday use by skilled sewers and beginner alike. This free-arm sewing machine includes a variety of built-in stitches each with multiple stitch functions, a four-step built-in buttonholer and an auto-bobbin winder. The sewing surface is easily convertible from traditional flat bed to free arm for sewing cuffs and sleeves. A reverse lever helps to lock completed stitches in place. This twin needle sewing machine includes decorative stitching, four quick-change presser feet, zipper foot, buttonhole foot, button sewing foot and zigzag foot. Hemming, sewing buttons, and stitching will be made easy with this portable and handy electronic sewing machine.
Average Customer Rating:
4.202 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
55
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation86%178 out of 208reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 128 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
55
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Would absolutely not recommend this machine

06/04/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine on Site-To-Store based on the fairly high number of "5" ratings received for it. However, I have yet to successfully sew a single hem.
I purchased the machine to make simple hems for curtains (three young children). The material is not heavy duty like demin, it is cotton. Each time I try to use the machine, thread balls up and jams the machine under the material. I have spent so much time pulling thread balls out from the machine, and wasted so much thread, that I can't imagine keeping this machine.
I have followed all troubleshooting tips in the book, including cleaning the bobbin (and casing), rethreading the machine, and even called the Customer Service number. I have ensured that the needle size and thread weight are correct for the type of material I am using. All to no avail.
I will be reboxing the machine and exchanging it for some other machine. It's been a terrible disappointment, and the curtains are draped over all the kitchen chairs, still unhemmed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Yay, im not a dummy after all!

07/27/2011
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. I grew up in Australia and got a D- on my home ec test because i couldnt wrap my brain around threading the machine! I borrowed another persons machine a few years back to try and give it another go, it was a terrible disaster, too much to figure out!
Then i said- well if i buy my own- then ill be forced to work it out because i spent the money. I did lots of research and everyone said great things about this 'beginner' machine.
I sat myself down, read and reread the instructions and in one hour I had threaded the machine all by myself! Not just that, but thanks to the diagram on the actual machine, i now thread it without instructions and it only takes me a few minutes! I conquered my fear and in a few weeks have made three purses and two dresses!
Dont give up and get this great, affordable, easy to understand machine, its great!
ps, my sister just bought one on my recommendation
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Great Machine

12/06/2007
By ,
Toronto, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm just a beginner sewer, so for me, the more simple the machine, the better. I'm so pleased with my purchase of this one. It is simple and easy to use, and I have already started making winter jackets for my dogs! The only downfall I can see so far is that it is difficult to start sewing slowly. You have to press the peddle down a little bit more, and then it kind of starts really fast, but then you can slow down. Sometimes to help it start slower, I turn the Balance Wheel (big wheel on side) counter-clockwise a little. That helps to give a little more control for your first few stitches. That said, it doesn't bother me, and the machine sews really well.
Since the outer shell is plastic (making it lightweight), and it also has a handle, it is really easy to carry, too. For an occassional sewer like myself, this is definitely an excellent purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Love this machine!

12/12/2009
By ,
Gurnee, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutly love this machine! I sew at least 8 hours a day, between my serger and this machine. I use it as aa professional machine, so it gets lots of use! I dont need many stich functions, really only 3 of them, so for me it was perfect. lightweight, so it can swap spaces with my serger easily. I love that this little machine works well on lycra, my primary fabric, as well as anything else I have thrown at it, including fur. leather, and vinyl. The only thing I dont like about this machine is that it does not have a drop in bobbin system, which I prefer. I also find it works best with the old fashioned metal bobbins, instead of the suggested plastic. It eliminated all the tension problems I had with the plastic. I love this little machine sop much I plain on buying another!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Piece of trash

08/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I teach sewing for a living and it breaks my heart to have to start a student, especially a child on this machine. Threading isn't so bad, but the tension is always wrong. I have yet to encounter this machine straight out of the box that does not need the bobbin tension adjusted. The top tension is seldom much better. Today, the bobbin case had a bent piece of metal that I had to remove, straighten, and then by the grace of the Almighty got it back together. I have NEVER had to tear apart a bobbin case in over 40 years of sewing, not to this degree and I was worried about getting it back together. The stitch control selector was loose to the point of nearly falling off, and the upper tension was loose. I would NOT recommend this machine for a child or for anyone beginning to sew. A better machine does not cost that much more and a machine with a speed controller in place is a MUCH better choice of machine for a beginner. Brother makes far better machines than this one. I would direct any of you to look at their Project Runway models as a better starting point and the cost difference is not that great. This machine has a 4 step buttonholer which I would NEVER recommend to anyone on any machine. There are too many inconsistencies in trying to make a buttonhole using this method. Please do yourself a favor and spend around $150 and up if you are going to purchase a bargain basement sewing machine, for any less than that price point, all you are getting is a paperweight that serves essentially the same purpose........NOTHING!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Great little machine

11/21/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine in March of 2008. Almost 3 years later it is still my work horse machine. I do alterations so the machine gets a daily workout.
It is very easy to use. The only thing I have noticed is that it can be touchy if not kept clean. If there is the slightest bit of lint in the bobbin case or race, or the feed dogs, it will skip stitches or lose tension. Simply brush out the feed dog and the bobbin area and you are good to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

DONT BUY IT

01/14/2008
By ,
Shelton, Wa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine is garbage.
The tension does not really adjust, it is somehow based on motor speed, so when doing delicate work it will bind and tangle, or at best leave very loose stictches. It pulls lighter fabrics like cotton down into the bobbin.
Also the feed dogs do not allign, they are 15 degrees off so good luck staying within your seam allowance with the speed you must use inorder to keep tension...
I would definately not recomend this machine to anyone, especially a beginner as it may frusterate them and turn them away from sewing, needlessly...
It would work OK for patching tarps, or sewing aluminum cans together~
I also had the displeasure of using one (Brother) loaded with features. It handled lighter weight fabrics and the tension adjusted better, (not good, just better) It still fed at 10+ degrees off and after an hour of sewing the motor began to bog down, and smelled of burnt electrical. We were just sewing felt stockings... If you need a lowcost machine, go get a used singer or white, you'll be glad you did.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Great Little Machine

10/01/2007
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I began to sew nearly two years ago, I did not want to pay alot for something that may end up in trash pickup. I went with this machine for the price. I love it, I now make dog harnesses for rescue, and I have no need for another higher priced machine. It even sews through the nylon webbing with no problems. Since this purchase a friend even bought this same machine after using mine. I use this machine 5-10 hours a week with no problem. I've had issues with the bobbin twice due to user error (thread must come from the right side).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+196points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

great for the amaturs

04/01/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little machine. ive had mine now for over 4 years and use it all the time. i work in a shop of 30 people. i take care of 75% of the uniform we wear, and never had a minutes problem out of it. not to mention the home projects i use it for all so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Great Sewing machine

08/31/2007
By ,
OKC, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it. Its a great price, and I havent had any problems at all as described in the previous review. I have had it for over a year now and use it every once in a while and never had any problems except for one time and it was user error. I had problems with how tight it was stiching but once I read the instuctions then I figured it out. I would recommend anyone just wanting a basic sewing machine for a decent price to get this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Das

02/16/2012
By ,
Seattle WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never sewed before and decided it was something I wanted to do to make blankets and bags ETC.. figuring out how to thread the machine was the biggest problem as I had no idea how and the directions were a litle complicated and I have little patience! But was able to get it figured out and that took me personally ABOUT 1/2 hr but again I have no patience. Then I had scraps that I started practicing with and sewed my first baby quilt the next day! I am not sure why people,say the foot pedal is hard to controll as I have no problems but again have never sewed on any other machine and I just don't know what a exspensive machine is like!! There are plenty of features that I wont need for some time as I dont plan to make anything too fancy just blankets, small bags ,curtaines ETC.. So I think this is great machine does what I need it to do its been about a month now and I have never had any problems with the bobin or any problems really that werent my fault from lack of experiance. It's fun and I am glad I bought this one, Oh and it sounds likem any sewing machine I have ever heard so cant really say if it's really loud as some have stated but to me sounds like regular sewing machine and the Price cant be beat!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Happy I read reviews before buying!

07/27/2011
By ,
Spring Grove, PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I checked out many machines before buying this one. I am a beginner and this is my first brand new machine. I have only sewed minimal on an old one that was given to me. I am THRILLED with this machine. The instuctions are very easy to read as I read from others. Even threading the machine which intimidated me before I even recieved the machine. Well it was truely easy. I am happy with all the sewing patterns it offers and the accessories. Plenty for a beginner. I am about to start learning buttons and button holes but not nervous about it as I said, Instructions that came with it are great. I bought a Singer case for it ( I was told it was for many machine types) and it fits great with a little room to spare to store my foot pedal!! I LOVE this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Great for beginers

03/11/2011
By ,
Napoleonville, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first sewing machine that i have purchased and for beginers it's a great choice. It was very easy to figure out. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

My first sewing machine.

06/26/2012
By ,
Auburn,WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never sewed a day in my life before getting this machine. I crochet purses and decided I wanted to step them up a notch and add liners. If someone else can learn to sew then SO can I. So I watched about ten thousand videos on how to sew on Youtube then I shopped around for the right machine. I was just going to be lazy about it and get a childs machine. Something small that I could just sew ends over with and leave it at that. I saw this one on sale and read almost all the reviews and decided to try it. It is amazing. I read through the manual completely and was careful to thread it correctly. I transferred the thread I had purchased to a bobbin successfully and sewed a pin cushion on the first day to keep all those pattern holding straight pins in. I used some embroidery fabric I had laying around (some that I didn't like the printed pattern on) It made a lovely sewing themed first project. I'm ADDICTED now. I have to admit I was frightened out of my WITS that I was wasting money on something that I would be terrible at but it isn't hard at ALL. I think it is all knowledge and practice which is easily accomplished. I'm excited. I have a BIN full of fabric that my mother sent to me but I'm reluctant to mess it up so I went to the Goodwill and purchased a few old sheets on the sale days and practiced with those in the patterns I bought. Nothing to it. I love this machine SO MUCH. It told me everything I needed to know and has a TON of options. Plus I got it on sale for $60! I registered the machine with the card it came with. The only BAD thing I would say is that the cord holding the foot could be longer. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Wow..great machine.

03/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to learn how to sew about 6 months ago. I didn't want to spend a fortune on a machine..in case it didn't work out. So, after reading a TON of reviews on this site and a few others, I choose this machine. And boy, am I glad I did!
It's SUPER easy to use. The manual explains everything and even helps you trouble shoot any little problems you might run into (although, I've only had one..the bobbin kept popping out...turns out, I put it in wrong)
It's easy to thread, easy to load the bobbin, easy to change bobbins, and easy to switch stitches. Stitch number 5 is great for finishing edges, the biggest on 6 is great for hand ruffling items and the automatic button holer is AMAZING. It's super simple to use.
I have made dresses and skirts and hairbows...and it's had NO problem with satins, cottons, linens or multiple layers! I sewed through 5 layers of satin the other day and it had NO problem with it at all!
I love this little machine and use it almost everyday. You can't beat the price. My friends have bought machine twice as expensive and their's can't do anything more than what mine can. So why spend more?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Not the best...

07/29/2009
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had a lot of experience with all different types of sewing machines and I have to say that this particular machine will drive you to drink. The tension is the main issue. Just like others have said, the tension is messed up and it is impossible to fix. It is either to loose or gets all bunched up and forms a rats next under the fabric. I haven't ever had so much trouble with a machine's tension before as I have with this one.
On the other hand, it is simple to use and understand. Simple to thread and to set different stitch patterns. I wouldn't recommend this machine solely based on the ongoing, nevet ending tension issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Meets all expectations

09/25/2009
By ,
East China Michigan. USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Brother LX3125 I purchased from WalMart is the best sewing machine I ever had, I have used it
for the past three days and am happy that I can easily wind bobbins and thread the machine without any hastle, I am just a craft sewer but this machine is the finest for the money and it is a pleasure to sew with it. Very easy to use..looks like a woman invented this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Basic Machine hard to thread

05/13/2012
By ,
El Segundo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product with a rewards gift mail order because my 1971 model from Spiegel broke down. It lived in a beautiful cabinet. I had to hold down the reverse button in order to reverse. I don't sew as I used to so I thought this machine would do my repairs and quick fixes. This machine has bee a major disappointment. The construction makes it hard to properly thread. A lot of the holes the thread is to slide thru are not accessible. The face does not easily open. One has to take it off with a screwdriver. The concepts are good but one cannot slide the thread thru required openings. As a result the thread breaks lot. As another reviewer mentioned:One cannot just sit down and sew. I had to toss my sewing cabinet because the newer model do not fit so I keep the model in the box. I don't plan to buy a new machine but sewing is no longer a fun thing. Many frustrations here. I recommend try before you buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

simple to use

05/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this machine. It is simple to use and does a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 10-Stitch Portable Sewing Machine, LS-2125i

Useless from day 1

10/29/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The day I took this out of the box I had trouble with it and it's been downhill ever since. I had problems with the machine jamming/locking up. I came to find out that the plate under the needle was misaligned causing the needle to get bent and caught in the bobbin and there was not any way to correct it. Now I can't sew a single stitch, the misalignment got worse and the needle smacks into the plate and can't get through. I could try sewing without it I guess.
Brother support couldn't help me and wanted me to take it 50 miles to a repair shop to get it fixed. I'm going to get a new Singer instead.
I may have gotten a bad one, but the experience and lack of any location close to me to fix this just doesn't leave me very confident in the brand. It's not like I live in a major metropolitan area, the closest authorized repair shop shouldn't be that far away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next