Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Brother Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

If you are a beginner, then the Brother XL2600i 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine with its user-friendly features is a great choice. The free-arm sewing machine is for all of your sewing, quilting and home and clothes decorating needs. The Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i features built-in utility, decorative and heirloom stitches, each with multiple stitch functions to give you a palette of options for your creations. The multi stitch sewing machine, hasa one-step auto-size buttonholer to easily create buttonholes and convenient drop-in bobbin system which is easy to thread. With its automatic needle threader, you can easily thread the needle. Design your clothes or curtains in different styles with the twin needle exclusively included for doing decorative work. Store your machine accessories in the built-in space unit. It is portable, so you can carry it around easily. Use this machine to make your sewing work ease and hassle-free.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(639 Reviews) 521
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
423
4 stars
163
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation94%599 out of 639reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
163 Questions | 483 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
423
4 stars
163
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Brand New Quilter, with no experience

05/30/2010
By ,
Philadelphia, Penna
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a B-day/ Anniversary present from my my husband & son. They had no idea what I wanted & I told them about a quilting class I was interested in but that I needed a sewing machine. My husband responded GREAT, he told me to pick it out & he would pay for it, and the rest is history. Its been a very long time sense I've sewn anything. Taking on the project of creating a quilt made from our nurses scrub tops. Wasn't sure if this was great for beginners, but I'm sure my selection of choice will work for me. I liked nothing in the stores, so I went on-line and low and behold there it was. Place the order, got it site-to-store much sooner than expected, the whole experience of purchasing my sewing machine was AWESOME!!!!! Great job to the persons responsible for making me a more than satisfied customer. Haven't really did any sewing yet, because the quilting class hasn't begun yet. But I will send in another review if allowed, and let you know if I really love the product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Great Sewing Machine!

02/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my machine a week ago. I had never used a sewing machine before but I had no problems working this one. Instructions were simple and clear. I spent the weekend making baby bedding for our baby girl that's due in April. I made the curtains, bumper, and crib skirt. I can't wait to come up with another sewing project!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Miami Beach
Impressive
Posted 06/07/2013
I'm actually thinking of buying a machine and this is quite an encouraging review. Thanks!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/28/2012
WOW! Your baby bedding looks great. Impressive from someone who hadf never used a sewing machine before. I have sewn before and have deicided that I want a machine again for small projects. The reviews on this machine are great.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Great Machine for Beginner

12/21/2010
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a first timer on the sewing machine so I wanted something simple and of course in my budget but not too cheap that it won’t last. I’ve had this machine for about a month now and I love it! Price was great! I have had some problems with the thread getting bunched at the needle/bobbin but it’s probably something I’m doing wrong. I did have to adjust the tensioner and that helped some. I plan on having my husband’s mother come look at it and make sure it’s set up correctly (she’s a sewing whiz). Other than that, it works great. Winding the bobbin was a breeze, and threading the machine was too (super easy directions). I was able to easily sew our last 2 Christmas stockings and tree skirt in no time!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Love my sewing machine

03/03/2014
By ,
Mission, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a long time since I last sewed. Now that I'm retired, I have more time. The last time I bought a sewing machine was in 1994. This machine, I think, is pretty basic. For anyone who is getting back to sewing, it's a great machine. Easy to use, a self threading needle, 25 stitches, lightweight and more.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Awesome Sewing Machine!

05/24/2009
By ,
Post Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used my new sewing machine for the first time today to make a blessing dress for my granddaughter - it is AWESOME. I had tons of pins, and lots of thicknesses, and I didn't have one problem! It sounds like a Cadillac compared to my old Singer. I think it looks great too! I am VERY happy with this machine! The only thing that I'm maybe not too thrilled with is the automatic threader. The only reason I would think that you would need an automatic threader is for people who can't see that well - but the little teeny tiny hook thing that is supposed to grab your thread and pull it through the eye of the needle is even smaller than the needle hole! I couldn't see a thing! :-D But I got it to work eventually!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+305points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Good sewing machine to start with!

02/16/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted a small non-digital machine to have around our RV, for small projects. Worked great right out of the box. Took a few minutes to figure things out, but after the initial learning period it worked great. Found a small roll-around suitcase at WalMart that fits great too. Real happy with it so far!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i
01/01/2012
By ,
Yazoo City, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT machine. Bought a Singer electronic first and had to take it back cause it locked up for no reason. This machine is a real work horse. It has an extensive user guide to walk you through anything about the machine built in stitches. Is forgiving to mistakes. I love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Great sewing machine!

08/13/2011
By ,
Hicksville, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sewing machine for my twin grandaughters for Christmas 2010. They had wanted a sewing machine after watching Project Runway and were trying to piece together fabric with hand stitching and came up with some very cute outfits of which they wore. So next step was to get them a sewing machine and they have been sewing ever since. Picking up the skill very quickly. Today I am going to buy them another machine just like this one so both girls can sew at the same time. They will be soooo surprised. Now all three of us can sew at the same time. Just a great sewing machine! Oh and by the way the girls are 11 so you can sew too. Very easy to learn.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

"First sewing experience"

12/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i luv the sewing machine that i received as a gift from my very best Son! its easy to use & lightweight & it has auto thread abilities which is great i've always had trouble threading needles!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

sturdy hardworker!

12/28/2012
By ,
Somewhere, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for a teenager but opened and used it to make several gifts before giving the machine away. I wanted to know how to use it so I could teach her. She's going to love it!
Good value!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

THINK TWICE

04/11/2014
By ,
Ustin, tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this machine 1 1/2 years ago. For a starter, I thought it would fit the bill... and it fit. When I chose it, I figured I did not need a SUPER strong and expensive machine, for I would not use it every day - I used it mainly for some home decor and to make a dress or a pajama, now and then. I always had problems with its stich - it would come loose, and I would open, snoop around, clean up and close it again. Eventualy, it would work but not this last time. I took it to a technician @ 72th St x Pacific. They gave me the quotation 2 days ago - $92 dolars. I told him I paid much less for the machine and he came down to $75 or so. Still, too expensive if you think a new one comes with one year warranty. This time I will buy ANOTHER BRAND with extended warranty, if I have the option! As I am not buying the same machine or brand, I would not recommend to a friend to do it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Great For my teenage Daughter and I To Learn On

01/12/2014
By ,
Augusta,Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Daughter has expressed a desire to learn to sew. I know some basics but was taught in school ages ago, so we needed a machine where we could practice --without frustration of constant breakdowns!!--and this machine was the one we chose. We were supposed to take classes, so I left the machine packed up for 4 months waiting. Finally, one weekend I just said let's just set it up and try our luck. Read the set up directions and set up the bobbin and showed her how to thread the machine. We cut up an old pillow case and practiced stitching.
The Next day, Off to the Fabric store to get some fun materials to work with and Ta-Da. We have made one small Pillow and a Neck-Kerchief for The Dog (On The 2nd day!!!) My Daughter is Absolutely Loving This Experience because The Machine is not Frustrating to Operate and it has the ability to grow with us as we do more. Friends have taken notice on FaceBook at her Quick Progress and they are wanting to Learn Too. They no longer teach Sewing in school but you find times when that skill is nice to have. This Brother sewing Matching is Fabulous!! I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Great product

04/07/2014
By ,
Reidsville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Straight out of the box, ready to sew! All I had to do was thread everything up and start sewing!
I would highly recommend this machine to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

A Machine for Everyone

04/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did a lot of research before making the decision on purchasing this product. I read review after review and overall this machine had the best customer rating AND the lowest price.
Most of the people that gave this machine a bad rating were off-put by tension problems. And after my first project, and my three year old son messing with dials, my tension was off.
My first thought was: "Oh great! Here we go..." But after looking at the tension section of the manual and 5 minutes of adjusting accordingly the problem was solved.
I've completed two good sized projects, both with different weights of fabric, and haven't had any other problems.
I love this machine and am so glad I purchased it.
BTW:
The review that sold me on this product came from a woman who has been sewing for over 50 years and highly recommended it ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

I wish it didn't break

11/04/2008
By ,
Pasco, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a professional seamstress and I LOVE this machine. It recently broke due to my carelessness and I looked at upgrading, but I love this one so much it's hard to leave it. I've had it for 2 years, and while I do remember quite a learning curve, once I figured it out, it's been GREAT. It does all the things I want it to, one step buttonholer, needle threader and thread cutter. The bobbin case will take any bobbins, really, I've tried plenty. Whenever I have a problem, I can usually solve it using the troubleshooting guide in the manual or a chat with my mom, who is sewing savvy. I've used it in scrapbooking, to mend jeans, make baby stuff, and as my main machine for my business. I could upgrade machines, but this one is a great value and has worked really well for me. The only one better is my moms all metal Pfaff from 1974.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+556points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Denver
the same thing happened to me!!!
Posted 09/24/2012
I LOVE this machine!!! After a little over 2 years, mine broke, something internal and it cost more to fix it than to buy a new one! I love this machine so much, so I am planning to just buy another one. I am completely self-taught, just bought this machine and read the manual and started sewing! I made my bridesmaid dresses with it, along with so many other things - bags, clothes, accessories. It's an awesome sewing machine...I just wish it didn't break!!!!!!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Light weight machine

03/30/2014
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For being a Brother machine it is a little weak. I have only used it a few times so far.
Has a nice stitch. Not sure it will meet all my sewing needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Awesome machine for the price.

01/13/2014
By ,
Tempe,AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews for this machine and decided that the Excellents outweighed the Negatives. I expected this machine to be more like a toy machine because of the negative reviews but was pleasantly surprised that it is a substantial full size machine. I have been making some valances with it and it works like a dream. It's very easy to set up, the foot pedal works just fine (none of the 0-60 mph complaints are true with my machine), the self-threader is a blessing for these eyes and the variety of stitches is great. While I'm sure experienced tailors wouldn't choose this machine; for home projects and crafts I would recommend it highly. It does just what I need it to do, it's an AWESOME price ($20 cheaper than Amazon when I bought it) and it's quality is good enough that I know I will have it for a very long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Great Machine

04/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine is a great and the fact that it is so budget friendly is a plus. The only reason I gave it a 4 was because initially I could not tune the tension to sew right. So if you are a beginner you may not know what to do and assume its the machine and return it. Other than that it does exactly what you expect and the many different accessories included is awesome! I would definitely recommend this product to a friend.... Now if Brother would have products readily accessible in stores like that of its competitor that would be icing on the cake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Great machine for the price!

07/16/2013
By ,
Burlington, Wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with this machine now after figuring out a problem that clearly could have been avoided. The manual definitely needs better directions and info on the tension settings and bobbin threading. I spent an entire day of researching on-line reviews on this machine including videos from how to thread the machine and trouble-shoot why my stiches were loose. I almost packed it back up to return to store until I read someone's comment on the bobbin- she described exactly what I went through and she finally realized the problem was the bobbin threading- there is another very thin metal groove on the inside that thread has to go behind before the obvious one, that she could hardly see. And she was right! I found it and the stiches were instantly PERFECT! The manual should be re-written and have this info clearly stated and another suggestion would be to separated languages into complete separate sections.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 25-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine, XL-2600i

Nothing fancy; just a good Model T of a machine

10/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the minimum machine that you should buy, for the occasional sewer or student. The less-featured machine does not allow right-middle-left needle placement, and you'll need that someday. I actually bought this to replace an existing XL-2600 that I dropped upside down onto concrete. It didn't survive. This one actually came with a better button hole foot. I did buy a clear, acrylic foot that I like better than the standard foot. Brother has lots of interesting feet. The "overlock" stitch is slow, but works, and you'll have to trim by hand. Are you in that big of a hurry? You will enjoy this machine, and you will not outgrow it too soon. It's lightweight and easy to carry around the house or to sewing lessons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann
Needle position
Posted 01/15/2014
No, this machine does not have an adjustment to end in an up or down position. How hard is it to turn the wheel by hand? A slight turn of the wheel and the needle will be up or down which ever you want.
0points
Customer Avatar
Westfield
Needle adjustment
Posted 01/15/2014
It appears that you have not adjusted the dial on the top left because that dial will adjust the needle to any position you desire.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 522 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next