Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pacific Cycle 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Pacific Cycle 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

The Kulana Lua Tandem Bike 26 is here to take the fun factor of tandem biking to a new level. Two extra large and comfortable cruiser saddles are mounted on a stylish yellow HI-Ten cruiser frame, with easy reach handlebars and fun beach graphics. The frame, graphics and the whitewall tyres together present a colorful look to the tandem bicycle. Be assured of years of exercise and fun while touring around on bike paths, light trails, or when cruising along a quiet beachside lane. The super-relaxed riding position and padded seats are tailor-made and lets you enjoy the scenery while having fun with your family. The integrated rear coast brakes showcase powerful braking irrespective of the weather conditions. Half wrap front and rear fenders are employed in the Hi-Ten steel bike to add further convenience in diverse weather conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.246 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(276 Reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
153
4 stars
77
3 stars
22
2 stars
9
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation89%245 out of 275reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
81 Questions | 210 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
153
4 stars
77
3 stars
22
2 stars
9
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Great fun bike for two!

12/20/2012
By ,
Superior, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for a Christmas present for my parents. Walmart site to store was awesome. The great people at the Cooper City FL store assembled the bike. Perfect gift! The whole family loves taking it out for a spin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Great Fun!

07/07/2011
By ,
St.Pete. FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Out riding my bike

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just having fun
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Bike for Two

05/07/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of fun at a good price. Doesn't take long to put together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

tandem

01/15/2010
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike came with dent in fender....scratches on handlebars....could even tell someone had tried to cover up some scratches....otherwise bike is nice looking. Directions were not very helpful in assembly....did not seem to be for a tandem bike. For the money....pretty decent old-fashioned bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Excellent Value for a Cruiser Tandem

11/28/2011
By ,
Galveston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike is exactly as advertised. It is a well built tandem bike with a fixed gear and a coaster brake. You have to pedal in sync with your partner, but the bike rides well. If this is your first tandem bike, know that the coordination takes a little getting used to, and I recommend that if you are the person in front (steering) you take a few laps by yourself before putting someone on the back.
This is a heavy bike, and it is made for riding on pretty flat ground, so if that is not your position, I would look for one with some gearing. The assembly is pretty straight forward, but the instructions provided only reference a normal bike. The only difference is the installation of the second set of handle bars, and they slip on the seat post. Mine arrived with a bent fender, but a call to Wal-Mart got me a replacement in about a week.
Both my wife and I love the bike and we would recommend it to anyone who wants to ride in a flat area. I would not recommend this particular bike for hills. Happy Biking!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Great Bike for My Autistic kid

04/10/2014
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 12yr old Autistic daughter who is unable to peddle a bike. She outgrew the pull behinds about 7yrs ago and has been unable to enjoy bike rides since. The cost of a special needs bike was upwards of $3000-$9000. We decided to try a Tandum bike and chose walmart due to the good selection and good prices. I must say I was very pleased with this bike. It's very easy to ride, my daughter rides in the back and we peddle her around. It does not require both people to peddle the bike (my daughter just puts her feet on the peddles). We've rode it quite a bit over the past 2 weeks and so far its held up great. We get a lot of compliments on it, and most of all my daughters smile is enough to make the purchase worth it. It was not hard to put together either, took about 30mn. My only complaint is the seats are not comfortable if riding it for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

not user friendly

11/19/2007
By ,
south carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although this is a very nice looking bike (everyone oohed and aahhed as we took it from the store and as we took it back to the store), it was not user friendly at all. First, the owners manual that came with it was for all of that company's bikes yet gave no specific instructions for the tandem bike at all. And of course the set-up for a tandem bike is different than a normal bike. After a couple hours of trial and error, we got it together and went for a ride. I am only six-feet tall and my wife is only 5'4" and yet the whole bike seemed way to low to the ground. It was hard to turn because the front handle bars were also too low, even though we raised them as high as they would go. Also, my wife couldn't see over me so we switched and I took the back, but that was even worse as those handlebars and seat were were even lower and very uncomfortable. I guess we learned why a good tandem bike costs much more than this one did...The bottom line: not any fun at all to ride so we took it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

good tandem for the price

09/29/2011
By ,
Defiance,Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a tandem for me and my fiancee. Right before I found this one online some guy was trying to sell me a used one for fifty dollars more than this price. So I took my chances on the walmart bike instead. When it arrived the fedex man couldn't even handle the box,he said it was too heavy. At first glance of the bicycle package the box was in not to good of a condition it had a few rips in it and places where it looked like it had been hit. Upon further inspection and assembly of the bicycle the rear fender and the chain guard were damaged from shipping. Assembly of the bicycle was fairly easy and took around 30 minutes. After assembly we took it for a ride we soon found out (being the first time either of us has ever ridden a tandem) it was more work than a regular style bicycle, but twice as fun. The only problem I had was when whoever is steering, the tire will hit you front part of your feet during turns if you don't have them in a vertcal position. If you get this tandem I dare you to try and not smile when you two ride it, it is impossible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Worth the Money

07/31/2010
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tandem is a lot of fun. If you are looking for a solid no frills tandem bike, this is the one. The bike is very attractive, works very well, and seems well made. You will turn heads where ever you go and will often hear "great bike". It takes getting used to not having any speeds and a wide turning circle but those are to be expected. I would like to see a better and safer breaking system as the foot break is only mediocre for stopping. (Safety should not be a "budget item)"! I would also like to see a heavier and better angled kickstand to hold up such a long and heavy bicycle. (If they offered the same bike with 6 speeds for $50 more, I would spend the extra money). We called the store before pick up and they built the bike for free. Overall, the bike is well worth the money and we have a lot of fun riding it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Best gift ever!!!! Worth every penny....

07/05/2012
By ,
Denmark, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bike for my son-in-law and daughter after doing a lot of research. My SIL had mentioned several times that he always wanted a tandem. When my children were growing up, we had a tandem bike and really enjoyed it. I was looking for a 'cruiser' type bike that would be easy for them to ride and one that had a strong frame and more comfortable saddles...
This bike has it all - - - strength, style, comfort and ease in using it... The grins on their faces when they rode it for the first time were priceless.... They ride it several times per week after work and the grins are still there...
It is a true attention-getter... Even the associate who assembled it said that he had never had so many people stopping by to check it out while he was working on it... I am sure that there will be a few more of these appearing on NE Wisconsin roads...
I heartily recommend this bike....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

This is GREAT BIKE!!

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this bike for our 22nd anniversary. We named it 22 and WE LOVE IT!! We are part of a 40 person cruiser/ Happy Thursday biking club and both have our own bikes. We loved the way the bike looked online and the price was GREAT. So we ordered it and had it shipped to our house for $5 extra. It's exactly like we hoped it would be, if not better. I think maybe it took us 30 minutes to put it together. Just very basic stuff. It's solid, it handles great, rider friendly and the color is a very happy, joyful, bright metallic yellow. People are drawn to it when they see it and we always get lots of compliments. I 've heard negative things about how hard tandem bikes are to ride. I literally have no idea about what they are talking about. This one is great. We had never ridden on a tandem, but we got the hang of it within 5 mins. So don't let that scare you. We did change out the seats because we found them a little on the hard side. We also bought the Huffy black cup holders, this crazy, cool huge cruiser bike bells that we found at the Walmart in PCB (a big cruiser community), a removable basket. We also decked the wheels out with battery powdered string lights. I cannot say enough about how much we love it. Personally I think the bike is underpriced and would be a great deal at double the price, but don't tell Walmart I said that!! :) Buy it and enjoy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike
12/10/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I really wanted a tandem bicycle that was a cruiser type so we didn't have to deal with annoying gears so this bike was ideal. For the longest time it was unavailable, like for 6 months, so we checked Wal-mart's website everyday and we'd like to thankfully think our determination and want of the bike convinced Wal-mart to carry the bike again.
The good: everything. The color was more gold than yellow, not that we cared.
The bad: we got a flat tire after our first short ride. We even took the precaution of lacing the front and back tire with Slime's puncture protector tire liners, which we bought separately. The box arrived with holes and our shipping label was placed over someone else's name and address, which made us wonder if someone bought the bike and then changed their mind. Or had it returned. It's an easy enough bike to return, and would have been easier had we not wanted to remove the tires and add the plastic protectors to protect the tube.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Great Family Fun

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great FUN for the whole family. Took about an hour to remove from box and put it together. The price was Excellent for this very well made tandem bike and shipping was free :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Fun Bike Not-so-fun Instructions

01/13/2009
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bicycle is fun. The front rider needs to learn to peddle with his/her toes and balls of his/her feet rather than with his/her arch or heel, otherwise the front tire will rub his/her feet on sharp turns. The second rider's knees can bump the first rider's butt while peddling. Also, both riders need to learn that if they want to rest while riding, they must take their feet off the pedals, otherwise it stops the pedals of the other person. It takes a little practice with balance. It's not fall-down type of imbalance, just an unfamiliar wobble with the other person on-board.
The bicycle is easy to assemble (we have the model without brakes). The pedals are marked Left or Right, this is because they are threaded in opposite directions. However, the instructions are very poor as they are for a single seat bicycle. Also, I sliced my finger on a burr on one of the pedal nuts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Very Good Basic Tandem Bike

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The other reviews were helpful. The bike is very basic but well made. I had a few issues - one seat had a small tear, the front reflector was broken and rear reflector was missing. I called the 800 number (in the user manual, not Wal-Marts) and the operator was superb to work with. She indicated the items would be shipped right out (three days ago so the parts should arrive today). We've taken the bike out twice now (wife on front, me on the back) and it's been fine. It takes a couple of short rides to determine the best settings/adjustments for each of us. I wish the handle bar mount for the rear passenger bars was a little taller/longer. I'm six foot tall and have to bend a little to reach the handle bars. They sit low due to the wife's seat being low for her sixty-seven inch frame. Overall I'm quite satisfied with the bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Minor problems

10/06/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bike is good overall but the assembly was challenging due to the different tools required that weren't included. (Allen wrenches) Also the rear fender was loose and very difficult to tighten since the bolt was behind the wheel and the when can't be taken off or loosened. The seating in front seems too short but is adequate, however the seats are surprisingly uncomfortable.
The price was so cheap for the use it will get but I probably would have opted for a better quality had I been able to see it in a store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

My 5-year old and I love it!

12/03/2013
By ,
West Melbourne, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had it shipped to store--it came in 2 days early. Bike was ready for pickup within 2 days of assembly request. Although my 5-year old (46" tall) cannot reach the pedals, she is able to put her feet up. The handlebars are a bit of a stretch for her. I am 5'7", and the front seat, on the lowest setting, is higher than I would prefer; however, I love the bike and can deal with it. I bought it to ride my daughter to school in the morning. After I drop her off, and I ride it home by myself, and the bike is very easy to ride and maneuver alone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

Dream Bike

01/10/2008
By ,
Oxford, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike is amazing. For anyone who loves cruisers and has always wanted a tandem. Smooth ride. Gorgeous in person. Assembly is tricky because manual is for all bikes by this brand, but as long as you're not in a rush it's worth the effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 26" Kulana Lua Tandem Bike

lots of fun

10/28/2008
By ,
Antelope, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike for my daughter and myself to ride nightly. We love it! We have been having such a great time with it. It took approx 10 days to receive. The associates at Walmart put it together for us the same day at no cost and we were riding that night. So far everyone we know has tried it out, young and old, and have enjoyed it tremendously. I would definitley recommend this bike to anyone thinking of buying a tanem bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 252 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next