Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Guarantee yourself light whenever and wherever you need it with Coleman's Rugged Rechargeable Lantern. Perfect for use at home or while camping, it charges from any 120v wall outlet or 12v cigarette port. Made of heavy-duty thermoplastic and rubber with an easy-grip handle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.674 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%45 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Great Lantern for a Family (or anyone)

01/08/2009
By ,
Lake Conroe, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought two of these. Broke one (knocked it off an 8 floot ladder and broke the bulb). Bought a new bulb and another lantern just because I like it so much. Lots of light, rugged, safe, easy to use, long run time, two brightnesses and two different chargers included and stowable in the base. Son of a Boy Scout Executive - never thought I'd leave a traditional gas or butane Coleman lantern for an electric, but I have two small kids and don't need the hassle of fuels or the burn potential, or a glass shield (this one is clear lexan plastic), just light and fun. Sealed lead acid battery can be (and likes to be) topped off anytime you want without memory issues. Heck and its even clean and GREEN. What more could you possibly want? Walmart has best price on net and I got free shipping. WARNING - NOT THE SAME AS THE 6 D CELL UNIT WHICH I DO NOT RECOMMEND (why bother with disposable batteries??)
Enjoy!
I recommend this product without reservation.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Review 2 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

No more searching for a flashlight in the dark.

07/18/2009
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good lantern for when the power goes off. I bought this lantern mainly because it turns itself on when the power goes out. No more trying to find a flashlight in the dark. Well made and a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

so easy to use

10/13/2008
By ,
Virginia USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hadn/t camped in years. I really liked having no flame. I knock over things. The night light was nice in the tent.Just a enough light to get around. On high it was very easy to read .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 4 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Coleman Quality!

08/08/2009
By ,
Austintown Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lantern is amazing. I have had it for about 3 (three) months and use it for about 35 minutes every 2-3 days and have not needed to charge it yet. In my opinion its a keeper. It works great and has a good warranty, all from the best name in the business. You cannot go wrong. In my experiences with Coleman over the years they have always made it right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 5 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Great lantern!

01/03/2008
By ,
Traverse City, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice lantern. I bought it as a Christmas gift for my mother, age 78, to have as a backup light in the house because her power goes out occasionally in storms...she loved it! It's not heavy at all yet feels well made and sturdy, the operating directions are easy to understand, the controls and adjustments are easy to read and operate, it takes up very little space so it can be kept in a handy location, and the light is more than adequate to illuminate a room or to read by. She hasn't had to use it yet, but if she does need it, it's standing by. It's reassuring to both of us to know she has a backup source of light for an emergency.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 6 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

One if by land...

01/12/2009
By ,
Gorham, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought one of these lanterns several summers ago to use when tent camping. Works flawlessly. Holds a charge well. We've actually used it more during power outages at home than camping! In fact, we hunted high and low for this lantern to give to my mother-in-law as a gift. During power outages, she was using smelly, dangerous kerosene lamps. We ordered the first time from Walmart online. Received the lantern exactly when promised. We'll all sleep better knowing she has something reliable and safe!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 7 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Not as bright as I expected

08/04/2009
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like some features about this lamp. First, the cords store in the bottom. Second, it charges easily, and has a great battery. Third, it is light weight. The only thing is, when we took it in the tent, it wasn't nearly as bright as I expected it to be, even on high. Also, the handle was too thick to put on the hook at the top of the tent (that I can fix with another hook).
I don't like the smell of fuel, so I like the idea of a rechargeable light. The nightlight feature is also very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Not So Bright...

09/07/2008
By ,
Manchester, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I actually purchased this lantern for safety reasons, desiring a plastic globe. With a four year old camping, we didn't want any accidents to happen. First problem is obvious; this lantern is NOT as bright as a propane lantern (which we ended up getting while on the trip). The biggest bummer was that the recharge time is around 18 hours if it needs a full recharge (to light on "high" for 9 hours). I love Coleman, needless to say, and will continue to purchase their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 9 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Good product

02/20/2009
By ,
KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I initially bought two Ozark Trail lanterns and after I got home and unpackaged them I found they were very cheaply made. On a hunch, I looked up some reviews and found the Ozark trail recharcheable latern rechargeable battery are kind of dangerous and unreliable. I bought the Coleman rechargeable and it works fine and by far it a better quality lantern. The cons though, there is not much difference between the med and low settings but overall a good sturdy lantern.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 10 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Simple and reliable

03/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my in-laws who were experiencing repeated power outages. They keep this rechargeable lantern plugged in all the time so that when the power goes out it automatically turns on so at least they have some light in the house.
Their power has gone out a few times since I gave this to them, and the lantern has done what it was supposed to do each time. One of the outages was for several hours and the lantern light was bright throughout.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Works great

04/10/2008
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy with purchase. Great for camping and even for emergencies around the house in case of power outage. Very convenient because you can charge using the plug at home night before leaving for camp and if need be, can recharge w the car adaptor. Much better than having to buy one with batteries and having to keep buying batteries. A little expensive but worth the extra bucks vs the lamp that runs on batteries. Worth it if you can afford it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 12 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Avery good lantern

07/31/2009
By ,
Vista, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lantern put out almost as much light as a liquid fueled lantern. There doesn't seem to be much difference between the low and high settings, so condidering the savings on battery power, I use the low setting and have light for much longer. My only complaint is that it takes so long to recharge (16 to 19 hours). But, it states that on the instructions so I can't complain much. All in all it is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 13 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Coleman Lantern will be collector's item some day

01/05/2009
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas as we live in Florida and our power goes out all the time in the summer. We haven't had a need to use it yet, but it seems well constructed and I was told that there are no more Coleman stores, outlet or otherwise (I have yet to verify that claim), but if it's true, this lantern will be a collector's item one day! Not a sole reason to buy it, just an interesting fact.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Lantern

01/07/2009
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We go fishing alot and never have enough light to bait our hooks. I thought this would be great for our fishing trips. My man was very happy to get it. We have not got to use it yet but next spring I'm sure it will come in very handy for our late night fishing trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

More than meets expectations

11/24/2008
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, the light has been lasting > 6 hours on high every night.
We use it to light our henhouse, which does not have power.
Much nicer than the no-name knockoff versions (we bought one
and it lasted < 2 hours).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

Light on the subject

12/26/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this lantern. I love the fact it recharges. I just keep it plugged in while not in use, and when I'm ready I light up my balcony. The lights are on and somebody is home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern
05/27/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A storm knock out our power and I had just got our lantern. It looked like we still had power! I cant wait to use it when we go to Yellowstone this summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

necessary item

12/05/2008
By ,
Charleston WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not quite as much light as I expected but its ok and convient because you don't have to have any fuel. Haven't had to charge the battery yet
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

the best

08/28/2009
By ,
Yonkers, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the lantern the same day we went camping and charge it for no more than 4 hrs. and use it for 3 days without recharging!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 20 for Coleman Rugged Rechargeable Lantern

average product

02/11/2009
By ,
romulus,mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not as bright as i thought it would be but im keeping just for the fact that it can be charged in the car in case of power failure.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next