Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gorilla Playsets Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gorilla Playsets Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

A great investment in childhood play equipment, the Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Play Center and Swing Set offers a multitude of activities that go beyond ordinary features found in typical swing sets. The ready-to-assemble set includes premium wood components, durable accessories and necessary hardware - all at a reasonable price. For the exceptional quality and abundance of play opportunities, the Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Play Center and Swing Set is an excellent value.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
20
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%53 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
20
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set
07/06/2008
By ,
Douglass, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plan on spending at least one week putting this together with two or more people! The beginning instructions are challanging to understand and easily confused. We had three people, one who had experience putting together play equipment for our school, and it still took us an entire day to get the main structure together. I recommend setting out each "step" with boards and hardware to make it easier (we had two people working and one person as foreman). We were short hardware and handles. Gorilla sent us handles quickly. It is a bear to put together but looks beautiful once it is done. Our kids and their friends love it! We have a two year old and a nine year old and they both can play on it easily. It is strong enough that even mom and dad can play as well!
We have had it up for three months and the only problem we have had is the green plastic covering on the main boards split. Gorilla has sent us replacement boards, we are not sure how to replace structural boards though! The company was very quick to replace at no cost to us and hopefully will be helpful with suggestions on repair. Even with this problem I highly recommend this product. I searched for a month and this was the best product for the money! Your kids with think you are the best and so will their friends!
I also recommend buying the clatterbridge to go with this playset!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Great Swingset!

10/20/2009
By ,
Mundelein, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First I would like to note that this is exactly the same set as “Shenandoah II” sold by PlayNation for $4,000, but for half of the price (http://www.playnation.com/ss-shenandoah.html). This is a great set! My kids (3 and 5 year old boys) can’t get enough of it! Very sturdy, the edges of the wood are very smooth. The swings and slides are very durable and can hold an adult. My husband, who is over 200 lb, was swinging, sliding and climbing together with the kids.
After reading all the reviews about the problems with assembly, we decided to hire the PlayNation dealers to assemble it. It cost us $650, but the set was leveled and assembled perfectly by 2 workmen in just under 2 days. I assume there were no missing parts or hardware, since the workers did not stop their work even once. If you don’t have enough time or carpenter experience, I would highly recommend hiring the PlayNation professionals, since they are assembling Gorilla playsets on the daily basis. Yes, $650 is expensive but totally worth the money, if you want to have only pleasant experience and save yourself frustration and time.
Overall we are very satisfied with this swing set and highly recommend it to anyone!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Top Quality Playset

11/30/2008
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item shipped and arrived in a timely manner. It arrived in six large boxes on one ten foot long skid. So when the shipping company showed up in an enclosed truck with nothing more than a standard size manual pallet mover it was very interesting to say the least watching them wrestle this monstrosity out of the back of the truck.
The unpacking and sorting process then began. I would highly recommend unpacking all of the boxes and setting the like pieces together. Everything arrived in good condition, wasn’t missing any pieces, in fact had a few extra pieces left over (anyways I hope they were extra :\ ).
I consider myself to be a fairly knowledgeable do-it-yourselfer and I tackled this project with a little “hold this in place” help from the Mrs. in 5 working days (i.e. two weekends and an extra day for the finishing touches). It really helps when you have the right tools too. The pneumatic tools really came in handy for the 5/16”-3/8” diameter lag bolts and the bazillion nuts and bolts for the tube slide.
Some tips if you are going to tackle this project:
- Unpack and sort all of the pieces before you start.
- Read and re-read the instructions ahead of time to develop a game plan. The instructions have a bit to be desired, not always the clearest, so there is a bit of interpreting on what they are trying to convey.
- Do not pre-drill the pieces ahead of time drill them in-place. It is inevitable that when working with wood not all of the pieces are going to be perfectly straight so I found it easier to put the piece in place and then drill it.
- Continuously read the instructions during the project and read ahead to see how the part you are working on at that moment is going to affect the rest of the project.
- Have patients when putting the tube slide together. The holes are not going to line up perfectly. Line up and wrestle as many bolts in to the holes that you can and then break out the drill and make your own holes. I had to drill out four and considering that there are about 100 or so to line up that’s not too bad. But it will test your patients to get the others to line up.
This playset may not be the cheapest but when you are getting something for the kids to build memories on for years to come you want it to be top quality. And that’s what this set is. It is made from top quality materials. We just had the whole family over for Thanksgiving and the kids and adults alike had a great time on this set. I’m not a small guy, about 6’2”, 215 lbs and I figured if I built it I’m gonna have fun on it too. So I’ve been swinging, climbing, and yes, even going down the tube slide right along side my kids.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Beautiful, affordable, fun...but...

12/14/2007
By ,
Morral, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research on playsets before we decided on the Blue Ridge Retreat. By far, this was the most affordable unit for the money and I have so many good things to say about the unit.
1. The two slides are super fun and sturdy.
2. The roofs are beautiful - not just tarps that will fray.
3. The unit is very sturdy and fun-even for big kids and Mommies! :)
4. The variety of options are amazing for this price range. In fact, we couldn't even come close for the money!
5. You can buy accessories from Gorilla to supplement your set.
Now for the but....
You obviously already know that the directions are very confusing. That is an understatement! Most of the construction time is spent reading and rereading. Here are some specific problems that I guarantee you will encounter:
1. Pictures are not clear and contradictory from step to step.
2. They say lag bolts instead of lag screws.
3. We ran out of items such as T-nuts, lag screws, 3 1/2 inch screws. Be prepared to make some trips to the hardware!
4. Some steps in the directions were blatantly incorrect, such as measurements for pilot holes (good advice-don't even attempt the pilot holes), when lining up the lower roof boards, you must allow extra room for the post on the slide side or the boards won't line up properly.
Overall, this unit is beautiful, but it is quite obvious that the folks at Gorilla who wrote the directions, never actually put the set together. They have told me over the phone, that new CAD colored pictures/directions are being used in future orders, however, the same problems will remain unless they correct the errors and confusion in the wording.
I must also say that Gorilla is terrific to work with. They sent us the missing items and even replaced some boards that had been damaged due to incorrect directions. They really need to hire some of us Blue Ridge Retreat veterans to help them rewrite the directions.
Overall, total construction time (2 people) was 40+ hours. The fun our son has already had, made it well worth the blood, sweat, and tears (I guarantee all three)!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Review 5 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Great for all the kids

07/13/2010
By ,
North Port, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchases swingset 1 1/2yrs ago...We searched high and low to get dual slide w one being tube for as little as reasonable price as possible...Yes lots of pieces but suggest laying all wood pieces out in piles according to their size.. Will make process go alot faster...Finished in 2 weekends my husband and I did the base then 3 of his friends came to finish ther rest! All the kids love it - the adults have been on it...We are very please and hope it will last 10+ yrs...Also suggest coating every yr if possilbe. We haven't yet but should!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 6 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Great Set- Great Price!

07/21/2007
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Swing set was well worth the money! It took a little time to put together- but the end results were worth the work! I would suggest starting by sorting all of the "LIKE" pieces into stacks- we thought we would leave them in the box open box 1 use it and then go to box 2- It does not work like that! We were spending too much time searching for the needed materials~ The key is to set up the materials for each step in advance- This will really cut down your time! Also we were VERY impressed with the customer service from both Walmart and the Gorilla playset company - We were missing a part of our circle slide- A very large part-- I called Walmart they contacted the Gorilla company and can you believe the sent it overnight from GA to WA state--I am sure that cost them a pretty penny! I expected them to tell me it would be here in 7-10 days! Boy was I suprised! Thank you Walmart and Gorilla play company! Our children were thrilled to have it complete for friends coming to a party two days later! We had told them we would not have it in time to get the slide together for them to play on it for our BBQ! As far as delivery the play system was delieverd sooner than promised-- the delivery guys were GREAT! In all it was a great experience! Thanks :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 7 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Blue Ridge Retreat Review

06/25/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great finished product. Daughter absolutely loves the playset. After a lot of research and a lot of shopping at local playset dealers, I decided to get this and put it together myself.
I would say the overall hours are a bit short, I needed some assistance with a few parts, the swing beam and the tube slide.
I am pretty handy and found the instructions to be sufficient, but not good. They could have save a lot of time with just a few more pieces of info on a few pages.
Definitely have to organize the wood in a way that makes sense. I did it by box, then by length.
There were a few times the instructions were completely unclear, and I needed to look at the picture, and look at future steps to figure out what to do.
Overall I got it all built, it's rock solid sturdy and a lot of play set for the money.
Roof was a pain!
Overall highly recommend but be willing to put in some manual labor or pay someone. Personally I can not see how it can cost any less than $1K to assemble if you pay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Awesome Product but time consuming

08/09/2007
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product once finished looks like a set that you would see at a school or small park, it is very big and is everything you see on the picture. One word of caution. I have done a lot of projects around my house including putting in my own movie theater with three level sitting, hanging doors, major stuff but this project took it out of me. I worked with minimum help from friends on this thing for 8 hours for almost three straight days and the reason is this. The instructions are very complicated. My father is a senior engineer at Boeing and has worked on radar/textiles and major milatary aircraft for over 30 years including Airforce One and he had trouble trying to follow the directions. If they were more clear the construction time might be one day. The set comes in different boxs(about 6 big boxes) so please spend the first 2 hours pulling out the inventory sheets in each box and putting the like parts together as other indivduals have mentioned in earlier feedback.
It takes a lot of manual work so be perpared but after all is said and done I am amazed at how nice the set looks and how well it is constructed from the company. Well worth the money and you will be proud to own this set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set
08/21/2007
By ,
Greensboro NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hi. The playset took a little longer to build than expected. Plan around 15-16 hours even with experienced help like I had.
The product packaging is a little weak if you ask me. I only had one damaged piece but looking at the packaging you would have thought worse.
The screws they send to attach the climbing rocks are not the proper size for the holes in the plastic rocks. You can easily apply too much pressure with an electric drill to pull the screw head through the hole. A trip to the local hardware store for some galvanized washers solved the problem for a few dollars.
The instructions are hard to follow and the individual pieces are not marked making it more of a hunting game to find the right piece than desired. The instructions used the terms lag screw and lag bolt interchangeably even though a screw and are bolt are very different in design and purpose.
All in all now that the playset is done I do like it and would recommend it. So far it seems like a reasonable price for a relatively high quality set. I like the PVC covered posts and beams. Good looking set once it's done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Great Playset

11/13/2007
By ,
Flowood, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This playset once built is wonderful. The instructions are really difficult to understand. Here are just a few tips that I think made it easier to bulid. Label all of the pieces and place them into piles according to the steps in the instruction book. Read the instructions 2 or 3 times before you start to built the playset. The more familier you are with what pieces they call for and how they word the instructions the easier it will be to bulid. Buy a pack of 20 1/4 washers to use on the rocks for the rock wall. The screws they sent can easily puncture the plastic. Once all is said and done the playset is top-notch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

best set in the neighborhood

08/27/2007
By ,
Owensboro, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, now that it is done and all the kids on our cul-de-sac love it, I'll have to say it is absolutely the best swingset in the hood & we live in a high class neighborhood. Others have paid over $5000.00 for their sets and their kids prefer to play on ours. It really is top quality and it offers so much more than the others sets. I would reccomend buying the steering wheel and a play phone, my little boy really loves those. With all that said; I do say that the assembly of this set was very confusing and had many pages of instructions along with 100's of unlabeled pieces. we hired 2 men to put it together for us and it took them every bit of 25 hours, the instructions say should take 12-14 hrs. but I don't see how this could be possible. But the finished product is well worth it, my little boy and his buddies absolutely love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Would make some changes

07/08/2008
By ,
Bluefield, Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter received this for her birthday and she loves it. We made an entire family area around this. My husband and I put it toghether our selves and it took about 2 weeks off and on to complete it. I would suggest for the company to re-write the instruction manual to make it a little more user friendly. One other suggestion I have for them is to put the pieces in the numbered boxes according to steps in the directions: instead of looking in 7 different boxes to find parts for step #1 have all or most parts in the same box. I do wish the radical slide had more stability than it does for the older children to be able to play on it. The sand box should really have some sort of bottom to it. We have found out that children that have never played in a sand box digs a little too deep and gets dirt in their sand.I think for the manual labor one has to put into this the price could be a little cheaper: but all in all it is still alot of fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Great Value for Your Money

05/27/2008
By ,
Frankfort, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were all set to put in another brand-name more expensive playset for our girls that would be assembled for us, but after we already had a delivery date set for that particular playset, I was on the Walmart Website and saw the Gorilla Blue Ridge Retreat Play Gym. I mentioned it to my husband, and he immediately loved it. He especially loved the idea of saving over a $1,000 to put the playset in ourselves, however, he wasn't exactly thrilled to be doing the work ourselves. The playset arrived just as planned and in good condition. No damaged boxes and the delivery men were very hospitable. The only negative thing I have to say about the playset are the instructions. Make sure you read and reread before you start putting the playset together. We put things together and then had to take things apart which was really frustrating for my husband. But all in all...the Gorilla Blue Ridge Retreat Play Gym was worth the money and our girls love it...so do the neighborhood kids. If you have the patience and want to save some money this is definitely worth the effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Finished Product - A1

04/14/2008
By ,
Severna Park, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's only fair to start at the end and then go back through assembly. The finished playset is absolutely the best and the grandkid certainly do love it. It will be used quite a bit and is very professional looking. Now on to the assembly. The directions were not horrible but were certainly confusing in several places. Additional pictures or diagrams around some of the text would have been helpful and in some cases a few more words of explanation would have saved hours of assembly time. There were two of us on day 1 and day 2 and 4 of us on day 3. The instructions said 16 hours to assemble and it actually took 22 hours with the people listed above (about 50 manhours - not counting the prep day to inventory the 7 boxes it came in.) The inventory was 100% for the playset which was very much appreciated. Overall quality of the product is great and I'm really glad it's fully assembled and being used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Great product

11/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janeen's review (most helpful) is spot on...I am still in the mist of building this, but I do have some pointers for everyone. 1) inventory all your boxes and parts upon delivery for damage...anything that damaged call gorilla to have replaced (had no issue from the company). Either group them by steps or by size. I still ended up short some wood screws but just bought them out of pocket on my own to keep progress going on buliding. 2) Read the directions thoroughly...Download the manual off the gorilla webite (much better pictures than the directions enclosed in the packaging) They are still a little confusing since from one step to the next they will switch views with noting it in that step. For example, a step will show a view from the front and then from the back without annotating it in the drawings that the view has changed. But they show more detail than the ones it shipped with 3) Use/borrow/rent/ an impact wrench..will save you a lot of time on the lag bolts (or lag screws as they are called in the directions) and carriage bolts vs ratcheting by hand. 4) Take your time, step by step, and your family will have a solid playset to enjoy for years to come. My 3 kids are chomping at the bit to try it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 16 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Great Playset for a family with three or more kids

01/09/2009
By ,
Windsor Locks, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First thing I want to say is that I spent at least a year researching different playsets and prices with about 2 months reading the reviews posted here before I purchased this set. And it was worth the long wait, what a great find!!
I have three small kids and wanted something quality and that will last, and was willing to pay for it. I've seen the faded, splintered, weak wood sets with limited features at friends and neighbors houses and vowed to not go down that road. Do it right, or not at all. So, upon purchasing this set, I will say that all the complaints about warped wood, incorrect and confusing instructions, and an UNREALISTIC assembly time are definately true. It took me three weeks to put it together a little everyday after work. I had to take things apart after I found out five steps later the instructions were wrong. I had to go to home depot to get more screws and T-nuts. I broke a few 1/8 drill bits drilling at least 30 pilot holes. I would definately recommend predrilling all the boards possible even when not specified because i actually cracked a few boards to the picnic table and rock wall due to inexperience, but not too bad. Also, I was missing two safety handles, and never got them because customer service forwarded me to a special line because I purchased it from Walmart. (Why?) I ended up getting their voicemail. So I gave up, I bought two more, life goes on.
I find that a lot of the complaints posted here are small when you look at the big picture. A great beautiful playset that will last until your kids are too old to play with it. Very satisifed and it was worth the sweat. It's stable, I can stand on it upright (and even swing smoothly along side my kids with only slight rocking-I'm 150lbs), its level, and there are no splinters. I placed a black weed-block tarp under the sand box before filling to keep the kids from digging too deep and sprayed a yearly herbicide through the porch boards to keep grass from growing through, very effective.
When I threw a birthday party ten kids played on it no problem. I removed the see-saw thing and purchased a baby swing for my youngest and I also purchased the tic-tac-toe panel from Wal-Mart, and now it looks like a playset from a park. I plan on purchasing the steering wheel for this summer. Everyday when we came home while it was summer my kids ran to it, and so I got my money's worth.
If your looking for a set that your kids and the neighborhood kids can play on, with plenty of play features, and want quality for almost half the price charged elsewhere for a similar set (believe me, I've researched it) then this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
+3points
Review 17 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Overall satisfied, but a few obstacles.

07/19/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The overall rating for this product is good but wanted to add a few comments. The instructions for putting this together were very unclear at times. Had to redo a few of the 40 steps. For the price the quality is ok, most of the wood is very rough. Could use a good overall sanding. A few of the pieces (roof) were very brittle and a few broke. We also seemed to run out of the 2" wood screws. Had to substitute either the 1 1/2" or 2 1/2" screws so we could get this together. The company probably would have sent us more but we didn't want to wait. We are pleased with the final product...you get what you pay for. (We could have had the higher quality set for $5600!!!, no thanks)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

WoW

05/08/2008
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To say the instructions are easy to understand is an understatement! As far as actual application thats another story! Setting up the post is the most difficult regarding orientation to left and right and hole for t-nut placement. If the ploes where marked with lft, rgt, frnt, back identification your assurance and confidence with the build would be a lot smoother. The wood used is not of the highest quality so you may have to call the company and reorder specific parts which will also delay assembly. They instruct you to inventory all parts before receiving delivery! the hudreds of parts are vast and no delivery company is going to wait 6 hours while you inventory the 6 or 7 boxes. Delivery personal where great they put it right where I requested with out any indication of frustration. BZ to them. have a few drill bits of the same size as your going to break a few as your assembly continues. Get a heating pad for your back because you will be sore by the time your half way finished with putting it together. Its worth it! But it could be made much easier with a few markings on some of the like items aformentioned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

A few helpful tips

08/15/2009
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall this is a great playset and the kids love it! I have now built this set twice. Two things I would suggest to make things go much smoother. FIRST, inventory all your parts to make sure they are there. SECOND start with step 1 and arrange all your parts into piles grouped by steps. These two things will take several hours but once completed you can roll through each step easily and without long breaks while trying to find the right pieces. We used this method the second time we built the playset and were able to assemble the set in less than eight hours. This playest is a great value for the money, very sturdy and fun for kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Gorilla Playsets Blue Ridge Retreat Wooden Gym Play Center and Swing Set

Great playset, think about location!

03/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had the Blue Ridge Retreat for 2 seasons (2 winters) now and the play value is GREAT! Our 2 kids have used this playset for a train, castle, pirate ship, race car, plane... and many more ideas. It's been used for multiple parties with up to 15 kids playing on the set or in the sandbox at one time;. We modified construction slightly and left off the deck because one hole wasn't drilled (and a bigger sandbox is better). We also added a steering wheel opposite the telescope.
The ONLY problem we've had (and it's happened both winters now) is that the wave slide blows off in our winter winds. I'm not sure if it's the location we chose or what. The first year the screw hole tore out, so we drilled new holes and reattached (hindsight I should've tried to replace it then). This year it blew off and literally tore as it came off. I had expected more trouble with the enclosed spiral slide, but aside from a sanity seasonal check in the spring... we've had absolutely no problems with it.
SO... highly recommend looking at wind loads on your slides and considering removing the slide for the winter if the winds would get underneath it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next