Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pacific Cycle 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pacific Cycle 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

The new Mongoose XR-75 can tackle any terrain. Its dual suspension frame is powerful, yet lightweight enough for young riders to maneuver.
Average Customer Rating:
3.407 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation70%19 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Beatdown

10/26/2007
By ,
Fargo, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, I first purchased a NEXT mountain bike. It was stolen, so I had to buy this bike in it's place (walmart had no more of the former). Since then, I have beaten this bike up in and out and have more than put it to the test. I regularly go biking around campus, and I take it down stairs, up and down cement blocks, and do frequent jumps. All in all, this bike has held together very well. The only thing that has broken is the spring mechanism below the seat; it still works, but the cap that holds the spring 'back' so to say has been stripped. Again, the spring still works and it rides fine. The front shocks have withstood MORE than their share of torment, and are still going strong. The only problem I have with this bike is the short wheel span; when I turn sharp, my feet get hit by the front wheel sometimes. I am also 6 foot 5, so it might just be me. I suggest this bike if you are looking for one that is reliable, but not extremely long lasting. It will NOT live for years and years if you beat on it like I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Pretty Good for the money

07/22/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wouldn't recommend the $50 Roadmaster, I got this to replace it, and it is worth the extra money. Actually built so your knees don't bash the handle bars, Rear suspension is great on mountain biking trails.
Keep in mind though, it's still a cheap bike. I'm STILL fussing with the settings for the gears, I can't get the shifters to use the full range of gears.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 3 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Perfecto!

07/08/2007
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good bike, easy assembly and quality parts.
Compared to my last bike (Huffy) this one was a major upgrade. I feel comfortable taking this one out on trails, and its also a good cruiser.
The only negative is the very small slim racing seat that comes with the bike, very uncomfortable. I wound up swapping my old seat out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 4 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Not amazing, but definitely not bad

07/05/2007
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's definitely a very good bike for the price. Everything is adjustable so I was able to customize it to myself. Unfortunately, it is shipped with a seat that was a cruel punishment for my rear (I relatively heavy so it was probably more painful for me than it would be for most) so I had to buy a different seat. It's also somewhat heavy, but I didn't expect it to be aluminum frame for this price. Overall, it's a very good and dependable bike for the price. It makes me very mobile in a big city, it is dependable and a pleasure to ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Good value

08/15/2007
By ,
Littleton, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Actually purchased the Roadmaster...shift and brake issues on day one. Swapped out for the Mongoose. A little more $, but the Shimano gears make a world of difference! The seat is uncomfortable...otherwise, I recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

mongoose bike

11/17/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is awesome. Everything about it is good except the seat. It is narrow and hard. It looks really great and rides well. I would recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 7 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike
07/02/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gear broke in half after only 20 miles of light use on paved road
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 8 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Issues with bike

07/08/2007
By ,
Hilton Head Island SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bike was very reasonably priced and service techs at delivery location were helpful. However have had ongoing problems with bike. This has meant constant repairs which make me think that the price was too good and you get what you pay for.
Not mad at Walmart, but vendor may need to improve.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Not the best

01/01/2008
By ,
Gulf breeze,Fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bike is not bad for a $100 dollars,i have had this bike for almost a year now so i have seen most of the draw backs, Some of the draw backs are is that the seat is to short i am 5,8 and the seat is very hard and dose not feel good after about 1 mile of riding.Another draw back is that the gears slip,the gears slipped right after i got the bike and i noticed i lost a whole gear.Its not that bad of a bike but i don't recomend looking forward to keeping the bike in good condition without a lot of labor and frustration.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Disappointed

12/17/2007
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I must say after reading other reviews I was hoping that this would be a better product. Even though it has the Mongoose badge on it, it was not! The seat is extremely uncomfortable to begin with; it is not assembled well and will require some minor adjustments before you can ride it (i.e. brakes), and the gears just wouldn't shift smoothly.
It may look great, but this is not a low-maintenance, practical bike. I returned it to the store the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
0points
Review 11 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

I hate it

12/06/2007
By ,
Meridian, Id
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bike is cruddy. I cant shift anymore, the seat is so uncomfortable, the seat is also to short and im only 5' 4''. I hate it. My handle bars twisted from riding and so when i tried to tighten them back on they keep on comming loose so i cant even ride it anymore. All i do is cruise around the neighbor hood and it still broke. Ive had it for a year and i wanted to get rid of it the day i got it. My parents wouldnt let me. I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 12 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Satisfied, worth the money

08/04/2009
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Remember that it's a $100 - $120 wal mart bike, not a Trek or Specialized, etc. It's not a bad bike at all, and for such a low price, you can't beat it. Remember, it's not the top of the line, just like not every car is top of the line. But it does what it is meant to do, and that is to go off road on moderate trails and dirt roads - it's not meant for jumps, or BMX, or even speed for that matter. Just as an offroad vehicle is not made for speed, neither is the Mongoose XR-75. If those who are interested in this bike primarily want speed, consider a road bike, urban bike, or hybrid.
I bought this bike as an occasional alternative to my road bike (Trek 1000). Having owned a road bike for several years, I know a few things about bikes. I was skeptical at first, but then realized the most I could lose is the cheap cost of the bike! So I tried it out. I've been very satisfied with it, and it's held up with no problems, except for a couple of flats caused by thorns. Slime tubes seem to do the trick.
Wal Mart, and other dept stors do in fact have some poor quality bikes, so use your judgement. I was sold on the fact that it feels decently durable, and also the Shimano and Sram components, as well as what I assume to be aluminum pedals (not plastic). The brakes are cheap, and a couple gears slip. Easy fixes with an adjustment.
This bike will likely not last as long as a Trek, or Specialized, but for $100 it's worth it. But hey, it's made in China as is Trek and probably Specialized too. For my purposes of riding on moderate trails and dirt roads, I'm very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

a cheep product!!!!!!!

11/02/2007
By ,
highland,ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i got this bike about 9 mounths ago and when i first got it every thing was good on it but the seat!the seat dont have any coshen at all!the first thing that happened was the 3 gear sprockets teeth woor out so i cant shift the bikes gears!then around the same time the brake pads became bald (and i neaver really use the bike that often)and the tires are bold!!!!!!!!!!!
i will neaver buy this bike again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Nice bike

12/21/2007
By ,
Round Rock, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked that the bike had the burnt orange color (I'm a longhorn :)), and ordered it online. The bike itself is nice so far, but it came in red which was disappointing, and my boyfriend says that the seat is pretty uncomfortable. But both are trivial factors, for you can buy a new seat. He hasn't ridden it a far distance yet but he is very happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Good produce, minor gliches

09/24/2007
By ,
Gloucester, Va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided and purchased the bike after some on line reviews. The seat was a bit narrower than what I had expected, but a purchase of a Bell seat from the local Walmart solved that. On my first ride, the rear tire had an unexpected blowout due to defect in product. Other than that, good bike for price paid!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Not a Decent Size

10/22/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Because of the way the frame is cut the bike seat can not be adjusted a great deal. I found out after buying it that the seat does not come up high enough, and even if I did move it up as much as possible, leaving enough to be gripped, it slid down as soon as you put any weight on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Not Worth the Ride

10/14/2007
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Mongoose XR75 is a fair bike to ride but you will encounter rear shifter slippage and autoshift without the switching of gears. i have had experiance with quality bikes and this is not a bike worth buying invest in a huffy or other bicycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

broke after a month

08/15/2007
By ,
richwood wv
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
well its a preetty good bike but i had 2 replace the brakes after about 2 weeks and the rear tire. Now the speed changer on the rear broke so its not a very dependable bike. so im going back to a stunt bike
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Nice Bike

10/04/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bike for the cost. Like others have said though, if you get it, make sure to change the seat out. It's makes it even more worth while. Other than that I love this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for 26" Mens' Mongoose XR-75 All-Terrrain Bike

Great Product

12/22/2007
By ,
Mt. Pleasant, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son is 5'10" and it has held up great so far!! It rides well on any terrain. The only downside is the seat is very hard, so I bought him a gel seat pad that works great! GOOD BUY!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next