Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Convert-A-Bench

Generic Convert-A-Bench

The Convert-A-Bench is a versatile outdoor bench that can be easily converted to a picnic table — simply fold the back and armrests forward to create a single-sided outdoor table. You can use it as a bench to relax on the patio, or convert it into a table for outdoor dining. This lightweight outdoor bench is extremely easy to assemble and can be carried anywhere, making it a perfect companion for camping trips. Two separate Convert-A-Bench units can be joined to create a full double-sided table. The Convert-A-Bench is made from durable resin and vinyl materials, which offer complete weather resistance, making it the perfect maintenance-free outdoor furniture. Plus, it's extremely easy to clean.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation96%115 out of 120reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 45 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Convert-A-Bench

Good and sturdy !

06/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this bench a couple of months but so far it seems good.
It is a little smaller than I expected but seems sturdy. The back is lower that I thought.
It will fit 2 average size adults comfortably. Very easy and fast to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Convert-A-Bench

Exceeded Expectations

05/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this bench for two weeks now. It is easy to put together. Pieces just insert into each other. Took about 10 minutes for this 58 year old lady. I did need a rubber mallet to insert the hinge pin. The bench is sturdy, attractive, and allows water to drain from the seat. I am looking forward to the low maintenance. I like the larger length, and versatility of making it into half a picnic table. If you get two to make a full size table, you should get two bungee cords to tie them together so that if someone leaves the table, they won't pull them apart sending your food to the ground. If you have a mud room big enough, this would make a great bench indoors too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Convert-A-Bench

great value and useful

05/08/2010
By ,
Florida Gulf Coast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The convert-a-bench is a great product. We live on the Gulf coast and need outdoor products that will take the wind and salt-air. We purchased a set from our local store years ago and decided to purchase 2 more sets. The directions are good and the assembly easy. Almost no tools are required. The ability to have benches and/or a picnic table is very useful.
The only negative is that the older benches had a support down the entire length of the bench but the new ones only have a center support.
Site-to-Store (Walmart) was very easy to use and the items were delivered w/in a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Convert-A-Bench

Great Value!

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted to replace an aging convertible picnic bench/table set that had plastic legs but used 2x4 lumber as the bench seat and back as we were constantly replacing rotten boards. This zero-maintenance and rot product from Walmart was the cheapest on the market and came with overall excellent reviews. We purchased two benches and assembly took less than 30 minutes total with a phillips screwdriver and wrench. Overall we are very pleased and will likely purchase at least one more set to replace aging outdoor furniture. Several reviews noted limited weight capacity, but each bench is rated for 600 pounds over a length of 5 feet, so we don't see this as an issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Convert-A-Bench

Great bench for the grand kids

09/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this bench for our granddaughters to play next to their pool. It works great, easy to put together and it's very handy for the kids or adults to sit next to the pool or convert it to a half-table and they can use it to do crafts and projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Convert-A-Bench

Nice Bench

05/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had the bench less than a week but I like it very much. Easy to assemble, seems to be sturdy (time will tell so no 5 stars) and love the bench conversion to a table. It was especially useful for the Mother's Day gathering at my house. People commented how nice it was and where did I find it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Convert-A-Bench

Really fun

09/26/2012
By ,
Crescent City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased when I opened the box. The bench is very sturdy and not cheap looking. The 2 together do make a really roomy picnic bench. They say room for 4 but I think in a pinch you could seat 6. I am very happy with this purchase and recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Convert-A-Bench
06/23/2012
By ,
vallejo, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this is a replacement for one in a set two that I have for ten years .,Whats nice about this new one is that it has more support for the bench. Overall this product is worth the cost and when you have two they make a great table
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Convert-A-Bench

Great product

07/06/2009
By ,
Georgetown, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had bought something similar in wood several years ago. They were constantly needing repair and refinishing. These seem to be able to handle the weather much better and are cheaper than the wood.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Convert-A-Bench
11/05/2007
By ,
Livingston, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hadn't seen this product in the stores before. I found it online. It was great product. It can be a bench when you need it to be and then if you have two of them you have a ready pinic table.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Convert-A-Bench

Love this bench!

07/14/2014
By ,
Ellsworth, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love the Convert-A-Bench. You have to order 2 to make it convert into a picnic table but the versatility of the 2 benches is just awesome. I have mine on our patio arranged so that it looks like a sectional couch and provides so much extra seating. Then when you need the table, you just turn them! They are lightweight to move around and simply wipe off to clean. Whoever came up with this idea needs commended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Convert-A-Bench

Great design, made in USA

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Poorly packed, ripped boxes, small piece of bench broken off. I don't think the broken piece will affect the use. The seat is deep, so getting in you have to sit down and slide your legs in for the picnic table. Great design and very nice looking. I hope it is heavy enough not to be blown into the canal during storms. I bought two, and we are happy with them so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Convert-A-Bench

perfect

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Convert-A-Bench

Great bench for outdoor entertainment.

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this item. It's durable, easy to clean, assemble and manuver. We purchased one last year and needed the other to complete the set. I was browsing the walmart website and stumbled acroos the item. I was very surpise because it's something I wanted. I prefer the light weight "convert-a- bench" than the traditional heavy to lift hard wood bench.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Convert-A-Bench

Great purchase!

06/02/2008
By ,
Provo, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Convert-A-Bench last year and loved having it so I bought another one this year. We absolutely love it! It is easy to assemble, to keep clean and wonderful to use. I goes so easily from a bench to a table and putting the two together accommodates 10 to 14 people. I looked at others on-line and was disappointed to see how expensive they were (around $350). Wal-Mart's are the best price and they had free delivery to the store. I paid $89 for each bench and found out they went on sale for $59 the following week so I missed out on a better price, but they are still well worth the money. They last forever, store easily and are a perfect addition to our outdoor patio. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Convert-A-Bench

Die Hard Bench

07/22/2012
By ,
Holgate, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had 4 of these benches for about 8 years. All of our friends compliment and ar intrigued by the design. Put 2 together and you have a picnic table. We have 2 on our screened porch and 2 zip tied to our rooftop deck overlooking the bay. A big storm came and unfortunately sent one airborne. Bought a replacement through the site-to-store at Walmart. Easy to assemble. The bottom strut/support is a new design. Oddly, that's the part that broke in the storm. Now tied down with polypropylene rope, we expect the benches to remain put for many more years. Note: if you live in a salt water location, I highly recommend replacing the 4 assembly screws with stainless. Otherwise, the benches are perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Convert-A-Bench

Great, when shipped as new item.

07/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have owned these benches for over a decade and loved them. Ordered new from Walmart and was shipped a used, dirty, chipped bench. It was returned to Walmart, but would recommend ordering two for anyone with kids and durability in mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Convert-A-Bench

space saving

07/22/2007
By ,
Rochester NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product is resin plastic bench which rotates on plastic dowels to covert to the 1/2 picnic table. It suits our needs, but I wonder how durable it will be. We just got it together and have not used as yet.
Original shipment from Walmart arrived in TWO DAYS! However, it had been previously opened, and two of the needed boards were missing. It took a few weeks to get the right pieces from the mfgr.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Convert-A-Bench

Outstanding Product

10/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally was looking for a wooden and iron bench. When I searched and found these, I was amazed and wondered if they really worked well. I did some checking on the web, not WalMart and read the responses. That was enough to make my decision. They are more than what I expected. I did purchase two so I could make a full picnic table, but using each separately, works well for 1/2 table. The site to store worked really well, didn't have to pay shipping and the item arrived very quickly.
Again, the product itself is outstanding, sturdy, nothing to put together, just two bolts on each unit plus a plastic plug. I am more than pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Convert-A-Bench

Great Buy

06/02/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a convertible bench for sometime, because my hubby did not want the traditional picnic table (did not want to have to move it every time he mowed.) Found this on line and it was perfect, definitely light enough to move and had the dual purpose of being a bench as well. I love going out into the backyard and either sitting under the tree on the bench, or flipping it into the table drinking my coffee and reading the paper. Liked it so much in fact I purchased a second one. Great when the family comes over. Super Purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 108 total reviews