Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Convert-A-Bench

Generic Convert-A-Bench

The Convert-A-Bench is a versatile outdoor bench that can be easily converted to a picnic table — simply fold the back and armrests forward to create a single-sided outdoor table. You can use it as a bench to relax on the patio, or convert it into a table for outdoor dining. This lightweight outdoor bench is extremely easy to assemble and can be carried anywhere, making it a perfect companion for camping trips. Two separate Convert-A-Bench units can be joined to create a full double-sided table. The Convert-A-Bench is made from durable resin and vinyl materials, which offer complete weather resistance, making it the perfect maintenance-free outdoor furniture. Plus, it's extremely easy to clean.
Average Customer Rating:
4.664 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation98%108 out of 110reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 43 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Convert-A-Bench

Good and sturdy !

06/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this bench a couple of months but so far it seems good.
It is a little smaller than I expected but seems sturdy. The back is lower that I thought.
It will fit 2 average size adults comfortably. Very easy and fast to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Convert-A-Bench

Great purchase!

06/02/2008
By ,
Provo, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Convert-A-Bench last year and loved having it so I bought another one this year. We absolutely love it! It is easy to assemble, to keep clean and wonderful to use. I goes so easily from a bench to a table and putting the two together accommodates 10 to 14 people. I looked at others on-line and was disappointed to see how expensive they were (around $350). Wal-Mart's are the best price and they had free delivery to the store. I paid $89 for each bench and found out they went on sale for $59 the following week so I missed out on a better price, but they are still well worth the money. They last forever, store easily and are a perfect addition to our outdoor patio. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Convert-A-Bench

Die Hard Bench

07/22/2012
By ,
Holgate, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had 4 of these benches for about 8 years. All of our friends compliment and ar intrigued by the design. Put 2 together and you have a picnic table. We have 2 on our screened porch and 2 zip tied to our rooftop deck overlooking the bay. A big storm came and unfortunately sent one airborne. Bought a replacement through the site-to-store at Walmart. Easy to assemble. The bottom strut/support is a new design. Oddly, that's the part that broke in the storm. Now tied down with polypropylene rope, we expect the benches to remain put for many more years. Note: if you live in a salt water location, I highly recommend replacing the 4 assembly screws with stainless. Otherwise, the benches are perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Convert-A-Bench

space saving

07/22/2007
By ,
Rochester NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product is resin plastic bench which rotates on plastic dowels to covert to the 1/2 picnic table. It suits our needs, but I wonder how durable it will be. We just got it together and have not used as yet.
Original shipment from Walmart arrived in TWO DAYS! However, it had been previously opened, and two of the needed boards were missing. It took a few weeks to get the right pieces from the mfgr.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Convert-A-Bench

Outstanding Product

10/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally was looking for a wooden and iron bench. When I searched and found these, I was amazed and wondered if they really worked well. I did some checking on the web, not WalMart and read the responses. That was enough to make my decision. They are more than what I expected. I did purchase two so I could make a full picnic table, but using each separately, works well for 1/2 table. The site to store worked really well, didn't have to pay shipping and the item arrived very quickly.
Again, the product itself is outstanding, sturdy, nothing to put together, just two bolts on each unit plus a plastic plug. I am more than pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Convert-A-Bench

great value and useful

05/08/2010
By ,
Florida Gulf Coast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The convert-a-bench is a great product. We live on the Gulf coast and need outdoor products that will take the wind and salt-air. We purchased a set from our local store years ago and decided to purchase 2 more sets. The directions are good and the assembly easy. Almost no tools are required. The ability to have benches and/or a picnic table is very useful.
The only negative is that the older benches had a support down the entire length of the bench but the new ones only have a center support.
Site-to-Store (Walmart) was very easy to use and the items were delivered w/in a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Convert-A-Bench

Great Buy

06/02/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a convertible bench for sometime, because my hubby did not want the traditional picnic table (did not want to have to move it every time he mowed.) Found this on line and it was perfect, definitely light enough to move and had the dual purpose of being a bench as well. I love going out into the backyard and either sitting under the tree on the bench, or flipping it into the table drinking my coffee and reading the paper. Liked it so much in fact I purchased a second one. Great when the family comes over. Super Purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Convert-A-Bench

Unique bench

06/28/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We saw this bench at a friends house. I did not think it was plastic at first glance. It is very sturdy and the perfect size. Then I realized the top flipped over to make a table for one bench or a picnic table when two benches are placed together. I had to get a pair. We love them. They are very attractive and we have them in our yard as benches. When company comes we place them together and use them as extra table and seat space. They are a bit pricey for a plastic bench but they appear to be made well enough to last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Convert-A-Bench

Great for outdoors

07/21/2009
By ,
Portland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased 2 of the Convert-A-Bench to make the table. We have one on our pool deck and the other on our main deck. When we have company, we have extra seating around the pool as well as eating space. These are lightweight and easy to move, but yet sturdy and easy to keep clean. When we go camping we throw these in the back of the truck and have a beautiful, clean picnic table wherever we go. Love these "benches"! My only other comment would be to carry these in-store so that customers can actually see the beauty of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Convert-A-Bench

Wonderful!!!

09/10/2007
By ,
Decatur, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered two of the benches about a month ago after seeing them on our office patio area. I fell in love with them -- they are great at home for the weekend barbecues or just chit-chatting. What an inventive idea! I had seen similar product in another catalog, but you had to supply the wood and they sold you the assembly kit only. This is so much better than wood -- less maintenance and much easier to move around, and definitely more attractive. Highly recommend! My kids are going to order their own after seeing mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Convert-A-Bench

This is the best bench Ever!

05/30/2008
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend bought two and I loved the way they fit together to make a full picnic bench. I also love the idea that you can make just 1/2 a bench and it's still sturdy enough to eat at. So, I bought one for my mother for mother's day.
With 4 small grandchildren, it's not always convenient to store extra eating and seating areas for them. This bench is perfect, during the day it's a bench and at meal times it's the "kids table"
we are very happy with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Convert-A-Bench

Looks great, is comfy and durable

04/02/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased 3 of these benches, one I have had for several years at home, and the two most recent were donated to the dog park in my community. The park needed something comfy to sit on for the dog owners, but sturdy enough for the dogs to jump onto. They needed to be weatherproof and easy to move. These benches are perfect in all respects. The dog park users love the benches. It is a great product and the fact that it converts is just an added perk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Convert-A-Bench

Nice but could be better

05/22/2008
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the bench. Size and weight are perfect. Assembly was easy, but back and seat have to be bolted together and it did not come with any assembly hardware. I may go out and purchase bolts because I like the bench and it would be a task to repack it and haul it back to the store. As is, the back lifts right off the seat. All in all, it is a nice bench and I would have given more stars if assembly hardware were included.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Convert-A-Bench

Lots of Function for a Small Price

07/12/2010
By ,
St Charles, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace an old small concrete bench in a flowerbed. That bench was used frequently, and I fed the kids at the bench for many years. When it broke, I chose this for a replacement. It is easy to clean and goes table to bench in seconds. I did find that this bench needs a bit more clearance than a standard bench if you intend to use it as a bench and a table in the same location. I wish I had bought more!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Convert-A-Bench

Great Product

04/04/2009
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A local restaurant has a bunch of these for their outdoor seating. All of them still look great after over a year and a lot of use. I am sure we will be very pleased with these for a long time. I think Walmart sent some display models though, which we were not too happy about. A bit scratched up, but I positioned pieces so scratches are underneath. I do wish these were offered in some other colors...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Convert-A-Bench

Excellent

06/06/2008
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product! We bought two for our deck. They are very well made, nice and sturdy and easy to assemble.
They look very nice on the deck and are comfortable both as a bench and set up as the picnic table.
They are light weight so they can be moved very easily. Which makes it easy to be used indoors for extra company or moved to another outdoor area.
What an ingenious concept!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Convert-A-Bench

a good idea

12/17/2007
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a very clever idea! a bench when you need it and a picnic table when you need it (but you need 2 of these for that). i sometimes have people over just for drinks and so i just use it as a bench. and sometimes i have people over for a meal....and voila it's a table & bench! it does need wiping down to keep it looking white and clean, and a cover might be a good idea.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Convert-A-Bench

Great for the outdoors

06/13/2010
By ,
Berkshires of MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 of them and use them as benches for the kids when they get out of the pool. When it's time to eat we put them together as a picnic table. The bench is very sturdy and my wife also uses it as a sewing table. It won't rust or rot which is another good reason to purchase. I saw this originally on QVC but it is cheaper here at Walmart and has free shipping !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Convert-A-Bench

Great Outdoors or Indoors

12/07/2008
By ,
Central Coast of California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bench met every expectation. Only improvement would be "if" wood 2"x4" and 2"x6" boards could be slipped inside plastic boards for additional strength may be a good improvement, however @ 250 lbs. it held me fine and passed the grandkids test. Like the idea of low maintenance plastic in the weather. Light weight and very easy to operate. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Convert-A-Bench

Fabuloso

04/06/2009
By ,
Layton, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These benches are working out fabulously on our deck. We have lots of BBQ's and these work out perfectly for entertaining. I love the versatility and quality of this product. Can be used for extra seating and work excellent as a table. Definitely worth the money! They did not take very long to put together and seem like they are sturdy and good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 98 total reviews