Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

The Safety 1st SmartLight Stair Gate is the only top of the stairs gate that includes a unique motion activated safety light. This gate has a built in sensor that illuminates the stairway and landing for additional safety upon approach. It stands 28" tall and has a safety indicator letting parents know that the gate is securely locked.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%59 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Great Gate

07/29/2007
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I love this gate... The only things we could say about it are:
- Hynges should be metal
- Motion sensor light going on during the day is unnecesary, so it would be great to have a light sensor too. Overall, it is great and my 14 month old son hasn't figure it out or tried to climb it yet
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
04/23/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate looks and performs great!! I did a ton of research on baby gates and so far I've been pleased with its performance. I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Easy to get through

04/23/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't like the other gates that have narrow doors. This product has wide door and it's very easy to get through. And it looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
08/12/2007
By ,
Las Vegas, Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were in need of a durable baby gate we could use at the top of the stairs. After doing some web browsing I came across this one and decided to give it a try. The gate itself is very durable and we like the built in night light feature however, installing the gate was a little difficult. Even with the stencil that is provided, the instructions themselves are a little confusing. The gate is suppose to be easy to open one-handed and we find ourselves having to use both hands to get it open. Shutting it is much the same thing, we find ourselves really pushing into it to get it shut properly. There is a little indicator which lets you know if the gate is shut which is nice. Overall, we do like the gate but we believe it's a little expensive for what you actually get.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Good to keep pets out!

02/22/2008
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After extensive online research I chose this gate. I needed a gate that my 5 year old daughter could use but keep the puppy out of her room. I used this for a regular doorway, not the stairwell and it works great. The only bad side is it only swings one way, my 5 year old has to use both hands to open it and it is kind of hard to open all around but I am hoping she will get used to it. It also, is a pain to put up but worth the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

great great gate!

02/22/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was researching hoping to find a gate good enough to keep my monkey of a son off the stairs when he's on the second floor. Through reviews reading, I bought this one. It's great. It looks great! People have written that the latch was difficult to lift but we don't have any troubles with it at all. It's super easy to open and close, for us parents of course, even one handed. The light is nifty. I love that you can have the gate as high off the ground as you'd like, making it taller. My husband had someone help him install the gate considering youare drilling the thing which made it much easier.
Seriously, the gate looks great, but most importantly keeps me from worrying if my kid will ever fall down the stair because I know he's not getting past it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Very Nice Product

07/01/2008
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installation was pretty straightforward. I installed this product at the top of my stairs. The product is very sturdy when installed properly.
Not sure if I will continue to use the light; it would be nice to be able to adjust the brightness.
Very nice product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
02/25/2008
By ,
Maple Valley, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate. The light on it is great. I have a baby and a 100lb. dog and we bought it for both. It is a little hard to open at first but that's kind of the point I think. You get the hang of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Durability
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
41-49 of 49 total reviews