Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

The Safety 1st SmartLight Stair Gate is the only top of the stairs gate that includes a unique motion activated safety light. This gate has a built in sensor that illuminates the stairway and landing for additional safety upon approach. It stands 28" tall and has a safety indicator letting parents know that the gate is securely locked.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%59 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Great Product

08/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is a great quality product. The templates provided made installation quick and straightforward. The handle is fairly easy to open, but not easy enough for a toddler to do it. We never put the batteries in the gate to use the light function because we just don't need it, but what a great option! We have used this gate for about a week and so far really enjoy it. I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 42 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

A great product

08/18/2008
By ,
Argos, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband put this gate up in no time. The light is very handy because the gate is at the top of our stairs. The one hand operation is great to when you have a child in your arms and need to open it. I would highly recommend this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Nice...but some drawbacks

12/06/2007
By ,
Central Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this product for the top of our stairs. We have a 4 year old and 11 month old as well as teenagers. I love the concept of this gate, with the light. It was easy to install, it is attractive and the light is an excellent feature. My only problem with it, is that it is a little difficult to open. My 4 old is tall but when standing on the stairs trying to go up...he cannot put enough pressure on the handle to open. I have some difficulty with strength in my hands and also find it a little difficult to push down on the handle to open. I think this is a good gate but keep in mind if you have small children that will need to open this on their own or elderly people with arthritis in their hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Easy to get through

04/23/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't like the other gates that have narrow doors. This product has wide door and it's very easy to get through. And it looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
08/18/2008
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Overall. Would be nice if it had metal hinges, Not sure how the plastic will hold up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
04/23/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate looks and performs great!! I did a ton of research on baby gates and so far I've been pleased with its performance. I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
02/25/2008
By ,
Maple Valley, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate. The light on it is great. I have a baby and a 100lb. dog and we bought it for both. It is a little hard to open at first but that's kind of the point I think. You get the hang of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Very Nice!

01/26/2009
By ,
Altus, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this gate. It works great for the top of our stairs. The only thing I don't like is that there is no option to turn the nightlight on/off. It turns on anytime we go near it, which is great at nighttime, but not so great during the day. Other than that, I highly recommend this product to keep the kiddos off the stairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Durability
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
41-49 of 49 total reviews