Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

The Safety 1st SmartLight Stair Gate is the only top of the stairs gate that includes a unique motion activated safety light. This gate has a built in sensor that illuminates the stairway and landing for additional safety upon approach. It stands 28" tall and has a safety indicator letting parents know that the gate is securely locked.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%59 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Baby gate

08/12/2008
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this gate. I did not think I would use the motion light feature, but I am really glad to have now that I have used it. This gate is great for the stairway since the molding on the stairs makes it impossible to use most other gates. I plan on buying another one to place at the bottom of my staircase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Great baby gate

02/04/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our banister and wall at the top of the stairs were not even so we had to install the gate at a slight angle. It installed without any problems and is secure. No problems to report at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Good not great

03/26/2008
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't yet needed to test out the gate's durability against my child but I'm already bummed that the motion light doesn't work. Put in batteries and nothing happens.
Install instructions were confusing and vague.
Gate does seem to be sturdy and safe. Still glad I got it but would have liked the light to work as advertised!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

A great product

08/18/2008
By ,
Argos, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband put this gate up in no time. The light is very handy because the gate is at the top of our stairs. The one hand operation is great to when you have a child in your arms and need to open it. I would highly recommend this gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
08/18/2008
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Overall. Would be nice if it had metal hinges, Not sure how the plastic will hold up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Great gate for strong babies!

07/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate! Our son crashes his walker into it and it DOES NOT MOVE! The latch is impossible for him to open. It looks nice and is very sturdy. Well worth the higher price tag!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 47 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Very nice stair gate

03/31/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the fact that I can glance at the indicator light as I walk by to make sure the gate is locked. This saves me from repeatedly checking the gate to ease my mind. It is very sturdy & durable, and my child hasn't attempted to climb it. The handle is easy enough for an adult, but impossible for a child.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

exactly what I was looking for.

05/24/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was amazed when I seen this product. It was exactly what I was looking for so I ordered it, it came promtly I suprisingly installed it that evening successfully because I'm use to somekind of obstical or delay but so far it is working out just fine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Durability
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
41-49 of 49 total reviews