Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

The Safety 1st SmartLight Stair Gate is the only top of the stairs gate that includes a unique motion activated safety light. This gate has a built in sensor that illuminates the stairway and landing for additional safety upon approach. It stands 28" tall and has a safety indicator letting parents know that the gate is securely locked.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%59 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Better than I expected!

04/13/2008
By ,
Nags Head, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased three of the gates for stairways and decks. They were fairly easy to install, easy to operate and they don't look obnoxious.
The motion sensors are a bit sensitive and if I could ask for one improvement it would be to be able to adjust the motion detector to suit my needs. I installed one of the gates on an outside deck and the light stayed on all night long. Not a big deal. I turned the light off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Great Product

08/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is a great quality product. The templates provided made installation quick and straightforward. The handle is fairly easy to open, but not easy enough for a toddler to do it. We never put the batteries in the gate to use the light function because we just don't need it, but what a great option! We have used this gate for about a week and so far really enjoy it. I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 43 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Worth every penny!

04/12/2008
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate and have recommended it to everyone I know that would need one. I love the light and it's not to bright to be blaring into the bedrooms. It opens easily for an adult, but not easy enough for my 4 year old to open. My daughter sleep walks now so I have it at the top of the stairs and I don't have any worries about her opening it. The bars are close enough together that she can't even stick her feet in it to climb over. It closes just as nicely, no hands needed or fumbling with it to line up. Just a small push and it locks in 2 places, the top and the bottom, so in case one doesn't catch the other on does. Even that hasn't caused any problems. It did take a while to line it up during installation but you need to be patient. Once its up its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Great product -- very useful features

07/23/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product compared to the other three baby gates my wife & I have purchased and used. Very easy to operate. The automatic night light feature was an unexpected big plus -- especially since we're using this gate at the top of our stairs. The only drawback I could see was that this gate was the most difficult to install out of the ones we've used so far; even so, it has been well worth the hassle of installation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Nice Product

01/02/2008
By ,
Stratford, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a nice product, but the gate is somewhat hard to open. If you have elderly in the house, they may not be able to open it very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Baby gate

08/12/2008
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this gate. I did not think I would use the motion light feature, but I am really glad to have now that I have used it. This gate is great for the stairway since the molding on the stairs makes it impossible to use most other gates. I plan on buying another one to place at the bottom of my staircase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Great Gate

07/29/2007
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I love this gate... The only things we could say about it are:
- Hynges should be metal
- Motion sensor light going on during the day is unnecesary, so it would be great to have a light sensor too. Overall, it is great and my 14 month old son hasn't figure it out or tried to climb it yet
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

great!

06/22/2008
By ,
kendallville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this gate! i haven't put batteries in it yet so i have not used the light. i didn't put it at the top of the stairs but rather in the hallway upstairs. i love that it is so easy to close. my older kids can get in and out easily, but it still keeps the baby where she needs to be. i'd recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Durability
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
41-49 of 49 total reviews