Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

The Safety 1st SmartLight Stair Gate is the only top of the stairs gate that includes a unique motion activated safety light. This gate has a built in sensor that illuminates the stairway and landing for additional safety upon approach. It stands 28" tall and has a safety indicator letting parents know that the gate is securely locked.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%59 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Great Gate

03/14/2008
By ,
Coral Springs,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this product. I brought two gates and had it shipped to my home. When I first tried to setup the first gate it was a little hassel to set up, but after I got the first gate up the second gate wasn't so bad. The gate is great it is good to keep your children and pets out. Great Buy!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

exactly what I was looking for.

05/24/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was amazed when I seen this product. It was exactly what I was looking for so I ordered it, it came promtly I suprisingly installed it that evening successfully because I'm use to somekind of obstical or delay but so far it is working out just fine.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Nice...but some drawbacks

12/06/2007
By ,
Central Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this product for the top of our stairs. We have a 4 year old and 11 month old as well as teenagers. I love the concept of this gate, with the light. It was easy to install, it is attractive and the light is an excellent feature. My only problem with it, is that it is a little difficult to open. My 4 old is tall but when standing on the stairs trying to go up...he cannot put enough pressure on the handle to open. I have some difficulty with strength in my hands and also find it a little difficult to push down on the handle to open. I think this is a good gate but keep in mind if you have small children that will need to open this on their own or elderly people with arthritis in their hands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Super Product

07/25/2008
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is great! It is so great it is almost adult-proof.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

very nice gate

03/18/2008
By ,
North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
serves very well for our purpose however the hinges don't hold up well with the daycare kids that my wife has the pins break however if mechanicly inclined you could make mew metal hinges that would be much stronger
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Overall happy!

12/11/2007
By ,
Williston, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this gate about a month ago, and so far we love it! My two year old cannot open it, and it keeps our 1 year old away from the steps. Yes, it did take some time to put up, but it was totally worth it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 47 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Wonderful gate

07/28/2008
By ,
Western Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this gate. We have it at the top of the cellar stairs which is a high traffic area in our house. The gate is heavy and sturdy yet swings easily. We did not use the screws that came with it for attaching it to the doorway. We purchased extra long ones to make sure it was secured to the wood beam behind the doorway trim. We have a five year old and he can operate the push-down-the-button-while-you-pull-up-the-handle opening mechanism. He needs to use two hands but it doesn't seem to slow him down. I like the color-coded lock. I had read some reviews that the handle was loud, but if you hold the button in while you lower the handle and then gently release the button it only makes a soft click, like flicking a light switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Good not great

03/26/2008
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't yet needed to test out the gate's durability against my child but I'm already bummed that the motion light doesn't work. Put in batteries and nothing happens.
Install instructions were confusing and vague.
Gate does seem to be sturdy and safe. Still glad I got it but would have liked the light to work as advertised!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Durability
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
41-49 of 49 total reviews