Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Safety 1st Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

The Safety 1st SmartLight Stair Gate is the only top of the stairs gate that includes a unique motion activated safety light. This gate has a built in sensor that illuminates the stairway and landing for additional safety upon approach. It stands 28" tall and has a safety indicator letting parents know that the gate is securely locked.
Average Customer Rating:
4.712 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%59 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Very nice stair gate

03/31/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the fact that I can glance at the indicator light as I walk by to make sure the gate is locked. This saves me from repeatedly checking the gate to ease my mind. It is very sturdy & durable, and my child hasn't attempted to climb it. The handle is easy enough for an adult, but impossible for a child.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 42 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Nice Product

01/02/2008
By ,
Stratford, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a nice product, but the gate is somewhat hard to open. If you have elderly in the house, they may not be able to open it very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 43 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Super Product

07/25/2008
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is great! It is so great it is almost adult-proof.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 44 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Wonderful gate

07/28/2008
By ,
Western Mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this gate. We have it at the top of the cellar stairs which is a high traffic area in our house. The gate is heavy and sturdy yet swings easily. We did not use the screws that came with it for attaching it to the doorway. We purchased extra long ones to make sure it was secured to the wood beam behind the doorway trim. We have a five year old and he can operate the push-down-the-button-while-you-pull-up-the-handle opening mechanism. He needs to use two hands but it doesn't seem to slow him down. I like the color-coded lock. I had read some reviews that the handle was loud, but if you hold the button in while you lower the handle and then gently release the button it only makes a soft click, like flicking a light switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 45 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Worth every penny!

04/12/2008
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate and have recommended it to everyone I know that would need one. I love the light and it's not to bright to be blaring into the bedrooms. It opens easily for an adult, but not easy enough for my 4 year old to open. My daughter sleep walks now so I have it at the top of the stairs and I don't have any worries about her opening it. The bars are close enough together that she can't even stick her feet in it to climb over. It closes just as nicely, no hands needed or fumbling with it to line up. Just a small push and it locks in 2 places, the top and the bottom, so in case one doesn't catch the other on does. Even that hasn't caused any problems. It did take a while to line it up during installation but you need to be patient. Once its up its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 46 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

great gate

06/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this gate is nice, it did take a while to set up about an hour but once up works great. I feel safe now with my 9m old upstairs and my 3year old can't open it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 47 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Sturdy gate

08/23/2007
By ,
Topeka, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, this gate seems to be very sturdy. We had another gate that used plastic mounting materials and they broke twice. This one uses all metal mounting materials and seems to be very sturdy and looks really nice. The light is nice, but it's almost too bright so we decided to not use it at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 48 for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate

Better than I expected!

04/13/2008
By ,
Nags Head, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased three of the gates for stairways and decks. They were fairly easy to install, easy to operate and they don't look obnoxious.
The motion sensors are a bit sensitive and if I could ask for one improvement it would be to be able to adjust the motion detector to suit my needs. I installed one of the gates on an outside deck and the light stayed on all night long. Not a big deal. I turned the light off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Safety 1st - SmartLight Stair Gate
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Durability
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
41-49 of 49 total reviews