Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Summer Infant Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Summer Infant Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Keep babies, toddlers, and even pets safe with the Summer Infant Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate. This easy-to-install, pressure mounted walk thru baby gate swings open for adults and gives easy walk through with no more climbing over. Also the door swings closed and locks automatically. This baby swing gate is made of non-toxic metal and designed perfect for doorways ranging 28" to 47.5". This childcare product acts as a great room barrier, preventing the entry of pets and creates a secure environment for your baby. The Summer Infant secure entry metal gate includes one 5" and 10" extension to help you perfectly fit the gate in the desired location.
Average Customer Rating:
3.911 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation82%46 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Will Purchase Another, in Addition to The First

09/10/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this gate because we were not wanting to put holes in our walls, etc. I love that it's metal, a pressure mount gate, and you can change it to fit your opening. Since it is metal, it's very sturdy and ours still looks like it did when we bought it to use on our first child. We've used it at the bottom of the stairs, mounted to wood. We're going to be putting it back in the same place and buying another to go at the top of the stairs, or vise versa. It has NEVER come loose or had any problems what-so-ever for us. If you have an unruly child and your child breaks things, then I would definitely suggest getting one that screws into the wall, etc. But, for us, this gate has worked wonderfully!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Gate has a weak hinge made of plastic that breaks.

06/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this gate a couple years ago. I only used it when my small grandchildren were here. I was really disappointed when the hinge that holds the gate door onto the gate itself broke. It is made of plastic and doesn't hold up. My daughter liked my gate so she drove an hour away to buy one. It only lasted a month before the same plastic part broke on hers also. They taped it up but it falls apart and won't hold. So they will have to take it back. I can't take mine back as the return window is closed. I am going to try to get in touch with the company and see if they can send me the part so I can at least repair it and try again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate
09/06/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is convenient and super easy to open! Extra tall means EXTRA TALL, the photo is not of the extra tall gate. It comes up to my belly button and I am 5'7". Probably NOT SO GOOD FOR STAIRS with a banister on one side because it takes a lot of pressure to get it to work right and it is pushing my banister out making it a little crooked. The opening is slightly narrow, but not too bad. My baby is only 12mo old, and I have a feeling that he will be able to yank it open when he gets a little older because it doesn't lock very tight and I would not use it at the top of the stairs for this reason. You have to be careful measuring because it may MAY NOT FIT EVERY OPENING listed. I WOULD recommend it because it is easy for me to open and has the auto close thing for when my older child forgets to close it. Also he can not climb over it because it has no horizontal bars. And you can reverse the direction it opens in which is nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Secure gate

11/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought to keep inside animals in one area of the house. Love it, works great, looks better, nice ,much better than the one we had been using. Would be very secure for children, would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

WILL NOT FIT A 43 INCH OPENING

01/01/2010
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When installing this gate, I found that it WILL NOT WORK in a 43 inch opening. I followed the instructions for a 43 inch opening by using both the 5 and10 inch extension pieces. However, when these two extension pieces are attached to the gate, it makes the gate 44 inches wide which WILL NOT fit into a 43 inch opening!
I attempted to use only the 10 inch extension, as per the instructions for an opening 42 1/2 inches wide. This too did not work as the tension bolts were not long enough to tighten the gate enough for the walk through door to close properly and the gate to be securely tightenend. It would fall right over.
It seems like it might be a pretty good gate for the price but only if your opening is 1/2 inch more or less than 43 inches.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Not Worth It

11/02/2007
By ,
Elk Grove, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these gates because I liked that they were tall and you can walk through them. However, the pressure mounts just don't hold up. My husband is constantly having to re-tighten them. The rubber on the end of the pressure mounts wore off and has fallen off. We have to use puzzle pieces between the mounts and the walls to help hold the gate in place. Needless to say, the gates are pretty much useless now because my two year-old can bust through them by just pushing hard if he wants to. They just don't seem durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Release/latch a little tough

09/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This products does what it's supposed to do. At the moment, we are using it to keep our dogs confined to one room at night and when we aren't home. I haven't found that it's anything spectacular but it does the job. I do like the fact that is has a "door" feature but the mechanism that releases/latches the door is a little on the tough side to do one-handed (I do have a 7-month old in my arms quite often). I like that it swings shut but I have to physically latch it as it doesn't do that automatically. It has a nice sturdy build as far as I can tell but for the price, I wish the door was made a little more user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Good gate, minor glitches

07/13/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is good and sturdy and nicely tall. The gate we got seems to have been bent a little so it takes quite a bit of compression to get the top part of the gate to latch sturdily, but once it does, it's good and secure. Didn't bother returning it since we can make it work. Opening with one hand is doable but not the easiest if I am attempting to use my less dominant hand. I have only had it up a few days, so we'll see if it continues to be a good gate. The walk through portion of the gate is small, but when we needed to move furniture upstairs, it was easy enough to take down the whole thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Better than the previous gate

08/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a better gate than the one being replaced. Reinforced connections on the dividers. I believe it is better built and more durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

A great gate!

06/13/2008
By ,
Lake Silkworth, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've found this gate to be far superior to the ones I've purchased in the past. It's easy to install, looks nice, and is much easier for my husband to open and close. It's also easy for my four year old to open and close, which is important since she goes up and down the steps 100 times a day. We use it now to keep the dogs downstairs and will eventually use it to keep my infant from climbing up the stairs. If you are trying to keep a toddler from escaping, it might not work because of it's easy opening / closing, depending on how clever the kid is! The only problem I've had is that since it is filling a 47" opening, it is extended almost as far as it will go, and if an adult pushes on it REALLY hard, it will become dislodged and require a fresh installation. I would buy it again....that is, until I see how well it keeps my daughter from climbing the stairs later!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Buying for a second time

09/07/2007
By ,
San Mateo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this gate 6 months ago to mount on our bedroom door to keep the cat out, but allow air to circulate into the room. We just bought a second one to put on our guest room. We had no challenges installing the gate and are constantly going in and out of it. It's very stable and secure on our 32"w door frame. I find it very convenient to open with one hand when I'm loaded down with laundry or whatever I'm bringing into the room - much easier than those ones you have to step on to release. As for price - this was $10 less than the price we paid at another retailer for the last one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Gate Works Well

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two of these. The gates are used to keep good air circulation within my home without having to close doors to keep pup off of carpet in bedrooms. Simple operation & works perfectly for what was needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

they've changed it

02/22/2009
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have two of these gates. I've had for one for about 6 months and I love it. The newer one that I have had for about two weeks is still nicer than many gates out there but not as nice as the older one. The newer one does not swing closed (and latch) like the older one, this is actually very bothersome when you have a young child in the house that doesn't always remember to close things.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Terrible!

12/18/2007
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased two gates only three months ago and they are both broken now! They do not install easily, nor do they always "swing shut." They can be pushed over fairly easily if not tightened on a weekly basis (if not daily). Spend your money elsewhere. This product is not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Not at all what I expected

06/26/2008
By ,
Nashville TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The gate was not very easy to put up. The instructions were not at all helpful. The way the gate is made you have to tighten it really tight to make the door line up right and now where the extension is on mine its bows out a little. I'm not really sure how sturdy this thing will be. I guess it will hopefully last a little while. I think if you have a kid that’s pretty aggressive and will rattle and pull on it this gate will not work for you. The gate already had undone itself somehow and I have to tighten it again. The door is not as sturdy of a latch as I hoped it would be my dog already knows how to open it and she's just a little rat terrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Too difficult to set up/install

08/29/2008
By ,
Chino Hills, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I placed the gate at the top my our stair case between two hand rails. First, I had to secure the attachments to the hand rails via 4 screws - not supplied! Second, the four screw type presure adjustment fastners require very fine adjustment (4 ways) to properly align the swinging door. If not adjusted properly, the door will not function as intended. This was a very tricky task and may require readjustment month-to-month. Third, once enough presure is applied to the four screw type presure fastners to obtain an adequate hold, the gate starts to bend and flex out of shape - it's not strong enough. Conclusion: it SEEMS to do the job okay for now, but I am not too confident in it's strength or function in the months to come as my toldler grows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

It would have been nice

03/25/2008
By ,
Centralia, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product would have been really nice if I didn't have to send it back. It wasn't Wal-Mart or the Manufactor's fault. Probably something in shipping. The bar that made the door open and close was bent so, I had to return the product. I did however set up the gate just to see how easy it was and it was pretty easy, it fit just right and it was firm and stayed in place the opening of the gate was a little small but whatever kept my nephew in the area was good enough for me. My only problem is that I didn't want to wait the extra 3 weeks to get another one. I already waited 3 weeks for the first one and that kinda drove me nuts it would have been nicer if my Wal-Mart would have carried that gate. But, you can't have everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

not impressed

08/09/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this gate for our kitchen area to keep out toddler out. First, one of the holes for the pressure mounting screws was not threaded all the way and the gate itself was scratched and dirty ion places. Then it was a pain to fit in the doorway since our doorway was 42" and with one extension it was set for 42.5". It took both my husband and I to tighten it up. Once we got that done we noticed that it could be loosened by shaking it (like our child does when she wants in). It looks to us like we would have to tighten it daily.
To top it off, once we removed it to put iut back in the box we noticed the lovely black marks the pressure mounting pads left on our walls...not happy at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

A+ Product!

01/03/2008
By ,
La Vergne, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this gate! We have 3 dogs and a cat. We have been using the wooden/mesh doggie gates for years. But, one of our Cocker Spaniels is a jumper! He can scale those mesh gates in nothing flat! Also needed something the cat could get thru, as she uses the doggie door to go outside :-) We saw this product on Wal-Mart site and said wow, this might work for us! I love the vertical/metal bars! Bucky can't climb them! With a bit of modification of one extension, my husband was able to make a space large enough for the cat to get thru, yet not the dogs :-) Us humans LOVE the ease of opening the door and walking thru! No more stepping over wooden gates and no more Bucky jumping the gate at 3:00 AM! So far, very sturdy and has stayed exactly where we put it. The dogs don't push it or jump on it, so there has been no movement from original position. My husband installed it in @ 10 minutes, was very easy. Looks much nicer than that old wooden and plastic gate(s) we were using! We love it so much, we have recently ordered a 2nd one to install in den door opening. We are very, very happy with this gate. It has definitely solved the case of the jumping dog for us! We have two dogs in @ 35 pound range, one @ 16 lbs and a cat - so far it's contained them all - and we just love the walk thru door!
TitansMom
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Summer Infant - Sure & Secure Extra Tall Walk-Thru Gate

Great!!!!

07/27/2010
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 1 1/2 year old climbed like crazy. We bought these and he NEVER got out. Tension mounts may need to be tightened occasionally. But if you're not happy with that, you can always screw these little plastic pieces into your door frame that will hold it in place.
He's 3 1/2 now, and has figured that if he pushes up really hard, it unlocks, so we have to get rid of them. But I never once doubted his safety with these in place. A must have for baths, kitchens, stairs or any place you don't want your tots heading!
(also work great for pets, nice to have a gate that our dog couldn't chew in 2!)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next