Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cobra Electronics Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Cobra Electronics Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation76%25 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Poor Quality Transceiver

10/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you intend to use this radio to transmit, you may be in for a surprise. I was, three times. Of three Cobra 19 Ultra III CB Radio's purchased from Walmart, none properly transmitted modulated audio under normal conditions (voices transmitted are very, very weak when received by another radio). My operating conditions included a quality amateur radio antenna tuned to resonate at the operating frequency of 27.185 Mhz (Ch 19). On two of the radios, I followed the functional test from within the vehicle with a bench test which included a power meter and dummy load. The radios would produce 3-3.5 watt carrier with minimal meter deflection under normal operating conditions. Normal talking with the mic held close to the face resulted in very minimal deflection above the power produced by the carrier. Yelling loudly produced a slight deflection of the meter to near 4 watts. Although audio was being transmitted, under these conditions (yelling), the transmitted audio was distorted and garbled (during the functional test). The only recommendation I would give for this radio is that someone in the Quality Control department of either Cobra or Walmart give this product an evaluation as the three that I have worked with have been virtually useless with respect to their intended purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ocala, FL
Thank you
Posted 04/01/2014
Thank you for your thorough review. Consumer Reports couldn't have done a better job.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Ultra III gets the job done.

05/22/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this radio due to its low cost and my liking the Cobra 19 series. This radio has met my expectations.
Sound quality on receive and transmit have been superb.
Ranges on transmit and receive are within expected standards for CB radios, based on my configuration.
For a CB radio you must take into consideration your vehicle type and antenna configuration. A high quality antenna will outperform a cheapie.
The FCC limits power output and other specifications. This radio will perform the same as other radios costing many times more. You get the bonus of a modern-looking radio that easily fits in small spaces at a very good cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Nice basic CB radio

03/27/2008
By ,
St. Petersburg
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hi to everyone!
This is a basic functionality CB radio. It has 40 channels, 4 mW power. I have installed this radio with 22' magnetic base antenna on my car - it works fine. With this antenna the range for transmit is 2-4 miles.
Below are my comments:
(+) controls are convenient
(+) microphone is comfortable
(+) indication is bright and clear
(+) relatively small in size
(-) does not store a channel between power off
In general I'm quite satisfied with this radio and I would recommend this device as a starting point if you want to get into the world of CB radio on the road. (If you consider cell phone + traffic radio + GPS better - do not buy this radio :-) ).
Thank you,
Max
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

A good compact CB radio for my Jeep.

07/12/2013
By ,
Blairsville, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great compact CB radio for small and limited space, like a Jeep. Received radio in about 3 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

i like this compact cb not big price appearnace ..

01/16/2014
By ,
conway,ark.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i wanted this cd radio I like all brands the price appearance is all I need its small enough to fit . I would suggest this to any1ne it depends on the person k. gary
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

wreat for price

09/23/2013
By ,
calexico, california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wreat radio, with a K40 antenna works good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

not that bad

12/03/2007
By ,
blandford,ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i really didnt have too big of problem with it,all my chanells work and for those of you who said u didnt get great coverage,try a longer antenna and buy an upgraded microphone. for 35 dollars its not bad. i take long trips all the time,and i always get travelers assistance and directions if i need them. and the cb unit itself its quite small which i prefer in my car
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Good starter CB

02/08/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good starter CB.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Not To Sure

01/09/2010
By ,
Hamptonville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this Cb radio with high hopes, but after i got everything hooked up i soon figured out that problems quickly arose. I had bought all the neccassary items and could'nt wait to use it. But the biggest problem that i want to focus on is that it would recieve fairly well, but it would not transmit a lick. i bought a 5 ft. antenna with a bolt mount, ive been told several things that may be wats wrong but none seem to have done anything to help work. Ive moved the antenna around on my truck with no help, wats even worse is that it picks up every bit of interference from my truck, i cant run tha Cb at the same time as my truck w/o an annoying high pitch sound. Unless ya can afford all the neccassary parts needed to enjoy the full affect that this Cb is posta bring tha owner i dont reccomend this for those that are looking for a small budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

bang for the buck

07/04/2009
By ,
berkeley heights, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great starter radio and its a great radio for the price. i run this radio in my car and an old Royce 619 at my house and i can be heard crystal clear all around. although, if you do the right modifications and/or know the right people, it really makes for a good radio. one thing though, i strongly recommend that if you do buy this radio you should get an extension speaker and a power mic and a good antenna. this really brings out the goods in this radio
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Return it

04/20/2009
By ,
colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a nice cobra CB I installed a few years back and I decided to buy these two radios (ultra III) and got them home and range tested them and was very disappointed. I had the wife in the driveway and I drove down the road and lost signal after 800 meters. They could recieve my tx from my older cobra from up to two miles in a suburban layout but they could not tx past 800 meters. I bought two and tested both, they are minor league. I dont suggest buying these unless you plan on just LISTENING to conversations. You get what you pay for....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio
08/19/2013
By ,
Henderson nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

cb swlwction

10/14/2007
By ,
IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I RETURNERD THE PRODUCT,COULD NOT GET CONVERSATIONS ON CHANNELS
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

wast of money

01/08/2009
By ,
indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought 2 of these radios and cant talk to anyone they recieve but dont transmit. I am returning them today
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

amazing

03/21/2009
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this radio is way worth the 35 dollars almost every body i know has one in there truck. i helped put one in a friends pickup. once we had it wired right worked great. the other reviews saying was not working right. chances are it was not wired right, nobody was in range or ready to respond, your squelch needed to be adjusted, or what we found out need a good ground. but over all love it and am going to go get another one this week
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

cheap price but well built

08/11/2009
By ,
augusta ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is a good price for us coon hunters cause we need cbs in the woods when we hunt we use them all the time all of us have them i would not go this cheap if u are a trucker but it all depends how much u use it but if all u do is work in the woods or something get this one it puts off a good signal for wat i do so it is a good product
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Great CB!

12/20/2008
By ,
Decatur, Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Cobra Citizen Band Radio did meet my expectations on its performance i get about 10-15 miles sometimes more. The only thing i hate about it is the engine interference when you start the car up or even turn on the A/C or the heat. But over all i do recommend this product to anyone its a great value you cant beat it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Disappointment

11/14/2007
By ,
Redding, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this for my hubby last Christmas, it was the wrong one. Instead of returning it, we decided to put it in my truck. Even with a new intennal, only one channel worked clearly, all others were static, when asking for a "check" no one could here us. We live in town. A big waste of money!!! Can't use what won't work!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Well...

02/26/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a bad starter radio provided it works when you get it out of the box and installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Good Bargain

01/21/2010
By ,
Austin, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it needs to, in a small inexpensive package. less features than other models, but that is to be expected.
my only complaint is that its tuned to channel one every time you turn it on rather than saving your last used channel, but the instant 9/19 makes this a non issue for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next