Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cobra Electronics Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Cobra Electronics Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Average Customer Rating:
3.432 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation75%33 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Easy to use and install

06/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was easy for me to use and was just as easy to install with a drill to put in only 2 screws. The only thing I didn't like was that the hand set felt a little big and bulky, but I very quickly got use to the feel. I also wish that the box or even the instructions had said something about how big of an antenna I should use, so that I wouldn't have ended up stuck with such a low power antenna (300 watts).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Ultra III gets the job done.

05/22/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this radio due to its low cost and my liking the Cobra 19 series. This radio has met my expectations.
Sound quality on receive and transmit have been superb.
Ranges on transmit and receive are within expected standards for CB radios, based on my configuration.
For a CB radio you must take into consideration your vehicle type and antenna configuration. A high quality antenna will outperform a cheapie.
The FCC limits power output and other specifications. This radio will perform the same as other radios costing many times more. You get the bonus of a modern-looking radio that easily fits in small spaces at a very good cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Works great

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice little CB radio for the money. The internal speaker works good, but the external speaker accessory works better. And with the external PA speaker accessory, it makes owning this ten times more fun.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Nice basic CB radio

03/27/2008
By ,
St. Petersburg
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hi to everyone!
This is a basic functionality CB radio. It has 40 channels, 4 mW power. I have installed this radio with 22' magnetic base antenna on my car - it works fine. With this antenna the range for transmit is 2-4 miles.
Below are my comments:
(+) controls are convenient
(+) microphone is comfortable
(+) indication is bright and clear
(+) relatively small in size
(-) does not store a channel between power off
In general I'm quite satisfied with this radio and I would recommend this device as a starting point if you want to get into the world of CB radio on the road. (If you consider cell phone + traffic radio + GPS better - do not buy this radio :-) ).
Thank you,
Max
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Works really well. Ideal for vacations.

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have limited space in my vehicle and the unit fit very well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

not that bad

12/03/2007
By ,
blandford,ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i really didnt have too big of problem with it,all my chanells work and for those of you who said u didnt get great coverage,try a longer antenna and buy an upgraded microphone. for 35 dollars its not bad. i take long trips all the time,and i always get travelers assistance and directions if i need them. and the cb unit itself its quite small which i prefer in my car
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Cobra is a good name

05/17/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought it for our grandson he had mentioned he would like a cb. It was a while he had mentioned it, so I thought it would be a great surprise. Well it was he is a Little Person and his call name is BIG AL. He was 15 in March of 2015.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Poor Quality Transceiver

10/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you intend to use this radio to transmit, you may be in for a surprise. I was, three times. Of three Cobra 19 Ultra III CB Radio's purchased from Walmart, none properly transmitted modulated audio under normal conditions (voices transmitted are very, very weak when received by another radio). My operating conditions included a quality amateur radio antenna tuned to resonate at the operating frequency of 27.185 Mhz (Ch 19). On two of the radios, I followed the functional test from within the vehicle with a bench test which included a power meter and dummy load. The radios would produce 3-3.5 watt carrier with minimal meter deflection under normal operating conditions. Normal talking with the mic held close to the face resulted in very minimal deflection above the power produced by the carrier. Yelling loudly produced a slight deflection of the meter to near 4 watts. Although audio was being transmitted, under these conditions (yelling), the transmitted audio was distorted and garbled (during the functional test). The only recommendation I would give for this radio is that someone in the Quality Control department of either Cobra or Walmart give this product an evaluation as the three that I have worked with have been virtually useless with respect to their intended purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ocala, FL
Thank you
Posted 04/01/2014
Thank you for your thorough review. Consumer Reports couldn't have done a better job.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

how bad

05/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i got this cb and got home to hook up and never even work DONT BUY unless if you want to wast your money
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

bang for the buck

07/04/2009
By ,
berkeley heights, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great starter radio and its a great radio for the price. i run this radio in my car and an old Royce 619 at my house and i can be heard crystal clear all around. although, if you do the right modifications and/or know the right people, it really makes for a good radio. one thing though, i strongly recommend that if you do buy this radio you should get an extension speaker and a power mic and a good antenna. this really brings out the goods in this radio
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Not To Sure

01/09/2010
By ,
Hamptonville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this Cb radio with high hopes, but after i got everything hooked up i soon figured out that problems quickly arose. I had bought all the neccassary items and could'nt wait to use it. But the biggest problem that i want to focus on is that it would recieve fairly well, but it would not transmit a lick. i bought a 5 ft. antenna with a bolt mount, ive been told several things that may be wats wrong but none seem to have done anything to help work. Ive moved the antenna around on my truck with no help, wats even worse is that it picks up every bit of interference from my truck, i cant run tha Cb at the same time as my truck w/o an annoying high pitch sound. Unless ya can afford all the neccassary parts needed to enjoy the full affect that this Cb is posta bring tha owner i dont reccomend this for those that are looking for a small budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Excellent Value

07/05/2014
By ,
Litchfield Park, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good CB for the money. My wife and I needed a way to communicate while moving from Phoenix to the Texas Panhandle, I was driving the U-Haul truck and she was driving the car.
These Radio's did the job
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

wreat for price

09/23/2013
By ,
calexico, california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wreat radio, with a K40 antenna works good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

A good compact CB radio for my Jeep.

07/12/2013
By ,
Blairsville, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great compact CB radio for small and limited space, like a Jeep. Received radio in about 3 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

You get what you pay for

01/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very nice brand "Cobra" but not one oftheir best product, id recommend one of the higher rated product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Return it

04/20/2009
By ,
colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a nice cobra CB I installed a few years back and I decided to buy these two radios (ultra III) and got them home and range tested them and was very disappointed. I had the wife in the driveway and I drove down the road and lost signal after 800 meters. They could recieve my tx from my older cobra from up to two miles in a suburban layout but they could not tx past 800 meters. I bought two and tested both, they are minor league. I dont suggest buying these unless you plan on just LISTENING to conversations. You get what you pay for....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

GREAT ITEM

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my husband for his semi. It is working great!! No issues at all!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

Breaker, breaker 1-9

01/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's works pretty good.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

No Sound After Just 2 Days

06/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for 2 days. I felt this was a great value, but on day 3 I could not get any sound out of the internal speaker. I had my volume all the way up and adjusted my squelch to the max, a signal was displayed, but I could only barley hear the squelch, with my ear on the speaker.
This day n age, you just never know what you are going to get. Corners are cut in manufacturing and assembly everywhere.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cobra 19 Ultra III Citizen Band Radio

i like this compact cb not big price appearnace ..

01/16/2014
By ,
conway,ark.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i wanted this cd radio I like all brands the price appearance is all I need its small enough to fit . I would suggest this to any1ne it depends on the person k. gary
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next