Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

Bissell Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

The Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner has the power and convenience to thoroughly clean your home. 12 Powerful Amps with bagless technology provides high suction power. No more bags to buy or change – EVER! Easy Empty dirt container with exclusive Lock 'n Seal lever. The Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner includes a TurboBrush which thoroughly cleans pet hair, stairs and upholstery.  
Average Customer Rating:
3.86 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation75%30 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
78 Questions | 312 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

Very good, if not amazing.

03/06/2012
By ,
Dash Point, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've had this vacuum for about a year, and so far, I'm very happy with it. It's not perfect, but I'm very satisfied with the overall performance. Here's how the pro's and con's break down:
PROS
1) POWER - at 12 amps, when the filters are clean and the main chamber isn't packed full, this vacuum has plenty of cleaning power for all our needs (2 adults, 1 9yr old, 2 cats, 2 hamsters, live near the beach). I haven't come across anything it can't handle.
2) ATTACHMENTS - the crevice cleaner, extension tubes and upholstery brush all work well, though it's key to not push down too hard with the upholstery brush, as suction is what keeps the brush spinning, and if you push down too hard, it stops.
3) CHORD - plenty long enough, doesn't seem to kink up easily.
4) ACCESSING FILTERS - It's easy to get to all the filters by way of the various openings provided.
CONS
1) CLEANING FILTERS - There's nothing wrong with these filters, but cleaning them was a new experience for me. This is our first bag-less vacuum, and while I like the power and not having to buy bags, having to access and clean several filters is a bit annoying, especially if you don't have a 2nd vacuum with which to clean the filters. :) The filters are washable, and I do suggest washing them, when you have plenty of time to let them dry, because air cleaning the filters just fills the air around you with more dust than you can handle. I literally had an asthma attack when I made the mistake of air cleaning the filters on our porch on a calm day, with no wind to blow the dust away. I was surrounded by a huge cloud of dust. WASH them in water in a sink ... I've done that too, it works, and there's no mess. Just leave time for drying. If you don't want to mess with filter cleaning, get a bag model.
2) BRUSH "GRAB" - On some of our rugs, moving the vacuum in one direction is not easy. It seems that when the brush is working against the grain of the carpet, it grabs and makes moving difficult. Turning around and going the opposite direction makes the problem disappear. Also, adjusting the cleaning height a notch or two HIGHER than you think you need also seems to help.
Overall, this vacuum keeps our bare, carpeted and rugged floors clean, and we're happy with it. I suspect that some of the folks complaining about cleaning power haven't discovered all the filters you need to clean. I had this problem too, until I read the guide and realized there were places to clean I hadn't found yet.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
reply to pilot1962 re:your Bissell 6585 review
Posted 03/09/2012
Pilot your review was amazing! very informational. I am looking for a new vacuum to replace my mom's Oreck which does not pick up anything! I have a Bissell as well but not at home so not sure of the model # . I just love my Bissell. It runs circles around my Hoover and(Bissell) costed 3 times less. I can vacuum with my Hoover and then go over the same spot with my Bissell and the Bissell picks up all sorts of stuff that my Hoover leaves on the rugs! thank you for your great review. I am going to get mom the 6585 model by Bissell.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585
03/10/2012
By ,
Toccoa Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vaccum cleaner did not know what I was missing until I vaccumed the first time with this.
I have a dog and the dog hair disappeared from my carpet, but I found it in the vaccum cleaner. No other carpet cleaner has ever been able to do what this one has done for me and my carpets.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

GOOD BUT WON'T LAST

04/01/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had this vacuum a little over a year. It was GREAT when I first bought it. Has actually done really well for the past year. We just tried to replace the broken belt for the first time. Put the new belt on and it BROKE RIGHT AWAY. Turns out the actual rotor that turns was jammed AND now not straight so even when we used WD-40 to unstick it, it wouldn't work correctly. This is where the "cheapness" of the parts comes in. The price for a new rotor is $22 ...the entire vacuum cost us $60! So we decided to upgrade to a better quality, BETTER WARRANTY vacuum.
You get what you pay for...if you don't mind buying a new vacuum every year or couple years then go ahead for the price.
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

Great buy for a great price

04/13/2012
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last vacuum was a Dirt Devil. It was a canister system much like this one. I paid three times as much for it and had it for 4 years, so when I saw this vacuum and how similar it was to my old vacuum I wanted it right away, however I was worried that it would be one of those 'you get what you pay for' type things and that with such a low price that it might show up and have cheap parts or break right away. I was willing to take the risk and I'm very glad I did. It is just as 'sturdy' as my old Dirt Devil and cleans very well. The cord is twice as long as I am used to which is awesome. I love that the hose is attached on the end that runs into the canister, it can come off if you need to clear a clog or something but it's so quick to just switch from floor cleaning to using the hose because it's already plugged in and ready to go. I love that the filters can be washed and it's not that difficult to do, only takes about 5 minutes to take them apart and give them a good thorough cleaning. The upholstery attachment gets my furniture clean in a quick swipe. Only time will tell if this vacuum will 'live' as long as my old Dirt Devil did, but for how much money I saved this time around and how well it works, I'd be thrilled just to get a year out of it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

Great product

04/15/2012
By ,
Modesto, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally purchased this vacuum about 6 months ago because I had to send my Dyson in to be repaired and they said it could take from 7 to 10 days. I have 2 dogs and knew I couldn't go that long without vacuuming, so I went to Walmart to find an inexpensive machine to use until my Dyson was returned. I had planned to give this to my daughter after I got my Dyson back, but I like it so much I decided to keep it. I probably use it more than my Dyson. One of the things I prefer is that it can go under my bedroom furniture. The only drawback is that the waste container is so small I have to empty it a couple of times each time I use it. I do like the fact that I can take it apart when I am finished and wash all of the parts. It is ready for the next time I use it. I highly recommend this for anyone. I am ordering a replacement filter so that I can switch back and forth while the one is drying. When it comes time to replace my Dyson, I plan to purchase another Bissell but will go with a larger model.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

awesome suction power

04/21/2012
By ,
mtairy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love our new vacuum for the great price you can't beat it. We have 2 cats and 4 chihuahuas this vacuum does an awesome job keeping our home pet hair and dander free. Me myself I am a canister type vacuum fan I hate dealing with the hoses I forget that you can't strech them far without the vacuum holding the vacuum so it don't fall over (my bad),only other things i'm not use too is having to clean the holding tank it does hold a lot and with all the carpet we have in our home 5 rooms with carpet we have to clean the holding tank abut 3 or 4 times, we clean it outside to keep the dust particles from reentering the home. But overall we love this vacuum our carpets have never looked so nice and fluffy, even with the old canister did make the carpet rise and shine like this one does.I just have to get use to the differences. For the price man this was awesome as long as it lasts we've only had it a couple months now.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

Love this Vacuum!

04/15/2012
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am ordering this vacuum again because mine finally stopped working so well. I bought it 7 years ago! It's been through alot of abuse not to mention the pet hair from our dogs & cat AND we live at the beach so we get alot of sand in the carpet. I can't believe the price. We paid double this cost 7 years ago! That you Bissell!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

Dirt Thrower

04/17/2012
By ,
Voluntown, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not only is this vacuum loud but it is terrible on floors. You can actually feel the dirt being thrown back at your feet. I tried it three times and each time there was still a ton of dirt on the floor and I felt it hitting my legs. Then if you used the arm, the vacuum tips over . POOR VACUUM, not even worth the low price!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

Waste Of Money

04/25/2012
By ,
Austin, X
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The height adjustment on the first one I purchased on line, less than a year ago, did not work right out of the box...Had to pack it up and take it back to a local Walmart store and made the mistake of purchaing a replacement..Now, less than a year later, the height adjustment on the replacement does not work, one of the wheels has come loose and is close to falling off, and rather than going through the bother of contacting Bissel, since the replacement is still covered under the "LIMITED ONE YEAR WARRANTY..I'm going to put it out in the trash.. because, in my opinion, it is garbage...the worst vacuum I have ever owned, and I will never again buy a Bissel product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

I love this vac!

04/27/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd Bissell Power Force. The first lasted 6 years. I bought the original to use until I deceided what "good, expensive" vac I wanted to purchase. If you keep the filters clean, there is no better vacuum than this. I figure I can buy 7 of them for the same price as a Dyson. I love this cleaner.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
VA
EXACTLY!
Posted 10/11/2013
This is my second Powerforce Bagless vacuum as well. The first one lasted me 8 years! I wash my filters (even though they say they are not washable) after about 5 uses and I replace them once they start falling apart. I never had performance problem with it! It works great! Picks up all dust and pet hair and it lasts forever. I bought the same kid again, I loved it, it is great for the price plus I had few new replacement filters and didnt want to waste them. People who complain about this vacuum (many say it worked well first few times and then not so much anymore) most likely dont wash or replace their filters, no wonder the performance went down!! My first one worked like a champ for 8 years before the belt went off track and destroyed the inner parts to the point I just had to buy a new one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585
04/28/2012
By ,
Lake Worth, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great vacuum for the price. Easy to clean, quiet, powerful motor. Long cord.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

Not Good At All

05/10/2012
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first bagless vacuum. The first 2-3 times I used it, it was great. Then after that it began not picking up even the small crumbs ect on the carpet. I have a couple cats and it wouldn't pick up any fur at all, just spread it around. It really ruined me on bagless. I wish I had my old bagged vacuum back! I am going to look for another one because this one does absolutely nothing. It's been too long to take it back to the store unfortunately. I would not recomment this vacuum to anyone. I wasted my money for sure.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

GREAT FLOOR CLEANER

01/16/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Go ahead and buy this vacuum. The bad reviews were from people that didn't clean the filters or tried to change the carpet control switch when the machine wasn't upright. This vacuum works great. I wasn't expecting the performance from a vacuum so inexpensive. I bought my daughter one a couple of years ago and she loves hers too. I have two of them myself. Buy an extra filter; it takes days for one to dry when you wash/spray them out with water.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

excellent vacuum

10/11/2013
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Powerforce Bagless vacuum. The first one lasted me 8 years! I wash my filters (even though they say they are not washable) after about 5 uses and I replace them once they start falling apart. I never had performance problem with it! It works great! Picks up all dust and pet hair and it lasts forever. I bought the same kid again, I loved it, it is great for the price plus I had few new replacement filters and didnt want to waste them. People who complain about this vacuum (many say it worked well first few times and then not so much anymore) most likely dont wash or replace their filters, no wonder the performance went down!! My first one worked like a champ for 8 years before the belt went off track and destroyed the inner parts to the point I just had to buy a new one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

It's powerful but has design problems.

06/04/2012
By ,
South Bay, Los Angeles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The vacuum is very powerful sucking up dust. However, the extension wand without curving adaptor for combination dusting brush/upholstery tool and turbobrush is not convenient for cleaning small surface areas, such as window sills, night stands, corner spaces. The worst part is that when using vaccum hose and dusting brush, the dust flys out of hose wand base and spreading dust over the place you already vaccumed defeating the pupose of using the vacuum.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585
04/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed in this product. Bought it for the low price, but it is a very poor quality vacuum. Returned it and bought the Eureka Airspeed for about $30 more. Love that one.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585
03/15/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

VERY DISAPPOINTED

03/26/2012
By ,
KNOXVILLE, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
USED IT 2 TIMES AND IT QUIT QORKING.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585

Machine filter clogs up real easy

03/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Machine is at store for the same price site didnt show that I could have bought it in the store 2 weeks earlier when I needed it same price . Rating 8 out of 10
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell PowerForce Turbo Bagless Upright Vacuum, Model 6585
05/27/2012
By ,
Oswego , NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is one of the best purchases I have made I was shocked at the debris that it picked up even after vacuuming with my old vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next