Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

South Shore South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

The stylish South Shore Country Mates Bed has a homespun style and ample drawer space. This Pine Mates bed features three spacious drawers in a sturdy bed box. The Twin Mates bed is made up of engineered wood with FSC certification for a solid construction. The decorative drawer handles are in an antique metal finish. Toys, books, blankets can be stored in the spacious easy-slide drawers for saving storage space. The South Shore Country Mates Bed is easy to assemble and offers a classic look to any bedroom.
Average Customer Rating:
4.349 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
36
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%100 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 107 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
36
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Great bed!

01/01/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed for our grandson who moved back home with my daughter...so he uses it every night. (he is almost 3) The assembly was pretty simple, the drawers work great! Looks like expensive wood, holds lots of pj's, clothes, toys etc. No need to buy a box spring which saved money. Price is right...great product, and he loves it! Oh, and it is lower to the floor than most beds, so he won't get hurt if he falls out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Great product for the price

03/11/2011
By ,
North Brunswick, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed with the headboard books case. I am very please with the product, it was packed nice and nothing arrived broken or missing all the parts where fine. Putting it together took a little more then one hour but it was easy the instructions are very straight forward. I like the drawers for storage and the material of the bed is very good for the price. The quality is also good. It is not real wood but you would pay double for a real wood bed when this one is good enough to serve the purpose. Over all very happy with the purchase
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine
02/03/2012
By ,
Pleasantville,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you have to acomodate two of this twin set its fit perfect i the room is small
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

South Shore Prairie Mate's bed review

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, I bought this bed because of several reasons: the price, the size ( needed something that fit into a small space), and the fact that it has drawers. It's for my 91 yr old mom, who wanted something that looked nice in her living room, where she likes to sleep these days ;-). The bed wasn't easy to set up, but I did it. I was blessed to have a friend come at the last minute and help me. I didn't have a Robertson screw driver, and he did :-D. You can't use an electric drill, because the parts are made of pressed wood ( which I hear is very solid), but at one point a piece hammered in caused the material to collapse a little on a drawer, which didn't effect the mechanism at all. I purchased a recommended mattress from Amazon, and the bed looks lovely, and is comfortable, and you can throw lots of cute pillows on it and make it a "studio couch" ;-)! I have uploaded a pic of mom's bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Nice child's bed for the price

12/08/2013
By ,
Livonia, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a small bed for my daughter when we moved to our new house. I bought this bed after much research. It was easy to put together. My hubby has it together in about 2 hours. Not bad for a bed with drawers. It looks really cute. Pretty sturdy. It only has a 250lb weight limit. That is the one downfall. But it will serve my daughter well for quite a few years.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Excellent product for low price! Looks quality!

02/25/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed about a month ago for my 2-year old as his first "big" bed. It was easy to put together and looks quality. He and his older cousins jump on it all the time and it is a sound product, I have no issues with the quality. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a decent piece of furniture, but who doesn't want to spend a lot of money. The bed looks great and the drawers are large enough to fit a full size pillow inside, so they have plenty of room for toys! I also liked this bed b/c it didn't require me to purchase a box spring, you don't need one with this bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Great Bed for a Great Value

03/26/2010
By ,
Lebanon, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed with matching headboard for our 5 year old son. The wood is very good quality and it was very easy to put together. The drawers slide very nicely and stay on the tracks. The great part about the drawers is that the bottom doesn't just slide into grooves, it is nailed into the back piece and the front is reinforced into the face of the drawer. I would definitely recommend this product for anyone looking for great bed under $500. The best part is that this bed will still be good for him when he's a teenager.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

My son says: Best bed, he ever had

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shipping was great and it arrived ahead of schedule. It was very easy to put together.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Dreat deal!!

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the $'s. Easy assembly, good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

excellent

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this my friend
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Simply the best

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
None
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Very pleased with this bed.

06/06/2011
By ,
Northeast New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a little time-consuming to assemble, but well worth the effort when you look at the price (approx. $100). My 11 year old son is very happy with it. The drawers underneath are very helpful to organize top dresser drawer items (socks, underwear, pajamas) -- we split it up and eliminated our over-crowded over-stuffed dresser drawer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Good Product

01/17/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only recommendation we would make is that you do not need both a box spring and mattress since the bed is so well constructed the base can serve as the box spring.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
does it come with a mattress
Posted 09/13/2011
did it come with a mattress and how tick is it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Good Bed

07/30/2010
By ,
Colorado Springs, Co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed for my husband who is about 6foot 1. He fits well on the bed & it supports his weight just fine. He loves the drawers that are in the bed. We both put it together reather quickly & it has worked out very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine
03/30/2011
By ,
Bayonne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect quality! It's big and comfortable. My 6 old son love it. I bought it with twin Dorel Signature Sleep Series-8" Pocket Coil Mattress and this bed is about 8" longer than mattress.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine
11/19/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased 4 of these for my boys. Assembly was easy, esp. using cordless driver (keep torque on the low side). The one knock I have is the packaging. Being that they are long boxes, they are not supported very well. The store that I had them shipped to had all 4 stacked on top of each other on a standard pallet. They were hanging off of the pallet and the weight of all of them contributed to the cracking I had on a couple of the base boards. Not enough to really worry about, but I was careful not to allow them to "bend" while transporting home and unpacking. For the cost, the do the job. My boys like have the extra space in their room without a dresser.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Great Bed

03/16/2009
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews I was a little nervous about the assembly part, but between my husband and myself, along with our two year old's "assistance" it took us about 90 minutes start to finish. The bed looks great put together. The only thing I would watch is when you are applying the small nails to the bottom drawer, make sure you are centered or the nail will slit the back piece. (hope that makes sense). other than that great bed, easy sliding drawers and they came with a 5 year warranty...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

great! my 5 years old boy loves it!

09/27/2014
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We made a very good choice.
The material seems to be durable and resistant.
I have to recommendations:
1st, make sure you pick up the box with somebody else. It is very heavy.
2nd, keep in mind you will need at least 2 hours to assemble the bed.
I assembled it on my own and it took me 1 hr and 45mins.
To summarize, it takes some time to assemble it but at the end you get a very good looking bed.
Highly recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Excellent Bed; Great Value

08/25/2011
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bed is great - solid construction, good storage, looks nice in my daughter's college room, and she is satisfied with it. Three good-sized storage drawers, and the rest of the space under the bed (behind the drawers) can also be used for storage that does not need to be frequently accessed. The drawers extend back to cover about half of the width of the bed, so probably about 20" or so - they are a good size. The drawers slide nicely and come to a firm stop when pulled out.
Overall this bed is a great value. The company responded quickly to a question I had about installation.
It does take some time to assemble (probably about 2-3 hours) and the box it came in is heavy. Once assembled, parts of the bed can be moved separately, so not too difficult to move.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Prairie Mates Bed, Pine

Worth the price, not too difficult to assemble!

10/29/2013
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It suggests that you need two people to assemble the bed, I didn't have anyone else help me until it was time to move it against the wall of my son's room. The instructions were just pictures and things weren't very well labeled but it was simple enough to figure out, there were extra pieces that had nothing to do with the assembly of the bed which confused me but better than not having enough pieces right? I could only get one drawer as flush with the bed as I would like it to be but I'm pretty particular about things so it probably wouldn't bug anyone else... Also, the rails for the drawers are made of plastic, it's slightly heavy duty but if you can see the drawers being used as a step-up, I wouldn't trust that they won't break... Overall I'd say it's worth the money! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next