Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

Keep up to 54-quarts of contents, safe, and cooled with the Coleman 54-Quart Ice Chest Cooler. Lightweight and easily portable, this classic steel-belted cooler from Coleman lets you store items in their ideal temperature for a long time. This Coleman steel belted cooler has a durable base that ensures safety for the items kept inside. The lid with solid steel latch securely seals your contents. The rust-resistant hinges and screws protect the cooler box against breakage, whereas the stainless-steel handles with rubber grips make it easy to carry along. The red cooler box also has a leak-resistant channel drain that helps drain the liquid even without tilting the box. The base, lid, and liner are easy to clean, making for hassle-free maintenance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation100%21 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

Go Red

08/17/2011
By ,
VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler just made a trip to hampton beach NH. on Aug 12-14
we packed it with food and drinks and ice, It worked hard as kids wife and me was in and out of it all weekend everything was nice and cold!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 2 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

great cooler

09/04/2010
By ,
St. Charles, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very glad to see coleman bring back the steel belted cooler. I used it the first weekend i got it. I put ice and groceries in it on the first day, and three days later, still had ice and everything was still ice cold. Wal-Mart had the best price on this cooler that I could find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Review 3 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

GOOD BUT NOT GREAT

06/14/2009
By ,
Long Island, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Aesthetically, it's great. The side handles are not as pictured, but are adequate. Coleman must have changed the design from the original model. the closing latch, although metal, is flimsy as I could certainly bend it off with my bare hand. The remaining construction is sturdy and should last many trouble free years of service. I have attached a wall mount bottle opener to the front surface as the original Coleman steel cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 4 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

Great

02/23/2011
By ,
Altoona, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother gave me her steel coleman cooler 28 years ago she had it as long as I can remember I've used it for the last 28 years and it works as good now as 28 years ago I'll still get many years use out of it. I'm buying another coleman steel cooler not because anything is wrong with it ice still there a week later. my family has got so large I need a second cooler to hold food for aweek and the Plastic coolers just aren't good for packing food you want to stay frozen for3 to 5 days I have a plastic colman cooler its a great cooler keeping drinks cold and ice last a day or two but I haven't found a cooler yet to beat my moms steel coleman cooler
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 5 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

Good buy

07/30/2009
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cooler for my husband who is a welder and is always in the heat! He loves is because you have ice for several days! It is a very good buy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

A great product

07/13/2008
By ,
Boulder, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had this same cooler for 20 years and I dropped it from a second story loft and broke
a hinge on the lid, so we had to replace it, and this
one is even better than the one we had for the past
20 years! It is better constructed and even tougher! I highly recommed this cooler. It will last for a really really long time unless you drop it from a 2nd story or higher!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tx
Know this is a little late...
Posted 06/06/2013
But did you know you can get replacement hinges. You didn't have to buy a whole new cooler.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red
05/03/2010
By ,
MESA, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KEPT ICE ALL WEEKEND, STILL HAS ICE IN IT ON MONDAY AFTERNOON. WILL CHECK ON IT TOMORROW. A LITTLE PRICY, BUT WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COLEMAN PRODUCT. HAVE HAD ONE SINCE 1967 AND STILL KEEPS ICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Review 8 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red
07/07/2008
By ,
Southeastern PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great durability, quality and appearance. Added this one to an existing one that is 25 years old and still working great. Cleans up better, easier to carry and holds up better than similar size all plastic coolers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 9 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

keeps it cold

09/04/2008
By ,
swansea. il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had another cooler that lasted 20 years so I needed a new one. We went camping so on Fri. I packed the cooler and put a a bag and a half of ice in it. On Monday the ice was still there, the cooler kept everything cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 10 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

Ideal size cooler

05/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A durable cooler that is attractive. Not too big that you can't carry it and not too small so you have to cram things into it, but just the right size! Comfortable rubber grip handles for carrying and easy open lid with a twist lock. By far my favorite cooler and I have many.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

I love the retro look

05/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the look and so far I'm really impressed with how long it keeps my drinks cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

NICE COOLER BUT BEATUP

08/13/2008
By ,
WESTERN ARKANSAS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I REALLY THIS COOLER BUT IT HAD 3 DENTS IN IT,SENT IT BACK BOUGHT ANOTHER KIND.
COOLER NICE HANDLING BAD.
BM
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Review 13 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

Performed well keeping ice for 4 days (first use)

08/25/2013
By ,
Bethel Island, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First use was not out camping. It kept ice well. The handle and catch mounted on the lift lid is plastic but the part you see in the photo is metal action piece. I really doubt handle and internal latch part will last the 30+ years our last greenbelted Coleman did. And, there's no bottle opener in the handle in this new remake model.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 14 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red
09/06/2008
By ,
Upsate, South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product, well built and spare parts are available from Coleman for this model. Site to store shipping is way too slow, took 3 weeks to get it delivered to the local store.
Also this model comes in two colors, red and green but Walmart only offers it in the red model, what's with that?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

no all plastic coolers for me

09/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
my last coleman stainless steel cooler was stolen from my front yard. i loved it and the new red coleman cooler is also a joy to use. tried a regular plastic cooler in between, went back to this one. this cooler looks so sweet, theft is the only issue with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-33points
Review 16 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

Retro look and great price

09/30/2013
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 17 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

OK

09/25/2011
By ,
Idaho
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Definately not be as solid as the original (have both) but functions alright. The lid could be a little tighter seal and I question the durability but if treated with care it should be just fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red
08/16/2011
By ,
grant town wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. Worht the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-3points
Review 19 for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red

nice cooler

12/31/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rugged, large capacity
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Coleman 54-Quart Steel Belted Cooler, Red
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5