Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Storkcraft Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Storkcraft Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

The Storkcraft Aspen 5 Drawer Chest offers the best solution for the storage needs in nursery and children’s rooms. The solid wood and veneers construction gives this kids’ drawer chest the sturdiness and durability for prolonged use. The elegant black non-toxic finish also gives the dresser a beautiful natural finish. Featuring a Cam-lock construction, this black drawer chest is easy to assemble. All the five drawers come with a metal glide system for easy accessibility. The drawers also features safety stops so you need not worry about pulling the drawer out to the extent where it even falls down from the furniture. This kid’s dresser features the anti-tipping hardware that anchors the chest to the wall for added safety. This 5 drawer set requires minimal assembling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.675 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(308 Reviews) 283
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
92
3 stars
48
2 stars
20
1 star
40
Customer Recommendation76%233 out of 308reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
92
3 stars
48
2 stars
20
1 star
40
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Better than I thought, actually!

11/26/2008
By ,
O'Fallon, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read reviews on this dresser which matches the crib I got. A lot of reviews said it was hard to put together (it wasn't nearly as hard as the crib) and it's very sturdy once put together and looks absolutely great! The drawers are on rollers and probably will give out over time- those aren't the sturdiest I don't think but I think it will last us a while. Overall I think this is a great purchase. We got the whole Aspen set: Dresser, Crib, and Changing Table. LOVE IT. -a new mom
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

a pretty addition to our nursery

04/20/2009
By ,
Enid, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was a little disappointed with the size of the drawers. I had read other's comments but thought they couldn't be that small, but they are! they are really shallow, prob. only 3 inches deep. It was difficult to put together because not all pieces are numbered and the ones that are, are incorrectly numbered...the easiest thing to do is check out all the pieces before you start and pre number them yourselves! some of the pieces didn't seem like they fit together correctly or all the way should i say (they weren't flush). but over all, when it was finished i think it looks really great! I think the troubles were the same troubles most people have buying furniture so i wouldn't hold it against this particular product and it does look really nice when finished! so i would say if you are thinking of buying this product...go for it! :o) for the price it's pretty good deal
ps one other thing, it is small, i think the pic advertised makes it look a lot bigger than what you are actually getting.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Love the look, but...

01/19/2012
By ,
Lehi, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this dresser for my toddler. I wanted a dresser with five drawers so that there was enough room for all of his clothes. However, the drawers aren't very deep so I probably would have been just as well off with a four-drawer dresser that had deeper drawers. Still, his clothes fit in it ok, since he's only two and his clothes aren't very bulky, and it looks really nice. I think it's a lot more cherry looking than the picture, which is fine, it just doesn't match his bed as much as I would like (I bought a different brand bed though). It took a while to put together but it wasn't difficult, just time consuming. I think the quality is great so far but feel it may be a little over-priced. I would recommend this dresser for kids' rooms only, which I'm sure it's made for anyway.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

New Mom Review

12/06/2010
By ,
Wilmington, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was learly after reading some reviews but rest assured this is a great purchase and well worth the money especially since we found the EXACT piece of furniture at another retailer and it was over $500! My husband and I put the dresser together in about an hour and a half and as long as you carefully lay out ALL of your pieces before beginning, and you follow each step EXACTLY you will have no trouble at all- if you attempt to skip steps or come back to steps you will have major problems- luckily we found none of these. The wood is simply stunning in color and as for the height- perfect for your child's nursery and it will grow with them into their toddler years and beyond. Pay attention to product details to be sure the height is right for you- it was the perfect fit for us. LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS DRESSER! WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Nice dresser

10/24/2008
By ,
Matteson, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this dresser hoping that it would match the crib I purchased month before. When it was arrived I was please that it was almost identical cherry color. The product look very rich and for the price I was truly pleased. I shopped around and found the same dresser at other stores more expensive. Assembly wasn't as hard as the other reviews said..my husband had it together in no time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Love it!!!

11/15/2010
By ,
North Liberty, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although it did take my mom and me three hours to put together (maybe some of that was our fault, because we put a few pieces together backwards - which was totally our fault, not the directions), it is a wonderful buy! The color is great, matches the other Storkcraft cherry furniture I've bought for the nursery. Baby isn't here yet, so it's used only slightly when I've been putting his clothes away, etc... so hopefully it stands up to time - but it really feels sturdy! All parts included, directions pretty easy to read, and site to store shipping worked great!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Not Worth the Trouble

01/11/2008
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The wood for this product is not as durable as you would think; just when hand tightening screws the wood began to split.
Also, you have to be careful when moving this item or using the drawers, because the wood screws and locks, provided for assembly, will loosen.
Lastly, there are too many pieces and parts that have to be put together and not all parts connect properly; at times I had to manipulate some of the parts to fit. For example, the tracks for the drawers are pre-assembled, but the drawers are either crooked or fall off the track. And the most frustrating part is that you won't realize the tracks are unaligned, because the drawers are the last item to assemble.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Great Buy!!!

07/27/2010
By ,
Maricopa, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother-in-law purchased this dresser for us, it was shipped site-to-store and arrived in less than 2 weeks! It was easy to put together (I did it alone), but just so many parts! Directions were easy to read and it turned out BEAUTIFUL! The display picture on this site does it NO justice. It's got a very pretty dark cherry color and everything appears sturdy. I am very impressed with this dresser and it looks amazing with the matching crib! We originally bought a different crib, but colors don't match...much happier with the matching one...they look great together. I would definitely recommend this to other customers!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Perfect size dresser!

07/27/2009
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dresser was very easy to put together and is the perfect size for our nursery! I love the color and can't wait to stock it up with our son's things! I wish the drawers were a little deeper but since we also purchased the matching changing table/dresser, we will have more drawer space! I am very please with our purchase!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Just okay

02/10/2008
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While putting it together we discovered that they forgot some of the predrilled holes so we had to drill our own. Scratches easily. Looks nice but opening the drawers you can tell it's cheaply made.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

awesome

09/10/2008
By ,
Genoa, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
although my husband said this was a pain to put together, we both LOVE it! It's sturdy and just beautiful. The only thing is that I wish it was taller.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Great dresser for baby.

10/16/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dresser was purchased for a nursery and it looks beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Smart Purchase - but Order Early

02/07/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading many reviews, my husband and I decided to buy this dresser, along with the Aspen changing table and Allison crib. I wasn't sure about what the quality was going to be like since some reviews were good and others weren't so good. I figured, if I didn't like it, we could just return it. Our baby isn't due until late May so we had plenty of time to look elsewhere if it didn't work out. We were happy with all 3 pieces...the look is that of an expensive nursery, but at a much more reasonable price. All of the wooden exterior pieces are solid wood. None of the pieces were dinged or scratched, but when my husband put the dresser together, he did find that the holes were not lined up properly on 1 out of the 5 drawers. So, we had to call Storkcraft and after being on hold for a while, they reordered us a replacement piece, but it will take 4 weeks to arrive. We haven't gotten it yet, so I'm not sure what shape it will be in - but I am optimistic. The aspen changing table we had no problems with at all and the Allison crib had one piece of the back wall of the crib that was broken completely. So, we also had to place an order for that which also is supposed to take 4 weeks. All 3 pieces are very sturdy, the finishes all look good and for the price and free shipping we feel it is a great value.
But like I said in the title...since 2 out of the 3 items we ordered did have some problem with them...I would only order this furniture if you are well before your due date so you have time to get replacement pieces if something is not right.
I would definitely buy this furniture again - and we are looking forward to using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

To set the record straight

10/20/2009
By ,
Fort Belvoir, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i want to review to let anyone in doubt of buying this product know: it's a great product!
the one and only complaint i have is the hieght. i had this idea it would be taller, but my husband made a good point about it being short: at least our child will be able to open the top drawer on her own before she hits puberty, unlike we did when we were growing up and our parents bought adult furniture.
my husband's grandmother was suppose to buy this furniture as a gift, but upon reading the reviews decided on her own choice of furniture. that turned out to be a huge problem.
the main problems i read people had with this product were: hard to read instructions, cheap materials, long assembly time, and not enough storage.
the instructions are just pictures of the pieces, and some pieces are labled. personally i perfer pictures over words, i mean how much more easy can it get than copying a picture? they are exteremly detailed, and that's how all the other furniture i just bought for my home were. it's not difficult if you can copy pictures. even if the pieces had not been labled, it was fairly easy for me to follow the instructions.
as far as the materials, the only flimsy pieces of cardboard are the back. the hard wood pieces are the legs, the fornts of the drawers and the top accent pieces. the rest is thick, heavy, ply wood. for crying out loud, the whole thing wieghs a total of 95 lbs. and it has three support boards you built in. the furniture is sturdy. someone mentioned how bolts had broken and pieces had split. the only way i see how this could have happened is if power tools had been used. with pre-drilled holes, power tools are not neccessary and would only damage the product.
it did take me about 3 or 4 hours to build, but i am 9 months pregnant right now, so i did take breaks. but there is nothing that comes pre-assembled, so of course a 5 drawer dresser is going to take some time. i think two people could get this up in less than two hours.
and last but of course the very least, storage. the drawers are not super deep, but i was able to fit an estimate of 30 onesies, 8 baby pants and 12 shirts per drawer. i fit most of the clothes i had for my baby. i've been saving baby clothes for the past two years and had quite a big collection of clothes, and i think this dresser really held alot. i feel as though it will be a piece of furniture that will grow with my child.
Overall i'm in love with this furniture, and can't wait to recieve the matching changing table to finish the baby's room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Great Product Specially for the cost

04/17/2012
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this when my daughter was 1 and she is now 2. I wanted to review it until I had given some use. I have to say that I still love it! It is very difficult to put together. Have to play close attention to the drawings and use common sense to put it together, but once it is finished it looks wonderful. All my daughters clothes fit in it, plus when my babys much cheaper dresser broke, and I had to make them share a dresser, it never broke apart, it held all their clothes. So when I had to make a choice when it came to buying a new dresser, so I decided to buy this one again just in a different color.
Most dressers under $200 use plastic railings these days; the drawers tend to be extra shallow, and most times they dont fit together. Not this one. The railings are metal, the drawers are shallow, but it is a kids dresser, dont expect to put adult jeans in it, but it does fit the over 15 pairs my daughter has. And to this day the drawers still align perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Love it! So worth the $

04/17/2009
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took my hubby only a little over an hr to put this beautiful dresser together, and we both agree it is exactly what we were looking for. We didnt want to go broke trying to get the room together for our little girl, but we also needed something sturdy and that didnt look cheap! The directions were all pictures so hopefully you can follow that easy like us. But I would recommend this product to anyone. We are expecting our matching crib today!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish
07/12/2011
By ,
medford, or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews on this before buying it... I actually purchased it for my husband and I because it matched our bedroom furniture so well. This is an EXCEPTIONAL piece! I was shocked after I put it together and remembered the terrible reviews it was getting... It was easy to put together, took about 2 hours... It looks beautiful and seems very sturdy! I would definitely purchase more, but I want the whole collection for our room! I do not know why this has to be advertised soley as baby items, because this is just a remarkable piece!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

Parts need labeled

09/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice piece of furniture. Not the greatest quality but will do for now. It would have been more helpful if parts were labeled for easier assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

no way

08/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The dresser looks very nice but it does not hold up, we have had this dresser for about a year and we have resorted to putting the drawers on the floor, the drawers will not stay on track and the metal pieces under the drawer keeps falling out. would I buy again...nope
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Storkcraft - Aspen 5-Drawer Chest, Choose Your Finish

very upset

07/26/2014
By ,
Midway Park, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got this dresser for walmart.com and picked it up from store and got it home and it was cheap made its not real wood and we paid 300 at the time we purchase it which was in 2009.
We got this dresser to go with the matching crib for our daughter. From the start it was the flimsy and just not made well.
The drawers was sticking in the dresser and you could not get them out. the screws kept coming out of the rails.
If you are looking for a good dresser I would look for a different one.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 284 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next