Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Adorn your bedroom with the stylish South Shore Basics Queen White Platform Bed. Sleek and ultra-modern, this platform bed creates a sophisticated support for your bed. Ideal for smaller rooms, this ultra-modern platform bed eliminates the need for a frame, box spring, or foundation. You just have to put a mattress on top of the bed to enjoy a comfortable night's sleep. This platform bed with molding consists of profiled edges that securely keep your mattress in position. The South Shore Basics Queen White Platform Bed is designed in such a way that it is 10" above the ground to provide a convenient under bed storage space, while making for easy cleaning. The simple straightforward design of this white modern platform bed will complement both classic and modern interiors. The South Shore basics platform bed can be easily assembled in minutes with simple tools.
Average Customer Rating:
3.588 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
39
3 stars
22
2 stars
11
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation71%97 out of 136reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 75 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
39
3 stars
22
2 stars
11
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Great Product for Price

02/06/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love this bed. If you are looking for a simple platform bed this bed is great and is a great price. Very happy with our purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

it meet my needs

04/19/2014
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just moved into my new home, the bed is great, my neighbor set it up in less than 1 hour, the free delivery took less than 3 business days, i love walmart, the memory foam mattress sitting on my platform bed was also purchased from walmart. the bed is quiet when i toss and turn, quality is great, the price i paid was less than $150.00. Other store was asking me 300.00 or 400.00 for same item, walmart is my store, i have no complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Broken

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recieved this bed, and it was chipped, and there were missing pieces. There is a huge gap in the middle of the frame from a missing wood piece. Same thing goes for the coffee table i ordered at the same time. I will never order from Walmart online again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Nice Bed!

01/12/2010
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed about 3 years ago. I have moved it three times since then, taking it apart and putting it back together. It is not easy but I had a man helping me so it wasn't a problem. It's held up nicely for having it for 3 years. It's cute and it fits my beachy style. It's a good price for what it is. You can't expect super nice quality for the price. If your looking for a luxurious bed then you can't be cheap and buy this and then complain when you get it. You get what you pay for and 3 years later I'm still happy with this bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Sturdy bed

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awesome sturdy be but directions were not in the box
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Good product

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to build. Great for first bed frame
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White
03/30/2009
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lets just say that I am a 19 girl who put this together-by myself. The only help I needed was getting it up a couple flights of stairs. After I assembled it I was extremely pleased with the outcome. The price was unbeatable and with site-to-store free shipping it was even better! It's a very classy -yet simple bed and would I recommend it to anyone who is thinking about buying this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Did not meet our expectations

05/30/2008
By ,
Milton, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We ordered this bed for our spare bedroom when we were having guests. We chose the site to store delivery option to save shipping charges, but I must have missed the fine print because the item takes 7-10 BUSINESS days to arrive, not 7-10 regular days, so needless to say it did not arrive in time and we ended up purchasing a different model platform bed that was available in the store. We were very happy with that model. We decided we would use the model we ordered on line for our own room when it arrived. The bed we ordered on line was the same price as the one we bought in the store, but it's quality is far inferior. It is made of particle board and has no head or footboard. The store bought one included a headboard, footboard and is made of furniture grade MDF which is much sturdier than regular particle board. If you are in the market for a platform bed, I would recommend purchasing the one that is available in the store over purchasing this model offered on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

not worth it

07/01/2014
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very cheaply made
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

My First Platform Bed

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Queen bed to use with a memory foam mattress. I am pleased with my decision so far (slept on it 3-4 times). This is in an attic / Cape Cod style bedroom where space is conservative, but I still have plenty of room around this bed and could position it on any wall and have enough room. Warning: unless you're The Hulk, plan on bringing someone with you to carry the box! Setup was easy - nothing to report there (this might be obvious, but a screw gun was very helpful).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

poor quality

05/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flimsy, hard to move around -- feels like its going to fall apart when you sit on it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Cheap

11/30/2008
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having just purchased a memory foam mattress, I was interested in buying a platform bed. This one seemed simple and priced reasonably. Unfortunately, when I pulled the heavy box into my home and tore into the packaging, I realized I'd made a mistake. For $140, I got a bunch of pressed wood, some laminated in white. It all fits together without a single complex, secure corner. If it weren't for the immobility of the heavy mattress on it, this bed would likely crumble within a few days. Had I known, I would have bought $80 worth of plywood and boards and made a platform myself and would trust I could disassemble and reassemble without destroying it. This piece will likely become land fill when I need to move it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Enterprise, AL
This is a inexpensive yet functional bed.
Posted 05/01/2013
" I would have bought $80 worth of plywood and boards and made a platform myself". The person that said that, have not gone to a harware store lately to find out that it will cost close to $300 in materials to build this. A 4' X 8' plywood board its going for almost $40 dollars each, and never ming laminating, paint, harware, prep time, building time and all the other boards that you have to buy. This is a cheap yet functional bed. Not bad at this price.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Good

05/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's decent could of been made out of better wood
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Great bed for the low cost

02/02/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy assembly, finished product looks good. happy with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Sturdy and looks nice

01/18/2014
By ,
Orleans,vt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't know what to expect after I opened it and seeing most of it is made of pressed board but after being put together it's very sturdy and looks nice. It's not to short or tall and matches just about anything you want to do to a room. I would recommend this to someone else. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Could be better

05/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The instructions could be more descriptive. Quality could be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

it does its job but the cost isnt worth the value

04/17/2014
By ,
rocky mtn high, colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
was very hard to out together but it works could have built my own bed with less hassle and money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Poor quality

04/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this bed frame and it arrived quickly and on time, however, the boards do not line up straight so the bed is kind of at an angle and they're all cut different sizes so it's not a straight ledge.. The border did not want to fit on Easley at all and the screws did not want to screw into the border, plus all the screw stripped because they are really cheap quality and we had to purchase our own screws and drill new holes in the boards .. It was fairly easy to set up and now that it's done it looks okay but it's pretty cheap quality
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Horrible

08/16/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The base boards were crooked, and it messed up the whole entire assembly.
None of the parts wanted to fit right, and the wood was very flimsy and cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

YOU WILL NEED A DRILL!

05/10/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this bed because I am on a tight budget. I was kind of skeptical at first because of the reviews but I went ahead and decided to purchase. It took 1 weeks time for the bed to come (was shipped from Texas, deliever to St. Louis) and I opted for the site to store pick up (which was a breeze). The bed is VERY heavy. It took 3 people (dad, mom, and I) to help lift the bed. It took about 2 hours to put the bed together. The directions are very vague, they really don't decribe what goes where and what is what but luckily my dad and I put our brains together and it worked out fine. We did have a few mishaps with aliging everything. You will need a drill for this bed inorder to screw the top boards and the molding on. The bed is a little shorter than I expected but that is fine because it doesnt take up too much space. It looks really neat and modern in my apartment. The bed is cheap but you do get what you pay for. If you are on a tight budget, I would recommend this bed, if you have a few extra hundered to splurge, I would suggest looking around a bit more.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 111 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next