Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Adorn your bedroom with the stylish South Shore Basics Queen White Platform Bed. Sleek and ultra-modern, this platform bed creates a sophisticated support for your bed. Ideal for smaller rooms, this ultra-modern platform bed eliminates the need for a frame, box spring, or foundation. You just have to put a mattress on top of the bed to enjoy a comfortable night's sleep. This platform bed with molding consists of profiled edges that securely keep your mattress in position. The South Shore Basics Queen White Platform Bed is designed in such a way that it is 10" above the ground to provide a convenient under bed storage space, while making for easy cleaning. The simple straightforward design of this white modern platform bed will complement both classic and modern interiors. The South Shore basics platform bed can be easily assembled in minutes with simple tools.
Average Customer Rating:
3.604 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
41
3 stars
24
2 stars
12
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation72%103 out of 144reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
41
3 stars
24
2 stars
12
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Great Product for Price

02/06/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love this bed. If you are looking for a simple platform bed this bed is great and is a great price. Very happy with our purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

it meet my needs

04/19/2014
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just moved into my new home, the bed is great, my neighbor set it up in less than 1 hour, the free delivery took less than 3 business days, i love walmart, the memory foam mattress sitting on my platform bed was also purchased from walmart. the bed is quiet when i toss and turn, quality is great, the price i paid was less than $150.00. Other store was asking me 300.00 or 400.00 for same item, walmart is my store, i have no complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

no too excited about it. hard to mach parts

09/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would not recommend to buy this product even though the price is great! I think, you get a cheap thing for a cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Nice Bed!

01/12/2010
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed about 3 years ago. I have moved it three times since then, taking it apart and putting it back together. It is not easy but I had a man helping me so it wasn't a problem. It's held up nicely for having it for 3 years. It's cute and it fits my beachy style. It's a good price for what it is. You can't expect super nice quality for the price. If your looking for a luxurious bed then you can't be cheap and buy this and then complain when you get it. You get what you pay for and 3 years later I'm still happy with this bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Love it!

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great buy for the money. The molding on the edges is a nice touch. I wasn't expecting anything fancy, just wanted something new and different than what I had. This is just right for my purposes. Got the matching headboard and its beautiful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

LOVE

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Was pretty easy to put together and looks great in my room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

It would be cheaper

08/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not easy assembly
Material cheap
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White
03/30/2009
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lets just say that I am a 19 girl who put this together-by myself. The only help I needed was getting it up a couple flights of stairs. After I assembled it I was extremely pleased with the outcome. The price was unbeatable and with site-to-store free shipping it was even better! It's a very classy -yet simple bed and would I recommend it to anyone who is thinking about buying this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

A little tricky to assemble, but worth it.

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value. Looks great, once assembled. The instructions are a bit tough to get through. Extra hardware is provided - don't let that throw you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

great

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
solid and easy to set up and hopefully easy to take down (being used at college). A great value and looks really nice too
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Did not meet our expectations

05/30/2008
By ,
Milton, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We ordered this bed for our spare bedroom when we were having guests. We chose the site to store delivery option to save shipping charges, but I must have missed the fine print because the item takes 7-10 BUSINESS days to arrive, not 7-10 regular days, so needless to say it did not arrive in time and we ended up purchasing a different model platform bed that was available in the store. We were very happy with that model. We decided we would use the model we ordered on line for our own room when it arrived. The bed we ordered on line was the same price as the one we bought in the store, but it's quality is far inferior. It is made of particle board and has no head or footboard. The store bought one included a headboard, footboard and is made of furniture grade MDF which is much sturdier than regular particle board. If you are in the market for a platform bed, I would recommend purchasing the one that is available in the store over purchasing this model offered on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Looks good. Good purchase for the money.

08/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The assembly instructions are not the best. It works well for the extra bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Nice Bed

08/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instructions could be a little better for setup but overall my 13 year old daughter loves it and I would purchase again if I had too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Cheap

11/30/2008
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having just purchased a memory foam mattress, I was interested in buying a platform bed. This one seemed simple and priced reasonably. Unfortunately, when I pulled the heavy box into my home and tore into the packaging, I realized I'd made a mistake. For $140, I got a bunch of pressed wood, some laminated in white. It all fits together without a single complex, secure corner. If it weren't for the immobility of the heavy mattress on it, this bed would likely crumble within a few days. Had I known, I would have bought $80 worth of plywood and boards and made a platform myself and would trust I could disassemble and reassemble without destroying it. This piece will likely become land fill when I need to move it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Enterprise, AL
This is a inexpensive yet functional bed.
Posted 05/01/2013
" I would have bought $80 worth of plywood and boards and made a platform myself". The person that said that, have not gone to a harware store lately to find out that it will cost close to $300 in materials to build this. A 4' X 8' plywood board its going for almost $40 dollars each, and never ming laminating, paint, harware, prep time, building time and all the other boards that you have to buy. This is a cheap yet functional bed. Not bad at this price.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Sturdy bed

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awesome sturdy be but directions were not in the box
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Broken

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recieved this bed, and it was chipped, and there were missing pieces. There is a huge gap in the middle of the frame from a missing wood piece. Same thing goes for the coffee table i ordered at the same time. I will never order from Walmart online again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Good product

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to build. Great for first bed frame
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

My First Platform Bed

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Queen bed to use with a memory foam mattress. I am pleased with my decision so far (slept on it 3-4 times). This is in an attic / Cape Cod style bedroom where space is conservative, but I still have plenty of room around this bed and could position it on any wall and have enough room. Warning: unless you're The Hulk, plan on bringing someone with you to carry the box! Setup was easy - nothing to report there (this might be obvious, but a screw gun was very helpful).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

poor quality

05/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Flimsy, hard to move around -- feels like its going to fall apart when you sit on it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

not worth it

07/01/2014
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very cheaply made
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next