Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Adorn your bedroom with the stylish South Shore Basics Queen White Platform Bed. Sleek and ultra-modern, this platform bed creates a sophisticated support for your bed. Ideal for smaller rooms, this ultra-modern platform bed eliminates the need for a frame, box spring, or foundation. You just have to put a mattress on top of the bed to enjoy a comfortable night's sleep. This platform bed with molding consists of profiled edges that securely keep your mattress in position. The South Shore Basics Queen White Platform Bed is designed in such a way that it is 10" above the ground to provide a convenient under bed storage space, while making for easy cleaning. The simple straightforward design of this white modern platform bed will complement both classic and modern interiors. The South Shore basics platform bed can be easily assembled in minutes with simple tools.
Average Customer Rating:
3.574 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
42
3 stars
25
2 stars
13
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation71%105 out of 148reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 83 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
42
3 stars
25
2 stars
13
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Great Product for Price

02/06/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love this bed. If you are looking for a simple platform bed this bed is great and is a great price. Very happy with our purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Nice Bed!

01/12/2010
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bed about 3 years ago. I have moved it three times since then, taking it apart and putting it back together. It is not easy but I had a man helping me so it wasn't a problem. It's held up nicely for having it for 3 years. It's cute and it fits my beachy style. It's a good price for what it is. You can't expect super nice quality for the price. If your looking for a luxurious bed then you can't be cheap and buy this and then complain when you get it. You get what you pay for and 3 years later I'm still happy with this bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White
03/30/2009
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lets just say that I am a 19 girl who put this together-by myself. The only help I needed was getting it up a couple flights of stairs. After I assembled it I was extremely pleased with the outcome. The price was unbeatable and with site-to-store free shipping it was even better! It's a very classy -yet simple bed and would I recommend it to anyone who is thinking about buying this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Did not meet our expectations

05/30/2008
By ,
Milton, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We ordered this bed for our spare bedroom when we were having guests. We chose the site to store delivery option to save shipping charges, but I must have missed the fine print because the item takes 7-10 BUSINESS days to arrive, not 7-10 regular days, so needless to say it did not arrive in time and we ended up purchasing a different model platform bed that was available in the store. We were very happy with that model. We decided we would use the model we ordered on line for our own room when it arrived. The bed we ordered on line was the same price as the one we bought in the store, but it's quality is far inferior. It is made of particle board and has no head or footboard. The store bought one included a headboard, footboard and is made of furniture grade MDF which is much sturdier than regular particle board. If you are in the market for a platform bed, I would recommend purchasing the one that is available in the store over purchasing this model offered on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Not what I was I expecting

11/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The platform is bigger than my mattress, it looks tacky because you can see the board and its brown instead of white like i expected. It was delivered on time but i feel i payed too much for a couple pieces of wood
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

it meet my needs

04/19/2014
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just moved into my new home, the bed is great, my neighbor set it up in less than 1 hour, the free delivery took less than 3 business days, i love walmart, the memory foam mattress sitting on my platform bed was also purchased from walmart. the bed is quiet when i toss and turn, quality is great, the price i paid was less than $150.00. Other store was asking me 300.00 or 400.00 for same item, walmart is my store, i have no complaint.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Cheap

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Cheap

11/30/2008
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Having just purchased a memory foam mattress, I was interested in buying a platform bed. This one seemed simple and priced reasonably. Unfortunately, when I pulled the heavy box into my home and tore into the packaging, I realized I'd made a mistake. For $140, I got a bunch of pressed wood, some laminated in white. It all fits together without a single complex, secure corner. If it weren't for the immobility of the heavy mattress on it, this bed would likely crumble within a few days. Had I known, I would have bought $80 worth of plywood and boards and made a platform myself and would trust I could disassemble and reassemble without destroying it. This piece will likely become land fill when I need to move it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Enterprise, AL
This is a inexpensive yet functional bed.
Posted 05/01/2013
" I would have bought $80 worth of plywood and boards and made a platform myself". The person that said that, have not gone to a harware store lately to find out that it will cost close to $300 in materials to build this. A 4' X 8' plywood board its going for almost $40 dollars each, and never ming laminating, paint, harware, prep time, building time and all the other boards that you have to buy. This is a cheap yet functional bed. Not bad at this price.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Love it!

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great buy for the money. The molding on the edges is a nice touch. I wasn't expecting anything fancy, just wanted something new and different than what I had. This is just right for my purposes. Got the matching headboard and its beautiful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Good value

10/31/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap and not bad quality. Wish instructions in putting it together was clearer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Horrible

08/16/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The base boards were crooked, and it messed up the whole entire assembly.
None of the parts wanted to fit right, and the wood was very flimsy and cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

YOU WILL NEED A DRILL!

05/10/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this bed because I am on a tight budget. I was kind of skeptical at first because of the reviews but I went ahead and decided to purchase. It took 1 weeks time for the bed to come (was shipped from Texas, deliever to St. Louis) and I opted for the site to store pick up (which was a breeze). The bed is VERY heavy. It took 3 people (dad, mom, and I) to help lift the bed. It took about 2 hours to put the bed together. The directions are very vague, they really don't decribe what goes where and what is what but luckily my dad and I put our brains together and it worked out fine. We did have a few mishaps with aliging everything. You will need a drill for this bed inorder to screw the top boards and the molding on. The bed is a little shorter than I expected but that is fine because it doesnt take up too much space. It looks really neat and modern in my apartment. The bed is cheap but you do get what you pay for. If you are on a tight budget, I would recommend this bed, if you have a few extra hundered to splurge, I would suggest looking around a bit more.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

VERY DISPLEASED!!!!!

03/16/2012
By ,
Canal Winchester, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very poorly constructed!!! The paperwork indicated that all parts were labeled but this was not the case on over half of them. And the two side white borads were actually broke in half inside the box on delivery. I could have save myself about $50.00 by making something comparable by hand!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Great Bed, excellent price, beautiful design.

09/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You will need a power tool to set it up but the set up isn't difficult. The bed is really nice. It looks really pretty. My husband loves the design and style of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White
05/13/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent frame for the price, but unbelievably SLOW SHIPPING from Walmart.com
TIP, when you assemble the decking boards to the top of the frame, invest in a cheap countersink to countersink the screw holes. The particle board that you're screwing into doesn't hold the screw tight enough to draw it down into the top pieces without stripping out the hole. C'sink them first to avoid this, and keep the screw heads below flush so you don't snag the matress on them. Make sure the frame boards are good and square before you screw on the decking.
Although it is possible, you probably don't really want to attach a headboard to this platform bed frame, it's simply too heavy and not structurally sound enough to move once it's assembled. This would not be the case on a wood laminate or other smooth surface floor, but you can't move it very easily when it's on carpet. Particle board will crack very easily where the corners are screwed together. It's strong enough in and of itself, just not very move-friendly.
Specs say it's 10", but it's not, it's 9" (should that matter to you).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Not what I expected, but OK.

02/24/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's not as tall as I imagined it. It does serve it's purpose and for the price, it was worth it. Furniture is so expensive now. Assembly was not too difficult. Would I choose this over a regular box spring and frame? No. But it fits well in our room and our budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Sturdy and looks nice

01/18/2014
By ,
Orleans,vt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't know what to expect after I opened it and seeing most of it is made of pressed board but after being put together it's very sturdy and looks nice. It's not to short or tall and matches just about anything you want to do to a room. I would recommend this to someone else. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Broken

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recieved this bed, and it was chipped, and there were missing pieces. There is a huge gap in the middle of the frame from a missing wood piece. Same thing goes for the coffee table i ordered at the same time. I will never order from Walmart online again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

no too excited about it. hard to mach parts

09/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would not recommend to buy this product even though the price is great! I think, you get a cheap thing for a cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, White

Great bed for the low cost

02/02/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy assembly, finished product looks good. happy with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 123 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next