Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Sleek, contemporary and ultra-modern, this South Shore Queen Platform Bed creates a sophisticated support for your bed. The South Shore platform bed with molding raises your mattress 10" off the ground resulting in a clean, contemporary look. This basic black queen platform bed works especially well in smaller rooms, apartments and loft-style apartments. The South Shore Platform Bed features moldings with profiled edges that keep your mattress from moving. The best thing about this South Shore Queen Platform Bed is that it doesn not require purchasing a box spring, just the mattress of your choosing.
Average Customer Rating:
3.711 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(1043 Reviews) 896
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
348
4 stars
363
3 stars
135
2 stars
77
1 star
120
Customer Recommendation77%801 out of 1,042reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
144 Questions | 516 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
348
4 stars
363
3 stars
135
2 stars
77
1 star
120
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

PERFECT!

03/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't ask for a better bed!! Awesome, awesome, awesome!
I am so glad at the value of this bed! It was very cheap. But made very well. I can say that I have never been happier with a purchase! <3
I have been sleeping on the floor prior to this..lol
The moulding on this is very pretty, convenient so that you don't slam your knee/shin on sharp edges. I think this thing is very sleek. Very nice to sleep on. Very light (compared to some beds) but hard to carry when taking it to the car! Bring a few friends to lift it!
Good:
Very nice design, very sleek, chic.
Very pretty colour.
Low. I like low beds. Sits about 3-5" off the floor.
Bad/changes:
Missing one peg cover (the little round things that cover screws) but it was on a non-visible side on the top.
Weird that there is no coving for the top part of the "headboard type area"?
My cat likes to dive under the edges and hide in the corner spaces..was hoping to avoid that :P
Used with a memory foam mattress (cheap Sleep 1 brand here.) Makes the bed a bit harder than expected. May want to find a soft mattress or a mattress plus memory foam under this!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great Buy - Looks Good

05/28/2009
By ,
Manhattan, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed about a month ago and have really liked it. It looks great, it's nice and sturdy, and was relatively easy to assemble. The only thing I'm not wild about is that only the outside edges are finished, the underneath is MDF or particle board. We bought a queen size bed for a queen size mattress, but there is still about an inch on either side where the MDF shows... can be covered by the comforter, but it isn't the ideal solution. Overall, very pleased with this purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Hard to beat

07/02/2010
By ,
Moses Lake, Wa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been looking for a bed that did not need a look of fuss to make it look attractive. This is it, very easy to make the bed, and don't have to worry about dust bunnies.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Harrison
BED FRAME DIMENSIONS
Posted 11/20/2013
Could you please list the dimensions of this platform bed?
Length, width & height.
Thank you,
Edith~
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Love it!

08/27/2009
By ,
Plano (Dallas) Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a nice black platform bed for my husband and I. Most of them are very expensive but this one looked nice and the price is great. We ordered it- was not hard to put together at all! I made a black leather headboard from plywood, black buttons, black leather, and now the whole bed looks awesome and we could not be happier! We also bought the Damask bedding and 2 night stands at walmart also!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Exactly what we were looking for.

05/31/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I absolutely love this bed. We opted for the Site to Store shipping method and we were not disappointed. The packaging was intact and it arrived within a week.
The overall assemble of the bed was a bit time-consuming and a bit confusing. The best advice I can recommend is to take your time and label all of the pieces beforehand. We were at a bit of an advantage though because we had actually already built this exact same bed, in a full size, for my mother.
This bed saved us a lot of money and it is very sturdy. My husband and I have a combined weight of about 500 lbs and the bed has held up fantastic. We both are absolutely in love with this bed frame and would recommend it. Just make sure you have some time to dedicate to the project and a partner to help you build it. It's worth the money you save.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Waste of money

01/09/2015
By ,
Dalton, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed seemed to be exactly what I wanted when I assembled the bed, but then I rearranged my room one day (after only having the bed for a little over a year) and I noticed that all of the H boards and M boards and E boards that hold the bed off of the ground were chipping and falling apart. The screws are also being reject by the boards that sit on top of the frame to hold the mattress and have made the screw holes on those boards bigger because of that. This bed states that it comes with a 5 year warranty, however this company refuses to replace my bed. They have stated that they can only replace 50% of the bed. They will not even replace 50% at one time and then replace the other 50% another time. So apparently they will only replace 50% of your bed within the entire 5 years of the warranty, which is absolutely ridiculous in my opinion!!!!! I will NEVER purchase anything from this company again!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Queen Size Platform Bed

08/22/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I put the frame together in a evening. It did take us a little longer than we expected as we had to read the directions over and over again, the instructions were a little confusing but we did it! The bed looks GREAT! The price was reasonable and FREE delivery to our door. What more could one ask for? The bed looks great in our guest bedroom. We are happy customers!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Good bed for the price

09/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was time to update my 12yr old son's bedroom and he wanted a platform bed. We didn't want to spend a lot of money on a bed so when I found this one I decided to give it a try. I actually put the bed together by myself while the kids were at school and my husband was at work (approx. 1.5 - 2 hours). Although I was able to do it by myself, it would probably be better to have a second pair of hands helping you with this. Some pieces of the bed are heavy, but putting the bed together was fairly simple; the hardest part was putting the three trim pieces on (that's really where a second set of hands will come in handy). I did use an electric drill, you just have to be careful because the pieces are not made of wood so if you drill too hard or fast, you can split the board and the screws will be loose. Also, previous reviewers are correct, the boards that the mattress sits on are not painted black, but my son's comforter set covers it so you don't see it anyway, but if it's an issue for you a little black spray paint is an easy fix. Overall I'm happy with this purchase and my son loves his new bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

very nice

07/20/2010
By ,
Little Rock, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves platform beds and this was the cheapest and nicest looking one we could find ASAP. It is HEAVY! I put most of it together. The trickiest part was putting the trim on the edge on since I did it alone and it's really much simpler with two people. There were some parts I didn't understand where they went but it's nice looking, stable, and we love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
NICE
Posted 03/21/2014
DID IT COME WITH THE MATTRESS
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

nice platform bed for the price

12/23/2012
By ,
Arlington, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product came in a long heavy box could not lift by myself and could barely lift with assistance from store personnel. I had to take it out of the box to get it in my second floor apartment carrying it piece by piece. Once I got it home it took me 4 yes 4 hours to put it together. Keeping in mind I'm not handy, but I wasn't expecting 4 hours of work.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great look!

01/07/2011
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My soon love it! Great value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black
03/31/2013
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Returned it for a refund

04/20/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this bed looking for something to get my mattress off the floor, but still be as hard (squishy beds make me uncomfortable) it definitely did that. In fact it was harder than the floor since I didnt have carpet squish under me. It was super comfortable for about 3 days, then the boards started to warp and squeak when I move (weight of mattress, bedding, me and baby is under 325lbs) and the chemical smell was powerful. I ran the fans full blast, had the windows open during the day, slept with the door open and still woke with a migraine every day. Went on vacation for a week and when we returned the entire house reeked of this horrible chemical smell. I drug the bed out to the garage and hoped it would air out there...It didnt... Just made my garage smell. Contacted Walmart and told them the issues I was having and they not only refunded my money but are sending someone to pick up the bed for me. Love Walmart, hated this bed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great Value!

04/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone complaining about the bed breaking probably did a terrible job building it. Instructions were mainly just pictures with no descriptions, but wasn't hard to figure out. Packaging was slightly damaged when I received it, but all the boards were fine. I did notice a smell coming from the boards, but by the time I put it together, the smell was gone (1 month after receiving it). Had it put together in roughly 30 minutes with 2 other people and power tools on the lowest settings.
This bed does sit low and you will probably hit your shins on it. Not sure why people complain about it being low, when the description states it raises a mattress 10" off the ground. I have a 8" thick memory foam mattress on the bed currently. It does feel pretty firm, which is what I was looking for. A 10" mattress might be too firm. There is storage underneath the platform, but I wouldn't use it for anything that needs quick access as you'll need to remove the mattress and the 2 platform boards.
I'm currently on my second month using this bed and it's been great. Only issue I have is I keep banging my shins up against it. Other than that, I would buy this again and recommend it to others.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Works Perfectly

05/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a pretty decent deal and great bed. I'm glad I read the previous reviews about having it delivered to my home. At first I was planning on picking it up from store. But the reviews were right the package is very large and heavy. I am not sure at all how we would have brought it home. Otherwise the set up was pretty simple . My boyfriend did it alone and he is not pretty handy at all. It does have great storage underneath. However I originally thought the storage would have another slip underneath. Instead the boards that the mattress sits on are the only boards. Underneath the space the things placed inside sits on the floor basically. So the space was great for switching out my shoes from summer to winter etc . Or even storing my winter coats. Overall the bed is a great simple deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black
05/14/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Make sure you save the packaging that this bed came in, you're going to need it to send it back! I was extremely disappointed in the quality of this product, I knew that I wasn't going to be getting a five star bed but I did not think it would be of this poor of quality. I couldn't even put the thing together without it falling apart. It was made of very cheap plywood, that basically once it was constructed couldn't be moved without the bed falling apart. It reminded me of the cheap bookcases that are very unstable. I felt like I had turned one of those over to sleep on- not an ideal bed. I slept on it for one night and knew it wasn't going to work. Even so, when I took the thing apart to return, it looked like I had owned it for quite some time because it is just such cheap material.
In any case, when I did return the bed, Walmart was great in taking it back. There was no fuss and the customer service was great. So it wasn't all bad. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great Looking Bed

07/08/2007
By ,
Birmingham, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bed for my guest room. It's really easy to put together and appears to be pretty sturdy considering the price. I'm definitely satisfied with how it looks. My only complaint is that the platform itself is unsightly should your mattress slip away from the edges. The quality is not excellent-all of the pieces are particle board-- but as I said, before, the quality is what you should expect for the price. Once the bed is made, though, you really can't tell the difference between this bed and other, more expensive platform beds. I recommend getting the bed through site to store shipping because the shipping cost is almost as much as the cost of the bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wadesboro, NC
The shipping
Posted 08/08/2013
I agree about the particle board and how unsightly it looks if the mattress slips off. But I dont agree with shipping, I only payed 20 dollars for shipping.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Quick, Easy, and Eye Satisfying

02/25/2008
By ,
Terre Haute, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read many reviews about this product and I went ahead and took the risk and bought it. To my suprise this bed was very very easy to put together and the instructions were clear. It is a lot more sturdy than I expected and can hold up to a lot of stress. My husband and I have a combined weight of around 550 LBS and it has held up to us very well. I would definately recomend this product to anyone but make sure you follow the instructions when it says to use two people, it can get very heavy. Also... an electric screwdriver was very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+349points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sacramento, CA
Platform Material??
Posted 09/17/2011
Can any current owners tell me what material is the platform (the center part where the mattress lays on) is made of? I was expecting wooden slats like most platform beds. Im worried that its particle board and I cant see the thickness of it. Is it solid plywood? or particle board base?
Thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

great for tight budgets

07/25/2007
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a classy sophisticated modern look for a very affordable price then this product is a great find. It brings a contemporary look to your room without having to worry about spending too much. This is a great bed if you will be staying in the same place for a while because it is a little on the heavy side. It is very easy to build, and is very versatile if you like changing your room often. This bed is actually black and not dark brown or expresso. Can be used with just a mattress for a low look or with a box spring for a tall look. Make sure you get the right size because you will still have about an inch around the mattress of free space on the platform. Great for dorm rooms or small apartments. It has a matte finish not glossy. Overall, great bed for people looking for a great look with a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

You get what you pay for.

05/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I had of known how cheaply made this bed was.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 897 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  45 Next