Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

South Shore South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Sleek, contemporary and ultra-modern, this South Shore Queen Platform Bed creates a sophisticated support for your bed. The South Shore platform bed with molding raises your mattress 10" off the ground resulting in a clean, contemporary look. This basic black queen platform bed works especially well in smaller rooms, apartments and loft-style apartments. The South Shore Platform Bed features moldings with profiled edges that keep your mattress from moving. The best thing about this South Shore Queen Platform Bed is that it doesn not require purchasing a box spring, just the mattress of your choosing.
Average Customer Rating:
3.71 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(994 Reviews) 847
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
326
4 stars
351
3 stars
132
2 stars
73
1 star
112
Customer Recommendation77%765 out of 993reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
131 Questions | 498 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
326
4 stars
351
3 stars
132
2 stars
73
1 star
112
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

PERFECT!

03/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't ask for a better bed!! Awesome, awesome, awesome!
I am so glad at the value of this bed! It was very cheap. But made very well. I can say that I have never been happier with a purchase! <3
I have been sleeping on the floor prior to this..lol
The moulding on this is very pretty, convenient so that you don't slam your knee/shin on sharp edges. I think this thing is very sleek. Very nice to sleep on. Very light (compared to some beds) but hard to carry when taking it to the car! Bring a few friends to lift it!
Good:
Very nice design, very sleek, chic.
Very pretty colour.
Low. I like low beds. Sits about 3-5" off the floor.
Bad/changes:
Missing one peg cover (the little round things that cover screws) but it was on a non-visible side on the top.
Weird that there is no coving for the top part of the "headboard type area"?
My cat likes to dive under the edges and hide in the corner spaces..was hoping to avoid that :P
Used with a memory foam mattress (cheap Sleep 1 brand here.) Makes the bed a bit harder than expected. May want to find a soft mattress or a mattress plus memory foam under this!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Love it!

08/27/2009
By ,
Plano (Dallas) Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a nice black platform bed for my husband and I. Most of them are very expensive but this one looked nice and the price is great. We ordered it- was not hard to put together at all! I made a black leather headboard from plywood, black buttons, black leather, and now the whole bed looks awesome and we could not be happier! We also bought the Damask bedding and 2 night stands at walmart also!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great Buy - Looks Good

05/28/2009
By ,
Manhattan, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bed about a month ago and have really liked it. It looks great, it's nice and sturdy, and was relatively easy to assemble. The only thing I'm not wild about is that only the outside edges are finished, the underneath is MDF or particle board. We bought a queen size bed for a queen size mattress, but there is still about an inch on either side where the MDF shows... can be covered by the comforter, but it isn't the ideal solution. Overall, very pleased with this purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Hard to beat

07/02/2010
By ,
Moses Lake, Wa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been looking for a bed that did not need a look of fuss to make it look attractive. This is it, very easy to make the bed, and don't have to worry about dust bunnies.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Harrison
BED FRAME DIMENSIONS
Posted 11/20/2013
Could you please list the dimensions of this platform bed?
Length, width & height.
Thank you,
Edith~
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Exactly what we were looking for.

05/31/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I absolutely love this bed. We opted for the Site to Store shipping method and we were not disappointed. The packaging was intact and it arrived within a week.
The overall assemble of the bed was a bit time-consuming and a bit confusing. The best advice I can recommend is to take your time and label all of the pieces beforehand. We were at a bit of an advantage though because we had actually already built this exact same bed, in a full size, for my mother.
This bed saved us a lot of money and it is very sturdy. My husband and I have a combined weight of about 500 lbs and the bed has held up fantastic. We both are absolutely in love with this bed frame and would recommend it. Just make sure you have some time to dedicate to the project and a partner to help you build it. It's worth the money you save.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Queen Size Platform Bed

08/22/2010
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I put the frame together in a evening. It did take us a little longer than we expected as we had to read the directions over and over again, the instructions were a little confusing but we did it! The bed looks GREAT! The price was reasonable and FREE delivery to our door. What more could one ask for? The bed looks great in our guest bedroom. We are happy customers!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Good bed for the price

09/29/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was time to update my 12yr old son's bedroom and he wanted a platform bed. We didn't want to spend a lot of money on a bed so when I found this one I decided to give it a try. I actually put the bed together by myself while the kids were at school and my husband was at work (approx. 1.5 - 2 hours). Although I was able to do it by myself, it would probably be better to have a second pair of hands helping you with this. Some pieces of the bed are heavy, but putting the bed together was fairly simple; the hardest part was putting the three trim pieces on (that's really where a second set of hands will come in handy). I did use an electric drill, you just have to be careful because the pieces are not made of wood so if you drill too hard or fast, you can split the board and the screws will be loose. Also, previous reviewers are correct, the boards that the mattress sits on are not painted black, but my son's comforter set covers it so you don't see it anyway, but if it's an issue for you a little black spray paint is an easy fix. Overall I'm happy with this purchase and my son loves his new bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

very nice

07/20/2010
By ,
Little Rock, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves platform beds and this was the cheapest and nicest looking one we could find ASAP. It is HEAVY! I put most of it together. The trickiest part was putting the trim on the edge on since I did it alone and it's really much simpler with two people. There were some parts I didn't understand where they went but it's nice looking, stable, and we love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
NICE
Posted 03/21/2014
DID IT COME WITH THE MATTRESS
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

nice platform bed for the price

12/23/2012
By ,
Arlington, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product came in a long heavy box could not lift by myself and could barely lift with assistance from store personnel. I had to take it out of the box to get it in my second floor apartment carrying it piece by piece. Once I got it home it took me 4 yes 4 hours to put it together. Keeping in mind I'm not handy, but I wasn't expecting 4 hours of work.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black
03/31/2013
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great look!

01/07/2011
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My soon love it! Great value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great Bed For The Price

12/19/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll be honest, the reviews I read had me a little weary of purchasing this bed. I was afraid it was cheaply made and would be a pain to put together and stay together. But I'm very happy that I purchased it!
The bed wasn't that difficult to put together. Two of us had it done in about a half hour. The instructions are diagrams and not hard to follow. Walmart shipped it via FedEx and it arrived in 3 days. No pieces were damaged in shipment. It is a very large package weighing 130 lbs, so I recommend having it shipped to your house instead of the store and that someone is there to help you get it in the house.
Bottom line, for the price this is a great bed frame and it looks very nice. It is made out of compressed board, (I'm not sure what others reviewing were expecting for the price), but the bed is very solid once put together.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

great for tight budgets

07/25/2007
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a classy sophisticated modern look for a very affordable price then this product is a great find. It brings a contemporary look to your room without having to worry about spending too much. This is a great bed if you will be staying in the same place for a while because it is a little on the heavy side. It is very easy to build, and is very versatile if you like changing your room often. This bed is actually black and not dark brown or expresso. Can be used with just a mattress for a low look or with a box spring for a tall look. Make sure you get the right size because you will still have about an inch around the mattress of free space on the platform. Great for dorm rooms or small apartments. It has a matte finish not glossy. Overall, great bed for people looking for a great look with a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black
05/14/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Make sure you save the packaging that this bed came in, you're going to need it to send it back! I was extremely disappointed in the quality of this product, I knew that I wasn't going to be getting a five star bed but I did not think it would be of this poor of quality. I couldn't even put the thing together without it falling apart. It was made of very cheap plywood, that basically once it was constructed couldn't be moved without the bed falling apart. It reminded me of the cheap bookcases that are very unstable. I felt like I had turned one of those over to sleep on- not an ideal bed. I slept on it for one night and knew it wasn't going to work. Even so, when I took the thing apart to return, it looked like I had owned it for quite some time because it is just such cheap material.
In any case, when I did return the bed, Walmart was great in taking it back. There was no fuss and the customer service was great. So it wasn't all bad. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great Looking Bed

07/08/2007
By ,
Birmingham, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this bed for my guest room. It's really easy to put together and appears to be pretty sturdy considering the price. I'm definitely satisfied with how it looks. My only complaint is that the platform itself is unsightly should your mattress slip away from the edges. The quality is not excellent-all of the pieces are particle board-- but as I said, before, the quality is what you should expect for the price. Once the bed is made, though, you really can't tell the difference between this bed and other, more expensive platform beds. I recommend getting the bed through site to store shipping because the shipping cost is almost as much as the cost of the bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wadesboro, NC
The shipping
Posted 08/08/2013
I agree about the particle board and how unsightly it looks if the mattress slips off. But I dont agree with shipping, I only payed 20 dollars for shipping.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Simple Beauty

08/09/2009
By ,
Albia, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me just say that this bed ends up being simple yet elegant when put together. It is very sturdy and will go well with any decor. That said . . .
Make sure you either have someone to help you, or have an entire afternoon to put this thing together because you will be at it for a while!
The instructions ARE quite well thought out and it IS relatively well put-together, but it is also held together by apr. forty-two thousand screws. Putting them all in takes a few hours, trust me!
The only other gripe I have about assembly is aligning the top panels of the bed. You get what look like two scrap pieces of wood that are actually used to make sure the first plank is properly aligned. Someone unsure of themselves could quickly and easily end up with a crooked and/or off-center bed! A better solution would have been to affix much smaller alignment pieces directly to the two end-planks to make alignment a snap.
Once it IS together though, it's a great bed. Don't expect mucho style and finess. In the end it's a black box with a platform on top of it. If you want something simple or understated though, this bed is perfect. My wife and I love it and so far shows nary a sign of wear and tear. We hope to be using it for years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great for the price!

12/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, this a very nice well built piece of furniture. I was mildly concern that it might look really cheap in person. Fortunately that's not the case.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Quick, Easy, and Eye Satisfying

02/25/2008
By ,
Terre Haute, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read many reviews about this product and I went ahead and took the risk and bought it. To my suprise this bed was very very easy to put together and the instructions were clear. It is a lot more sturdy than I expected and can hold up to a lot of stress. My husband and I have a combined weight of around 550 LBS and it has held up to us very well. I would definately recomend this product to anyone but make sure you follow the instructions when it says to use two people, it can get very heavy. Also... an electric screwdriver was very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+313points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sacramento, CA
Platform Material??
Posted 09/17/2011
Can any current owners tell me what material is the platform (the center part where the mattress lays on) is made of? I was expecting wooden slats like most platform beds. Im worried that its particle board and I cant see the thickness of it. Is it solid plywood? or particle board base?
Thanks!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Love it.

09/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks pretty much just how I imagined it and how the image looked online. Read all the reviews with people whining about the assembly and directions and I expected the worst (I've had bad assemble-it-yourself experiences in the past) but the people complaining were clearly idiots or just not paying attention... Assembly wasn't bad at all. Had the whole thing together in about an hour. The side runners on top of the platform are the only part that seems to be poorly designed (the reason I left off a star) - mine had no pre-made screw holes so you really gotta work to get them fastened on. Other than that, the bed is surprisingly solid, looks stylish, and is so much cheaper than any other options I saw like this. Plus the shipping was quick and free for in-store pickup! Most importantly, the ladies love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Basics Queen Platform Bed with Molding, Black

Great platform bed great price

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upon delivery I was unable to lift the box. It ways a ton. I had to i package it and carry each piece upstairs. I assembled the bed easily within 30 minutes. It seems like it's not going to fit together, but if you follow the directions every piece fits together correctly. If it doesn't you probably have it backwards. Once it is all assembled and the mattress is on it, it looks great. It has a very modern look.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 848 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  43 Next