Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Regalo Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(680 Reviews) 570
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
160
3 stars
31
2 stars
23
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation93%627 out of 677reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 328 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
160
3 stars
31
2 stars
23
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Fits what I needed it for.

12/19/2012
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was extremely easy to put up (I actually purchased two). I use it to keep my small dogs confined as needed and so far have no issues. The lock is a bit tedious to open when pushed into the locking position, so I only push it all the way down if I'm leaving the house. I've just been pushing it down without clicking it and it can just be lifted up and down when moving room to room. I purchased another gate that was too small to fit my doorways and it was more expensive and difficult to install. I think this is great for the price and it's not junky looking either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great baby Gate

05/08/2009
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really glad I bought this gate. It looks wonderful and was fairly easy to setup. You can leave it as a regular pressure mount or put 4 screws in the wall to make it permanent and more stable. It keeps my 11 month old baby out of the bathroom and bedrooms while still allowing my 4 year old to open the gate to get in.
Exactly what I was looking for in a baby gate. Ease of use for myself and my son and protection for my baby!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

PERFECT! Very helpful

05/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this swing gate because we have a 9 month old and a 7 year old. We are back and forth through the doorway day and night. Spending the extra money on this gate was WELL WORTH IT. It is SO EASY to use and was simple to install. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great Gate

07/05/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this gate to keep our pets out of one section of the house that got new carpeting and we love it. The walk through door is very easy to open and assembly and install is very easy as well. We used the rubber stopper install since there will not be any weight pushing on it, but there are screws if you need to mount in the wall for heavier animals or children that will be pushing on it. We did not want to spend a fortune and this was a very nice price for a walk through gate that does not have to be wall mounted. Would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Very sturdy and dependable

02/19/2010
By ,
Hope Mills, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit I am not the best at putting things together but this product was easy to install. It is very sturdy. My husband does not like putting holes in the wall for anything and this gate does a wonderful job without being screwed into the wall. My son is 19 months and had a meltdown yesterday when he could not get into the kitchen. He banged and pulled and was even hanging from the gate at one point and the gate stood its ground. Also the latch is very easy to operate. The latch itself is probably made to use with two hands but once you get the hang of it, you can open it with one hand very easily. Overall this gate is awesome and I am getting another now to go upstairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Measuring Issues

10/13/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In general I like Regalo gates. They tend to be good quality.
MEASUREMENT WARNING, though: I bought this gate for a 36" opening. The description says that it fits up to 39"...but this is with the extension. Without the extension this gate is really only effective for openings probably closer to 33".
To fit my 36" opening the tension rods had to be extended out too far to build proper tension. They often pop out of the gate or get unaligned making the gate pop open. I've had to completely readjust the gate several times.
I plan to move this gate to a smaller opening and get a different gate to replace it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+142points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Love It!

04/23/2009
By ,
North Wales, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two adult dogs, two young dogs and nine (yes nine) kitties. The dogs need to stay out of certain rooms, but the cats need access. It got very difficult stepping over our other fences, or moving them to walk down the hall. We have another fence similar to this in a doorway that we removed (sawed out) one of the vertical rails from, so the cats can walk through but the dogs can't. Unfortunately, that one didn't fit the width of the hall. This one does - without the extension piece!! Additionally, the rails are slightly further apart, and all the kitties (even our big fat ones) can walk through it - no alterations needed. If the cost was lower I would definitely buy more of them, but it's still worth the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Nice gate

10/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was good, but had to return it due to it not fitting in the space needed. It was too small before the extension, then too big with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Beats climbing over a gate

12/30/2012
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast (3 days) and setup was easy. It comes with a 6" extension for wider doors, which I did not need for a bedroom. Also comes with 4 retainer cups that can be screwed to the door frame or wall and bannister post for stairway use. Since I use it in a bedroom doorway, I did not use the retainer cups. However, I found that the top of the gate will work its way out of the door jamb with use. This seems to be because there is a pastic button on the bottom of the swing gate that creates pressure between the swing part and the bottom frame on the floor so it will snap tight when closing. Of course, when opening the gate you must exert enough force on the swing part to overcome the pressure button, which after some use will push the top out from the door jamb. The bottom of the frame always stays put, just the top will push out over time. To fix the issue I installed the screw down retainer cups onto the door jamb for both sides of the top. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Workable, but has faults.

10/07/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The gate only swings one way and the latch is plastic. I don't think it will last.
I was disappointed as I ordered one other one about two months ago and thought this was the same one. My mistake. The other gate swings both ways and the latch is metal. Much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great Gate for Child or Pet

07/19/2007
By ,
Appomattox, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these gates in NJ, to contain my dogs before I moved to VA. This is my 4th one. The local store in VA didn't have them, so I used the site to store feature. Shipping was super fast and didn't cost me anything. I am totally satisfied with the product and service I received from WalMart. The Regalo gate sets up in a few minutes and has the walk-thru feature that makes removing the gate unnecessary. The bars are made of metal, which deters dogs from chewing them. These types of gates sell for much more in specialized baby stores. I highly recommend them for child or pet containment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Product works very well

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works very well....so easy to set up.!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Exactly what we were looking for!

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had used several different baby gates (wooden, plastic and etc), before finally settled on this one! Great construction, simple installation, convenient, easy to use and keep baby safe and away from places you don't want them to enter! Would definitely recommend to any family!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

gets the job done

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product And Easy Installation
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Nice gate for the price.

08/04/2014
By ,
Holland, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the gate, however it failed to keep my 3 1/2 year old grandson from figuring out how to use it. The minute we put it up he figured out how to open it. We needed something that would keep him out of the kitchen so he wouldn't get into the refrigerator and closets in kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Not what I thought it would be....

02/03/2014
By ,
Upstate, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I researched and read reviews for different types of pressure gates that would be good on the stairs. We have an 18 month old and another on the way and I do not want them on or anywhere near the stairs in our house. We also have a dog what I would like upstairs with us at night and not running all over the house waking the baby up. So after researching I thought this was the best deal. The construction of the gate was very easy to understand but the instructions made it more confusing. Once assembled, it didn't really provide the stability I was looking for. My son came over and one yank it was off. I definitely will pay a little more money now for something more stable. If you are looking for something for less active children and pets this would be good but not for active children at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Baby gate

08/13/2007
By ,
Parsippany, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a 10 mo. old who crawls everywhere. This gate was easy to install, is durable (metal).
The only problem is is the opening - "door" for the adults - it is a bit narrow - only 16 in. - bit too narrow if you need to bring anything downstairs - like laundry etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Perfect for the Purpose

06/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate was purchased to keep dogs (Great Danes) and the cat out of the bedroom but make it easy for the parents to get in and out. Since we are only using it for pets and not kids we don't lock the latch making it easy to open with one hand. The product was easy to install and adjust. Also a great price compared to similar products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Easy to assemble & serves purpose well

05/06/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to set up & adjust - did it myself in about 5 minutes. Only a couple of minor complaints - the latching mechanism is a little difficult to open one-handed, which can happen often if you're carrying a child or laundry, etc. However, it is definitely manageable & will be even harder for my grandchild to figure out as she gets older, which is a plus, so for me the pro & con of the latch cancel each other out, LOL. The only other minor complaint is that the opening itself is a little narrow for a plump grandma to go straight through comfortably - if I walk straight through, it IS wide enough, but my jeans scrape the bars on either side, so I usually turn slightly sideways to save wear & tear on my pants. Not a huge deal, but just letting people know. The gate is DEFINITELY very sturdy & will last well into the toddler years, & very reasonably priced. I'm pleased with the purchase & would recommend to others. I ordered this online on a Friday night & received on the next Wednesday, well within the stated delivery & exceeding my expectation.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Better than expected!

08/28/2008
By ,
Sterling Heights, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate delivers what it promises. Its construction is completely solid; the gate is tall enough to house any medium-sized dog with ease (our medium-sized dog has anxiety and can jump onto a counter-height kitchen table, but he hasn't tried jumping this, yet); is attractive and clean-looking; locks with a simple pull-mechanism; and the door allows you to leave gate up without getting in the way.
The only drawbacks are that the bottom support bar running across the length essentially prevents you from raising the gate above floor level (in case you wanted it a few inches higher, for example), and the lock is simple enough for a toddler to figure out (although the pull-back lever to release the lock takes a firm grip, and you have to pull it back at the same time as you raise the release bar). Also, the way to fasten the gate onto the door is by screwing and unscrewing the 4 edge bolts. Once the gate's on, it's perfect, but getting the exact fit for your door is frustrating. Not hard, but frustrating :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 571 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next