Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Regalo Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Average Customer Rating:
4.488 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(631 Reviews) 521
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
422
4 stars
147
3 stars
26
2 stars
20
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation93%583 out of 628reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 300 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
422
4 stars
147
3 stars
26
2 stars
20
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great baby Gate

05/08/2009
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really glad I bought this gate. It looks wonderful and was fairly easy to setup. You can leave it as a regular pressure mount or put 4 screws in the wall to make it permanent and more stable. It keeps my 11 month old baby out of the bathroom and bedrooms while still allowing my 4 year old to open the gate to get in.
Exactly what I was looking for in a baby gate. Ease of use for myself and my son and protection for my baby!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

PERFECT! Very helpful

05/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this swing gate because we have a 9 month old and a 7 year old. We are back and forth through the doorway day and night. Spending the extra money on this gate was WELL WORTH IT. It is SO EASY to use and was simple to install. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Not what I thought it would be....

02/03/2014
By ,
Upstate, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I researched and read reviews for different types of pressure gates that would be good on the stairs. We have an 18 month old and another on the way and I do not want them on or anywhere near the stairs in our house. We also have a dog what I would like upstairs with us at night and not running all over the house waking the baby up. So after researching I thought this was the best deal. The construction of the gate was very easy to understand but the instructions made it more confusing. Once assembled, it didn't really provide the stability I was looking for. My son came over and one yank it was off. I definitely will pay a little more money now for something more stable. If you are looking for something for less active children and pets this would be good but not for active children at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Very sturdy and dependable

02/19/2010
By ,
Hope Mills, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit I am not the best at putting things together but this product was easy to install. It is very sturdy. My husband does not like putting holes in the wall for anything and this gate does a wonderful job without being screwed into the wall. My son is 19 months and had a meltdown yesterday when he could not get into the kitchen. He banged and pulled and was even hanging from the gate at one point and the gate stood its ground. Also the latch is very easy to operate. The latch itself is probably made to use with two hands but once you get the hang of it, you can open it with one hand very easily. Overall this gate is awesome and I am getting another now to go upstairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Measuring Issues

10/13/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In general I like Regalo gates. They tend to be good quality.
MEASUREMENT WARNING, though: I bought this gate for a 36" opening. The description says that it fits up to 39"...but this is with the extension. Without the extension this gate is really only effective for openings probably closer to 33".
To fit my 36" opening the tension rods had to be extended out too far to build proper tension. They often pop out of the gate or get unaligned making the gate pop open. I've had to completely readjust the gate several times.
I plan to move this gate to a smaller opening and get a different gate to replace it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+131points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Not Good For Small Dogs

04/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate with the hopes of keeping my dog out of another room, however my 9 pound dog was able to squeeze through the space between the bars. Installation was very easy and it worked really well. I would recommend this gate to anyone other than someone who is trying to contain a small dog.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Nice Product

04/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy Installation and everything else was great but it didn't have quite enough width (with extension) for my stairs. Please take your measurements before you buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Very satisfied

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this online @ Walmart.com and have it delivered to store.
Got it delivered in a couple of days.
Assembled it. It fits perfectly. It fulfill my goal 100%.
Highly recommended.
Very good item for reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Beats climbing over a gate

12/30/2012
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast (3 days) and setup was easy. It comes with a 6" extension for wider doors, which I did not need for a bedroom. Also comes with 4 retainer cups that can be screwed to the door frame or wall and bannister post for stairway use. Since I use it in a bedroom doorway, I did not use the retainer cups. However, I found that the top of the gate will work its way out of the door jamb with use. This seems to be because there is a pastic button on the bottom of the swing gate that creates pressure between the swing part and the bottom frame on the floor so it will snap tight when closing. Of course, when opening the gate you must exert enough force on the swing part to overcome the pressure button, which after some use will push the top out from the door jamb. The bottom of the frame always stays put, just the top will push out over time. To fix the issue I installed the screw down retainer cups onto the door jamb for both sides of the top. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Love It!

04/23/2009
By ,
North Wales, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two adult dogs, two young dogs and nine (yes nine) kitties. The dogs need to stay out of certain rooms, but the cats need access. It got very difficult stepping over our other fences, or moving them to walk down the hall. We have another fence similar to this in a doorway that we removed (sawed out) one of the vertical rails from, so the cats can walk through but the dogs can't. Unfortunately, that one didn't fit the width of the hall. This one does - without the extension piece!! Additionally, the rails are slightly further apart, and all the kitties (even our big fat ones) can walk through it - no alterations needed. If the cost was lower I would definitely buy more of them, but it's still worth the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great Product

04/11/2014
By ,
Laurens, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great product. Highly recommend to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great gate for the money!

02/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a strong and sturdy metal gate that you can walk through. It works great for us...so much that I bought two more! I plan on using them in several places in my house when my baby starts crawling and walking. I love it because you don't have to worry about crossing over it so it allows you to safely hold the baby while going through. I can operate it with one hand but it takes a little practice. It was easy to assemble and comes with some sort if extender, but I haven't used it. I looked at many gates before purchasing and this was the best one for the money. Great value in my opinion! Works great for small dogs too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Very Good Value for ~$32

02/07/2014
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is very easy to install, you can have it up and ready within 10 minutes, a little longer if you opt to do a little more hardware installation which is optional. Using the locking mechanism (opening and closing it) is counter intuitive (before buying it, I thought you squeeze the handle to open, instead you must lift it), but after a short time you get used to it. The gate is well made and solid for what it is and a good value for about $32. I use mine as a gate to keep my dogs from entering in to areas that they shouldn't. I am giving this product only 4 stars instead of 5 because the passageway (the opening) that the swinging gate creates is narrower than I prefer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Love it

02/21/2014
By ,
vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So we bought three(2 for us 1 for my parents) of these gates they came with the 6'' extension. We live in an apartment on first floor and my parents live on the 3rd floor. so the cups that you can screw in as an extra saftey measure are a must even tho the ones in our apartment dont lead to stairs i still put them in as a piece of mind. Dont get me wrong they dont need it, but its nice that you can if you want. I really liked the fact that other than the bottom part there is no place for the baby to pinch their fingers. Very solid gate easy to use/open for us and not for baby. Its such a nice change from the gates you have to step over im 6 1/2 months pregnant so stepping over or even bending while holding my 17month old to move the gate was a pain i can open this gate with one hand(with a little practice). Thanks walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

So-so

03/30/2014
By ,
Norwood, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We use this at the bottom of the stairs. It was easy to install, just a pressure gate. It works fine. My two complaints are one: the total area is sort of narrow. It doesn't quite stretch far enough and causes it to be a little loose. Worse part is that the actual opening is very narrow.
That being said, it works well and is a great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great Gate for Child or Pet

07/19/2007
By ,
Appomattox, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these gates in NJ, to contain my dogs before I moved to VA. This is my 4th one. The local store in VA didn't have them, so I used the site to store feature. Shipping was super fast and didn't cost me anything. I am totally satisfied with the product and service I received from WalMart. The Regalo gate sets up in a few minutes and has the walk-thru feature that makes removing the gate unnecessary. The bars are made of metal, which deters dogs from chewing them. These types of gates sell for much more in specialized baby stores. I highly recommend them for child or pet containment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Just what I needed

03/30/2014
By ,
Paramus, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros:
- Sturdy enough
- Includes 1 extension piece to fit wider entrance ways
- Quiet operation
- Intuitive, simple open/close mechanism
- Simple, clean look
- Best of all it just works
Cons:
- Need to remember to close the gate door when leaving the area (but true of all walk through gates without an auto-close feature)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Baby gate for stairs

04/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The gate is extremely helpful and easy to use. The only suggestion I have is to make the door of the gate wider so adults don't have to squeeze or turn to their side as they go thru.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Awesome gate!

04/03/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome gate!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Not Sturdy or Safe

03/25/2014
By ,
Franklin, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Put this gate up at the bottom of our stairs (to keep curious duo from climbing the steps) and my son took it down the first day. We placed it square in the area, secured the rubber anchors on all four corners as tight as they would go and they still bowed when the gate was bumped the least little bit. Plan to return and get a different gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 522 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next