Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Regalo Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Average Customer Rating:
4.456 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(695 Reviews) 585
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
455
4 stars
164
3 stars
33
2 stars
24
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation92%639 out of 692reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 331 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
455
4 stars
164
3 stars
33
2 stars
24
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great baby Gate

05/08/2009
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really glad I bought this gate. It looks wonderful and was fairly easy to setup. You can leave it as a regular pressure mount or put 4 screws in the wall to make it permanent and more stable. It keeps my 11 month old baby out of the bathroom and bedrooms while still allowing my 4 year old to open the gate to get in.
Exactly what I was looking for in a baby gate. Ease of use for myself and my son and protection for my baby!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

PERFECT! Very helpful

05/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this swing gate because we have a 9 month old and a 7 year old. We are back and forth through the doorway day and night. Spending the extra money on this gate was WELL WORTH IT. It is SO EASY to use and was simple to install. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Good price terrible delivery time.

11/02/2014
By ,
Sevierville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I regularly buy from Walmart.com. They had a great price on the Regalo swing gate. I already have one and needed to add a second on. The gate itself is very easy to assemble and very easy to adjust for hall width. The spaceing with the slats is a little to wide if you have a small dog you are trying to keep in. However, for small children it works great. I like the swing gate and its catch. It is better than trying to climb over a traditional baby gate. As I said walmart.com had the best price. I elected the free shipping to my local store which was a big mistake. The product only had to come from about 200 miles away but took about 16 days to arrive. It spent another 3 days sitting on the truck outside the store. So it took a total of 19 days. I could bought it elsewhere for $5 more and had it come straight to my house in 3 to 4 days. This was the worst delivery experience I have every with walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Awesome, Very sturdy & easy to use

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate because the old one we had wasn't very sturdy and my 10 month old loved to try to climb it. It was super easy to put together & install, and is very sturdy. I have a 4.5 year old as well and a 2 year old nephew that I watch regularly. My 4.5 year old is able to open and close the gate easily, while it can contain the 2 year old. It was able to withstand the 2 year old and my 10 month old shaking and slamming into the gate, however I had to put the bracket cups on after my 4 year old threw a temper tantrum and knocked the gate part way off the wall. It takes a little bit to get the hang of opening the gate with one hand, but it is easy to do once you figure it out. , just beware of the lip across the bottom of the gate door, my family is full of klutz's and we have all tripped over it multiple times.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Very sturdy and dependable

02/19/2010
By ,
Hope Mills, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit I am not the best at putting things together but this product was easy to install. It is very sturdy. My husband does not like putting holes in the wall for anything and this gate does a wonderful job without being screwed into the wall. My son is 19 months and had a meltdown yesterday when he could not get into the kitchen. He banged and pulled and was even hanging from the gate at one point and the gate stood its ground. Also the latch is very easy to operate. The latch itself is probably made to use with two hands but once you get the hang of it, you can open it with one hand very easily. Overall this gate is awesome and I am getting another now to go upstairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Measuring Issues

10/13/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In general I like Regalo gates. They tend to be good quality.
MEASUREMENT WARNING, though: I bought this gate for a 36" opening. The description says that it fits up to 39"...but this is with the extension. Without the extension this gate is really only effective for openings probably closer to 33".
To fit my 36" opening the tension rods had to be extended out too far to build proper tension. They often pop out of the gate or get unaligned making the gate pop open. I've had to completely readjust the gate several times.
I plan to move this gate to a smaller opening and get a different gate to replace it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+144points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

For dog owners

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gate is fairly easy to install, all parts included. Can be installed by one, but helpful to have second pair of hands. One hand operation easy if gate is NOT in locked position, doable in locked position with practice.
Needs to be installed where there is no wall trim/floor board at bottom for best fit, otherwise it needs to be raised off floor above floor board which raises step thru bar. Not a problem if floor board is flat.
I got for my 2 med/large dogs to keep them out of one area of the house, it works fine so far but they do not push against it, it would not hold a big dog if they really want in the area. Be sure you get the size closest to the opening for tighter fit. The bars are close enough for even smaller dogs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

doggiegate

11/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The gate is perfect because it doesn't have to be broken down every time you want to enter the room you're blocking. It can be left in the door opening and just open the door. It is very sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Exactly what I was looking for

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did quite a bit of research before buying this. It is a great value for the money. I have to admit that my husband installed it but he said it wasn't difficult. He did not need the extension and the wall caps work fine. It is exactly what I was looking for. I needed it to keep my dogs out of my grand children's room. Our one dog will eat anything that isn't tied down. We had an expandable gate across the hall opening and were constantly tripping over it. We do not need to use the locking feature because it is sturdy enough and a deterrent enough to keep the dogs on the other side. The door works easily. I am really pleased with it and glad that I have it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great Gate

07/05/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this gate to keep our pets out of one section of the house that got new carpeting and we love it. The walk through door is very easy to open and assembly and install is very easy as well. We used the rubber stopper install since there will not be any weight pushing on it, but there are screws if you need to mount in the wall for heavier animals or children that will be pushing on it. We did not want to spend a fortune and this was a very nice price for a walk through gate that does not have to be wall mounted. Would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Love It!

04/23/2009
By ,
North Wales, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two adult dogs, two young dogs and nine (yes nine) kitties. The dogs need to stay out of certain rooms, but the cats need access. It got very difficult stepping over our other fences, or moving them to walk down the hall. We have another fence similar to this in a doorway that we removed (sawed out) one of the vertical rails from, so the cats can walk through but the dogs can't. Unfortunately, that one didn't fit the width of the hall. This one does - without the extension piece!! Additionally, the rails are slightly further apart, and all the kitties (even our big fat ones) can walk through it - no alterations needed. If the cost was lower I would definitely buy more of them, but it's still worth the price paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Exactly was I needed

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this gate was perfect, you dont have to use the feature that requires holes in the wall.....the gate works great without it...it can be a little annoying while setting up but it does its job very well
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Not a doggie door

11/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this item to keep my small Yorkie pups in a certain area. The gate set up easily, but the bars were too far apart and my dogs were able to escape. Heavy duty construction, easy open and close.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Not for stairs

11/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The gate is difficult to use in stair access areas. The pressure screws aren't the strongest. Gate flexes when screws are adjusted too tight.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Easy assembly

11/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gate was easy to assemble and I was glad not to have to put screws into my wooden rail. I don't like how the gate opens and closes. I think it should be easier than it is. Lokking for another way to secure it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Beats climbing over a gate

12/30/2012
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast (3 days) and setup was easy. It comes with a 6" extension for wider doors, which I did not need for a bedroom. Also comes with 4 retainer cups that can be screwed to the door frame or wall and bannister post for stairway use. Since I use it in a bedroom doorway, I did not use the retainer cups. However, I found that the top of the gate will work its way out of the door jamb with use. This seems to be because there is a pastic button on the bottom of the swing gate that creates pressure between the swing part and the bottom frame on the floor so it will snap tight when closing. Of course, when opening the gate you must exert enough force on the swing part to overcome the pressure button, which after some use will push the top out from the door jamb. The bottom of the frame always stays put, just the top will push out over time. To fix the issue I installed the screw down retainer cups onto the door jamb for both sides of the top. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Not a one-handed gate

11/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This gate looked similar to the Evenflo gate that we already have, but the quality isn't nearly as good or as easy to use. The gate didn't grip well in our door frame, and we took it down right away because we were sure that our 19 mo baby would be able to push it out. Also, the handle mechanism is too difficult to operate with one hand.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

No more pet controlled living room

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using this walk-thru gate to keep pets out of the living room when we are not home. Excellent construction and easy installation. Cost was less than all comparable items that we found.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Perfect for What we Neended

11/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality, and the price was good. It was also easy to put up. We got the gate because we were tired of lifting our other kids over the other gate all the time, and taking it down for guests. Everyone (even the kids) is able to open and shut the gate easily, making life easier.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo Easy-Step Metal Swing Gate

Great Gate for Child or Pet

07/19/2007
By ,
Appomattox, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these gates in NJ, to contain my dogs before I moved to VA. This is my 4th one. The local store in VA didn't have them, so I used the site to store feature. Shipping was super fast and didn't cost me anything. I am totally satisfied with the product and service I received from WalMart. The Regalo gate sets up in a few minutes and has the walk-thru feature that makes removing the gate unnecessary. The bars are made of metal, which deters dogs from chewing them. These types of gates sell for much more in specialized baby stores. I highly recommend them for child or pet containment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 586 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next