Ratings and Reviews
TV
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for The Lightning Thief

The Lightning Thief

Average Customer Rating:
4.92 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%25 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Lightning Thief

Love this series!

02/22/2010
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw previews for this movie I thought it looked good and knew it was a book. After I read the description I thought this isn't my type of book. The books I read are set more in the past, but still has mystical creatures. I finally decided to give it a try if I didn't like it I wouldn't read the next one. I fell in love with this series! About a third of the way through I realized that the book was hard to put down. I expected this book to be slow, and wouldn't hold my attention. I was proven very wrong. The details in the book are very well wrote. I would reccomend reading this book. Can't wait to see the movie!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Lightning Thief

Gift to a grandson

03/04/2008
By ,
Torbanlea, Australia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When searching for a book for my grandson, I reviewed the reviews already on this book. I liked what I saw, and decided to send that book.
When I spoke with my grandson, the first thing he mentioned was how much he loved the book, and couldn't put it down.
From his comments, I would rate the book, and my purchase excellent.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Lightning Thief

Fun in reading for everyone

05/26/2009
By ,
Wills Point, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most spellbinding story that my child and I have read in a long time. The characters come to life for the children of this day and time. The Mythology intertwines to a point of realizim. A must read and not as violent as a cartoon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Lightning Thief

Excellent for all reading levels

10/28/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
im 14, but my reading level is more into college. These are great books, and they really make greek/roman mythology really interesting! But i must admit, if your not into fantasy, you are probably not going to like this book or any of the others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Lightning Thief

Love this book

02/27/2014
By ,
Jasper, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend of the family had this book. She let me read it. I loved it from beginning to end. I couldn't wait to read the next book. I enjoyed the movie but the book is much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Illustrations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Lightning Thief

Great book for any age!

06/30/2010
By ,
Seminole, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my eight year old daughter. She loves Xena and Hercules and I knew she would like the Greek mythology in this book. I decided to read chapter one to see if it looked interesting; I couldn't put the book down! It is very interesting for any age. I highly recommend it. My daughter loves it, too! It is very well written, fast paced, and original.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Lightning Thief

Great Book

08/15/2010
By ,
Coloma, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is far better than the movie, and is a great story for 9-12 year old needed a challenge of a longer book to read. I have read the book and now my 10 year old is reading it, so I am able to help her with any questions she has. I highly recommend the entire Percy Jackson series.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Lightning Thief

great book!!!

06/12/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
when i seen the previews for the movie. i thought i would read the book before i actually seen the movie. well i couldnt put the book down it was so good. then went to see the movie...the plot in the movie was way different than the plot in the book. but the book was a good read. =)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Lightning Thief

Lightning Thief - READER

03/14/2011
By ,
MidMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fourth grader has read over 200 pages of this book during the last couple weeks. Although he prefers the 39 Clues serious for more action, I find this book a more valuable reading accomplishment.
The exposure to mythology will help to pronounce the names. But, more importantly, if you are on the AR system for reading, this book is worth 13 points. Riordan's 39 Clue book was worth several points and is what helped to choose our current title. Having seen the recent flim also helped to make the title a good current choice.
I have chose this book to let the youngster realize that even a thick book can be overcome.
He's really enjoying the book and identifies the differences between the written title and the film. The chapters about the St. Louis Arch have sparked new interest and we hope to have the last half completed in the next couple weeks.
I would not advise this title for a student who has not accumulated enough reading points to go without testing during the amount of time required to complete this title. If you're reading with your child, you'll know if this is a title for your child.
But, this is the best price I've found for new product. Scholastic also has rereleased this title with a more flashy cover. Following along with my son I can assure you each cover contains the same story word for word. Save the six bucks and buy this version.
Also consider the boxed set for more reading at better savings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Lightning Thief

I haven't received it yet

08/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is really great. My 10 year old son loved it. I ordered 3 more so the children in my home day-care could use it during our summer out-loud reading program. It has been 22 days, school starts in 7 more 'business days' and I still haven't received them. It is not Walmarts fault, the post office seems to have lost it. My advise is make sure you order books well in advance of when you need them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Lightning Thief

Best Book Series Ever!

12/18/2010
By ,
Bristol,RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was never really interested in greek mythology and all that type of stuff. When I heard about this book, I didn't know it was about mythology. After I finished the book, I loved it, and I couldn't wait to read the second book. This goes to show, that even though you maybe a girl and not be interested in greek mythology, you will still enjoy the series!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Lightning Thief

Recommended Reading!!!

07/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book thinking I wasn't going to like this, but needless to say, I thought it was so good, I wound up buying the other books in the series to continue reading. Is it better than the Harry Potter series? No. Will it appeal to those loved the Harry Potter books? Of course. Absolutely!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Lightning Thief

very imaginative

12/29/2009
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. It's very cute and imaginative. I love how it spins a new look on the medieval gods and goddess. I couldn't put it down till I was done! I think people of any age will like it. Can't wait to see the movie and read the next book (which is on it's way next week!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Lightning Thief

Absolutely Great!

11/15/2007
By ,
Canadensis,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is so good. It is filled with action, adventure, comedy and even Greek Mythology. This is the start to the series "Percy Jackson and the Olympians". Percy finds out he's demigod and goes across the country to save the world. Also, the whole series is great! Get it ASAP!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Lightning Thief

Great book - low cost

11/01/2012
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 11 year old (& 15 year old) love this series of Percy Jackson and didn't have this book so I found it here on Walmart.com. For some reason they couldn't site to store ship it but for a couple dollars more, then sent it directly to me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Lightning Thief

LIGTENING THIEF <3

01/29/2008
By ,
Norfolk Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow this book was soooooper good! You might think it seems a little weird at first, but as soon as you get into it you will love love love it! Even if you are like me and are usually not into this genre, you will still love it! A++!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Lightning Thief

easter present

04/17/2012
By ,
lock haven,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book for my nephew who is into Greek gods and things that stretch the imagination. I got it for him as an Easter gift and as soon as he opened it he started reading it. He absolutely loves this book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Lightning Thief

Amazing

01/09/2008
By ,
Lester Prairie,MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first i thought it was pretty rocky at the beginning but then i got really into it and i couldn't put the book down it is a non stop amazing adventure story if you love adventure stories you should get this book!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Lightning Thief

Excellent Read

03/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had trouble getting my Daughter to read anything other than Daisy Meadows books. I took a chance with this and she LOVED it. She can't wait to read the rest of the series.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Lightning Thief

Great book!!

04/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book at a great price. I am a librarian and the students just love this book. I got several copies for a book club!! I will read this book several times!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next