Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shooting Chrony Inc. F1 Chronograph

Shooting Chrony Inc. F1 Chronograph

The F1 Chronograph is indispensable for gun hobbyists, hunters and re-loaders. It helps measure the muzzle velocity of shotguns, arrows, airgun pellets, bullets and paintball. This FPS chronograph offers numbered shot velocities and makes a smart choice for measurements in the range of 30 - 7000 fps. It estimates the velocity with a remarkable accuracy of 99.5 percent while the chronographs is simple to use and easy to carry. Also, you can use it with a basic tripod for better results.
Average Customer Rating:
4.703 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%72 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for F1 Chronograph

not accurate

08/29/2013
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have tried as many possible remedies for the inaccuracy of the F1 as I can think of but it is consistently inaccurate. I will likely return it as it returns STDEV of 60 and above consistently and will read 9mm rounds from the same box going 1300ft/sec one day and 960 ft/sec the next. I have measured out 10ft from the bench and consistently placed the Chrony there each time, on sunny and cloudy days, hi and low diffusers and it is still all over the place. Just can't trust it. :-(
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for F1 Chronograph

F1 Chrony - A great value

10/05/2010
By ,
Southport, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must have for any serious handloader/reloader. It works as advertised. I tested factory ammunition of "known" muzzle velocities and the Chrony matched those expectations very closely, so I believe it is accurate. There is sufficient but limited functionality without the remote control switch or the printer. These two items help you tap into the advanced features that give statistics for each string of shots. The remote switch can be manufactured for under 10 bucks or you can buy one online for about $15. All I needed from my Chrony was the shot velocities which I recorded by hand and then keyed into a spreadsheet to give statistics, power factor, muzzle energy, etc. The WalMart price beat everyone else by a significant margin and the Site-to-Store shipping option (at no additional cost) worked perfectly (except my package arrived several days SOONER than promised). I would recommend both the Chrony and Walmart Online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for F1 Chronograph

Essential & Accurate

06/15/2014
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like a CHARM! It is a very precise instrument. Read and follow directions to the letter regarding tripod, tape-marking, muzzle distance and trajectory-height above the sensors. The shooting "window" is very small and requires careful aiming. I used a "maintenance-box" like a Lead-Sled for total bench-rest lockdown stability, sighted down the barrel, NOT the scope, and had no problems. Using info and reviews provided here and elsewhere, I built a remote switch from Radio Shack parts and it works just GREAT! The Chrony will do-all-the-math FOR you! Essential for re-loaders, your weapon's performance, or just checking factory consistency.
I was able to Chrony .22lr, centerfire, even air-rifle pellets with no problem. Pay attention to where you are aiming... Check-check-check BEFORE each shot... Diffusers, YES on sunny day, and diffusers no with clouds, either-way worked fine. Walmart's delivery and service were right on the mark. Thanks Chrony! .... Thanks Walmart!
If you're serious about your ammunition, getcha one of these!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for F1 Chronograph

excellent product, best price on the internet

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product, best price on the internet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for F1 Chronograph

good product

04/02/2009
By ,
Las Vegas NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup, reliable. Had two 9mm rounds hit the diffuser support rods and the unit still works well. The diffuser isn't necessary outdoors as far as I can tell, however putting pieces of masking tape at the recommended 4-6" above the sensors does give an aiming point.
It worked well with .22, .380. 9mm and 7mm remmington magnum. A piece of 1/4" steel plate isn't a bad idea to protect the front of the unit from errant shots as there should be at least 10' from the shooter to the unit for pistols and 20' for overbore rifles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for F1 Chronograph

great compact Chrono

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took this to the range and it is great. Records consistent velocities so I bought one for my brother for his birthday. I mounted it on a camera tripod. I like to take only one range bag to the range and it fits nicely in my midway usa competition range bag side pockets. One problem I had was the chrono was reading error every so often. I didn't realize it until the end of the day but the chrono was picking up muzzle blast from to guy shooting next to me. So I had to time when I was going to shoot and write down my velocities. I would suggest NOT shooting next to someone. other than that It's a great Chrono
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for F1 Chronograph

Excellent product

06/21/2009
By ,
Houghton, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The F1 Chrono works as advertised - we have tested everything from Nerf darts to paintball guns to pellet rifles to real rifles, and the F1 has rarely failed to give a reading. I took away a star because of the sun filter - the plastic parts that connect the wire guides for use in direct sunlight. They are difficult to connect, and routinely fly apart with any movement of the F1. Once we put those away, the F1 worked very well - even in direct sunlight. To try to confirm accuracy, paintball guns were measured at the local field, and matched our readings, and ballistics charts confirmed our findings for .17Mach2 and .270Win - excellent product and price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for F1 Chronograph

works great

12/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up and use. Appears to give accurate results (consistent with system at a pro shop). diffusers may be a little flimsy, but it does not really matter. Does exactly what I wanted it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for F1 Chronograph

Great product good price

01/10/2010
By ,
mid Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for a good price, only trouble is finding a Wal-Mart that still handles guns and shooting supplies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for F1 Chronograph

F1 Chrony - checking your reloads

09/09/2012
By ,
Grand Forks, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Chrony F1 is a very good chronograph for shooting at a good price. Yes there are better ones out there but I am pleased with this unit. When I setup the unit I was at least 10 feet from the barrel so that you will not get errors because of the muzzle blast. It gave me readings on 98% of my shots, meaning I only had 2 error codes (over 100 shots through the Chrony). I shot 22LR, 375 Win, 308 Win and 338 Win mag through the unit. When getting this unit, I would recommend getting a tripod and a remote (additional cost of $20 to $25). If you can get the F1 and remote together would be the best, if unable to get the comb then you can buy or make a remote. I did not have a remote button with me to check all the functions but it worked very well. I reload cartridges and needed to see how close they were. On my 338 Win Mag I only had a difference of 75 feet per second difference on a total of 10 shot on one string.
For the remote I got this information from other people on the web: You will need to buy or make a push button device to access the computer in the unit. You can get the remote control button through the chrony website. The remote allow you to "access" all the cool features like Hi, Lo, Average Dev, Standard Dev, extreme spread, etc. To build a remote you will need a 3 pole stereo 1/8 headphone jack plug. Even though only 2 connections are used a 2 pole jack WILL NOT work!!! Trust me on this as I had to go back and exchange parts. On a 1/8 inch stereo headphone jack there are three poles - the tip, the middle, and the "base". Even though it is a two pole connection, the Chrony uses the middle and base connections on the plug. All you need to do is solder a length of speaker wire to the above mentioned poles of the plug and put a momentary contact switch at the other end! Please note that the "tip" connection on the jack's plug is NOT used. I'm hoping that sharing this information will help you. Have fun shooting..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wyoming
Magnum's Momentary Switch is Correct!
Posted 06/10/2014
Built mine from Radio Shack parts:
#275-0609 2-pack momentary switch(es) - non-click $3.99
#420-2493 16-foot HD headphone extension cable 3-pole male + female $9.89
Cut off female plug, use red wire and non-insulated silver wire (check to be sure. Insert
male plug into Chrony and touch wires - digital menu should readout!)
Used large end of old ball point pen as a "handle" (thread wires thru pen before
soldering.) Solder those wires to 2-pole momentary switch. Black electrical tape
for securing the unit. 16-foot allows plenty of distance for large caliber guns.
You Tube vids also show this procedure.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for F1 Chronograph

Does the job!

01/22/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Chrony F1 is the centerpiece of an expandable system, and it answers my decades old desire to obtain real data on ballistic speeds rather than trusting entirely on published data as an estimate, when I could find it. The F1 can be used both with arrows and bullets, and it is rated to measure speeds from 32-7,000 fps.
The chronograph optically detects the passing missile. It seems consistent as long as there is good diffused light above the missile (using the included translucent strips or an overcast sky). If lighting is weak or uneven, the device may err, as is expected in unsuitable conditions. Tilting the F1 somewhat toward the sun, if using it outside, can solve uneven lighting if any problem arises.
This product has worked well for me, with no frustration and few failures to measure. Accuracy is apparent in that table data usually agrees fairly well with measured values. The price for the F1 was reasonable, the package is nicely compact, and use is as easy as opening, setting on a tripod between shooting station and target, attaching diffusers, turning it on, shooting, and recording measurements. With only the addition of a 9v battery and a tripod, it is ready to go in outdoor daylight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for F1 Chronograph

Does its job very well.

03/01/2014
By ,
Corona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does exactly what it's supposed to do, exactly the way it's supposed to do it.
After thoroughly reading the instructions and tips on how to properly use it, the performance has been outstanding. It's a very valuable tool that I wish I would have had years ago.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for F1 Chronograph

Good Deal for the Price

11/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
- Price
- Folds to small size box
- Simple and effective operation.
Cons:
- The metal frame and plastic diffusers break down into smaller pieces for storage in the folded unit. Horrible design. When you get the unit and diffusers assembled, they like to spontaneously explode into seven different sub-parts. Solution: Go to home depot and get some aluminum road for $2.50. Cut into 18" solid pieces. Hot glue the diffuser together. It then works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for F1 Chronograph

F-1 chrony

12/31/2010
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product if you have an air gun, it will let you know the performance and the condition of the power plant of the air gun, the only complaint I have with it is you have to buy or make a remote to be able to access all the functions (lo-hi-av-es-sd ) buy it you wont regret it. this is the best price I could find it anywhere and only 00.97 shipping, Fed-x delivered it to my house in about 3 days, now you can't beet that....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for F1 Chronograph

Glad i bought one

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it ! should have bought one along time ago. They open up a whole new experience in the world of archery or shooting what ever you like
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for F1 Chronograph

F1 Chronograph

03/30/2014
By ,
Goodyear, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I have only used it twice, it work exactly as I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for F1 Chronograph

Very good accuracy

06/05/2008
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great buy for the price. I was using an old fashioned ballistic pendulum, which, when checked against my friend’s expensive chronograph, showed a 10% error. I checked my new cheaper priced Chrony that I bough from Wal-Mart against my pendulum and it proved the same 10% error. This proves it’s accuracy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for F1 Chronograph

F1 Chronograph

04/23/2011
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received it in two days (much faster then expected) shipped to store and took it out to the range on the following weekend. It worked as it supposed to every time and the LCD can be read easily even with those old eyes of mine from 10' away.
You got to have one of these if you reload your ammos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for F1 Chronograph

Good Chronograph

07/29/2012
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The F1 works great, easy to set up and use. Great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for F1 Chronograph

Works well.

02/26/2014
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just be sure to follow the directions for setup and operation and it will work great.
THIS one is a replacement for one that "fell off a cliff" when I loaned it out, according to the "no longer" hunting friend, (personally I think he ran over it with his truck!)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next