Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Mr. Heater Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

The Big Buddy heater combines radiant heat comfort with convection heat airflow for maximum heating efficiency. The propane gas system heats up to 400 square feet of space for up to 220 hours. Use this Mr. Heater unit to evenly heat small to medium-sized rooms, dorms, apartments and offices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.694 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%34 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Very good heater but you need accessories

02/07/2011
By ,
Gloucester, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked great right out of the box and puts out a lot of heat. Out of the box means with 1 lb camping propane cylinders (and 4 D batteries for the fan, although you can operate it without the fan/batteries) - so stock up!
For most applications YOU WILL NEED TO BUY ACCESSORIES separately so that you can fuel the heater from a 20 lb propane tank (your gas grill). For this you need a 12 foot hose that comes with required fittings and a fuel fliter that fits between the hose and the heater.
I use it in the garage and for the first 30 min it smelled bad (but not like gas) - I think that was paint/ protective coatings "burning in".
All in all a good heater, but not cheap when you figure in cost of accessories. Also, the safety design of the igniter is good (like my gas oven), but I worry about longevity - owner of my local gas grill store said he stopped carrrying these heaters because igniter is not a replaceable part- advised me to cover/protect the heater from dust when not in use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sierra Co., N.M.
She's a stout work horse, don't worry
Posted 10/15/2011
I have two that I spot heat the house with here in the desert southwest. One I've had since 2006 and have experienced zero problems with the igniter. I have noticed that if you hold them down, in the "pilot" mode for a couple seconds and then click the igniter, it takes less attempts. As for covering them up, I have NEVER covered them but will use compressed air to blow the dust out of them before the heating season and burn them outside for about 20 minutes to burn the dust out of them. Also, I refuse to pay $2.68+ for the small cylinders all the time so I buy about 10 of them, which can be reused for a couple years, and refill them with a MacCoupler from my twenty pound tank...real simple if you follow the directions. I have the hose and filter that I use during Elk season in my outfitters tent and find that it works well for temps. down to 0 degrees. Especially good on those cold mornings when you don't want to get out of bed to stoke the wood stove...click, click and the tent is warm to get out of the sleeping bag for the morning hunt. Without turning my furnace on at the house, I experience a savings of about half of what natural gas would cost, even with both of them running. Super product in my humble opinion...can't go wrong for the money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

excellant portable heat

12/06/2008
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this space heater indoors and out for emergency heat and for camping. No smell when using it, it's very quiet and heats quickly with no fuss and anyone can use it safely. It heated a 6 man tent in 20 F weather to a nice a toasty 55 + degrees and ran 36 hours straight on highest setting (using a 20 lb. bottle) without a problem. It's easily the best little space heater I've ever owned. Using the 1 lb. bottles gives you the best portable heat I've seen on the market and a 1 lb. bottle on highest setting lasts about 1 1/2 hrs. and up to 6 hr.s on low setting. 2 bottles of course doubles the use time. Great emergency heat for a medium sized room and will keep you cozy while you wait for the power to come back on.
Only negative I can think of is it does not come with the AC adapter and my local store could not order it for me. But the 4 D cells needed to run the little fan lasted 12 hours. As much heat as this little baby throws it really doesn't need a fan.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

BIG BUDDY a good investment

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i am familiar with the buddy heater products. i finally decided to buy the larger --2 panel-- BIG BUDDY for an emergency back-up heater during the upcoming winter months. the smaller ones are ok-- but the BIG BUDDY has a larger capacity to put out lots more heat quickly plus it has a blower [ battery powered OR electric powered with an adapter -not included!] i bought it for $123.98 early Nov. 2014-- then it was reduced to $119.00 mid Nov. 2014 and Walmart credited me the difference -- today i see it is now $136.95. the price changes a lot..and now in season so more costly-- but still cheaper at Walmart.com than many other places,...shop around!! as to use-- IT IS EASY! to use-- just attach 1 or 2 one pound disposable propane tanks-- one to three clicks on the piezo lighter button-- hold it 2-5 seconds to heat the thermocoupler then set to low-medium or high heat and sit back and enjoy INSTANT heat. the blower isn't necessary but ok if you want to eat batteries fast. SO without electric power and the 6 volt transformer [optional purchase] you can get and keep warm as long as you are stocked with propane tanks. BEWARE! this heater puts out some serious HEAT from the front grill-- stay back-- keep kids-pets-flammable items at least 3 feet away or you could have a burn or a FIRE! i raised the temp in a 12 x 12 room from 72 to 83 degrees in less than 30 minutes while testing it just on the medium setting. i'm happy! info here says safe to use inside-- box says not for use inside--i'll use my own judgement as i know how to handle propane items---so DO NOT GO TO SLEEP WITH THIS BURNING INSIDE your home or bedroom!! as any flame consumes the oxygen YOU need-- but with safe use and ventilation i'll use it inside while AWAKE and monitoring its use. ENJOY!!!! ps: new model has two holes on the back so it could be wall mounted-- but BEWARE--heat rises and could burn your ceiling or ceiling tiles quickly.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

AWESOME HEATER....

08/06/2012
By ,
S. California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for our camping trips, as it gets cold at high altitudes at night time.
My family always complains about the cold nights and mornings, so I did some research and read lengthy user reviews for the Mr. Heater and for the Coleman heaters. Since our tent is a 10 person tent and the small Coleman would have not done the job unless we were to sleep in front of the heater. So I decided on the Big Buddy because of reviews, the forced air option, the option to attach this to a 20 lb tank, but mainly for the security options of automatic shutoff if it should tip over/fall and the low CO sensor shutoff.
We've tried this indoors and boy you can sure feel the heat coming out of this..
Easy to operate, and I feel that this was a sound investment as this can be used in case of any emergency and not just for camping.
Only issue is this machine is a bit bulky somehow it looked smaller in videos and pictures.
Very happy with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

A good product for a good price

02/01/2011
By ,
Lake Marion, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater has kept my home comfortable. I use it as a alternate heat during the day to keep the home at a temperature I LIKE. The weather has been brutal for us in the southeast. A 20lb tank of propane will last about 70 hours on medium.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

nice heater

10/14/2009
By ,
Northwest, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hunt out west where the temps at night get down in the low 20's. I have a 10 x 15 foot tent and about 7 foot tall and this heater kept the tent at around 65 degrees. doesn't use too much propane either. a must have is the extension hose to hook to a 20 lb propane bottle. one night it was in the low 40's and we actually got too hot, had to turn it down. a must have if you hunt or camp in cold weather.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Great heater for the money

10/15/2007
By ,
upstate N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Buddy Heater is an excellent heater for the money. It is very easy to light, efficent, and versatile. This heater makes a great back up heat source if the power goes out in the winter. It also
burns very clean with no apparent ordor. I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

the best i found

12/08/2009
By ,
redding.ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the buddy heater is the best heater you will find out there.I live in a small travel trailer and have used tis heater for over 2 years and it has worked great even in sub freezing temps our trailer has remained cozy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Outdoor Heaven

10/31/2007
By ,
Ellenwood, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for Hunting & Camping.
I received the unit just one day before departing on
a camping trip and didn’t have the opportunity to test
it at home. While in the field the heater was placed
in-service inside a 20 by 17 foot tent. It proved to be
more than enough for that size area even at a low setting.
As a consumer I would of liked, if the manufacturer would
Have included the 20ft propane extension hose and the 6 volt
AC adapter along with the total price of the Heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

WOW!!!!!

01/01/2011
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift from my hubby. Purchased it and took it directly to our vol. fire meeting. The heat was out there and it was in the teens that evening. So we took it in and heated a large room approx 25x30 to a very comfortabe temp. We had to turn it down it got so warm. Very worth paying full price for. Even if I did not. The little buddy works well in my Dad's tent. This is the spark that made us search out this product. We decided on the bigger model since our tent is larger and for emergency uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Great Heater for nights when the power is out

08/09/2014
By ,
Pisgah Forest,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Mr. Buddy heater for years now. It is especially good for the winter when the power is out and you need a backup source of heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

A VERY GOOD PRODUCT

11/22/2008
By ,
ALEXANDRIA, VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I ruled out it's little brother. It puts out a good amount of heat for it's size. It has a lot of safty controlls which are very important when you use it indoors. You will smell propane when you start it but that goes away after it runs for a time. The fan on mine is a little loud but it verys on each unit. It will come in handy if I lose power in the winter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Big Buddy Propane Heater

12/27/2010
By ,
Philly Suburbs, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great heater. We now have two of them. It burns the small canisters of propane, and it has a fan the blows the heat. During the winter storms we used this inside the house and we often use them in the garage. The heater is safe, really warms up a room, and cost effective. It looks good, easy to move, and doesn't smell. It is a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Big Buddy

12/22/2009
By ,
Home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Straight out of the box worked fantastic. Absolutely no problems. Works great with little bottles or my 20# tank. Keeps a medium size room with no other heat source as high as 80 degrees if I leave it on. One hour on and one hour off on low keeps the room at about 70 for eight to ten hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800
07/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was bought to take the chill out of those cold nights in the tent when camping with kids- it has done that job really well. I will also use this product in the winter for a basement room that get quite cold although I do not know how good it will be for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Totally recommended!

02/14/2011
By ,
Mountain House, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We originally bought this to heat our tent trailer during the colder mornings and months while camping. We haven't tried it out for camping purposes yet (we will in May), but we have used it in our double car garage to keep our pets warm on the cold nights and it works out fabulous. Way more warmth that expected! I would totally recommend this to my fellow campers and for those needing a space heater for other purposes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Heater is a great value for the price

09/17/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only used one time but it seems to be great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

GREAT HEATER!!!!!!

01/09/2011
By ,
NORTH CAROLINA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great heater...It works great...puts ot a lot of heat and is very safe.....and the price is great too...I looked at this same heater others places and you cant get a better price anywhere....Buy one and you will love it too!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800
12/07/2008
By ,
anaheim
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great, I didnt know it was so cold outside till the propane ran out. on low this heater was amzing at heating a large tent in low 40 degree temps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr Heater Big Buddy Portable Heater Liquid Propane Dual-Heating System, F274800

Excellent and versatile heating source

11/28/2011
By ,
Port Hueneme, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the big buddy heater for use while tent camping. I got mine through Walmart so I could use my Walmart card, but you can find it a few dollars cheaper if you search around. It was more convenient for me though. I used it this past weekend while camping via tent in San Diego. The temp got down to low 40s and kept us comfortable on the low setting. The high setting works awesome but also burns gas three times faster. I also purchased an optional hose and filter to hook it up to larger propane tanks for longer burn times otherwise one should expect to change the small propane bottles in the middle of the night. Full bottles will last all night on low and can be swapped when morning comes. Overall quality and functionality is excellent. Safety features are also a great feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next