Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

North States North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

The North States Extra Wide Swing Gate is designed to keep toddlers and babies safely within your site. The North States extra wide baby gate is made from deluxe wood making it sturdy and durable. This wooden swing gate expands to fit extra-wide openings from 57" - 103" wide and measures 27" high. It has a childproof latch that features easy one-hand operation, especially when youve got your hands full. This wooden swing gate can be easily removed from hardware mount when not in use. The gate is suitable for children from 6 to 24 months. The extra wide gate is great for pets too.
Average Customer Rating:
3.887 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(626 Reviews) 525
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
244
4 stars
211
3 stars
79
2 stars
40
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation81%506 out of 623reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 277 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
244
4 stars
211
3 stars
79
2 stars
40
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

this is a great gate!

12/12/2012
By ,
Elizabethtown KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gate!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Sturdy product, good value.

10/19/2013
By ,
Vienna, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second gate, the first one lasted 5 years in a pretty harsh outdoor environment. It is not easy to find these extra wide wooden gates, especially for a reasonable price. I use them specifically to block off the deck stairs so my two rambunctious dogs cannot get off the deck and get into trouble. I do not attach the gate to the deck posts, I simply bungee cord it in place and step over it as needed (it is 3 ft tall). The previous gate withstood rain, snow, sun & humidity for 5 years without any problem. It just recently rotted in one place and broke at the bottom and needed to be replaced. For the price, you can't beat it. And the wood weathered the same color as my deck so it looked great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Serves it's purpose

02/15/2009
By ,
College Station, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps the little ones out of the kitchen - just like I wanted. Easy set-up, takes just a few minutes. I noticed that some of the other reviewers had mentioned that the latch that opens the gate is difficult to open. I personally just step over the gate, since it is short enough to do so easily, because I agree the latch is a little annoying. But I really do enjoy having this gate. It was reasonably priced, and fits nicely in the 8 ft. space I needed it for. The kids are no longer opening the oven, climbing on the kitchen table and all other nonsense they were into in the kitchen before. I have outsmarted them, for now anyway!! Pictures of the gate set-up in my home are attached to this review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Perfect for the price

10/24/2009
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to go buy longer eye bolts but otherwise this gate is great my 9month old son loves to hold on and bounce it or shake it and it holds strong. Could have been a little more sturdy but at half the price of any other gate this size i cannot argue.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Just what I needed

08/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a new deck put on my house and wanted to block the doorway so my dog could be out there with me. The entrance was about 75" and wide gates are hard to come by. This was perfect and easy to install. The price wasn't too bad considering the other gates out there. It's plain unfinished wood, but fairly well made and definitely can be stained or painted.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Great for wide openings!

11/16/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleased that it covered the huge gap connecting our living room to the kitchen. However, I didn't realize that it swings at the joint attached to the wall- not midway. It is very stable though, my 8 month old climbs onto the gate and it holds his weight and him rocking back and forth on it! So overall, for the price and the length, I would recommend this, and I am glad that we purchased it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Super product in every aspect

07/11/2008
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So you know what you're getting: This "gate" is the same as the inexpensive wood, slatted gates that you can get in the store for about $25, just a LOT longer! The wood is unfinished but you could spray a light coat of stain or paint on if you wanted (too thick would hinder the expansion.)
So far, it's durable way beyond my expectations. I'm in and out of the living room all day. We had our 11 yr, 9 yr and 3 yr old nieces and nephew here for a week going in and out of the living area non-stop - they're not gentle - and it's held up great. The latch lock is strong and there's no way my little one will figure out how to open it for years to come. The 3-yr old could see how WE were doing it, but she couldn't do it herself. My daughter is 10-months old and stands and holds the "baby jail" slats and shakes it endlessly sometimes and no problems yet. She may be small but she's not gentle with it at all!
I have attached a picture so you can see what I'm describing. The ONLY thing I found to be a problem is the wall screws. They're for screwing into studs, not drywall, and drywall anchors won't help you. One end we mounted and screwed directly into a shallow stud in the wall perfectly. The other end, my husband screwed a piece of vertical wood trim onto the wall with long screws, deep enough to hit a stud, and then mounted the gate hardware to the trim piece with the hardware provided. It's actually better this way because we're not banging the wall when we open and close the gate, just the piece of trim. When we finally remove the gate, a bit of nail hole filler will cover the holes, as opposed to probably having to repaint that portion of the wall.
We'll be buying the same gate to install at my Mom's house.
Definitely durable. Definitely worth the very small cost. This span is hard enough to find as it is, and others are a minimum of four times the cost of this one. It's a great buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Great Product

06/17/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this gate after many failed attempts at finding a large enough gate to fit the space between my kitchen and my livingroom. It ended up being TOO big. but since it bends and frolds I was able to manuver it around corners and sides until it fit the space I needed it to fit. I am so happy with this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Just what I needed

03/31/2009
By ,
Lexington, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a gate for an oversized door opening to keep my small dogs out of the sun room as well as a two year old away from the door she's learned to open by herself. This gate was just what I needed as it accomplished both needs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

The baby jail

09/08/2007
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two large doorways to a now playroom and this was the only gate we could find to fit the width of the doors. They are very durable as the two 11 month olds pull on them constantly. It keeps them in the room safe, when we cannot be watching their every move. A little more money than I wantd to spend but I had no other choice and they do look nicer than the plastic ones.
It is sometimes hard to open...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Perfect!

03/21/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed this gate between my backyard and driveway so my dog would not get out of the yard. It was the only gate that extended enough for the area. I loosely tied it to the fence post so there would be enough "swing" and it works perfectly!!!!!!!!!! The end near the stairs is just free-standing and stays in place without any type of anchor.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Not the greatest....But works for now.

08/28/2009
By ,
League City, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 13 month old can shake the heck out of this gate and it's not fully extended. I'm concerned that it won't hold her off very long. We use it to keep her from going into our office area & up the stairs. I also don't like how the latches are...needs to be easier to do one handed. It serves the purpose but I don't think I would recommend.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

A Life Saver

09/09/2007
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for blocking off extra wide door ways. Wouldnt be able to keep my toddler out of the kitchen without it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Great Product

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two destructive toddlers running around my house. One just turned 3yrs old, the other is 17mos old. I needed a gate that could keep them out of the kitchen and back area of my home. Had a simple plastic one in the hallway blocking off the bedrooms... they knock it down (and caused holes in the wall). So, I needed something long enough to fit between the living room and kitchen (to keep them out of there too) and that they couldn't tear down. Found it!! I've only had it a couple weeks, and the 3yr old has figured out how to unlatch it (too smart for his own good), but it slows him down enough that I can catch him before he gets thru. It's easy for me to unlatch, but requires more pressure than he's capable of in one try. And because it's mounted to the walls rather than just pinned between them, they can't knock it down either. They've tried. lol
Needless to say, I'm loving this gate. Best one ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

great product for the money.

01/08/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a gate for a 8 foot gap in between my kitchen and living room for my dogs and eventually for my baby (due in May). All the other gates for a wide opening are over $100. I wanted something reasonable but not cheaply made. Putting this gate together was so easy, just a few screws and putting the eye hooks in the wall was easy as well. I like how you can open the gate from both sides and it swings from side to side as well. I am a little worried about when my son gets old enough to hold onto it and shake it that maybe the hooks that you screw into the wall will come loose or come out. Some other people had said that theirs had come out. If that does happen (and that is not for at least a year or so) then I will just get longer hooks or have my husband figure something out to make it work! Overall, for the money, it is a great deal and site to store is AMAZING! No shipping costs is excellent! Now my dogs stay out of the kitchen when there is food around! Thanks Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

A Life Saver...

03/24/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an 18 month old toddler, who is very busy. There aren't a lot of long gates that allow for constant traffic. Plus this is durable. The only down fall was that it was not as easy to install as they claimed. We had to drill. It not that drilling is hard, it's just not what I expected from this product. And you do have to get used to opening and closing the gate once you install it. The instructions are simple and there are only a few steps. That was a plus. It is not hard to open and close, but there is a trick to it. I can do it with one hand while holding my newborn. We didn't think it would be so easy! I JUST SAY THAT YOU TRY THIS GATE FOR A WEEK AND I AM SURE THAT YOU WILL LIKE IT. And it swings from either end and in either direction.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Perfect for the price

03/11/2009
By ,
Mundelein IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product about 4 months ago when my daughter was starting to crawl and for my new pup. I wanted to keep her out of the dog's room and the dog in his room. The price was great, especially when compared to other similar products. When putting it together, my husband complained how cheap it was, but what can you expect for the price. Once installed, it worked just fine. The only problem was that our pup fit right through the bars as they are spaced too far apart. We fixed that problem by buying a roll of mosquito net and stapling it to cover the spaces. After completing it to our needs, it has worked great. It serves it's purpose and is extremely easy to open. I can open it with one hand and even my 4 year old daughter was able to open and close it. Even though the gate overall is a little flimsy it worked great for us. Not sure if it would be strong enough to hold in a large dog, but it keeps my teddy bear pup in. Great product, at least for kids and small dogs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Good value

03/30/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the only gate we could find to fit our 8 foot wide opening that did not cost a fortune and/or require the purchase of numerous extension parts. The opening and closing mechanism is not the easiest to use because you have to line up the bottom hook first, but will be difficult for the baby to figure out. It is also not as tall as some, but we have it up one step, so that should be fine and it is easier to step over when I am too lazy to use the latch. We are considering purchasing another because our other (different style) gate did not fit well for our 5 foot opening where we have to attach to the stair railing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

good value

04/13/2009
By ,
GREEN BAY, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i almost didnt get this because of others complaints that it was flimsy. well u just have to use anchors or drill it into the studs. i have 2 boys that like to shake it & it has been holding up rather well. great value & it saved me over $60. with twins that helps alot. dont hesitate to get this if it doesnt work for u , u can always bring it back to the store
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - Extra-Wide Wooden Swing Gate

Priceless

07/23/2012
By ,
Rapid City, SD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate to go across my 74" opening from my living room into my kitchen, and I don't regret a penny of this purchase. I have a 3 1/2 year old, a 10 month old, and I babysit a 2 year old, all three of these girls have stood on this gate and shaken it like it's the most amazing thing in the world. The gate is a little bent and the hardware is a little bent but it still holds up and prevents the girls from getting where they shouldn't be. My husband installed it in about 20 minutes and it only required 4 small hole into 2 walls. We also went out and bought 2 more eyelet hooks and put those on another wall so now the gate latches across 2 different entrances rather then one, very versatile. The gate is also moderately nice looking for be such a long gate. As far as other reviews I read about walking through it, there is more then enough room for me to walk though with 1 child on my hip and the other walking by side. When the gate isn't being used I just unlatch it and lean it up against the wall in my hallway. I would definately recommend this gate to anyone that needs a very wide gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 526 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next