Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Conair Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Conair Conair Compact Garment Steamer

This portable fabric steamer has a 1200 watt heater for professional high velocity steamer. Efficient 20 minutes of steam with no ironing board to set up and fewer dry cleaning bills. Smoothes, de-wrinkle and freshen clothes, linens and curtains. Conair Compact Fabric Steamer, MODEL #GS5RWR
Average Customer Rating:
4.329 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation88%64 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Works great!

09/09/2007
By ,
Ononta ,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This steamer is a great value and it works with out leaking and burning like some outhers!
PS-I love ship to store!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

product exceeded expectations!

04/14/2008
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! What a great little steamer! I've used professional steamers and this one works just as well as the professional models. I was really impressed. A good hearty 20+ minutes of steam with a quick 5 min heat up. The hose does get hot, and it will take a few uses to get the hang of it without burning yourself, but once you've figured out the best way for you, you'll probably not be using your old iron and board again. I acutally bought this to use the morning of my wedding for last minute touch ups, but I see I'll be using it regularly. Very easy to use! 5 stars and 2 thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Just as it Claims

08/15/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's portable, heats up in less than 5 minutes, steams for a full 20 minutes and you can steam anything from clothing, drapes and even furniture.
There was previously mentioned concern of the bubbling sounds coming from the unit. This happens when the hose is allowed to hand down lower than the unit. Per instructions you just have to raise the nozzel until the bubbling stops.
Also it was mentioned that the unit stops for no reason. Maybe the user put the handle back on the unit where the shut off switch is.
This is very easy to use and well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

pretty good steamer

01/11/2008
By ,
Bismarck, ND
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this steamer, it heats up within 5 minutes and it does the job. It was a good price and the more you use it the better you get at it. Just be careful because the steam is very hot!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Much faster than ironing

12/22/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this steamer to straigthen all my crumpled shirts from the dryer. Ironing me took at least 10 minutes per shirt. With this steamer, I can straigthen a shirt in less than 5 min. This is 2x faster than my ironing speed. Since the shirt is already on the hanger when I steam it, it saves a little more time than transfering an ironed shirt from the ironing board to a hanger.
Product hose is rather stiff when cold, but soften when the steam is passing thru' it.
The thermostat tends to cut off the steam flow when it cycles into the off condition. This makes me rate my expectation 4 out of 5 stars.
The over the door hook is good for storage after use without the awkward long pole of more expensive steamers. However, you need a door stop to prevent the door swinging towards you while you pull on the fabric during steaming.
For its price of $30, it has paid for itself in terms of time saved. I will never go back to ironing boards for shirts and pants. But a steamer can't do collars as well as an ironing board- hopefully no one will notice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

GREAT PRODUCT!

04/13/2009
By ,
Lake Placid, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is awesome for the price. I followed enclosed instructions, and was able to comfortably iron enough clothing in the 20 minutes that steam is available. I would love this product to give more than 20 minutes for this price, since I could do a lot more clothing. The steam comes out great! I did not have any problems with it, nor burned myself at any time. As long as you keep it on the floor and use the steamer hose high, it does not have any problems. It says that you have to steam from bottom up, but I found that doing it slanted, from side to side, was the best way possible! It steamed all kinds of fabrics & wrinkles disappeared like magic. I just placed it on the door hanger until the steam was coming strong, and voila! I love my steamer-best one I ever got!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

great product for price

10/12/2009
By ,
Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really do love this \product. I had to return one because the hose wouldn't come off. It's like the nozzle stuck. Maybe I twisted it on wrong. I actually sprained my wrist trying to get it off. I really did love it though. I never used an iron after I purchased this product. Start at the top and go to the bottom inside the garment works best. Of course we should all know to watch the hot steam. Walmarts refunded my money with a receipt after five months. I believe I will buy another one and hope it doesn"t stick. I will also be careful about twisting the nozzel on. Hope this is helpful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

very nice

03/28/2008
By ,
OR coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had seen a commercial for a garment steamer on tv and thought it was a great idea but I didn't want to pay $200 for one. I picked this up in store after I read all the other reviews and thought I would try it out. It works great! It heats up fast and did exactly what I needed it to. I took a little bit to get used to it, the only problem I had with water spotting was holding it too close to the fabric for long stretches, if you let it breathe every once in awhile it doesn't "spit" water on your clothes. This is a great product and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

NOT effective

01/31/2009
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The simple fact is that the steam barely willows out of the nozzle. There is no force or pressure behind it. Therefore, this product doesn't remove any wrinkles...it just sort of gives your shirts a pleasant facial.
You would get the exact same result if you boiled water in a tea kettle and held the spout up to your clothes. Actually, that might work better.
(To test that I wasn't being overly critical, I steamed half of three shirts and asked my husband to tell me which halves were the smooth ones. He had no bloody clue which was which.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

A great little steamer!

05/02/2009
By ,
Cranford NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect no frills steamer. It does what it claims, it's easy to use, it warms up quickly. I used to iron my clothes and now I rarely use an iron. I have had one for about 3 years. I'm on my second one, the first one lasted about a year and half. I would def recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Does "OK", won't replace iron for regular clothes

12/09/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's not going to replace an iron. But great for delicates or if you're like me you always want to iron everything on HIGH and end up burning a shirt or something.
Thick material is hopeless. Jeans, not vey good. Sweaters "OK", dress shirts, good (not great).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer
11/08/2009
By ,
Jersey City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a good value steamer. it really work well. If there is 1 negative featue I have to say:
I wish there was a switfch at the top of the hose.
Othere than that, it is perfect so far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Worked Well For The Buck

06/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had no problems, instantly took care of the wrinkles on my clothes. Would definitely recommend to someone that needs some simple wrinkle steaming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

sweet steamer

04/04/2008
By ,
Buford GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is excellent for the money, easy to use, and it
takes wrinkles out of clothing very well. I am sure
it would work on curtains also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

LOVE IT!!!

08/10/2008
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does everthing I wanted it to do. Couldn't be happier. I had bought a similar priced product from HSN, it did not work well, had to use it straight upright or it would spit water all over the place. This great little gadget allows me to steam bedding, drapes and YES clothing without much effort. I have been hunting the internet looking for reviews and a steamer at a price I was willing to pay. I was almost afraid to buy this because you usually get what you pay for. Boy was I surprised. This beats all my expectations. Who knew what I have been hunting for these many months was right down the street at my local Wal*Mart. There is one negarive if you put the hose on the wrong way it is a bugger to get back off. But that is the only negative...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

wrinkled mess

03/01/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product because I never owned a garment steamer. The reviews on this were very good. The instructions we easy enough as soon as the machine started steaming I started using it on a cotton dress shirt(men's). I had to go over the shirt many times and it still didn't look as good as my T-fal steam iron. Don't waste your time and money on this unless you don't mind a wrinkled product. The hose is too short as well. Buy a T-fal iron from steam iron from wal-mart they are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Good Value

08/19/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What can I say about the Conair Compact Garment Steamer?. Well, I must say that the price of only $31.74 especially with FREE SITE TO STORE is a value in itself. Next I would have to say its ease of use and portability is good, as well it will provide steam for a good 20- 25 minutes per use, after about a 5-10 minute warm up period. The only down side I see is that I wish the power behind the steam was stronger. *If you have ever seen any of those infomercials where they can steam through pillows with certain steamers on tv-WELL THIS ONE DOES NOT-to my disappoinment on a certain level. ***Over all, I consider this product worth its money/use***
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Conair Steamer

11/14/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think that this product is great but it takes 10 minutes to warm up. So it is not one of those quick fixes to getting your clothes steamed in a hurry. In fact it takes me just as long or longer to steam my clothes (due to wait time and prep time) as it would to iron them.
I don't want to bash it though. If I was to rate the product without comparing it to your average iron, I would give it a 9 out of 10 for performance. I am taking off the one percent because I am still having a little trouble putting nice lines in the clothing. That is more of a user error though on my part.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Great for everything, but coats

02/06/2009
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first I was a little disappointed with the steamer - I thought it would be able to take the fur off a wool coat - it didn't and I was ready to return it. However, I tried it on my couches (suede and cotton) and it worked wonders on pet fur. The lint remover attachment is also very helpful. I could have spent additional $$ to buy a model with the hanger attachement, however this model provides an over the door hook, which works just as well. It is a lifesaver and is reducing the time I used to spend pulling hair off the couch with a lint brush and does a much better job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Conair Compact Garment Steamer

Awesome Product!

01/26/2009
By ,
Plano, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has saved so much of my time when it comes to laundry! I have been able to steam a weeks worth of ironing in about 20 minutes when with an iron it would normally take me about 2 hours. I love the fact that I can steam all my items that say dry-clean only and they come out fresh and clean. I have even been able to steam my pillow top mattress, which the steam fluffed it up! Best $31 I have spent in a very long time. It is a bit tricky at first but once you get the hang of keeping your hands out of the way of the steam you’ll love this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next