Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

For perfect air quality, just add water. Ideal for use at home or in the office, the WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan not only cools the air, but filters, conditions and circulates it. Features a 3-speed motor in a lightweight, compact, stylish design that blends nicely with any interior. Best of all, as a swamp cooler, it's super easy to use. Just add water, plug it in and turn it on. 2-gallon capacity.
Average Customer Rating:
3.136 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation59%13 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

disappointment

08/07/2007
By ,
Fitchburg, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This air cooler is a disappointment. The air that it sends out is barely cool. Because there is water that circulates in the machine the air feels more humid. Water needs to be replaced in the machine every 8 hours or so and it's really not worth the effort. This machine was a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

No cooling for me

07/02/2007
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not happy with it. I have to use another fan next to it. Also because of where the door is to put the water in, I drip water all over the carpet. I was so excited to get it, now I'm very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

not worth the money

08/06/2007
By ,
upstate ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
actually i am ready to return it since it does not do as well a a regular fan in upstate new york.....it made no difference in the comfort of my home.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

Cooled me off:)

07/23/2007
By ,
Canon City, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this fan/cooler the only thing I would change is better and clearer instructions ie: how much it holds and how long between fills
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

Excellent for the price!

05/05/2008
By ,
Mountain Home, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a dry climate. This really keeps the air humidified and MUCH cooler. I have a evaporative cooler (swamp cooler) on the roof of the mobil home that I live in. It works really well, but with this product adding to the cooling, it really stays cool. On days that are not so hot, I can use this product alone and save money instead of running the larger cooler. I am very satisfied with this product and the price that I paid for it. The weather is just now beginning to get hotter, and I have used this product several times already. As the weather gets hotter, I will certainly use it a LOT more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

waste of money

04/20/2008
By ,
North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this last summer when it was priced at $150. Worst purchase I ever made. in addition to not cooling very much at all, the air output of the fan is extremely poor. A good $25 fan would have better poerformance. You can get a small window air conditioner that works great for about this same as this useless product costs. This thing requires being placed in front of an open window but doesn't cool very well, so it actually ends up warmer in the room because of the hot air coming in the open window. Get a window air conditioner instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 7 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

Beat the heat waves!

07/12/2008
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best things I ever bought this year. Got it in April, desperate to beat the torrid summers in Southern California, and trying to save on power bills from using the AC. It works very well in the daytime or at night. The water wick also decreases the dust level in the air, so it actually cleans the air as it cools it. On really hot days - and nights - I load the cooler with ice cubes. Cold!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

small room cooler

06/15/2008
By ,
Silver City, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First I set it up in the bedroom, thinking if I opened windows in main room, I would get benefit.
Didn't
Bedroom got cool, so I guess it is good for one small room. Tried it in main room next. When fan was directly on me it was OK, but did not cool the whole room. Since the humidity here is 20% I thought it would work better.
It is messy to fill. It does not hold enough so must be filled every houir.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 9 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

Common Misconception

05/28/2008
By ,
Oceanside, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unless the area you live in has a relative humidity of less than 30% this product will not work correctly I live in Southern California and when the temp goes up the Humidity goes down. It is about 10% at 80 Degrees here and this product works well. There is almost a 20 degree difference. But the trick is to have low humidity air outside coming in, it has to be in a window.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

It's better than nothing

05/27/2008
By ,
100+ degrees
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price is the best of what you actually get. Purchased for work and people like it. Fill it with ice water and it will blow cold instead of just recirculating the hot air. Does increase the humidity but in an all metal building, the increase is worth the extra cooling. The pumps do tend to burn out, we had to purchase this as a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

Good product

05/14/2008
By ,
Reno, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Evaporative coolers only work properly in very dry areas, like the Reno area where I live. This works well, but don't expect it to replace a swamp cooler. Sometimes you get what you pay for. Swamp coolers start at about $400 and go up from there. I think it works well for the price and I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

cooler, portable

05/14/2008
By ,
Queen Creek, Arizona
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is an okay product but is not working for my application. Need one that connected to an outside hose to run all day to keep the patio cool for my puppies. They are not outside dogs and because the house is up for sale they have to be outside. The heat of the summer here is going to be hard on them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

A cool product

07/22/2007
By ,
Golden Valley, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in Arizona where the humidity is some times ten percent or lower. This makes the wispercool very efficient. It is not unusal for the device to pull the temperature of the incoming air down 26 degrees. We liked the product so well, we bought 3 of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

does the job

06/08/2008
By ,
SW New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are very pleased with the cooler. Living in SW New Mexico the air is very dry and the cooler not only lowers the afternoon temp but adds a little moisture to the room. You have to keep an eye on the water level while in use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

Plain fan would have been better

07/06/2008
By ,
Tampa FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Big disapointment. Fan didn't feel like it cooled any better than a regular box fan. Air output was not good even on high and I was always putting water in it. Was not worth the money and I ended up returning it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

Temporary fix.

06/20/2008
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overpriced fan. Works best with dry outside air access. Takes lots of water filling to keep it going. Hard to fill at floor level. With rising electric rates, it will help cut the bill for air conditioning.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

AKA SwampCooler

07/01/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think it is important to note that this type of cooler only really works in dry climates (Denver, Pheonix, etc). Of course its going to make the air more humid - it uses water to cool the air!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

whispercool

09/03/2007
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It works ok, I don't see the 12 degree room temperature drop and I am pretty sure it is being used properly. The water inlet is poorly designed for putting the water into the bin.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

wisper evaperative coolers

06/21/2008
By ,
Dunlap, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was great and keeps you cool when water is in the cooler.I would definatly recomend this to someone who's looking for coolers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for WisperCool Evaporative Air Cooler & Box Fan

WisperCool Evaporative

07/23/2007
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good buy - works great and can blow very cool air. Product arrived promptly, although the body of the fan was slightly broken.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next