Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Plano Molding Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Plano Molding Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

If you are looking for a protective case to secure your guns safely when not in use, look no further than the Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case. Two rifles each having a large scope can be comfortably housed in the case. Six durable heavy-duty latches offer tamperproof security so you can rest assured the rifles cannot be meddled with, in your absence. Also, you can lock down the airline-approved Plano rifle case using TSA approved locks and take it with you on domestic flight travels. For hunting enthusiasts and serving officers alike, this rifle gun case is indispensable. Equipped with the Pillar-lock protection and poly-straps system, the double scoped rifle case offers unrivalled protection against physical damage and makes sure your rifles do not fire accidentally while travelling. Also, the rifles fit snugly into the case and remain firmly in place. Furthermore, the ergonomically designed handle makes it convenient to carry the case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.584 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
37
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%137 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
37
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Great Product

06/21/2010
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality product for the price.
Rifles are very secure with the columns, foams and straps.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Wow what a deal

01/15/2008
By ,
p-cola,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a inexpensive ,but quality case this is the one to get.At 1st I thought that the pillars would get in the way,but I can fit a scoped m-14 and a scoped enfield into this case.. It is huge.You dont have to worry about the rifles getting crushed in this case... Great deal.
The only problem is that it is big and heavy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Amazing Value

05/02/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soild as a rock, Easy to set up..
Cannot get over the price..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Great product for the price!

07/07/2007
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this on-line so I could fly from the east coast to Colorado with an antique rifle. The case was delivered on-time, and the appeared very sturdy. My Mosin Nagant rifle is a whopping 49 inches long and it fit snugly with a few inches to spare. Being in the military, I have seen heavier/sturdier cases, but for the price this case proved to be tough enough. My trip to Colorado took me on three flights, and the case and rifle came back in perfect condition. Just purchase a pair of good TSA approved locks (if you plan to fly with your rifle) and you'll be good to go. The only negative would be the weight/thickness of the case. I would not use this case to fly into a combat zone, but it is ideal for domestic travel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

For $50 ea? - Buy a few

06/22/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because fo the price i was hesitant, but after recieving...no more. I was looking for a hard case that would hold two heavy bbl, long range rifles (26" bbls) with 56mm obj lens scopes. Also i needed to be able to hold 28"bbl shotguns. Nothing else on the market even attempted to hold this. I recieved the cases (bought three) and was super pleased with the size and construction. They hold long arms tightly with the foam and straps and close securely. I havent flown with them, so can't speak to any TSA concerns. My only complaint is that the rails for the straps are not preinstalled. It comes with four rails (although you'll probabbly only use teh outer two) and four straps. The rails should have been preinstalled, but even that only took 10minutes after i used my own tools not the garbage tool provided. Another positive is that because of the squareness and overall dimensions of the case, you can put a Fender, Gibson, or similar sticker on and most will think it's a guitar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Great Gun Case

11/23/2009
By ,
Port Charlotte FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking to get a strong case to take with me on a long hunting trip and was going to be in the back of my truck. I had read the reviews and everyone was right once i got it i was surprised to see how strong and durable it was for the price. Easily held two guns with plenty of room. The straps and brackets were easily set up and can be placed as desired. When fully loaded the case was heavier then expected but i would rather it be heavy and protect my guns then light and not hold the guns as well. My buddy spent 250 on a storm case and he was mad when i told him the price for this and the quality of it as well. Very strong case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Great Deal!

09/01/2007
By ,
Germantown, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, what a deal. I wanted something I could transport 2 M-1 rifles in without them banging against each other in the back of my truck. This case is perfect, easy to use, lightweight but strong. No problems, and the price is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Great Case! Poor Handle!

12/28/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If I could rate the case for its design minus the handle it is five stars! Well designed in absolutely all other regards with appropriate use of molded plastic and a great value at under $50. More than adequate protection for transporting your firearms in your vehicle. However, product will eventually disappoint when the plastic handle breaks where it hinges to the case. Then you have a very awkward package to carry that will require both arms being full. I used it to transport to the local range once. Second time the handle broke as I lifted it. The handle is not integral to the case like other (less expensive) Plano models, but is a separate piece that rotates (think briefcase handle) via an interference "press-fit" hinge. This is the weak link and I expect it has broken for others as well. That part needs a redesign. Hopefully Plano will replace the handle at no charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

good for rare use

06/02/2011
By ,
Selma, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this to use as a police officer. It was just way to big to move in and out of the car everyday and wouldn't fit in the trunk easily (my fault for not checking the measurements). The snaps to lock it shut would not line up most of the time. This would be a great case for someone who shoots occasionally. I don't think it would be able to stand up to frequent rough use. I ended up returning it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case
12/05/2011
By ,
Orange County, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great case to transport guns from point A to point B.
HOWEVER it is Not GOOD for storing rifles/guns.
I used this case to store my AR-15 and within a month or less, the metal on AR (lower and upper receiver) was stained by the inner foam. It leaves an oil like marks in shape of the foam on the gun that I can't seem to get rid of.
This case is durable, light, and cheap. Again, only good for transporting.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

useless without handle

01/07/2008
By ,
Wasilla, Alaska
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a good product but the first time I used it the airline lost the handle. It has a poor handle assembly that can easily be removed when moving the losded case. Otherwise I did like the product. Without a handle it is very awkward to carry. I am returning the product today.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Great value for the price.

11/06/2011
By ,
near St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a case to transport a single shotgun that was lockable as I have young children in the house. I found that this does a great job of physically keeping the gun secure and has ample room without have any more bulk than necessary. Prior to receiving it, I thought that there were positions for QTY=4 locks: two by the handle and two at the outside corners. I'm glad to report that there are only QTY=2 and they are midway down the edge of the case. This is really the best placement possible, in my opinion. I didn't see myself purchasing 4 locks, and really didn't want the prying-benefit of only putting QTY=2 locks on by the handles or by the corners. Also noteworthy, the hinge joints would likely be the weakest possible entry point when the box is locked. That said, this case meets my need perfectly.
I don't really like the assembly that is required. There are 8 rivets that the user installs the mounting brackets to. These brackets are used for the tie-wraps that secure the gun from lateral movement. I think they could have been installed by the factory. I think I'd be hard-pressed to find a product for this price that better meets my need. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Decent value for the price

06/10/2009
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent case for the price. We needed a simple case that could be locked for around the house. Our two rifles fit easily and snugly. I am not sure how rugged this is, but the price was right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Great product for the price.

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by how well constructed this case is. Great value for the money. I've been able to get three long guns and a handgun in it without issue, albeit with some precision arranging. Locks work fine and the double padlock locking option is nice. Happy enough that I bought a second one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Best case..

03/01/2012
By ,
Brooksville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have looked for a long time for a case capable of fitting two large size rifles with scopes and this case by a long shot exceeded my expectations. For the price and quality of this case, you will not find anything remotely near this case. I ordered two more :) that's how good it is.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Solid Product

03/06/2012
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holds both my rifles with scopes securely in the case. Setting up the tie down straps is a little painful but well worth the effort. Feel very comfortable tossing the case into my truck and heading off hunting or to the range knowing the rifles are safe and protected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Clasps are junk

04/19/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall the case is great but the clasps that hold it closed are junk. After a single flight, 3 of the 6 clasps had fallen off and are now missing. I will return it to the store as soon as I can go by there.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

large and ample case

03/19/2012
By ,
millington tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ive used other cases aswell ,none work as well as this one ,when i travel i allways get both weapons back in the same container ,no questions asked.great container.TBS.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Great Rifle Case!

08/04/2007
By ,
90680
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has really exceeded my expectations. I think it is worth every penny and perhaps even more. It really has the rough and solid look and feel to it. I would advise anyone purchasing this product to measure their trunk or their vehicle. 50+ inches is something to really consider. Do not use a compact vehicle when picking this thing up. This thing is really huge. The only thing I didn't really like was that the pillar in the very center of the case did not make it easy to put in two rifles with 14.5 inch scopes. One of the rifles is an M1A. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Definitely a bargain. I will probably buy at least a couple more in the next 6 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Plano Protector Pro-Max Pillared Gun Case

Awesome... and huge!!

03/25/2009
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very excellent product. It's what I expected all except for size. I couldn't quite grasp that 55" is wider than the trunk and back seat of my car. If you buy this, bring a van or truck. The padding inside is very thick and will hold small items in place well. It even holds my bayonet when the case is on its side. The straps inside the case are very nice and securely hold your rifles. This case is excellent for storing your rifle, but I wouldn't recommend using it for transporting unless you are flying. Buy a canvas carrying gun bag if you are taking your gun out on short trips instead/also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next