Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

The Nostalgia Electrics CFF-965 Chocolate Fondue Fountain delights chocolate lovers of all ages. Simply pour some melted chocolate into this 2-tier chocolate fondue fountain and run the motor. Immediately the mini chocolate fondue fountain will carry the melted chocolate from the base to the top on the inside of the tiers and back down again on the outside to create a cascading fountain of sweetness. You can dip fruits, marshmallows, pretzels or anything you like in the flowing chocolate for an instant delicious coating.
Average Customer Rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 209
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
68
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation81%195 out of 241reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 177 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
68
3 stars
10
2 stars
10
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Hit of the party

12/15/2012
By ,
Rochester, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received these fountains just in time for a party. The kids lived in front of it for the entire party and the parents thought it was great too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Great Fun product!

09/22/2010
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everyone loved the fountain. It was smaller than I hoped for initially but then realized 2lbs of chocolate go a long way. It was used for a party of about 25 adults/kids and the machine was turned on for about 3.5 hrs. The metal plate did not seem to warm up much, I think due to the good chocolate it did not get lumpy or hard.
The instructions call for 2 bags of chocolate chips and 3/4 cups oil or Belgium chocolate. I did not use either or but the chocolate I used worked great. I would recommend spending on a good chocolate and not feeding your party guest with all that oil.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+146points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Winter Park, Fl
where did you purchase the chocolate/
Posted 10/05/2013
Loved your review and I think I may do the same, but if you could make my life easier, can you point me in the right direction of where you purchased the chocolate?
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
Can you put juice in this fountain too?
Posted 10/09/2012
Does anyone know or has anyone tried putting juice in one of these? It seems if you left the heater off it might be possible. Just wondering. I know they have juice fountains but if you could put an item one already owns to use it would make sense.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Great Buy!

03/24/2014
By ,
Marlon, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this chocolate fountain for my daughter's birthday party and was hoping and praying that it would work! And Yes, it worked like a magic. The set up was very easy and the chocolate started flowing in less than 20 seconds! I had the chocolate pre-melted and added oil as suggested. Clean up was quite easy too. The top tiers and the middle rod can be taken apart and hand washed. The tricky part was the bottom because it was connected with wires so I could not wash it under running water. I cleaned it with paper towels. All in all, it is a great HIT with my daughter's friends. I cannot wait to use it again..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

It was a huge hit!

11/01/2010
By ,
Superior, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son's birthday party, it was easy to set up and get going, I had it running for about 4 hours and it didn't over heat and the chocolate kept flowing as it was supposed to. This will defiantly be at every party I have from now on!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

LOVED IT!!!!!!

07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my niece really wanted to have a chocolate fountain for her 16th birthday party and since it was a small party i thought this one was a good price and size. it was perfact EVERYONE loved it. we turned the kids playhouse into a little candy shop and it was the perfact touch it worked great and it made my niece super happy. it is easy to clean as long as the chocolates still warm. i cant wait to use it again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

You Get What You Pay For!

06/13/2010
By ,
KEMPNER, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was asked to help plan a 12-year old cousin's surprise Twilight birthday party and had researched using a fountain to drip 'red-dyed' white chocolate (blood) to dip treats into. The item was 'level,' which was an important point to note in the directions but the chocolate did not flow despite using quality chocolate and oil as directed. Instead it clumped in the bottom and on the edges of the tiers. It did keep the chocolate melted and the girls still enjoyed the dipping station. I will try it again one more time before bringing back to the store but I would advise that if it's being purchased for an important occassion, spend a little extra dough and upgrade.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Merrillville, IN
Give it another try
Posted 11/30/2013
I'm not sure how it is w/fountains but w/chocolate melting pots I know you CANNOT add food coloring to the choc. or it will get hard/lumpy. Any kind of liquid, especially water cannot get anywhere near the choc. I'd give it another chance w/o using the food coloring. Good luck.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Great!

01/05/2014
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the best 19 dollars I have spent! Used it on New Year's Eve and we had a blast!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

WORTH EVERY PENNY

01/11/2011
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this to use with our grandkids when they visited at Christmas. We had a BLAST with it! We used half milk chocolate chips and half cocoa flavor Wilton candy melts, and that's all--no oil, etc. We melted the chocolates in the microwave while the fountain was pre-heating and then poured it in. The mixture was a little lumpy but that didn't even matter.The fountain worked immediately and correctly, maybe a little loud but not too bad. Our grands (7 in all) range in age from 10 to 2 and they were amazed(there had been much discussion about how exactly the thing would work). We dipped fruit (banana chunks, fresh cherries, blueberries, apple slices), cake, potato chips, pretzels, forks, spoons, and fingers. At one point a grandson confided he wanted to dip his clothes in it, LOL! Cleanup was no problem--we took the machine apart and just licked it clean, washed it the next day with soap and water.We give it 18 thumbs up! (Grandad, Grandma, and 7 grandkids)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Good value for the price

03/22/2014
By ,
Lincoln, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall I am very satisfied with this product. I ordered it online with site to store shipping and it arrived on the date they said it would, which was less than a week. It was easy to set up & run. I used 2 bags of Nestle chocolate chips & canola oil and it worked great. I made sure the chocolate chips were melted very well before pouring them into the fountain. The directions say it must be on a level surface and this is very important! I put ours on a homemade counter that wasn't level and the chocolate will not flow evenly over the fountain if the surface isn't level. We ran it for about an hour. The only negative part is it is loud and the cord isn't real long, BUT keep in mind this is a very inexpensive appliance. You get what you pay for! But it worked perfectly for my daughter's 11th birthday party and she loved it. You have to hand wash all pieces but it cleaned up nicely and I can use it again. Very pleased!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Great buy! Fun in a box!

05/05/2013
By ,
West Virgnia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this at Walmart for a College Graduation Brunch. I purchased the chocolate from Sams Club, as it was recommended. I didn't have to add oil. It worked great for what we wanted it for. It holds 2 lbs of chocolate. For 55 people, it recommends that we will need about 7.5 lbs. So, I will add chocolate as needed. For $19, I purchased the unit, had it shipped to the store, no shipping. What a deal! I did a trial run tonight and it works fine! My husband leveled it for me with the adjustable legs. It is user friendly. We had strawberries, blueberries, angel food cake bites and bananas! All were delicious! By the way, the chocolate from Sams Club was so good! It was very creamy!
If you are extremely picky, you may not be satisfied with this unit. Im pretty easy going and I love it! I can tell I will be using it alot!
P.S. Buy a $1.00 plastic tablecloth to put under the unit for drips! Fold up and throw away! Easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Kids party Favorite

10/11/2012
By ,
Orlando, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I order this for my daughters 7th Princess party. Read the instructions prior to getting it out of the box. I avoided the whole making my own chocolate and purchased the Belgian Chocolate 2.2 lbs /1kg Cost $15 to $ 17 a 2 pound bag depending on where you get it. I melted it first and let it cool a bit prior to pouring it in the machine.
I found that one bag was plenty with about 3/4 cups left over. I had 9 girls and 10 adults and it made plenty with extra for the brothers to come over and raid the fountain.
Cons: Flimsy and plastics so you need to be gentle with cleaning and setting it up.
The cost of chocolate is high.
Messy on the floor from dripping/ Glad it was set-up in the kitchen. Keep that in mind.
Machine does get kind of loud as the chocolate disappears.
Pros: A blast and kids hovered around it. I used it again for another party. Definitely worth the
hassle for me.
Smells wonderful
Memorable for my daughter and ALL guest.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Wonderful!!

04/10/2012
By ,
Klamath Falls, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was hoping to rent one for my daughter's bday party, but no one in our town rents them. SO, I did NOT want to spend a lot of money and was a bit concerned since this was so inexpensive. BUT, after reading the other reviews I decided to try it since it was affordable. Remember, I looked online a lot and read reviews of many expensive & inexpensive models. We LOVED this!! We used the chocolate that you don't have to mix w/oil (both Michael's and Wal-Mart carry it). We tried it out before the party to make sure all was functional and it ran perfectly for about 2 hours. My husband cleaned it thoroughly & prepared it for the party. It ran for several hours during the party with NO issues at all. The kids all absolutely loved it. Just be careful while explaining how to use it to others, that you don't get too close as I managed to stick my boob in the chocolate when I reached forward for something. I gave everyone a laugh at least!! But, the fountain is perfect, affordable and simply helped us transform the tea party birthday to another level! I would recommend this time and again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Great for get togethers

11/22/2009
By ,
Ponte Vedra Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a professional Chef and work with the large commercial chocolate fountains for special events. This works just as well but easier to work with due to size. Be prepared with back up chocolate!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/29/2011
sorry I clicked No when I meant the click yes -- this is a very helpful comment coming from a professional Chef
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

It works! - You get what you pay for.

03/31/2014
By ,
Canandaigua, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does what it is supposed to do, however, when you turn the motor on, it is very loud! For the price, you can't go wrong. If you are going to use a bunch of times, I would suggest spending more $ on a better unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Nachos For eveyone

12/05/2009
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a gift. it did everything i wanted it to do. it has an auger style lift instead of a pump. I wanted it for a nacho fountain it worked perfectly so i recomend it to anyone who likes entertain
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+143points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
I want nachos too
Posted 12/05/2011
I was wondering what kind of cheese you used for a nacho fountain ?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Entry level chocolate fountain

08/13/2010
By ,
Burnsville, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife wanted to get a chocolate fountain for our son's first birthday party. After looking around online, this was by far the cheapest place to buy this model, and it seemed like a worthwhile item to get--e.g. not much risk involved. Our first time using the fountain was luckily a trial run before the party. I had deveated from the recommended recipe by the manufacturer (24 oz of chocolate chips and 3/4 cups of vegetable oil), trying a fancier chocolate fondue recipe I had used before (whipping cream, broken up dark chocolate bars). I had melted the chocolate using a double boiler, preheated the fondue fountain as per the manufacturers instructions, and then added the warm, melted chocolate. This was a massive failure--the fountain gummed up and did not flow properly.
The day of the party, we opted for the manufacturer's suggested recipe, again using the double boiler instead of the microwave method. This produced a very thin chocolate (like warmed up chocolate sauce), but worked great in the fountain and stayed flowing throughout the two hour party. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the capacity is small--so we needed to refill once during the party (we had ~40 guests). It was a great hit, and we were happy for the purchase that we had made.
Overall, the chocolate fountain is a great value and provides a warm chocolate sauce fountain. I would have loved to have had a more robust, gourmet-capable model--the first try failure is why I gave the 3 star overall and meeting expectations--but that is not what this is out of the box. If you want the basics--go with this. If you want something fancier--this is not the fountain for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Party must have!

10/07/2010
By ,
San Jose CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great! I cant belive that it worked so well, for the price that I paid. I was going to buy a 75.00 dollar machine but I took a chance and bought this one and Im so glad that I did! The kids at the party were so happy. Make sure to add the canola oil to the chocolate so that it flows right. Have fun, we did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CA
Wonderful item!!
Posted 05/25/2011
I got this for my baby shower and it brought a lot to the shower, great product, great price! Just be sure to read the instructions first for best results!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Worth the money

10/12/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you follow the instructions - which is heat the fountain plate for 3-5 minutes, melt the chocolate and add that to the heated plate - it works like a charm. I used 'Wilton Chocolate Pro Fountain & Fondue Chocolate' and you can get that at Michaels/Party City. Remember to melt the chocolate in the microwave either at 50% power or in the defrost mode. It's not a BIG fountain but I think I got what I paid for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

works for small parties.

03/23/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was not quite as big as I thought it would be but serves its purpose none the less.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics 2-Tier Chocolate Fondue Fountain, CFF-965

Great Product for the price

03/06/2014
By ,
Slidell, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Price for the cost. East to set up. The only complainnt is trying to clean is the hardest part.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next