Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hooked on Phonics Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hooked on Phonics Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

This kindergarten learn-to-read starter kit gets kids excited about reading with musical audio CDs, flash cards, a workbook and 24 storybooks all designed to get kids started with basic phonics skills. Plus, a CD-ROM with 28 computer activities reinforces new skills with fun games designed for independent play. Whether you want to give your child a head start or want to help a struggling reader, the Hooked on Phonics Learn to Read Kindergarten System is a terrific place to begin.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%25 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Hooked on Phonics Learn to Read works!

11/27/2007
By ,
Ventura, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son, who just turned 4, knew letter sounds already since he was 3. I was looking for books appropriate for his level and I came accross Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System. I bought it and we started the program last week. Now we're done with it! He finished it in less than 2 weeks!!! My son wants more that's why I am now ordering Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read First Grade System. Hooked on Phonics makes reading easier and fun for kids. It really works!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

reading made easy

10/07/2007
By ,
Lincoln, Ne.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my six year old home schooled daughter. She is learning quickly and enjoys the material. We have fun working on it together. I wish I would have had this curriculum when my 11 year old and 17 year old were learning to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Awesome

10/12/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son just turned 4. He already knew the sounds of the alphabet....I've worked with him on that since he was 2. So he skipped the beginning part. Now he's ready to move to the first grade level.
When I first heard of Hooked on Phonics I thought of it as being an over marketed product - just another thing for a mom to buy into. When I saw the product on the shelve and got a closer look, I thought it was worth a try. My son completed the kindergarten level in less than 3 weeks. We celebrated by letting him be boss for 24 hrs on completion of the final book. It was great and now he's ready to do it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Great learning tool

01/24/2008
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I decided to buy this for my 4 year old because I didn't want him to fall behind when school starts. We've been taking our time, but he's really enjoying this product! He loves showing off that he can read. The workbook can be a bit frustrating sometimes. The cd that goes along with it changes it's method a bit after a couple of lessons so I've had to step in more to help him along. Every child is different. :) But all in all it's a great tool for teaching your child to read. The flash cards are great and the computer games a great addition to the learning experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Reading success!

03/23/2008
By ,
Maryville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using Hooked on Phonics for about a week and my son is already reading the first book. Lots of repetition helps make the learning objective concrete. As a teacher, this is a great jump start to kindergarten and even is a great tool to go along with the kindergarten year. Even if you don't have a clue how to help your child, this product makes it simple. The CD's teach on their own and the parent is just a facilitator. We love it and would highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

exceptional product

05/28/2008
By ,
atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent for beginning readers. It makes learning to read fun and exciting for kids. My son loved this program. He quickly advanced from being a sight word reader to a phonics reader. He can now take any word and figure out what it is from using all the skills this program teaches such as sounds, beginning, ending and blending. I will definitely purchase more products from Hooked on phonics. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Great for struggling 6 year old!

04/02/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read previous reviews about this product and decided to purchase it. I couldnt believe how well it worked within the first 2 weeks. My son was struggling with letter sounds and recognition and within a month is now reading and sounding out words. Its a great product and i highly recommend it for anyone with a child that is in kindergarten trying to keep up with the fast learning pace. Worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Wonderful introduction to reading

11/15/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew my four year old was ready to read, but I had no idea where to begin and the schools don't teach reading until kindergarten. My daughter loves the program, which is very easy to follow, and she's so proud of her accomplishments. The reward stickers and posters are great motivators, and the workbook/CD/DVD/cards combination keeps my daughter's interest. I highly recommend this product. Happy reading!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

A Wonderful Experience

01/15/2008
By ,
Huntington, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 4 yr old daughter. She loves it! Even though the lessons say to spend anywhere from 10-30 minutes per lesson, she can spend hours playing the games on the CD-Rom. She loves reading the books; she races to read them to everyone in the house. The method HOP uses is easy to follow and the creates a special time for mother and daughter to share her success every time we use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

A very helfful product

04/02/2008
By ,
Russellville,AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is very good for helping your child if they have trouble learning how to read. It lets them learn at a pace that is comforable for them so they feel more confident in themselves and their ability to read out load in front of others. All it takes is a few hours a day working with them and you will have a child that will enjoy reading books and learning new things everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Hooked on Phonics Learn to Read Kindergarten

01/04/2008
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a mother of three girls. My first daughter had a really hard time learning how to read. We spent hundreds of dollars on tutoring to catch her up. My second daughter is learning at the average pace but I didn't want her to fall behind like my first. I bought this product and it is everything that the tutors did plus more for pennies to the dollar compared to tutoring schools.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Great learn to read product

11/15/2007
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Learn to Read program for my son the summer before he went into Kindergarten. I didn't have a clue how to start teaching my son to read, but this program made it a snap. He went into Kindergarten already knowing how to read and totally blew his teacher away!
Highly recommend for giving your child a leg up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Good but not Exceptional

03/11/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This program is working well for my Kindergartener but could be stronger. The games on the CDRom area a little too repetitve. She loses interest really
quickly and she is a very focused little one....They do not hold their attention very long. With that in mind as the only negative I would still recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

snore

03/06/2008
By ,
Yonkers, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I began to teach my son to read his site words with a video that was extremely entertaining to him. He learned all the words in a week. This program does not hold his attention he is bored and the lessons are somewhat long and drawn out. No fun at all for a preschooler
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

We can read!

12/22/2007
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4 yr old already had some basic knowledge of words and letters. However, after using this system for 1 week, she has increased her ability by 100%. She is reading small books and recognizing words on TV, road signs, and other media.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Worth It

11/30/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this for my young daughter. The program is cohesive and builds nicely. The multi-modal approach is great because it gives you and your child options. It has been really fun... and definitely worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Dissapointing and Uninterested

12/29/2007
By ,
St. Louis, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My 41/2 year old twins became uninterested and bored in 2 days with this. They have learned more and faster with the Leapster learning tools they already have. The CD voice is dull and boring on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Educational Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

So Far So Good

01/01/2008
By ,
Stockton NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter received this from Santa and we are making great progress. She really enjoys it. The instructions are easy to follow and the tracking chart allows her to see her progress. Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Wonderful

01/02/2008
By ,
union,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loved the Hooked on Phonics. He goes around the house singing the songs from the CD.
He is five and he wants to do the program all the time.
I love it!!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Hooked on Phonics - Learn to Read Kindergarten System

Great Learning Tool

01/12/2008
By ,
Moses Lake, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 5 year old daughter is learning to read with this product. She has fun learning and is eager to learn more and more. Great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next