Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sentry Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sentry Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

This Sentry 5-Gun Safe is ideal for gun owners who value firearm safety and secure storage. This Sentry Gun Safe holds five long guns, as well as plenty of ammunition and accessories. Featuring an 8-lever, double-bit key lock, a solid steel door and two live-locking bolts, this fire arm safe also has an organizing shelf and carpet up to the gun holders, allowing you to store your guns properly. With a weight limit of 70 lbs, this Sentry 5-Gun Safe is ideal for almost all firearm storage purposes. This Sentry Gun Safe easily meets the California Department of Justice standards for firearm safety. The convenient size of this firearm safe also allows it to be placed almost anywhere in your home, so you can keep your guns safe from misuse or theft.
Average Customer Rating:
4.274 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(263 Reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
101
3 stars
25
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation95%249 out of 263reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
101
3 stars
25
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Serviceable secure storage cabinet

06/29/2012
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is what I expected: a serviceable secure storage cabinet for my guns. It's not going to withstand a determined assault by thieves, but that's what homeowner's insurance is for.
The reason I rated it at only 3 stars is that the packaging in which the product is shipped provides insufficient protection for such a heavy object. The product arrived with a deep ding about the size of a quarter in the upper left front of the frame (beside the door). I've attached a photo. I had to install the cabinet immediately, as the worker who was re-doing my closet was only going to be available for a couple of more days, so I didn't return it. The defect is aesthetic and does not affect function, but that is no excuse for the sloppy packaging.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 2 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Well Worth the Price

03/09/2010
By ,
West Central Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not a gun SAFE, but rather a gun CABINET. And it's an excellent gun cabinet for the price.
It says it's a 5-gun cabinet, but realistically, it's more of a 3 or 4 gun cabinet. It stands about 4'7" tall and about a foot square - so you see why I say it holds more like 3 guns than 5.
There is one shelf, and it is not very large. If I get ambitious, I'll install another one myself. The cabinet has ample space for the two large guns I have in there plus their ammo and some misc.
Again, this is not a safe, so 1) it isn't fireproof, and 2) it needs to be screwed into the wall or floor or both (which is what I did) for it to be secure, but once it's bolted down, it's not going anywhere and is as secure as you'd want. Some bolts are included, but I bought larger, additional bolts. I installed it in a closet.
It has a keyed lock with safe-style bolts. There won't be any prying the door open, for sure.
This is a lower-end product from a top name in the business. If you are looking for a low-cost way to secure your guns from outsiders, this will do the trick nicely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+215points
Review 3 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Excellent value-nice product

06/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a gun storage cabinet that would fit in the corner of my den's closet. I considered quite a few in the price range of $150 to $350, and this SENTRY product was the most for the money. I wanted a keyed lock, not a combination, nor any electronics, and found that very few were available keyed.
Like others here, my first cabinet arrived damaged, and without keys. Walmart.com customer service sent a replacement unit in two days, and UPS picked up the returned piece. A very pleasant return and exchange experience.
I will agree with other reviewers that the top shelf is too small for much usefulness, but to store 5 rifles and have some room for a small handgun, or two this unit fits the bill.
I recommend this unit as the best value for the money, and also recommend walmart.com for the excellent exchange service.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Review 4 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Sentry 5-Gun Safe

06/28/2009
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbeatable value for a small, compact gun safe for the owner of a couple of rifles and/or shotguns who wants to protect children or inexperienced gun handlers from misguided curiousity or horseplay, but still have ready access to your home defense choices. This is not a top of the line gun safe. There is nothing plush or technically advanced about it. If properly used, it is simple and effective gun safety for your home at an economical price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+46points
Review 5 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Excellent value with almost free shipping

09/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe arrived in good shape. The door was NOT off the hinges, which was nice. No dents or scratches, even though the outer box was beat up some.
The safe was double-boxed on the four long sides, with styrofoam on the ends instead of the second layer of cardboard. The shelf was in place, but only held there by a 2"x2"x8" (approx) piece of styrofoam, wedged in place against the top of the safe. I don't know how it had not come loose.
Nicer finish and thicker sheet metal than the St---On brand seen elsewhere, but of course this 5-gun safe costs almost double those, so it's not exactly a fair comparison. You can check out that other brand at D---- S----ing Goods stores. I've compared them, and this one is much nicer.
One drawback, but it is minor and easy to overcome: the shelf is too small. It does not come as far to the front as it could, and does not go all the way to the back, to allow longer guns to fit behind it. A 49" shotgun (28" bbl) needs to go past the shelf. A 43" shotgun (22" bbl) fits underneath.
I made a larger shelf, with one 2 1/2" x 2 1/2" cut-out in the left rear corner for one longer gun. It also comes as far to the front as it can without hitting the door's U-iron reinforcements.
The "carpeting" is not. It is cloth made to look like carpeting. Carpeting has a backing. This cloth does not. It covers the floor and the back, up to the barrel support (which is plastic, not foam like in the cheaper safes mentioned above.) [I will not ding the rating for this, because I knew the whole safe was not carpeted. The interior has the same nice paint finish as the exterior.]
Anyway, I wanted the whole thing carpeted, so I went to a big box hardware store and picked up some inexpensive gray carpeting runner. I ripped out the existing fabric, which was glued on (had to sand out the glue and bits of fabric--took a bit of work), and used double-stick tape (carpet tape) to attach the new carpeting to the entire interior except the top. I also carpeted my new shelf, but needed to use staples for that. This was a lot of work, but the result is impressive.
You'll want to bolt this safe to the wall if it's on carpeting. Opening the door makes it front-heavy. I bolted one in the wall and one in the floor. (My new carpeting has "flaps" for the bolt heads. The original carpeting does not.)
Front door is reinforced top to bottom with two U-shaped iron sections. Door is recessed. Could you pry it open? Yeah, but you are going to need some time, and a crook isn't going to take that much time. The thing weighs 70 pounds. It could be pried from the wall and floor, but loaded with guns, no crook is going to easily make off with it.
Two "bolts" on the door. Don't know if they are solid or not. Keys are "skeleton" type, but actually pretty complicated and heavy-duty. I was pleased with the keys and the lock.
I am impressed with the Sentry safes, in general. I also have an electronic combination-lock safe made by them (1.25 cu ft). Good for ammo or handgun. These Sentry safes are a very good value, and if you can find one shipped for free or almost free, as this one from Walmart is, I think you'll find it's a keeper...that is, until you outgrow it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+85points
Review 6 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

So far so good!

08/22/2011
By ,
Eastern Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a secure gun cabinet, on a budget, and fast. I know that safes can cost several hundred to several thousand dollars so honestly I wasn't expecting a whole lot for $150 & free shipping (site-to-store), so I was very pleasantly surprised. It is sturdy and secure. I didn't expect fort knox for what I paid, and I know it's not fireproof, but I'm confident that it will serve as a deterrent and that's what I wanted it for. Never having owned a gun cabinet or safe before, I had no basis of comparison; but I will say that the construction is thicker and the item is heavier than I anticipated at this price point. It's bolted in place and is immobile. As others have said, I like that the hinges are on the inside. There's absolutely nothing on the front of the door to grab onto, unless the key is dangling from the lock. I didn't buy this with children or thieves in mind, but rather an unstable soon-to-be-ex. I'm in a high-stress situation, obviously, but this thing has given me a little more peace of mind than I had before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 7 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

great for the buck.

02/23/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this safe for my two rifles.I diddnt want to spend mor on a safe than my rifles are worth. I mainly bought this to keep my guns out of kids reach. it came preassembled i mounted in my garage w/ the 2 predrilled holes into a stud in the wall i did drill an extra hole for extra security close to the top and the steel is thick it took a little while to get through thats why i rate this secure. i also like how the hinges are on the inside of the safe and not the outside. It is a nice little safe for a few guns w/room for ammo and etc.It took like 2 days to get to me withe the .98 shipping fed ex dont waste your money on faster delevery. it was super quick. hope this helps....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 8 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Worth every penny...

07/18/2010
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like others have stated, this is more a gun cabinet, than a gun safe. Will it keep curious children out, yes. Is it a better solution than putting guns behind the clothes in the closet, (or under the bed) absolutely. For the money, the expedience of shipping, and value for the dollar, this should be a "no-brainer" purchase. I highly recommend getting this if you don't already have a cabinet/safe. Just having this in place, I have a peace of mind with children in the house. Thanks again Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+11points
Review 9 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Low priced gun cabinet is an excellent value

08/05/2011
By ,
Northern New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this item online and had it delivered to my home. Item was listed as being in stock and was shipped quickly, I guess I took delivery in about a week. The cardboard box had some damage to the exterior but the contents, my safe was unmarked, didn’t have so much as a scratch. So as far as I’m concerned both Walmart and FedEx get high marks for this transaction. Now for the safe. Just my opinion but I would consider this more of sturdy gun cabinet rather than a safe. That said it seems quite well made for the price. I am sure it will keep the contents secure in the short term. However, I believe the mounting hardware is woefully inadequate. I opted to drill three additional holes in the back of the safe and used heavier steel bolts to secure it to the wall… The single supplied shelf for some reason does not reach the back of the case leaving a large gap that loose items always seem to find. I do plan on replacing the shelf and add an additional one as well. Overall, based on the price I think this product is an amazing value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 10 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Great Safe - Buy it at Store do not ship it

08/28/2012
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good safe and it does what it is intended, which is to keep your shotguns away from children and intruders. You are able to bolt it to the ground or a stud (bolts included) to give it a little more security. The door is noisy when it is closed, there should have been some neoprene or rubber to reduce this at the rim of the door. There is only one keylock that is used to close the safe. It would be wise to buy the safe at the store and certify that it is 100% before taking it home. SentrySafe does not package well and a 1 inch thick sheet of styrofoam (top and bottom of a cardboard box) is what is protecting your safe during transport (REALLY!). Unfortunately I had to return my safe once because it was so scratched and dented I couldn't even open the door. The second time it still came dented and scratched but not as much and I just gave up and kept it. ( By the way it is really hard to repackage and move it around by youyrself ask someone to help you)...
Enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

5 Gun Cabinet

01/16/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cabinet (safe) was what I expected after reading reviews prior to ordering. I received the cabinet as scheduled and it was not damaged. It is light enough for one person to move around fairly easily. The cabinet is not fire proof, but seems secure enough to slow down or deter a thief and keep children out. I used different screws to anchor it into a stud instead of using the plastic drywall anchors provided. For the price, I don't think you can beat this for a small cabinet. I have 1 shotgun, 1 rifle, and 2 pistols inside with ammo. I still have room to spare - for the next shotgun and/or rifle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 12 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Sentry Safe

05/07/2009
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product arrived with the door off of the hinges. Since it was not packaged properly, either the door or the cabinet was bent enough to present problems in opening and closing the door. Sentry told me to return the keys and they would ship a new safe. They said to dispose of the old safe in whatever manner I though appropriate. I am still waiting for the safe to arrive, that was 2 weeks ago…
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 13 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Nice Safe

12/01/2007
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NICE storage and the quality is very good. The inside is carpeted and prevents scratching of guns. Not big enough for rimming, but for that you will need a larger cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 14 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

good with caveats

04/11/2009
By ,
Westbury, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a decent product for the money, but far from great. Build quality and overall design are very good and essentially as advertised. But there is no way you will ever fit 5 long guns in this cabinet if any of them have a scope, pistol grip, or are not all .22 plink-plink guns. I use the cabinet for 2 scoped rifles, and neither of them sits comfortably in it because of the tight space and poor design of the upper rack (which cannot be moved or altered in any way). Also, the upper shelf inexplicably does not fit flush against the rear wall, leaving a 2" for ammo, etc. to fall through if you're not careful. I don't get it. Finally, the cabinet arrived with a huge dent/peeling paint in one corner that (fortunately) does not impair function. This is clearly a consequence of poor packaging. I don't really mind this issue because it sits inside a closet, but if I had installed the cabinet in plain sight I would be returning it. The price is reasonable, but I might have chosen a different cabinet if I had known about the shelf and upper rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

safe good, bolts too small

12/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the safe but plan on getting new bolts. The heads of the bolt that come with the safe are so small that they almost slip through the holes provided in the safe for anchoring it to a wall. It is a bizarre mismatch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 16 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

An excellent buy for the protection given.

10/01/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes the 75 lbs is not a-lot of weight, but loaded it can easily get to 100lbs+. The shelf is really flimsy. It floats between the left and right insides of the safe, and leaves a large exposed area in the back to allow longer guns to fit. Certainly not big enough to hold a large barreled pistol securely here in earthquake territory.
Of course the safe itself is not very burglar proof, and in my opinion, would cover your from roaming teenagers and quick entry & exit burglars of opportunity with no pry tools.
I live in the middle of a Big City. I could not find this anywhere in the area and buying it here online, was really the cheapest option.
If you don't have a safe, I recommend starting out with this one. The $220 you spend will help shield you in court, and let you sleep better when you are away for the weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 17 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Great Gun Safe

03/17/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value for the money. If you only have a few guns it's great and gives peace of mind keeping children from getting to them. Has no fireproof ability but for that you'll need a larger safe. Would work great for securing your ammo if you move up to a larger capacity safe. Perfect for a walk-in closet installation. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 18 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Great little safe !

08/24/2009
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price ! Ive looked at all different sources and you can't beat WalMart's price. Shipping was very fast and you can't beat .97 cent shipping. It arrived safely and was packaged real well, so no damage at all. The key worked fine with no door problems.
For the price you can't beat this great little safe. It is solid enough to keep kids and strangers with limited knowledge of breaking into safes out. I anchored it against the wall (Highly recommend this) so it is pretty stable and can't be pulled over by little ones. If you want a fire rated safe you can expect to pay at least $500 and up depending of the rating and manufacture. Plus you can expect it to be at least 400 plus pounds so you have to be careful where you put it.
So for the price and quality this is as great little buy if you are on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 19 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Pretty Good

04/01/2010
By ,
Pleasant Hill, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would say this was a pretty good purchase. Do I think that a determined criminal could get my guns out if no one was home? Probably. However, my requirement was that this keep guns out of the hands of children and the overly-curious, and it will do that very well. Also, I keep the bolts in another secured location for extra safety. Construction is pretty impressive, if not exactly bank-vault like. Mounting was simple and the rack seems to fit shotguns well, and it has one slot for a scoped rifle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 20 for Sentry G0135 5-Gun Safe

Good Bargain

04/01/2010
By ,
Belfair, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well built for the price, and looks good too. The shelf is small so I built a larger one so I can store two hand guns and ammo on the shelf. I also put LED tap lights inside because it's dark in the back of my closet where I put it.
I didn't want a large heavy duty safe, just something to safely store my guns away from my grandson and make it hard for someone to try to steal them. I bolted mine to a wall stud and the floor, so it's not going anywhere without a fight.
Bottom line is it's well worth the price and it was delivered to my door for only 97 cents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 231 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next