Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spyderco Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

Spyderco Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

Whether you need a knife for cutting around the home, on the job or during recreational activities, the 4" VG-10 Spyderco Delica Knife is a smart choice. This folding knife features a VG-10 PlainEdge blade and a black FRN handle with ergonomic Volcano grip for maximum comfort. With a lightweight design for ease of use, the steel plain edge knife conveniently folds down for safe storage. Featuring an ambidextrous tip-up carry, the 4" VG-10 Spyderco Delica Knife has a blade thickness of 3/32" and a cutting edge of 2-11/16". The sturdy knife offers a 3" blade length and a closed length of 4", for an overall length of 7" that can easily fit in your pocket. Be prepared for various cutting tasks with this 4" VG-10 Spyderco Folding Knife.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%10 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

Great knife!

08/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Razor sharp blade out of the box as expected from Spyderco, with the awesome VG-10 steel. This is the Gen4 version of the knife with the steel liners and clip placement options (carry tip up/down, left/right side). The many options for clip placement is one of the things I love about this knife. I am a lefty and swapped the clip to the other side of the knife. You will need, I believe, a T6 to remove the screws for the clip. Easy to open and locks solidly into place. Absolutely no play in the knife. Great knife and perfect for EDC!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

EDC that sets the standard.

08/21/2009
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a "everyday carry" knife this sets the standard.
The knife is extremely light, has a great blade shape, the blade steel (VG-10) is very good. It holds an edge for awhile and isn't hard to sharpen...much better than the usual choice at this price which is usually AUS-8A, or if you got a Gerber some no name steel. The handle is made of FRN(fiberglass reinforced nylon) with skeletonized(sp?) steel liners for extra rigidity.
The "Spyderhole" makes for easy one handed opening. Because its a lockback its also very slim, so if you keep it on your front pocket you have no trouble reaching in and grabbing your cell phone, keys, etc. without the knife getting in the way. One problem with a lot of other knives.
The jimping(bumps on the back of the knife) is perfect, it digs into your thumb just right, so your hand wont slip forward for those tougher cutting tasks.
The pocket clip is very well designed, it won't rip up your pants as the knife is pulled out. Its able to be carried tip up or tip down, left or right handed. The "volcano grip" on the FRN handle is bi-directional so no matter which way you have it in your pocket your hand wont slip pulling it out.
If you don't have the tools or are not able to sharpen the blade, Spyderco will also resharpen the blade for free you just gotta pay shipping and handling which is $5.00.
Once you get this knife you will probably want to buy more Spydercos like its big brother the Endura 4...anyone that has a Spyderco knows what I mean. :D
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

Another winner by Spyderco

07/28/2008
By ,
East Windsor, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Delica by Spyderco fills in that niche between large, heavy folders and toothpick. I thought the Delica was somewhat bigger based on the walmart.com description, so I was a bit surprised when I opened the box. That aside, the 4" Delica is just another one of these quality folders that Spyderco continues to crank out. The VG-10 "super-steel" stainless has excellent hardness and edge retention with moderate corrosion resistance (that's right.....stainless steels WILL rust.) The fiberglass reinforced nylon chosen for the scales is nothing special.....until Spyderco adds their Volcano grip pattern, which combined with the spine jimping helps you keep a firm grip on the Delica while your hands are sweaty, muddy or perhaps bloody (I'd recommend the Delica for field-dressing game.) Perhaps the most noteworthy feature of the Spyderco Delica is the David Boyd dent on the back of the knife. This makes one-handed closing quick and safe (difficult with a number of the competitors' lockbacks,) and helps reduce the risk of accidentally closing the blade during use and possibly lopping something off (this knife is shaving sharp out-of-box, so watch it.)
PS: You MUST keep the Delica CLEAN AND OILED. How? Wash thoroughly in warm soapy water, rinse thoroughly, shake off the excess and dry with a can of compressed air. You will then apply a light coating of a high-quality gun oil, such as Otis, Breakfree CLP or Rem-Oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

Must have Knife

05/13/2011
By ,
Buford, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knife was very sharp out of the box. I,m very happy to see WalMart has this awesome product line. I hope they will add more Spyderco products, soon. If you want a knife made to last a lifetime, this is a must have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

Awesome!!!

08/15/2008
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had mine for about a week, and I love it. It opens very, very easily with your thumb, is sharp as all-get-out, and is pretty cool looking. I was hesitant on spending $50 on a pocket knife, but am very glad that I did. I highly recommend this knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

a little wierd looking...

08/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the Spydercos in general. I love this one and the Dragonfly specifically. The Delica is a great knife. It fairly lightweight, but has steel liners. It is user adjustable, comes in a million options and if that's not enough, you can cut stuff with it, too.
The VG-10 steel is a nice one from Japan that is very hard and has a very fine grain from the vanadium they manage to squeeze into the steel's crystaline structure. The finer grain means a very sharp blade. It's also quite a sturdy blade. The VG-10 also lets you put a steeper angle on your grind so that it can be even sharper and still have the same durability of say, an AUS 8 blade.
Again, as for options, this thing rocks. I like this version the best myself, but you can get it with a serrated edge, or the Spyderedge which is sort of half and half. I don't like serrations myself because they are nigh impossible to sharpen at home, but they excel if you need to cut twine or rope or something.
There are more choices for handles, now. There's your black Fiber Reinforced Nylon (FRN), now there's a blue, yellow, purple green and gray. There's also a G-10 in black or in foliage green which is the grayish green color on the new Army digital camo uniforms.
The blade comes in flat grinds, or the saber grind like this one. In VG-10, or the new ZDP-189 (sp?) which is supposed to be the new super steel.
Anyhoo, I like this one the best, the black plain edge. The length is nice and useable, without being too long. It comes in just under 3 inches so it should be legal in pretty much every state (check your local laws though). The blade is reasonably thick and very sturdy with no movement when it's locked.
My only con for this knife is it is a bit wierd looking. The blade is almost... ugly. But it grows on you. It is, after all, a supremely functional knife, and will not let you down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

Good Valu!

02/17/2008
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe Spyderco knives are the best bang for the buck. They are well-made & come very sharp. I love them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife

Exactly what I expected - a great folding knife

04/16/2009
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart shiipped promptly and delivered exactly what they were advertising. It's a great folding knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spyderco Delica 4" VG-10 Steel PlainEdge Knife
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5