Customer Reviews for Thermacell Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Thermacell Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

The Thermacell Mosquito Repeller Device is a safe, simple way to create a large area free of annoying mosquitoes, black flies and no-see-ums. This pocket-sized unit is powered by a butane cartridge and refillable mats. After a quick five-minute warm-up, the unit provides hours of protection to a 15 by 15 foot zone against pests. Approved by the EPA and used by the U.S. Department of Defense, Thermacell has proven to be a game-changer in area mosquito repellent.
Average Customer Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(1049 Reviews) 1015
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
933
4 stars
65
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation95%680 out of 715reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
933
4 stars
65
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Love this product!

09/04/2009
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live on the river where the mosquitos are big enough to pick you up and take you home with them. My husband and I were on the river, it started to get dark and the mosquitos started coming out, so I broke out the ThermaCell and in 5 minutes they were gone. We stayed in the boat for another 4 1/2 hours and did not see, hear or get bitten by a mosquito the whole time! Everyone who hunts, fishes, or just likes hanging out outside needs one of these! It works! This is a better investment than all of the sprays and lotions that half-way work, plus you're not putting chemicals onto your skin. I take it with me wherever I go now!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Review 2 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Bow Hunters Dream

10/14/2008
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a dream come true for Southern deer hunters. The first time I used it I has hooked. I went as far as waiting a little while before starting the Thermacell, 25 min. after getting in my stand I was covered with mosquitoes. I started it up and within 3-5 min. they were gone! I forgot to mention the wind was really blowing too. This is the best thing I've ever used for keeping the bugs away and my attention on something more important, Hunting! If you want to buy something that really works well and has zero smell to alert game I suggest buying a Thermacell. I'ts money well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+58points
Review 3 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Repels Mosquitoes, Doesn't Last Long Enough

03/01/2016
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had two ThermaCells. The first failed to ignite after a year or so, and was replaced by Thermacell at no charge. I only use them during our brief turkey hunting season. When I checked the unit out before this year's season, I discovered it did the same thing it's predecessor did; the gas would burn briefly when the sparker button was pushed, but the grill wouldn't ignite. ThermaCell currently only offers a one year warranty, so having the convenience of repelling mosquitos is tempered by the cost of periodic replacement.
Also, the cost of the butane cartridges is exorbitant in my opinion.
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Review 4 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Bug Gone

09/09/2009
By ,
Union Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item seems to really work. I have only had a chance to use it on the deck at night but seem to have controll of the bugs. I bought it to hunt with and just wanted to make sure you cannot smell it. Well lets say I cannot. It seem to work well and with no shipping the price is real good. I would recomened anyone to buy this from Walmart. It just took a couple of days for this to come in. Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 5 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Gotta love it!!!!!!

10/04/2007
By ,
Carlisle, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don`t leave home with out it. It really does work. Try it and you will agree!!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 6 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Simply just didn't work

07/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried the unit out on two different occasions, both times without any wind to talk about and I was still having mosquitoes land on me and draw blood. I returned the product to my local Walmart without any issues. I really wish it would've worked as I would have been in my glory.
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Review 7 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

thermocell

11/25/2007
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works beter than i imagined it would. I would recomend it to anyone who's outdoor activites include hunting, fishing, or any other kind of sports. It works best when wind is still, but it works pretty well if the wind is moderately blowing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 8 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

GREAT PRODUCT

07/14/2017
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used them for at least 7 years. We live in the woods and have been using Mosquito Magnets for about 15 years. So expensive and they break all the time. This year we decided to only use our Therma Cells since our last MM broke. They work just as well, maybe better and a fraction of the cost. I recommend buying the holster for it if you move around or we set 1 or 2 on our deck if we just sit outside. Make sure to turn off when not in use and they last quite a long time. We love them.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 9 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

big disappointment

07/06/2010
By ,
bureau county, Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Based on other peoples reviews i gave it a shot.I live in north central,Illinois and tried this product on a camping trip.The mosquitos don't like the smell but if the small smoke from the pad isn't directly in line with the mosquitos you get bit. I sat on a picknick table and donated a few pints of blood while trying it out.The next day same thing,it kept them away while in direct line with the scent pad ,but otherwise i was bitten badly.I took it back for a refund-i will stick with deet!!!! Disappointed for sure!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Bugs

02/23/2017
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for protecting you from the bugs.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 11 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Great product...really works.

08/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used these for years and would not go hunting without one in my bag. Works great for camping also.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 12 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Allergic to bug spray, this does the trick!

07/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Thermocell does just what it claims, repels mosquitoes, and without smelling like bug spray!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 13 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Does not work

09/14/2012
By ,
ab
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave it 5 stars just so it would make the top of the normal search list. I wish I would have taken pics as I have seen many mosquitos sitting on the running thermacell. Is mine just a dud? Nope, my friend purchased one as well, we ran them both while we were bow hunting last year. The skeeters ate us up. The thermacell provides a good platform for them to land on and rest b4 taking off with a full belly. If you buy is based on the 'good' reviews you will remember this post as you slap, slap, slap.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Review 14 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Bug free and smiling

09/24/2007
By ,
Barneveld, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The mosquitos are terrible with all the rain we had last month. Literally, in 6 minutes the Thermacell heats up and it is like you are sitting indoors after that. I would not be able to be in my treestand right now if not for this product. It only attests to being effective on mosquitos but it works on knats, too. Bought one for my dad and he said the same thing. Awesome product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 15 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Works well

09/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quiet and effective. If you set it directly under your seat, you can smell it a bit, but not objectionable. Recommend you add a tether to keep it secure in a tree stand.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

No mosquitos :)

07/08/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used product at night, while night fishing and hanging out on island. Works really well, would definitely recommend :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Excellent Product

09/07/2009
By ,
Volcano, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I tried it once Deer Hunting and the Thermalcell worked great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 18 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

Great for the deer blind

11/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and for a long time
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent
12/30/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Thermacell Mosquito Repellent

I was impressed.

12/22/2016
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about this , but it really works. I was so impressed that I bought one for my 3 adult sons. You can also buy a carrier to put on your belt for fishing etc.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next