Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NEXT 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

NEXT 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Cruise the roads with 18-speed grip-shifting ease or tackle the trails in dual-suspension comfort; this built-to-last workhorse gives you the options to get out there and explore. An oversized steel frame, dynamic graphics, linear-pull brakes and 26-inch wheels round out this well-priced package.
Average Customer Rating:
3.401 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
64
3 stars
26
2 stars
13
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation68%128 out of 187reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
64
3 stars
26
2 stars
13
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

bike

05/08/2009
By ,
st.louis mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i ride this bike everyday last year i bourgt same bike at target for $159.00 and walmart had it for $89.00 the bike i got from walmart was easy to put to getter and since i been rideing i lost 20 lbs i will alway shop at walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

21 speed Next power stoke moutain bike

08/24/2009
By ,
Topeka IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After buying my son this bike 6 months ago we took it to a repair shop where they charged $70 for new rims, tires, brakes and spokes. I thought it was a mistake that this bike needed soooo much work. A week later the frame broke in two. What a piece of junk. Don't waste your money. Buy something (anything) else, but not this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Review 3 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

A++

08/07/2007
By ,
Houston, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike and it was stolen less than 24 hours later. Big bummer but it says something.
I then bought a diffrent bike (Roadmaster) but after riding the NEXT I took it back and bought another one just like this.
It has a very smooth ride and handles pretty well for a department store bike. I am very pleased.
You just cant beat it for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 4 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Defects of Design Engineers

12/05/2007
By ,
Lexington, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is one of the most easily available, seems best for the price and probably works fine for the price and may be a duration of 5 to 6 months normal use.
Pros: price could be one when you are looking at a short-term use. Sleek, light when compared to other competitive models.
Cons: One of the good examples of defective design engineering.
Being a Mechanical/Manufacturing engineer, when I really observed the minor details after a little use of the bike, I noticed the crank fittings were getting loose almost after every ride. This is because of the wrong design of the lock nuts, which is a blunder for any design engineer. The brakes are not properly balanced and designed, which causes the brakes to behave in all different levels of braking frequently.
Final conclusion: If you want to try buying one of these machines think about it, examine and may be you can spend a little more to make the better decision.
P.S: And it is not for everyday use. (which it says it is)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 5 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Decent Bike for the Price

04/20/2009
By ,
Amarillo, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I work in Amarillo, TX during the week but live in Arkansas. Palo Duro Canyon is about 25 miles south of here and I wanted to go ride it. Rather than shipping my mountain bike from home, I decided to just buy one here and keep it in my office. At first, this NEXT bike barely made it down the lighthouse trail. It needed a LOT of adjustments. Bought a seat cover, bought handle bar extensions, adjusted the rear suspension a LOT. Had to tighten the handle bars as tight as I could get them because they would slip if you used too much pressure on them when climbing.
With all of these adjustments and add ons, it's a good bike for what you pay for it. I'd recommend it to anyone who isn't TOO awful serious about their bike. I have a Cannondale at home and yes, it's a way better bike but I also paid a heck of a lot more for it. :)
One additional thing, I actually BROKE three teeth off my rear sprockets climbing hills in the canyon. Either they weren't made strong enough for me or I'm just too strong for it. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Review 6 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Decent bike, but don't get it wet

05/19/2009
By ,
Emmaus, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike in August 08 - assembled it myself. It worked fine the first weekend I used it. The second week though the back tire had gotten a buldge in a s-pattern, causing it to rub against the frame. It ended up being that the rear tire was deformed - replaced it; bike ran well throughout fall, needing only minor adjustments.
I've had to store it outside on covered porch under tarp due to size of apt I live in. From getting wet on several occasions, everything not painted has gotten rust on it - worst of which being the rims, which has affected braking. Still trying to adjust brake pads & cables to make up for it but no avail.
If you have indoor storage trouble like me or tend to ride a lot in rain/puddles, etc I would consider coating rims w/protective coating or spray paint.
Other than the rust issue only problem I've had is trying to get shifters aligned well enough to be able to shift into all gears, there's a few that still skip over or make a clanking noise from improper alignment.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 7 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

You get what you pay for

03/12/2008
By ,
Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Spend a little more and get the Schwinn or the Mongoose, or better. Ever since I bought this bike I have been wishing I had bought the Schwinn which was right next to it. Don't be fooled by the flashy graphics and dual suspension. Although this bike gets me where I need to go, and I use it daily as part of my commute, the shifting is shaky, the rear shocks are so springy you lose downforce with powerful pedaling so hills are really tough, and you MUST buy a new seat because it is the most uncomfortable you can imagine, as if it's made of cement. The Schwinn is only about $30-$50 more, and is of far better quality
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 8 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

A Big Mistake

06/18/2008
By ,
Newberry, Sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife bought this bike as a gift for my 60th birthday. With all the gears... 18 of them...she thought it would be an excellent workout bike for me. She bought it preassembled since it was a surprise gift.
This bike has turned out to be an absolute disaster. I have had it four weeks and have only been able to ride three times due to component failures. First thing was a front tire blow out because rubber protection that goes over the ends of the spoke heads inside the wheel rim was not properly installed, causing a spoke head to puncture the tube so severely it had to be replaced. Also, the gear changer at the pedal sprocket will not function correctly, and now the breaks are messing up. All this and it has only been ridden 3 or 4 times. Now, the bike is starting to rust.
One more thing...this bike is incredibly heavy for its size. Unless you have a lot of time on your hands and a strong desire to fix things, don't waste your money on this bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 9 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Bad shifting

04/11/2008
By ,
Bremerton, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this bike about 7 months ago, and rode it as a daily commuter for about 5 months straight, 5 days a week. It worked well for roughly the first week. After that, the brakes began to fail, so I replaced them, but they only got worse as the cheap rims began to wear and rust over. The last month I rode it, I had to drag my feet to stop myself, and I changed brake pads and tuned it up numerous times. The gear shift began failing after the first month of use. It began to shift late, and then not at all when down shifting. It shifted into higher gears almost predictably, but I would have to shift down at least 3 times before it would change at all.
The components on this bicycle are horrible. Simply put, they're horrible. That coupled with the frame being extremely heavy should be enough to dissuade you from buying this bicycle. (If you're going to get a cheap bike, get the cheapest, not a more expensive cheap bike.)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Hmm Interesting

12/10/2008
By ,
Flagstaff AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After getting in a horrible bike accident with a magna I came across this bike. For 1 thing it is a beautiful design. I'm 5'11 240LBS AND THIS BIKE HAS NO PROBLEM CARRYING ME. I live in a mountainy area so I test it almost daily. The forks are strong, as I've hit rocks that should have launched me like a catapult. The gears/sproket are shakey so I swapped out a trek rear wheel. It solved that problem.(The teeth on the sproket are too small). It brakes fine and feels very balenced. I like the welds on the frame they look tig welded. I'd replace the pedals though with metal ones for a lifetime of no problems. I'd say this bike is good for big people who mountain bike. Because your average street biker is thin and lanky thus the light weight bikes. So buy this bike but upgrade with the pedals sproket, and seat. Overall for 100 dollars you cannot beat this bike, oh yeah get a softer seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Stylish, Robust, Great value for money!

08/23/2007
By ,
Ventura, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried purchasing this bike twice online but it was temporarily sold out. Got curious and went to a Walmart store and there was one newlly assembled bike sitting there. Picked that up.
Initial impression, bike looks great, has style, has strong frame and forks. Good value for the money. Riding the bike is great as well, I encountered no issues shifting gears (if done right way, like with any bike) and the suspension handles great on trails. The tires are fine, just don't blow them to 50lbs like it is said, I keep mine about 45-46. They won't blow.
So overall, a very good, stylish and practical bike for the money. Good to start with and not feel sad when an expensive one breaks down the trails:). I also god a gel seat cover for more comfort (takes little time to get used to, but it is comfy)
Make sure that the bike gets assembled properly, especially the gear mechanism and brakes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Generally good

08/27/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bike arrived in a box which was wrecked - however the bike was fine and in good condition.
It was easy enough to put together and after riding it a few times have found the brakes are not the best to adjust - also the gear change is a little weak and not 100% accurate
I thought the front wheel was off 'true' at first- but actually it's the tyre that is set incorrectly and makes the wheel look like it's buckled - but it's not !!
The seat is comfy enough and quite well padded,(must have improved on previous reviews!!) and the bike itself is great, it's a little heavy, so for anyone looking for something lighter then don't go for this - however the bike rides well and at my age I won't be racing with it - the niggles above are only small and with a bit of effort they are soon sorted.
It looks great and funtions well once adjustments are done and I would say for the money is excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
08/03/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy shifting, smooth ride. Much more than I expected for the money. I enjoy it on trails as well as for street riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

transportation

04/09/2008
By ,
keene,tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the seat is very uncomfortable so i changed it with a better seat and it make for a mountain bike worth the asking price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Mens next

06/09/2009
By ,
Wyoming Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well for the Bike snobs I Have several mountain bikes and I purchased this Next Men's 26 " bike to try it out and all I can say is it rides and roll's as well as the rest and all bike's need adjustments after you ride them most bike shops request that you bring them back after 10 hours of ride time as for me I do my own adjustments ! according to most web sites I read if you don't spend 1000 Dollars on A bike any thing less is junk ! It aint the bike it's the rider ! and most of the Bikes and Parts are made buy the same Company with other brand names stamped on them
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike
04/20/2009
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased bike pre-assembled at store after considering other mountain bikes costing $180 or more. Store clerk re-adjusted brake pads since Wal-mart assembler had pads too tight. I made slight adjustments to front and rear gear shifts after reading manual. Now bike rides and shifts smoothly. I also found the seat uncomfortable and had to replace the saddle with one that has more padding. A spoke wrench may be needed to true up the rims, and tightening the handlebar may be necessary. The steel frame is heavy compared to an aluminum frame. This combined with the wide-grooved tire treads makes the bike slower than a road bike on paved streets, but pretty stable on trails. If speed is not a consideration, and lifting the bike will not be a problem, this bike is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 17 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Mens Mountain bike

06/23/2009
By ,
Wheeling, Ill.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to buy this bike for my daughter away at college. Her old bike was left out & ruined by her brother, so we needed to replace it ( it too was a Wal-Mart bike) All her friends have cars or work during the day during the summer school session so she needed a way to get around! I ordered it online from my Wheeling, Ill. address & had it shipped to the Normal, Ill. store where she could pick it up. It came in sooner then we were told so that was a big bonus. Only glitch was I was NOT told during the online ordering process...that the bike WOULD NOT be assembled when it arrived!
I panicked, my 20 year daughter doesn't know how, nor does she have the tools away at college, to assemble the bike if she did!!!I called the store manager & explained the situation, they were VERY NICE & HELPFUL, under the circumstances & had their in store assembler, Brandon, put her bike together for her that same night it arrived!
The store manager called me back that same night & told me that she had taken care of it & the bike would be ready for her the next morning to pick up. She loves the bike and besides the price being right ($89.00)...and a good looking bike, the service at the Normal, Ill. store was EXCELLENT!
Thanks again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good for fun

11/05/2007
By ,
El Monte, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Inexpensive, good features.
Cons: Built quality, uncomfortable seat.
First of all, this bike is great for $70+. It's got front and rear suspension and very rigid frame. Gear Changing is also smooth. My family and I had fun with it.
However, the built quality is rather poor. The two shocks don't really give you any superior riding feel. It also seems to have very high internal resistance, and the brake design is kind of flimsy. One would have to peddle hard to get it going, and won't be too fast with it. My worst experience with this bike is due to its seat. It's amazingly painful to sit on it to go any distance, even for just 5 minutes. If you have time and energy, some work can be done to improve a little on these aspects and make it a good toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 19 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good product for the money

12/31/2008
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good: put together decently. Weld look solid. Easy to adjust. Good manual. (Important to the mechanically challenged)
Bad: The seat is like sitting on the pointy end of a brick. Plan on replacing it or you will not want to ride the bike.
I bought the bike in the store, assembled. After taking it for several test runs, I made the adjustments to make it more usable for me.
Adjust the rear suspension. As it comes from the factory it is way too spongy.
Get the new seat or an add on pad. Your bottom will love you.
After about 5 miles of riding, plan on adjusting everything.
This is a good bike for around the town (neighborhood) riding. I can't speak to how it would do on a trail or off-road.
If it was not for the seat, I would have rated it higher.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for 26" Mens' NEXT PowerX Dual-Suspension Mountain Bike

Good Value

06/11/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good bike. I use this bike once or twice a week for commuting. I also use it for the occasional trail ride in the woods and the bike has done all I have asked it to. I had to inflate the tires a little because it sat in the store for awhile but other than that I am happy. I am not what you would call a serious bike rider but this bike does the job I want it too so if you are looking for a bike to get you from here to there with some fun once in awhile then this is the bike for you especially if you are on a budget. If you are looking for a 300-700 dollar bike with no design flaws and all the bells and whistles then my recomendation would be to buy a 300-700 dollar bike and not the 80 dollar one. This is a good bike at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next