Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Polaroid Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Polaroid Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Two 7" screens mean everyone gets a good view with this car DVD player. Watch a movie on both, or play games on one screen and a movie on the other. Includes a game controller with 15 built-in games.
Average Customer Rating:
3.48 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation67%67 out of 100reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Not Worth It

01/19/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter's birthday last year and it has already quit. It didn't even work for 6 months!!! The manufacturer is not helpful with it at all!!! DO NOT BUY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games
11/20/2007
By ,
Madison, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my sons last year for Christmas by April it had stopped working and I call the manufacture for a replacement. I was like 3 weeks passed the 90 day warranty and had to pay $110 to replace broke again in August and had a new secondary screen sent and now it isn't even December and neither one of them are working. My kids are not allowed to touch the screens, so I know they didn't do anything to them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 23 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Lasted about a year

10/12/2007
By ,
Parker, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good displays and good enough sound, but game controller is difficult for kids under 6 years old to use because of the hand strength needed and stopped working after 6 months. DVD lens burned out after 14 months with appx weekly use. The extended warranty for this would be worth getting.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 24 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Very disappointed

11/01/2007
By ,
TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my girls last year at Christmas to use for 2-3 hour trips we often make to visit family. We didn't use the second screen for several months, but when I finally attempted to hook it up, it didn't work at all. It was too late to return the whole thing, so we overpaid for a one screen dvd player. Also, the game cords did not work. A few months ago, the lid for the dvd holder broke which was cheaply made. I didn't think my girls were that rough on this to cause it to break so quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 25 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Vacation helper

08/14/2007
By ,
McPherson, KS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product worked great for the first 90 miles, then the master screen started getting dark and you couldn't see the picture when it was connected to the other that is playing a movie. When the master screen played the video games you could still see it clearly. I think the connecting wire between the screens has a short in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 26 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Polaroid 7" two screen DVD

08/23/2007
By ,
Duluth. MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for the price and thought with a the Polaroid name on it it would be good. First of all the cords drape in between them and look awful and make reaching in the back seat hard. Second the Dvd player skips on every little bump and after less than one week the screen displays an "open" error like the cover is loose. I am returning it today.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 27 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games
07/24/2007
By ,
Urbandale, IA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stopped working on a roadtrip. played 4 disc than stopped. Said it was a bad disc
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 28 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Flimsy and stopped working -Bad Disc error

07/29/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product about 1 year ago. We never moved it and just let is stay in the vehicle. The first day the plastic latch that holds the case closed broke. We used some velcro to keep it closed. It was still a good deal until we started getting errors, bad disc. At first we would wait a few minutes and try again but kept getting the errors. We also tried other DVDs but it was the unit. It lasted about total of 1 year and was not abused. I would stay away from this item. We bought it when it was more expensive so I guess it's our loss.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 29 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Would be nice if it worked!

09/04/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We ordered this item 2 times. The dvd player didn't work properly but the kids did love playing the video games. In the end we had to return it and get something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 30 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Some problems with cord

07/03/2007
By ,
Feds Creek, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like the portable DVD players I bought, but the audio/video cable seems to have a short in it. At times it will work, then at times it won't. It started the very first time we plugged them in. Now it seems I'm going to have to go buy a new set of A/V cables to make it work correctly. Other than that it's a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 31 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

polaroid two screen car dvd player

10/12/2007
By ,
grants pass,or
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i was missed led by the picture of the product. i thought the dvd player was seperate from the screens.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 32 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Good Idea- but Cheap

08/13/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I originally purchased this item in early '06. I used it through out the year on many road trips. Eventually, the spring that causes the DVD door to close/open broke. I thought that it must have been the kid's (ages 8 & 5) that broke it - or just too many uses. Thankfully I bought the extended warranty and got a new one. On our first use - the same spring broke again! This time - the spring popped out when I hit the "open/close" botton. Without the spring, the door remains open and with any little jump the car makes- the door opens and causes the movie to restart. If you have the patience to tape it shut - then it's a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 33 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

GOOD FOR THE PRICE

08/14/2007
By ,
SNELLVILLE,GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
THE SOUND AND PICTURE QUALITY IS EXCELLENT. HOWEVER, AFTER 1 WEEK OF USE THE 2ND SCREEN STOPPED WORKING. I RETURNED IT AND ORDERED ANOTHER BUT HAVE NOT RECEIVED REPLACEMENT YET. RETURN TO THE STORE WAS PAINLESS EVEN THOUGH I ORDERED IT ONLINE. HOPEFULLY 2ND WILL WORK BETTER.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 34 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

not really portable

08/22/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was hoping it would be more portable than just using it in the car. My boy likes the game part of the player though. I would not pay that much for a non portable, portable dvd player again!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 35 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Polaroid Dual Pros / Cons

08/23/2007
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, a decent picture. Sound through speakers is flat, weak. The two units can NOT operate autonomously (ie one master, one slave). One kid can watch a movie, the other can play a video game, but they must swap units if they want to switch. The set includes two headphones, video game console with games preloaded, car 12v adapter, home a/c plug, RCA cable for out to tv, straps to attach units to headrests, and cables to connect the two units together. The cables are all very short though, (ie only 4 feet) so the kids must be sitting side by side! Less than desireable at times! And your car must have back seat power source to be practical. (Or go to Radio Shack and buy a longer plug to reach from the front to the back seat(s). A word of caution - not all other DC power plugs will work; be sure to get one rated for 1200 mha). Currently retail priced at WalMart for $149, but reportedly was sold at X-Mas time for $79!! A STEAL AT THE LOWER PRICE IF YOU CAN GET IT. Other Dual units are available, generally for more money, but you may gain two fully functioning (ie seperate) units for around $185 -that aren't "joined at the hip"!. I would recommend spending a little more - and keeping them seperated! You may end up with more quiet time while driving, less fights, and happier (independant) children. But if your kids get along well and you don't want to spend any more money, this set shuold get you by.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 36 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games
08/23/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall I have enjoyed this, my daughter loves it. It keeps her occupied while we're driving and gives me some peace :) The only problem I am having with it is when you close it, most of the time it will not close all the way, so your dvd will not play, but if you push lightly on it then it will start playing. That is very aggravating. The quality of the picture is great, and the sound is good. Its just that it won't latch down completely.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 37 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

shoulda got ext warranty

10/05/2007
By ,
fort smith ar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bought this a year ago, for a long road trip with 3 boys!! It has worked well, reading almost all dvds that were put in, and kept the boys out of trouble!!
It just quit working, the second screen has power, but the player doesn't.
Guess it worked well for the price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Disappointed

07/31/2007
By ,
Kansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We are on our 3rd brand and type of portable DVD player. These made it almost a year. Sometimes they will not turn on and then when they do, they will shut off at any given time. It has been frustrating for my kids who love to watch videos on our long trips. I purchased the extended warranty, so I will be sending mine in. I am curious about how long it will take and how long it will work when it is returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 39 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Keeps the kids quiet

08/08/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you're going on a long trip with a couple of kids, this is the product for you. It will help you keep your sanity. The headphones allow you to listen to your adio while the kids are mesmerized watching the same movies over and over.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 40 for Polaroid 7" Two-Screen Car DVD Player w/ Game Controller & Built-in Games

Great Product for a Great Price

08/11/2007
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been looking for a dual screen portable dvd to take on our summer vacation. I had borrowered a friends Polariod dvd and like the ease of use and picture clarity. The price was very reasonable for the dual screen system. It also came with games which my kids enjoyed - they are nothing hi-tech, but my kids are not in really into video games.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
21-40 of 95 total reviews