Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Peace of mind without the sticker shock. this camera/camcorder service plan protects beyond the manufacturer's warranty and covers failures due to normal wear & tear. No deductibles. No hidden fees. Fully transferable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%70 out of 74reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder
06/16/2010
By ,
Cottonwood, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everyone should protect there investments with a service plan.
As a customer service manager at wal~mart I understand its importance and need.
The value for the three year plan is very reasonable.
However there is a 3 page and step printing proccess on retaining your warrenty.
For this reason I gave it 4 stars instead of five across the board.
Those are:
1. The page on www.walmart.com for the service plan you purchased
2. The Terms and Conditions for the state where you live (this can be downloaded and printed from the same page)
3. Your order details for the plan you purchased. You can get to this page by signing in to My Account and clicking on your order number. It will show the date and amount of your transaction.
I would like to see it all condensed and simplified to one link on the e-mail receipt the customer receives. click and print.
Make this proccess easy for our guest.
As it is can be very frustrating for some guest.
especially those with little computer experiance.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Review 2 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Great Value

02/03/2008
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase a camera and extended service plan 2 years ago. Last December the camera quit working. I called the number listed, returned the camera and recieved a refund. No problems. I am going to purchased another camera and extended service plan from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
+17points
Review 3 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Wouldn't Think of Not Purchasing

09/06/2009
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The extended warranty is awesome. You don't get anything in the mail. If the warranty is purchased online, it will show up at check out and you will also get a receipt via email for it. When you get the confirmation that the warranty has been "shipped", you download the warranty, print it out and keep it with receipt, manufacturer's warranty, etc. The extended warranty goes into effect after mfg warranty has expired. 1-800 number to call that is answered 24/7. Wouldn't purchase much of anything without extended warranty. The manufacturers know approximately how long their item is going to hold up, i.e. 90 day, 6 month, 1 yr warranty. Walmart's extended warranty is better priced than any I have found!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Review 4 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

3 year extended service plan

04/08/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a response to the very first review on 1/3/2008 and for anyone ordering the service plan. You must follow the directions and print out the documentation the site tells you to print. The site states up front (at least it does now, it might not have in January) that you will recieve nothing in the mail. I have had service plans from Walmart before and have only had to use one, but I was very pleased with the service and I was glad I had invested in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 5 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Protect Your Product

03/02/2008
By ,
Beaverton OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last camera SD200 was damaged due to no fault of anyone and we had the warranty and it was brought up to new. I will not buy another camera without warranty production. Cameras are so easy to break.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 6 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Worth The $$$

07/15/2010
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scenario #1: You purchase a new camera. You're taking pictures like crazy until, 4 months later, the camera won't turn on. You call Nikon/Kodak/Sony, and they regretfully inform you that they will no longer replace the product. Suddenly, a $147-$300 investment goes down the drain.
Scenario #2: You purchase a new camera. You're taking pictures like crazy until, 4 months later, the camera won't turn on. Luckily, you spent the extra cash to have the product covered for 3 years. You call Wal-Mart, and they happily refund your money, which you use to buy a new camera (probably at a lower price, considering cameras are constantly getting cheaper). A few days later, your happily taking pictures again with a brand new camera.
I think the choice is obvious.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 7 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Great Value!

06/22/2011
By ,
Bolingbrook, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value for the years covered (3 years). I purchased it for my son's digital camera, which is going into a care package since he is deployed in Afghanistan. I believe there is no better deal out there. I have a similar coverage for my own digital camera which I purchased at Ritz cameras, very pricey and the same camera was much cheaper at the Walmart site. Will be doing more shopping at the Walmart site.
There is a problem when you want to print out the warranty, after much trial and error, I was able to get it through the terms and conditions of this product. The instructions are not very helpful, it would be easier if this warranty would come in a form of a pdf attachment in an email. Just a suggestion, would make it easier for those that are not that tech savy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Okay for Money

11/20/2010
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The camera has a lot of neat features; however, the clarity does not measure up to the a digital Sony DSC-P92 which we purchased 7 years ago (only 5 mega pixels, now dead). The 5 mega pixel camera outside shots were awesome and this camera is a 14 mega pixel and doesn't compared in clarity. It may be that the lens are not of the same quality. If my opinion changes as we use this camera more, I will change my comments. For the money, it is an okay purchase. It's very small and easy to carry around. If you have large hands, you may have a problem using buttons as with all small things.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 9 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

why wouldn't you buy

03/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
why wouldn't you buy this on top of anything that you spend your hard earned dollar on. It's an investment that makes sure that you or whoever get the item will have it for at least 4 years of trouble free useage. My son had a PSP and didn't add this to the purchase, ended up he will now have to pay more money just to play the PSP again. I bought this with a digital camera for my wife. I know she will enjoy this camera for at least four years, chances are if we don't end up using the extended warrenty it's security that we will have that camera for those years.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Do I have a warranty?

12/23/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased the Sony video camera. Good experience with Sony products but did buy the warranty extension. Well at least I paid for it but sure can't seem to find any real receipt or printable page to verify that I have it and that it covers the camera purchased. Real weird situation here. Sure hope it's all in the system somewhere if I do happen to need it. Wouldn't think it would be all that difficult to provide a printable page with the camera model and SSN to present at the service desk? Hoping I'll never need it. Wishing all happy holidays!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Seems Great

05/17/2010
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't had to use this warranty, but I was pleased with the following;
• I was sent a timely email that included all the information about the warranty, and the warranty information itself.
• I was also sent in the mail a hard copy of this information, which I thought was nice. It was unexpected because I read that I would NOT receive something by mail.
It seems like a great warranty and the price is reasonable for what it appears to cover.
Hopefully my camera won't ever need this warranty, but it's nice to have it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 12 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Excellent Price for Camera Protection

07/02/2009
By ,
Tri-Cities, Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I shopped around for quite some time -- and this was the best price available for extended warranty protection for my Panasonic digital camera. Past experiences with digital cameras indicate to me the importance of having the extended warranty. Cannot say yet how well the plan works, as there has not yet been any need to use it. But.... definitely is priced well! I could not rate it any higher than good since I have not yet actually used the warranty service. Judging by the written guarantees, the plan looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Never received

01/03/2008
By ,
Loveland, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the 3 year extened warranty but never recieved anything in the mail. So I am not sure I even have a warranty unless they just go by the confirmation I printed out when I purchased the camera and the warranty. But I have nothing to give my daughter (who the gift was for). I also do not know what the warranty covers etc..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bolingbrook, IL
WARRANTY
Posted 06/18/2011
You have to go online to download the warranty, but it is not so easy to get to though.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Worth the Price!!

06/03/2009
By ,
HOWE, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a video camera and purchased this extended warranty along with it. I would definately recommend purchasing the extended warranty. The video camera I purchased has a 1 year warranty that already comes with it. This gives you 3 MORE years AFTER the original warranty expires. Haven't had to use it yet, but I like having peace of mind that it will be fixed if anything goes wrong with it. Worth the money!! It's like having a 4 year warranty total.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

WELL WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY SPENT

04/10/2011
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buying electronics is a risky venture, no one knows what can happen to things after you've owned them for awhile, especially digital cameras, I always purchase extended warranties on these items, and for three years extra coverage the price is unbeatable, in reality you are getting four years coverage when you include the one year manufacturers warranty, so I would highly recommend this extra coverage for less than thirty bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

excellent price, cheaper than kodak itself

12/09/2011
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the kodak z990 camera from walmart and got the extended warranty for 3 years for less than $30, excellent price, cheaper than kodak itself for ONE year. However I have not had to use it yet, so I don't know how the customer service is, it is through Walmart and they have great online customer service and there is a Walmart on every corner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Great Value

04/23/2008
By ,
Christiansburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My previous HP camera locked up as soon as the warranty expired and the company was not helpful at all. I swore I would not buy another HP camera but I found one that I just had to have. I love the camera and glad I bought it. For the money the extended warranty is a great buy. Have not had to use it yet but the peace of mind is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Extended Warranty

10/19/2008
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third camera I've ordered from Wal Mart.com. I have purchased an extended warranty each time. I have had to use the warranty each time. It's by far the best warranty every-I would never buy another camera anywhere else. The claim process was easy and fast. The money was paid promptly. Well worth the cost!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

What I hope never to use

12/30/2007
By ,
Willow Spring NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the warranty for a Kodak digital camera. We have had small issues in the past with others and I wanted to be sure that any issues with this one would be covered. A very convenient and economical way to ensure a serviceable product over the lifetime of the warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Camera/Camcorder

Crazy Not To

07/18/2007
By ,
Mechanicsville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When spending a lot of money of a product that could experience failure it is always wise to get coverage for loss or damage. Coverage was excellent and the cost was very reasonable. We feel much more comfortable knowing that our purchased product is covered.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next