Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Peace of mind without the sticker shock. Our Plans protect beyond the manufacturer's warranty and cover failures due to normal wear & tear. No deductibles. No hidden fees. Fully transferable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation93%28 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

A necessary purchase

01/02/2010
By ,
Riverview, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to go with the DVD/VCR I purchased - Luckily I printed off the e-mail that wal-mart sent saying that it was approved as I was supposed to receive a copy in the mail which has not arrived. I believe in extended warranties - just in case the product I bought breaks or needs work on. If you purchase an extended warranty from wal-mart.com, make sure you print off the e-mail from wal-mart that your warranty was approved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Review 2 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Great Warranty

06/10/2009
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found that this warranty through Walmart is great! The price is right and I had a unit that died and Walmart sent me my money right away and I purchased another machine and warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 3 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Great 4 Multi-function Electronics w/moving parts

06/17/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this to go with my new Samsung, blu-ray, 3D, wi-fi internet-ready DVD player.
Have not used it, but I used to work for Walmart, and I'm totally trusting in their reputation for good customer return service, as this is a plan with Walmart and NOT a third-party insurance company.
Extended Service insurance companies go out of business all the time, and so there is a big risk in buying a plan from someone other than the actual retailer or the manufacturer of the item.
The price is very reasonable: just a little over 10% of the purchase price. I've seen this type of plan on places such as Amazon for upwards of 20% of purchase price.
TWO big reasons for anyone to consider buying this to go along with a similar product:
1. If the item you are buying has moving parts (such as a disc player) then the risk is greater that it will break down. Items without moving parts (such as receivers/amplifiers) are not as great a risk to break down.
2. The newer, multi-function units such as this run a greater risk of SOME feature malfunctioning. For instance, the disc player might continue to operate, but the wi-fi might break down. Or, it might lose it's ability to read just the 3D discs.
I work with electronics professionally as a musician/singer-songwriter, and this plan simply made great sense to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Glad it is offered

02/03/2011
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have not use this extended warranty yet. I hope never to need to use this warranty. It is just a backup for a product that I do not feel very good about. My MDR 515 DVD Recorder's DVD tray was making sound on the first day of ownership and later did not operate at all. I was able to return it within the 30 day period and ordered a 2nd unit without using the 3 yr extended warranty. Product should not have been unreliable in the first place but having an ability to purchase a 3 Year extended warranty allows me the peace of mind and the confidence to purchase a 2nd unit . I have so many electronic items that fail so I wouldn't purchase my DVD recorder from Walmart in the first place unless I know I can have some sort of warranty for at least a few years.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Good to have, just in case

10/15/2007
By ,
Kingsville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like to idea of simply calling a toll free number to obtain service should it be needed after Panasonic's warrenty expires. Things seem to break down ofted these days. It is good to have this protection if the unit needs repair in order to avoid costly repair bills.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 6 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item
08/08/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Did not receive the paperwork as promised, had to call to get them to send the paperwork. Could not do it with e-mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 7 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

That's a true SERVICE plan!

12/28/2010
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 3 year service plan from Walmart leaves any competition in the dust. I compared it with my 3 year extended-service plan from Target for a HDTV and noticed one BIG difference: Target's service plan starts at the time you purchased the product. This sounds good but consider that most manufacturers include a one year warranty anyways. So, buying Target's 3-year extended-service plan is actually like paying for two "insurance plans" for the same period. They should call it 2 year extended-service. Walmart, however, offers a real 3 year service plan as it kicks in AFTER the manufacturer's warranty expires (usually one year). In fact, your product is protected for full four years!
Don't just read the numbers, read the fine print!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 8 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Unclear how to associate product with purchase

05/26/2009
By ,
Los Angeles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this warranty on "faith" since there is no paperwork linking a specific purchase with a product. What if I buy 5 individual electronic products in the same time period that I buy the warranty. Apparently I could pay for one warranty and claim any one of the 5 items was "applied" to the one failed item. No warranty information is either e-mailed or postal mailed to the purchaser. If there is no hassle utilizing this warranty than its a good purchase, but only time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 9 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item
01/05/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Magnavox Combo with digital tuner works great with my basic cable, but the only downfall is it doesn't have the volume control on the remote, so that means you always have to switch back and forth using the television remote to control the sound and the combo's remote to change the channels making it inconvenient. Combo's with digital tuners are hard to find that have both the open and close button and the volume button feature on the remote control. I did my homework scouting out comparing prices, Walmart has the most reasonable price then any other company. If you can get past that flaw of the remote not having a volume control, you have got it made! I got used to it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Needed protection

07/22/2011
By ,
Lawndale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really needed this protection. I have owned 5 video recorders in the past 3 years. The
electric company burned out the first 2. I bought a new one and a refurbished one. The new one lasted 4 months and the refurbished one lasted 7 months. I have learned my lesson the hard way, so now I get the service protection plan. I cannot live with out my video recorder, so even if it is made poorly, I will keep buying a new one. WITH SERVICE PROTECTION OF COURSE.
I have not had to use it yet, so I hope it will meet expectations, if I never have to use it I will be even happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

A Good deal

10/28/2008
By ,
Elk City, Ok.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not used the 3-year warranty, but have purchased it with my new recorder because of a previous purchase from Wal-mart. I purchased a Phillips recorder w/ harddrive and after the inital 1year warranty, it quit working. I sent it in, postage paid by Wal-Mart, and since it could not be repaired, and I had the 2 yr. warranty, they sent me a check for the purchase. I would say that this is a very good insurance buy, because they do honor it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

If you don' protect you might Regret!

08/18/2008
By ,
FORT WORTH, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say? It's insurance. I use the $100.00 rule . If it cost less than a hundred dollars no insurance is needed. If you spend more than a hundred and use the product almost every day like I do you definitely want the extended warranty. I spent almost $300 so the warranty was an easy pick at the affordable cost that walmart offers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Haven't used it yet

09/23/2008
By ,
North Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't really review a product until you use it, and one hopes they never have to use an extended product warranty.
What I can review, however, is the ease of purchasing this warranty. You do it all online, simply printing out all the information and your receipt for purchase of it.
If I ever have to use it, I will update my review.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Great Buy

02/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not much to be said of this warranty except that it is an excellent buy for a 3-year full-coverage warranty. I consider it $28 well spent. If I never have to use it I won't be out too much but if I do, it will be cheap because I could never get anything even looked at for $28. It's an inexpensive gamble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Security DVR extended warranty

09/07/2012
By ,
Lincoln, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Security DVRs run 24/7 and normally last 12-14 months. I've been replacing min on a yearly basis so I decided to get the extended warranty in order to save money. I know for certain that I'll be using it if the past is any indication.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Great Product

12/15/2011
By ,
Peoria Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have ordered similar products in the past and have found Walmart's service plans to be the best I have ever dealt with. They are no hassel and easy to get warranty service. The people are very knowledgeable and will go out of there way to help you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Good Value for Protection

06/15/2011
By ,
Jackson, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DVRs should last many, many years, but mine get a lot of wear and tear. I never buy extended warranties. But the cost on this plan was so low, and it begins after the manufacturer's warranty that I couldn't resist. Good value for piece of mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 18 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

negative experience

06/24/2009
By ,
houston, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't get it to work. I bought it because of the positive comments other people posted. Well, neither me nor my adult kids have been able to get it to function. I'm very disappointed and still wondering if somehow I'm connecting it up wrong.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-17points
Review 19 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

will not know the value of this unless I use it an

10/24/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
as this is a 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item I will never know the true value of this plan unless the machine stops working in the next three years.. by the way I hope that I will never need this product
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for 3 Year Service Plan for a Home Video Item

Extended warranty

02/10/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although I hope not to use this product, with the TV industry warranty of 1 year on parts and 90 days on labor. It seems to me like a 90 day warranty.
At $30.00 for 3 years this seems to be a bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next