Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Petmate Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Petmate Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

This purifying pet fountain provides naturally cool, oxygenated water for cats and small dogs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.186 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(188 Reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
41
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation84%157 out of 188reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 109 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
41
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

My cat loves it!

08/20/2008
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat never seemed to drink enough water. I gave him fresh water everyday and it never seemed like he drank any, since I got the fountain, I can see the water level drop. He was curious about it at first and tried to play with it, but he got used to it in about an hour. Its handy for me, b/c I dont have to change his water everyday. It filters it for you and he has fresh water all the time. The exact same fountain is at PetSmart for about $10-15 more. Its still a little more than a bowl, but your cats will love it. The only downfall I've seen is just that my cat likes to throw his food in there and I have to clean it more often than most people. Its somewhat of a pain to take apart to clean. but most people dont have a cat as weird as mine!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

My little boston terrier loves it!

09/01/2008
By ,
Morgantown, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this about a month ago for my new boston terrier puppy and she really does like it. For the first few days she was initially startled by the noise that it makes even though the sound is so slight that I can hardly hear it myself. But, after getting over being a scaredy-dog she really enjoys having the fresh circulating water and when I give her water somewhere else I have to stir it with my finger to make it move like her Petmate Fresh Flow.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Cats love it!!!

12/11/2007
By ,
Somewhere, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say that my cats love this product!!! It is nice to not have to worry about them drinking out of the toilet and aquarium anymore....except when it runs low. The reservoir is too small to last any length of time for my 3 cats. And when the water level starts dropping it makes awful noises, however it doesn't deter my cats from the getting water from it, they've even learned that if they scoot it some, more water will come through and the machine will quiet for long enough to get some water.
Cleaning isn't difficult either, just take it apart, clean it, then snap it back together. Sure, it takes a little bit longer to clean than a regular bowl, but you don't have to fill it nearly as often. With 3 cats, I usually only have to fill it every 3-4 days. And the filters are just as easy as changing the filter in an aquarium (take off top, remove old cartridge, slip in new), and they are cheap as well, maybe $3.00 for a two-pack that lasts 4-6 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

3boysandacatmom

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second pet water fountain, first of this particular style/brand. The size, design and style are perfect! It is easy to clean and refill. It runs so quietly that you'll often wonder if it's running at all. The flow is not as fast as our previous fountain, but the cat doesn't seem to mind.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

My Cats Love it!

10/28/2010
By ,
Livermore, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an 11 year old cat and (3) 10 week old kittens and let me tell you, they absolutely love it! I bought a black large one (that one sits in the kitchen floor) and this medium one in the color Expresso (for the kitten room). When I opened it, the water reservoir was broken, so I called the company (Petmate), left a message and 10 min. later they called me back. Now that is fantastic customer service! I told them about the water reservoir and they said they would send me one to replace it for FREE! Imagine that! I am absolutely sold on this company... I am truly satisfied with the Fresh flow and service. By the way, if you are worried if it makes alot of noise, it doesn't. You wont regret buying this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Good Product

06/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product works very well, but I do miss the flow adjustment.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Upkeep is a huge pain!

02/26/2014
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is beautiful for the first couple of days, until you have to clean it. The cats love drinking from the fountain, but the water in the pool doesn't move fast enough to keep from getting stagnant and developing mold/mildew around the edges. Not to mention the hair that gathers around the filter. Plus you have to refill it every day or two for the fountain to keep moving. So we've ended up having to clean out the entire things every few days and scrub off all the mold/mildew that has collected inside. We've had it less than a year and my hubby already had to take the motor apart & fix it. We got it thinking the cats could have fresh water all the time without us having to fill their bowls twice a day. Instead this ended up being more work for us and less fresh water for the cats.
-We have 2 indoor, short hair cats.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

My cats love this

02/05/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two cats that love this water fountain. The most important thing to know about these fountains is you MUST KEEP THEM CLEAN. That means you have to regularly take it apart and wash all of the parts. This includes the pump which also comes apart. Hair,bits of food and dirt can get inside the pump and stop the impeller from turning. It's a little work but well worth your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Fresh Flow

07/09/2007
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very impressed how much my cat Buddy loved the Deluxe Fresh Flow Pet Fountain. It was really easy to set up and Buddy was just drinking water every time I looked for him! He used to try and jump up and drink from the faucets, but now he has his very own clean running water. This is a great product. WalMart should put them in the store so people can see them! Already two friends of mine bought them for their cats!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

pets love it

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Awesome

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the water dish. My cats love it because it's quiet. It's easy to clean and I like the container where you put the water it's so easy to fill it up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Our kitties love it!

10/06/2007
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Actually, we purchased our Pet Mate Fresh Flow water fountain over 5 years ago. We were worried "changes" would be made to the product over time and wouldn't be able to purchase filters, but not the case.
Great product - thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Your cat will thank you

08/13/2007
By ,
Waterford, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pet fountain is excellent for making sure your pet is properly hydrated. Cats prefer fresh water and this product provides it. My four cats are drinking much more water since they began using this product. Plus, I don't have to worry about fresh water when I come home tired from work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

This will be #2

11/13/2007
By ,
Bellevue, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 cats one which is over 22 pounds and can easily drain the water dish by himself. This is our second fountain because we ran the first one until it practically burst into flames. They love it! It does make a noise when it runs low on water but that works great for me because it's my reminder to add water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Great product!

02/03/2008
By ,
San Antonio,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not the first pet fountain I've purchased but as long as I have furry kids I will continue to use the Deluxe fresh flow pet fountain. My cats love the waterfall. As a result I believe they drink water more frequently and that's good for their kidneys. The vet told me house cats sometimes suffer from kidney problems because they prefer 'moving' water so they won't drink enough from a bowl that water just sits in. This is just one more thing I'm willing to do for my animal companions to increase their longevity and quality of life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Invite your friends to play Pudding Pop!

05/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good they have never drank so much water
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Good, but jury's still out

08/05/2008
By ,
Sacramento, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was transferred to my local store very quickly and I really liked that service. As for the product itself, the jury's still out. I've had it about one month and am unsure what my cat thinks of it. It was initially purchased for when I had to go out of town but based on other reviews I decided to use it full-time. When I first set it up it ran very quietly, almost silently. By the end of the first week it sounded like I had a water feature in my kitchen. Kind of loud. My cat seems to accept it but I've only seen him drink from it twice. The water level goes down but that might be due to evaporation. I hope he's using it when I'm at work, but that's uncertain. There's evidence in the litter box, but this cat also likes water from the adjoining sink when I'm shaving and has a weird thing for the shower floor after I'm done. He has multiple sources of water... So, who knows if he's using the fountain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

My cat loves this fountaiin!

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took my cat a few days to get used to change from drinking out of a bowl to this running water fountain, but once he got used to it, he never went back. Fresh, aerated water. She loves it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Great Idea; but junk product

05/02/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this product for our cat. She loved it immediately. Two days later we found it had leaked ALL over the place. We cleaned and reassembled. It leaked the entire tank out again. Returned it to Wal-Mart and got another. My cat loves this item. It worked for approx. 22 hrs. Upon returning from dinner we found the 2nd one leaked the whole tank all over the floor AGAIN. Will not get a 3rd one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Great drinking fountain for pets

10/16/2012
By ,
Valencia, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of these for my two cats and they love it. I bought this one for my son's small dog and cat. They share it and love it and it gives great peace of mind that they are drinking good water. This can't help but be good for their kidneys, which often fail in older animals. I would highly recommend this to anyone that loves their pets. You do have to change the filters and clean the unit on a regular basis....but how hard is that?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 172 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next