Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Petmate Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Petmate Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

This purifying pet fountain provides naturally cool, oxygenated water for cats and small dogs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(170 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
36
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation83%141 out of 170reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 99 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
36
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

My cat loves it!

08/20/2008
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat never seemed to drink enough water. I gave him fresh water everyday and it never seemed like he drank any, since I got the fountain, I can see the water level drop. He was curious about it at first and tried to play with it, but he got used to it in about an hour. Its handy for me, b/c I dont have to change his water everyday. It filters it for you and he has fresh water all the time. The exact same fountain is at PetSmart for about $10-15 more. Its still a little more than a bowl, but your cats will love it. The only downfall I've seen is just that my cat likes to throw his food in there and I have to clean it more often than most people. Its somewhat of a pain to take apart to clean. but most people dont have a cat as weird as mine!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

My little boston terrier loves it!

09/01/2008
By ,
Morgantown, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this about a month ago for my new boston terrier puppy and she really does like it. For the first few days she was initially startled by the noise that it makes even though the sound is so slight that I can hardly hear it myself. But, after getting over being a scaredy-dog she really enjoys having the fresh circulating water and when I give her water somewhere else I have to stir it with my finger to make it move like her Petmate Fresh Flow.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Upkeep is a huge pain!

02/26/2014
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is beautiful for the first couple of days, until you have to clean it. The cats love drinking from the fountain, but the water in the pool doesn't move fast enough to keep from getting stagnant and developing mold/mildew around the edges. Not to mention the hair that gathers around the filter. Plus you have to refill it every day or two for the fountain to keep moving. So we've ended up having to clean out the entire things every few days and scrub off all the mold/mildew that has collected inside. We've had it less than a year and my hubby already had to take the motor apart & fix it. We got it thinking the cats could have fresh water all the time without us having to fill their bowls twice a day. Instead this ended up being more work for us and less fresh water for the cats.
-We have 2 indoor, short hair cats.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Cats love it!!!

12/11/2007
By ,
Somewhere, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say that my cats love this product!!! It is nice to not have to worry about them drinking out of the toilet and aquarium anymore....except when it runs low. The reservoir is too small to last any length of time for my 3 cats. And when the water level starts dropping it makes awful noises, however it doesn't deter my cats from the getting water from it, they've even learned that if they scoot it some, more water will come through and the machine will quiet for long enough to get some water.
Cleaning isn't difficult either, just take it apart, clean it, then snap it back together. Sure, it takes a little bit longer to clean than a regular bowl, but you don't have to fill it nearly as often. With 3 cats, I usually only have to fill it every 3-4 days. And the filters are just as easy as changing the filter in an aquarium (take off top, remove old cartridge, slip in new), and they are cheap as well, maybe $3.00 for a two-pack that lasts 4-6 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

My Cats Love it!

10/28/2010
By ,
Livermore, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an 11 year old cat and (3) 10 week old kittens and let me tell you, they absolutely love it! I bought a black large one (that one sits in the kitchen floor) and this medium one in the color Expresso (for the kitten room). When I opened it, the water reservoir was broken, so I called the company (Petmate), left a message and 10 min. later they called me back. Now that is fantastic customer service! I told them about the water reservoir and they said they would send me one to replace it for FREE! Imagine that! I am absolutely sold on this company... I am truly satisfied with the Fresh flow and service. By the way, if you are worried if it makes alot of noise, it doesn't. You wont regret buying this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Fresh Flow

07/09/2007
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very impressed how much my cat Buddy loved the Deluxe Fresh Flow Pet Fountain. It was really easy to set up and Buddy was just drinking water every time I looked for him! He used to try and jump up and drink from the faucets, but now he has his very own clean running water. This is a great product. WalMart should put them in the store so people can see them! Already two friends of mine bought them for their cats!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Great product!

02/03/2008
By ,
San Antonio,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not the first pet fountain I've purchased but as long as I have furry kids I will continue to use the Deluxe fresh flow pet fountain. My cats love the waterfall. As a result I believe they drink water more frequently and that's good for their kidneys. The vet told me house cats sometimes suffer from kidney problems because they prefer 'moving' water so they won't drink enough from a bowl that water just sits in. This is just one more thing I'm willing to do for my animal companions to increase their longevity and quality of life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Great for a couple of animals!

03/28/2014
By ,
Bay Area, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this 50 oz capacity Petmate Fresh Flow. But when I receive it the brand name was Aspen. I asked the clerk and they stated that it is owned by the same company. To make a long story short. Since I have two cats and two dogs so I just purchased the 108 oz one and will be returning this one because the water doesn't last long. Overall this product is quiet and very easy to add more water in the holding tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

good fountain

04/02/2014
By ,
houston tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned 3 of these. My animals love them because they are quiet. They do clog with hair quickly from my cat. The motors do tend to go out after about a year. But overall this is the best fountain I have seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

My cats love this

02/05/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two cats that love this water fountain. The most important thing to know about these fountains is you MUST KEEP THEM CLEAN. That means you have to regularly take it apart and wash all of the parts. This includes the pump which also comes apart. Hair,bits of food and dirt can get inside the pump and stop the impeller from turning. It's a little work but well worth your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

A "must have" for pet owners

03/21/2014
By ,
Waseca, Mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second pet fountain. First one lasted over 5 years. Quiet operation, keeps water fresh and clean, easy to maintain. Makes my kittys feel real special, which of course, they are. The price is excellent and the capacity of water it holds is very adequate. I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Our kitties love it!

10/06/2007
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Actually, we purchased our Pet Mate Fresh Flow water fountain over 5 years ago. We were worried "changes" would be made to the product over time and wouldn't be able to purchase filters, but not the case.
Great product - thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Your cat will thank you

08/13/2007
By ,
Waterford, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pet fountain is excellent for making sure your pet is properly hydrated. Cats prefer fresh water and this product provides it. My four cats are drinking much more water since they began using this product. Plus, I don't have to worry about fresh water when I come home tired from work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

This will be #2

11/13/2007
By ,
Bellevue, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 cats one which is over 22 pounds and can easily drain the water dish by himself. This is our second fountain because we ran the first one until it practically burst into flames. They love it! It does make a noise when it runs low on water but that works great for me because it's my reminder to add water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Nor for mine

11/04/2013
By ,
WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is not to say that this isn't a good product. It would have been great except for a picky cat owning me. No doubt there are many, many cats who absolutely love this fountain but evidently it wasn't "wild" enough for mine. I'll return this and get a different one (also from Walmart) that looks more like a running faucet. Now if the picture is only right, he, too, will be enjoying a fountain.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Petmate Fountain

07/01/2013
By ,
Grain Valley, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Petmate Fountain works real well. This is the forth one I have bought as I use one for our puppy and one for our two cats. The cats love the flowing water and the puppy likes to play in hers. These fountains do promote a lot of water drinking and entertainment. I also feel good about the filter system on these fountains. Great for the puppy who seems to wash her entire mug in it after she eats her crunchy food. These are easy to wash and fill and the pumps are quite strong and for the most part, quiet. Can't keep house without these fountains.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Expectations FAR exceeded!

06/24/2010
By ,
CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been considering a pet fountain like this since they became available, but due to high cost and some poor reviews, I just never took the plunge (no pun intended, he he). Was at my local Walmart for another pet item when I saw this sitting on the shelf by itself (last one apparently). When I saw the price @ half off, I figured there must be something wrong or bad reviews or something! I decided to buy it knowing I could return if unhappy.
I was initially concerned when I saw the very small size of the water reservoir, but once you fill the "holding" area and the main bowl part with water, it does hold quite a bit. Took my teenage daughter only 5 min to get it up and running much to her faucet and toilet drinking cats delight!!! My other two cats and two dogs are slower to warm up to it, but they are coming around on their own timing.
It is AMAZINGLY quiet. This was an initial concern for me as I have read other reviews on other similar products that do complain about the noise ~ but, aside from a slight occasional gurgle, it really is not noticed. I do have it in close proximity to a fish tank with filter, so the added water "trickle" noise doesn't bother me. It's actually soothing if you like the sound of running water.
Only been running now for about 2 hours, so time will tell about its lifespan and the availability of the replacement filters.
So far, very happy and seems I got a killer deal on the cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Great fountain for the money!

06/11/2010
By ,
charleston wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat wouldn't drink water out of a bowl, she wanted to drink out of the bathtub, but was getting sick, i think due to the soap residue. i bought this with my fingers crossed that she would at least try it. When i got it put together i brought her in and instantly she loved it! its easy to put together, and easy to keep clean, but most of all great for finicky cats!!! she loves to drink from the area where the water runs down, its the running water that she enjoys and this gives her that option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Great drinking fountain for pets

10/16/2012
By ,
Valencia, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of these for my two cats and they love it. I bought this one for my son's small dog and cat. They share it and love it and it gives great peace of mind that they are drinking good water. This can't help but be good for their kidneys, which often fail in older animals. I would highly recommend this to anyone that loves their pets. You do have to change the filters and clean the unit on a regular basis....but how hard is that?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Petmate Fresh Flow Pet Fountain, Medium

Love this fountain!

05/09/2010
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this after reading an article from a vet about the importance of having your cat drink a large quantity of water - he mentioned most cats will stay away from stagnant water and a way to encourage drinking is with a fountain like this. I was skeptical but I gave it a try and my 2 cats LOVE it - they stare at it a lot, stick their paws (and toys) in the bowl and I notice them drinking more frequently than I did when I simple had a plain bowl out. Recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next