Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Motorola Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Value-priced Motorola SURFboard SB5120 Cable Modem Supports up to 63 users Attractive and compact design DOCSIS 2.0 technology
Average Customer Rating:
4.703 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%35 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

cable modem

07/26/2007
By ,
Richmond VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
COWABUNGA DUDE!! this surfboard rocks!!!
Great product, Talking to tech support with
Comcast took much longer than the actual setup!!
I got a 3X bump in my download speeds
(yours may vary) but I higly recommend!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 2 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Best price anywhere

07/23/2007
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I compared prices for this item at several locations and web sites. This was the best price I found. The shipping was fast and overall very pleased with the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 3 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Great capabilites, setup, and price

09/06/2007
By ,
Stafford
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this modem is DOCSIS-2 compliant and capable of Blazing (20mbps) speed if you can find someone to give that to you. sinple plug&play installation once your providor has the MAC address set up. If using with a linksys router hou need to use the routers "mac address cloning" feature
Great product great buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

GREAT MODEM

08/07/2007
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great modem at a great price. Superfast speed!!!!!! Fast Shipping also!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Don't waste money renting a cable modem

08/20/2007
By ,
Brookline, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had cable modem for 4 years, and all this time, rented the modem from the cable company for $3 a month. That's $150 !!! On top of that, the modem was old and slow. When I upgraded my cable internet speed, they offered to come in and swap my modem with a newer one, but that would required waiting at home for the cable guy -- never a good idea if you can avoid it. That's where Walmart.com came in -- for less than $60, it was delivered to my door, easy to install, and voila ! Since this is top-of-the-line right now, it should last me a few years before needing to upgrade again, and I don't have to pay any more rental fees - yay! Returning the cable modem was a bit of a nuisance, but worth it; I can't believe I didn't do this sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Easy Way to Save Money

01/08/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a WOW customer. Now I save 3 dollars a month because I have my own cable modem. It is a very easy installation--same connections as the WOW modem, and the best is you don't have to schedule a technician. Just call the company and give them the HFC # of your new Motorola Modem, and they register it. Then when you install, it will access the network just as quickly as the rented modum did. (You do have to schedule a time for a person to pick up the equipment unless you wish to drop it off yourself.) I am glad I invested in this user-friendly product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Im surfin the web with ease

01/04/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tired of paying for a leased modem thru comcast so I decided to give this one a shot and so far its been nothing but a step up. Install was simple and took no time at all, the longest part was dealing with my cable company to give them the mac address but that was to be expected. Shipping was super fast, placed my order on a tuesday had the product thursday and only paid the .97 to ship.. Couldnt be happier
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Motorola SB5120

03/21/2008
By ,
SE Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem to replace the Motorola 5100 I had before. This modem is rock solid. Just as you would expect from the name Motorola. I installed it myself. There is a straightforward pictorial foldout directions. Anyone should be able to install this. Your choice of USB or Ethernet hookups. You pay more for cable highspeed but so much better than DSL in terms of speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Extremely dissapointing

07/09/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was replacing a Motorola SB3220 cable modem, but this one has performed so poorly I went back to the previous one. The performance was slower, I have more signal interruptions than with the old one, and the driver has not been updated since 2002 (which was before I even bought my previous modem).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 10 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Good Product

01/02/2008
By ,
Louisana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got one of these and it has worked great sence i had it,(which ive had for about a year or 2). Now im buying another one for a other computer. This of coarse was my first choice. It works great and its always connected. also works great with routers and wireless routers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Don't Rent

08/10/2007
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Return your box to the cable company and watch your bill to get your modem rental fee off. This one works. Yes, you may have to get on the phone to set it up with the cable company, but after that, it just works.
I think it works better than the cable dinosaur. Get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Great buy.

12/26/2007
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This modem pretty much does what it's supposed to do, and does it well. After seeing this exact model at circuit city and best buy at $20 more, it was a deal here at wal mart. A quick call to your local cable provider is all ya need, the item is terrific.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Incredible!

12/19/2007
By ,
New Castle, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this 5120 to replace my old 5100. Major upgrade! This modem screamed until my cable co. put a choke on it. Perfect for Mac users. Extremely easy to install and has a "standby" switch to disconnect your computer from the net when you are not online.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Easy purchase and set up

01/18/2008
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered from the web and picked up at store. Very easy. The modem set up easily and works great. It is a lot faster than my old one. I like the slim design because it doesn't take up too much room. I have a linksys router attached and it works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

OK product

01/17/2008
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace a six year old modem. I thought with the way electronics change this had the potential to be better. It is good but, I see no difference from my old one. It works well and I still have the old modem should this one go south.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

trouble free product good performance

12/27/2007
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hassle free install it and forget it. had no problems and am getting good performance from this modem - as it should be with a product like this. I've used other motorola products in this series before and continue to have good luck with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Works Great

01/30/2008
By ,
Coastal Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to upgrade my modem and was looking for best 'bang for the buck.' I found all the features I was looking for in the 5120. Hooked it up, notified my ISP and it went right to work. Great instructions. Extremely satisfied with the 5120.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Outstanding unit

01/22/2008
By ,
Seneca, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered product online and recieved it before expected. After hooking up to internet it surpassed previous expectations. I was told it was average and it is above average. Highly recommend to anyone interested in fast net access.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Very Fast Modem

01/10/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem to hook into a wireless router. It works great. It's incredibly fast and I haven't had any problems with it since it was installed. I think this product is worth the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Motorola SB5120 SURFboard Cable Modem

Lasted less than 1 week

01/11/2008
By ,
Rogers, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was easy to hook up and get on-line with but it quite working before a week was up. I checked and the external power supply was still good but the modem would not turn on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next