Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Stiga Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Stiga Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Turn your home into a table tennis town with the Stiga Insta Play table tennis table. And the good news: It comes fully assembled so you can start playing instantly. 3/4-inch black top with edge banding and striping provides years of use. It can be used as two free-standing multi-use tables. Includes 66-inch nets and posts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%35 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Great Ping Pong table

06/04/2011
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been researching Ping Pong tables for a while. This table seemed to have the best reviews and we really liked the fact that there was little assembly involved. The table came well packaged and the delivery men were very accomodating, especially considering the heaviness of this table. The table is made up of two separate mirror image tables which are easy to store. Simply take off net which attaches both tables together, fold each side invidividually, and roll to your storage destination. To maximize your storage space, you need to interlock legs of each table. In this position, storage dimensions are 65" High, by 65" Wide, by 30" deep. It seems like a professional table and I'm sure it will get many years of use!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

More Like "Insta Setup"... not Insta Play!

07/15/2010
By ,
McKinney, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PROS: Solid construction and sturdy, Quick to setup, Quick to store, Great Quality materials, Great single player setup
CONS: Slightly expensive, legs do not adjust height, needs larger caster wheels, very heavy
I was disappointed with the Insta Play name assuming that everything I needed to play an instant game of ping pong was right in this box... especially for the price I paid for it! It couldn't have hurt the company to add a set of free $10 paddles and a set of $2 balls! But no, don't let the name fool you, there are NO paddles or balls included with this Table.
On the bright side, the table is worth every penny and it does Insta Setup! It should take two adults about 15-20 minutes to setup from the time its in the box to game ready with no tools required. But I was fairly impatient and wanted this thing setup as a surprise before my wife came home from work, so I knocked it out all by myself in under an hour. Keep in mind I'm in pretty good shape (6'0" 170lbs.) and have a college degree from Texas A&M and have a good grasp on physics and mechanical science... so despite what the instructions suggest, I figured out how to set this monster up alone without injury or damage.
It sets up nice indoors and out... both alone and with a partner. This is my first table to own, but I've played on many public ones (school, fitness center, etc.) and this is just as good if not better than most of those you see in public!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Great table--really is "Insta Play"

11/04/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not find any store that had a table in stock to look at in person so I read many, many on-line reviews before I made my decision. When trying to decide between this one and a much less expensive one, many people complained about the time spent assembling the less expensive ones. Assembly time was of the biggest factors in deciding to buy this one. It really is"insta play"--we were playing in 15 minutes. I had it delivered (Walmart had an extremely competitive delivery fee). You do need 2-3 people to lift it out of the box because it is VERY HEAVY but then all you have to do is roll the tables together and attach the net. It's a nice looking table and very sturdy; it's very easy to switch between play and play-back mode. I've had it about a month and have played almost every day and it's been great fun to play. The table also folds-up and rolls easily for storage. Great table!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Excellent Table!

06/27/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A well built and easy to set up table. There are many well-deserved positive comments so I’ll just a few points of clarification that might help pre-purchase.
I had to move this table down basement stairs so I originally thought it would be shipped with the T-shaped legs extended making the downstairs move difficult at best. I was incorrect. The T-shaped legs fold under the side curtain of the table for shipping. Check out the manual online (Escalade Sports) and search for the T8288 model. It takes some digging but as can be seen, the T-legs are shipped folded under the side curtain. As shipped and folded, one half of the table is 54” x 60” x 2 7/8” thick. So that dimension is what needs to be maneuvered. Note the manual shows where NOT to hold the table when carrying as you may damage the table or yourself.
Shipping was fast and the table arrived horizontally in two halves with the playing surfaces facing inwards and protected with a foam sheet. The perimeter of the two halves had a particle board “box” built around the 4 long edges to protect it during shipping. The halves and the protection box were inside of a cardboard box and sitting on top of a ping-pong table-sized pallet for support. Well protected and well thought out to protect from damage in shipping.
The table is precisely regulation size (108” L x 60” W x 30” H) as measured. Ignore the typo in the spec section of Walmart’s production description.
The 3/4” particle board top is edged on the outer sides so unlike cheaper tables, you don’t see a rough cut side which is prone to chipping. The sides at the center of the table aren’t edged but that’s not an issue as they’re under the net. The 2 7/8” dimension mentioned above is the 3/4” top plus the metal side-curtain depth. The side curtain is for warp resistance.
The table does require at least two adults for the unpacking and initial setup. We had two plus two teenagers. A hint for moving and getting down stair wells since it’s heavy. Use two old comforters and place the table on edge with the table center facing UP on one comforter (the side WITHOUT the metal curtain). This puts the strongest metal edge on the floor for sliding. Slightly lift the table and drag on to the second comforter and continue swapping comforters in a leapfrog fashion to move along. Do the same for the downstairs move by placing a comforter folded up in a long rectangle and continue dragging downstairs. If during the downstairs trip you need to tilt to avoid ceilings or turns, make sure you keep the playing surface up and the metal side down to avoid damage to the top. Strongest person obviously goes on the bottom during the move. In theory the entire thing could just be carried down but because of the weight and awkward size, sliding on a comforter was the way to go. Also easier than repairing walls or a person.
Excellent table and getting a lot of use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Great Product

10/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You won't be disappointed in this product. Very well made. Easy to set up. Free shipping using "Site to Store." It comes well protected for shipment. It's a four person lift to move around in the shipping crate. Moved to garage first and then opened the crate. The table is in two pieces and it takes two people to initially set it up. Will not fit in a minivan. I had to go to my local home improvement store and rent a truck to take home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Table great, some delivery advice...

12/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered 01-DEC, arrived 09-DEC. Quicker than promised.
The table is well packed and mine arrived in perfect condition. After you open the box it is in two pre-assembled pieces. Lift out, unfold legs, butt together and there you go. 5 minutes, maybe less.
Delivery: Just note that even if you think you’re a big tough-guy, the bulk (size) of this package at nearly 300 pounds made it unmanageable for one person. And I only had one delivery driver; it was all he and I could do to get it inside the front door; which is more than they are supposed to do anyhow I believe. After unpacking, the two pieces are much more manageable, but still really need two people minimum – it’s not the weight as much as the sheer size of the table half – 5x4.5 or so.
DO NOT SLIDE THE CARDBOARD BOX ACROSS WOODEN FLOORS! – Many large and partially hidden staples in all sides of the package.
BE GENTLE when folding up the table into the upright position. I tend to agree with the other reviews that too rough handling may pull the screws out of the particle board top. BUT, the table easily folds for storage (one person – one 13 year-old in fact). Just saying, don’t man-handle it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288
02/27/2012
By ,
Temecula, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are absolutely thrilled with our new ping pong table! We were playing within a half hour (many tables require 2-5 hours of set-up) I spent many hours researching tables. I looked at price, brand, ease of set-up, durability etc. I ended up spending double what I had initially intended on spending but after doing the research, I figured it was worth spending more to get a good quality table that will last a long time. I have not noticed any problems with this table that I saw as problems listed in many other reviews (of other tables) such as sides matching up after set-up, discoloration of the balls from the table, corner bumpers not fitting properly etc. and the bonus was that it was delivered 10 days ahead of schedule!
I ended up choosing this particular table based on the sheer quantity of excellent reviews and that is why I felt the need to share our experience as well.
We would highly recommend this table to anyone interested
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288
10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great table--maybe the best table you can buy for the money. Very solid construction. It is very heavy--290 pounds, so you're going to need several people to help move it. Four strong guys struggled to carry this to my basement--and it was delivered by one guy who could not have even got it out of the truck without help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288
01/03/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this table via Walmart on-line. From the ordering, to the tracking and delivery it was very smooth. Table comes securely strapped to a large wooden pallet. There are 2 pieces (each side of table) and they are fairly heavy. As the other reviews say, you will need two people to move them. Set-up is very easy. Unfold legs to each side and push the two sides together. The netting holds the two sides together. Table was set up within 1/2 an hour from unpacking. Table is easy to move by folding each side up, making sure it fits securely in the safety latch. Our family has played several times on this table already. It's very sturdy. I would recommend this table for family use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Acceptable

11/20/2008
By ,
Wharton, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
To date (we've only had the table two weeks) we have experienced no issues with the product. But, after paying what as much as we did for this product, I expected somewhat sturdier build quality. Again, we haven't experienced any issues, but we've only used it twice. When I purchased this table for our youth group, I was looking for something that I could depend on to last a long time. After paying over $400, that's what I believed would be the case. I just don't get that feeling from this table when I examine it. I may very well be wrong, the table just doesn't instill confidence that it will last.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Excellent table

09/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I researched tables for about a week. On the web and in the stores. We used google shopping option to find this table and its well worth the extra money. The table is very solid, rolls nicely on quality casters and comes put together. You only need to take it out of the box and unfold the legs, put on the net and plastic corner protectors and you are good to go.
The Wal-Mart shipping option was very affordable (about $20) and it came in less than a week. This was a gift for my mother in law whose side of the family plays lots of table tennis and everyone seems to be very impressed with the quality of the table.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

A unique design

08/24/2010
By ,
Beach Lake, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We did a great deal of research online before we ordered this table. the price at Walmart was good and the free shipping to the store was convenient. The main reason we chose this one was because it splits apart into the 2 tables and it comes pre-asssembled. Besides using it as a regular ping-pong table and as a solo practice table, our teenagers have used it to play cards and games. It is sturdy and easy to move, fold up and reassemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

The table is great - delivery was great

11/07/2011
By ,
Hanson, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The table is everyting our research said it would be and we are enjoying it greatly.
It was delivered by Walmart on a rainy day. The delivery guys could have just taken it off the truck and left it on our drive in the rain - that is all we paid for and what we were prepared for. They went the extra mile and took the boxed table up four steps to the deck and another two steps into the house!!!!! Great customer service!.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Great table!

12/27/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews looking for a ping pong table for my kids (7 and 5). This table is great - so easy to put together and the whole family is having so much fun! The only issue is that it is really heavy. But, I knew that when I bought it and it really is not that big of a deal. We have to move it once we clear out a room in the basement, but it will just be one time and then it will stay put.
Definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Great table!

11/01/2010
By ,
Conway, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our new ping pong table! It is very sturdy and well made. It took only a few minutes to get setup and start playing. Because it is so heavy and all in one box, I needed my husband to get it unloaded from the truck. He actually dropped one side of the table when he removed it from the box, but it didn't hurt it.
We would definitely recommend the table to anyone who is looking for good quality and easy setup!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288
10/20/2011
By ,
Springfield, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The table is expensive, but top quality. It comes pretty much pre-assembled out of the box, which is great since I read plenty of descriptions on the internet of people spending hours assembling a ping-pong table. It weighed in the box almost 300 pounds. Make sure you have several strong people to help you get it out of the box and set up. I plan to play ping-pong all winter whenever we are stuck indoors.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Stiga Ping Pong Table

03/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ping pong table was intermediate in price but easy to set up and use. We liked the fact that it can be used for serving tables if you throw a table cloth over the two sections. Seems to be well-built and although very heavy to lift out of the box, has been easy to store and use. Would recommend it if you are looking for a quality ping pong table that can "multitask."
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

play right out of the box

05/15/2009
By ,
Gunnison, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When they say "Instaplay" they mean it. I unfolded the legs, pushed the corner caps on and put the net up. We were playing ping pong in 5 minutes. It's a solid table. I like that it is two separate tables. No gap to worry about in play back position. Easier to move and can be used as two card tables. I highly recommend this table.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

Easy fun

01/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this table for our 7 children as a Christmas gift. It was simple to set up. We were ready to play in 5 minutes. I was a little leary not being able to see it before buying it but it is a sturdy table and well worth the money. Make sure you have 2 strong people to load it though. It is very heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stiga Insta Play Table Tennis Table, T8288

A W E S O M E TABLE!!!!

04/04/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This table is simply the BEST!! There is no assembly necessary!!! One would think that they would compromise on the quality due to the fact that no assembly is required.... Let me tell you that this table has great quality!!!!
I'm soooo glad I bought it! I'm extremely happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next