Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorguide MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Motorguide MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

With 34 lbs. of thrust and a 2-blade power prop known for durability and performance, MotorGuide's Thruster T34 gives you all the power you need for a great day of fishing. Features an all-metal mount, thick-walled, 28-inch aluminum shaft and five speeds forward and two reverse. Fits any small fishing boat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation97%62 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

01/03/2008
By ,
Suffolk, Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought one of these motors in 2001 and never had a bit of trouble with it. After an unknown amount of use the inside cover tab broke that holds the throdle control. Now it sometimes slips out of the handle and doesent work! I bought another one of the same 34 thrust motor guide trolling motors without a second thought. I fish almost every weekend when possiable in summer and winter in a 12 ft alum boat loaded with gear and poles. Motor Guide is an excellent choice for maintenance and quality. "Fish Head"
Note: I give this motor 5 stars its excellent
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 2 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Great Motor

03/23/2009
By ,
Monticello, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great trolling motor. I bought it to putt around on a 5000 acre lake when I dont feel like dealing with a heavy gas motor. The T34 is light and delivers plenty of thrust for my 12ft aluminum row boat. I bought 2 Everstart Marine 27deep cycle batteries from walmart and the Schumacher Ship n Shore Speed Charger. I have gone top speed for more than two hours without any weakening of the battery. I expect I could get at least 4 hours on speed 5 from this battery, but havent been out that long with it yet. (Appearently it is VERY IMPORTANT to get a DEEP CYCLE BATTERY for this motor. I noticed several other reviews from people who did not get the battery life that I did.
Its also very quiet. I am considering buying a second one and running Two T34,s instead of gas all the time. Keep in mind if you are considering a minnkota 50, that you can get 2 of these for the same price (68 lbs thrust), but Youll need a second battery.
In short, Im very happy with this product, and there arent many things Ill say that about.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Great value

07/23/2007
By ,
Summit, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little motor at a great price. It has lots of thrust for its size ans is lightweight for easy transport.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 4 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor
08/11/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value.
Easily pushes a 16' daysailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 5 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Nice trolling motor!!

08/23/2007
By ,
Bloomington, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The trolling motor is really nice! I didnt think it would work as well as it did because it was so cheap...but it is really nice! However, I do not suggest using a small 12volt gel battery. You would need a deep-cycle marine battery to be able to use it efficiently, especially on weekend long fishing trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 6 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

was not disappointed

09/15/2008
By ,
Chesterton, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this motor for my boyfriend's 16' jon boat. He fishes in small lakes and his motor quit working. It was all I could afford. I thought it might be too small and not run very well, but it moves great through the water. We can stay out all day fishing and there is not much battery drain. We are both very happy with the motor. You certainly can't beat the price. I did look at many stores and on e-bay/craigslist, and this was the best value by far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 7 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Nice unit

08/12/2007
By ,
CT LAKES
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY EASEY TO SET UP RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX.
CONTORL ON THE HANDLE WOKS GREAT,5 FORWARD AND 2 REVERSE. PLENTY OF POWER FOR 30 LB THRUST MOTOR. GOOD PRICE AT WALMART.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 8 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Motor Sport Trolling Motor

08/15/2007
By ,
Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice entry level motor. No bells and whistles. Could use an extension handle but otherwise is great motor for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 9 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Terrific buy!

10/08/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great size for a 17' canoe. Lightweight, yet powerful!
Best buy for small canoes or other portable craft.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 10 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Exceptional Value

05/27/2008
By ,
Albany, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this motor to propel a 12ft sailing dinghy on inland water on calm days, or when I couldn't be bothered with rigging the sail.
It is plenty powerful enough for the job, and I find that I usually run on the third out of the five speeds, which has the boat going at a slow walking pace (~3mph). At this setting I have had over 3 hours usage with a 55AH deep-cycle battery. Do get a deep-cycle battery, i.e. one that is intended to be run to exhaustion.
It worked straight out of the box, it is very light, it has adjustable tilt and depth. Time will tell, when it comes to the resilience and longevity of the prop.
I bought it using 'ship to store' which worked seamlessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 11 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Great Motor for the Price

07/23/2008
By ,
Mid West Coast of Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This motor works great!
it is a 34 lb thrust
I installed it on my small inflatable boat, this motor takes me up to about a jogging pace when the water has a 1-2 foot chop. The build quality is EXCELLENT, and im sure I will get many years out of it.
Motor Guide, is not a random or knock off brand, it is simply Mercury's line up of trolling motors, therefore you know you are not getting a cheaply made product.
My only complaint with this item is the factor forgot to place the propellor nut and pine in the box before sending it out. I had to wait about five days for this part to come in the mail.
For the price, you cant beat this motor!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

34 lb 30" shaft

07/08/2008
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product arrived in the specified timeline, which is a good thing since it was a gift for my dad. We use this for his 14' jon boat. The motor has seen limited use, but so far so good. Great value for the price.
When the motor arrived, the brush guard was broken. I took it to my local Wal-Mart and had no problems getting it exchanged. The manager even refunded the expedited shipping charge since I didn't have a useable product within two days (the shipping option I chose). That earned Wal-Mart a few points in my book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 13 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Big Value, Small Price

02/20/2009
By ,
Central Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this product for 12 months and it has been very reliable. It has taken many hard hits by the dock and the bottom of the lake and has not even cracked a blade. The only thing I don't like about it is the 28" shaft. It could stand to be a little longer, but for most applications it will be just fine. Good power, and good battery life to boot. Figuring I use this motor for 1-3 hours a time and twice per week..... thats a lot of hours over a years time and it is still just as good as when it was new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Good for the price, but a lot of juice needed

06/05/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking for a motor for short trips, this motor is silent, fairly light, and has been very reliable for the first 4 weeks or so.
The one issue I've had is the short battery life. With a $70 12V, 20Lb battery (basically the largest motorcycle/ATV battery Walmart had) it was able to go for maybe 40 minutes powering my 9x4 dinghy with a couple people in it.
We are able to go maybe 4-5 mph, so it's enough if you just want to get from A to B like you're paddling your heart out but without any effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Worth it...Choose the right Battery

07/09/2008
By ,
Central New York State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trolling motor works better than I thought possible. I have a 14' aluminum boat with a 25HP motor and with two men, fishing equipment, cooler and battery, we cruise all day on on the first setting. When on high setting, it really moves along. Get a deep cycle battery that is rated in Amp-Hours. I bought the 27 case size 110 AH from Walmart for $61 dollars and the Shumacher 1200A ship and shore 2/8/12 amp charger and it easily charges the battery overnight ($43).
It's a real fuel saver also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Damaged during shipping :(

07/26/2008
By ,
Rocky Mountains
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item arrived damaged via site to store...I did use it--as I needed it for a fishing trip. It seemed to run decently, however, due to the damage--only had 4 forward speeds and 1 reverse speed.
Like most electric trolling motors, I did not receive much battery life...approx 40 mins total drawing from a full sized 12v deep cycle marine battery using medium speed.
I have since returned this and am awaiting a replacement...hopefully this will arrive intact.
This is a decent motor for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Sound Investment

03/30/2009
By ,
Westminster, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good motor. I use it on smaller lakes and it has the thrust to get me around. I use an Optima Deep Cycle Marine Blue battey and with 100 lbs of boat and equipment plus 375 lbs of people I was able to fish all day. The only drawback for a motor this size is the lack of thrust for choppy water on larger lakes. It can still get you off the lake but it is not going to be quick. I would recommend this motor, for what it is intended to do it does it very well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor
06/11/2008
By ,
wise,va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this trolling motor for a 10 ft pontoon boat.it does a wonderful job..plenty of power and does not drain the battery too quickly.i usually fish alone but i pack plenty of gear.i was concerned before i bought it that it would not have enough power ..........but not concerned any longer. i have used it several times and it performs great! i think it would do even better if i had an aluminum flat bottom jon-boat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

awesome motor

07/29/2008
By ,
ocean shores wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great motor I have an old alluminum 16 ft. crestliner, and this motor trolls nicely. I usually don't need to troll higher than on speed three, but if it is windy five is used. I agree that a deep cycle 12v battery is needed. I bought the biggest deep cycle battery walmart has and have trolled for hours, and battery stills starts my 30 hp evinrude with ease.
You will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for MotorGuide Thruster T34 Trolling Motor

Works Great!

03/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this motor on a 14 foot v-bottom aluminum boat last weekend on a city lake that doesn't allow gasoline motors. It took us all over the lake with no problems. My 9 y/o son handled the boat for the first time with no trouble. I bought the motor plus a battery and box for less than the lowest priced trolling motor at a competing sporting goods store. Can't beat it for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next