Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

The Hamilton Beach Countertop Convection Oven is great for small kitchens or doubles as a second oven. The extra-large capacity of this electric oven allows you to quickly cook everything from a 5-pound chicken to a small roast or two 12'' pizzas. This extra large convection oven has functions that range from baking and broiling to convection. It has three temperature control knobs, which let you set the temperature anywhere between 150F and 500F. The 10- to120-minute timer and the stay-on option let you have complete control over the doneness of the food. The Hamilton Beach 31197R Convection Oven ensures even and fast cooking by circulating heated air around the food. This convection oven is made from steel, so it ranks high not only in functionality, but also in durability and looks. Cleaning will be trouble-free as it features an enamel interior.
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(709 Reviews) 597
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
488
4 stars
160
3 stars
24
2 stars
19
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation94%666 out of 709reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
100 Questions | 379 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
488
4 stars
160
3 stars
24
2 stars
19
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Great for Men

10/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I work nights and cook for myself during the week. Very roomy and FUN for a man. I was surprised I was able to fit Walmarts Granite Ware 15" Oval Roaster by angle it in. I also bought some 9 inch baking pans and at 58 I am cooking Brownies and Blueberry muffins for the first time in my life. Plenty of heat, fast even cooking. Convection setting uses top and bottom heating elements, place pan in middle. Bake setting uses only the top element so place brownie pan at bottom, pan stays cool and brownies don't stick or dry out. Fan circulates hot air so everything cooks fast and evenly. Great for roasting chicken, frozen foods, reheating left overs, baking brownies and muffins... did I mention it was fun?
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Extra Large Oven" Love It "

06/03/2009
By ,
42134
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for a secondary oven. Be prepared for the size of this big boy, as you can see in photo it's only 4 inches under the bottom of my cabinets. I priced this oven other places and they started at 129.99 and went up. This is a another great bargain from Wal Mart
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Efficient Product

12/22/2009
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This convection oven is small, but powerful. It totally delivers and cooks very well. It is very easy to use and cooks thoroughly. In our class we have baked cookies, cakes, bread and they have turned out very tasty. I am totally impressed with the functionality and ease of use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

This is great

09/22/2009
By ,
Southwest Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in the Memphis TN area and we never use our big oven in the summer. This oven allows us to bake fish, cook pizzas and muffins etc. It does get warm, but it does not heat up the kitchen, and it cools down fast.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Great convection oven and more

01/01/2009
By ,
lancaster, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little convection oven. Holding 2 pizzas was a key purchase feature. Having the "normal" oven as an option is also handy. We used this qutie a bit over the Christmas holidays.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Better than expected

07/07/2007
By ,
N. California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace a broken toaster oven of another brand. The interior space in the oven itself is larger than my old one, yet it takes up less space on the counter top! A super plus! The convection setting cooks really fast and seems to get food such as french fries or tater tots more crisp on the outside without burning the tips or edges. I love the removable crumb tray it makes clean up a snap, much better than my old one which I never found a really good way to get the crumbs out of it except to vacume them out, and that was a hassle. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to bake, broil, heat up or melt cheese without cranking up the big oven and wasting all that electicity and heat up the house in the smmer when all you want is a snack
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R
11/11/2007
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only had this oven for about a month,so as far as "Durability" time will tell.Other then that this is a real nice oven! We have used the rotisserie once for a chicken and it worked well.It does get fairly hot,so you need to pull it forward so its not under a cupboard when you use it.One of its features we like the most is the timer.When the timer "Dings" to let you know its done,it also turns off the oven,like a microwave! We now use this countertop oven more then our big one. All in all, a great product for the price (and we shopped around).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+227points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

My 2nd one..

01/16/2011
By ,
Ocala, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had other toaster ovens, but this is my favorite. This is my second one. My other was working fine, but it was looking ratty and needed a thorough cleaning, so I gave in and got a new one.
I use it at least 5 times a week or more.. everything from baking one or two biscuits to cooking a meatloaf for 6 people. It is the only one I have found under $100 that is truly big enough for a small family and yet small enough for a couple. And if you dont like it, Walmart is good about letting you return it for up to a couple of months. Plenty of time to give it a good trial in your kitchen.
If I had my druthers, I wish the door would fit a bit tighter and the outside didnt get quite so hot.
The convection and rotisserie both work fine.
And I think Walmart is missing out by not offering this one in the store as they once did, instead of online only.
Thankfully I am an avid online shopper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Great mini-oven

04/07/2008
By ,
NY, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great as a secondary oven. You can make 2 pizzas or even fit 2 9x13 foil pans in it! It cooks fast like an oven (not like a toaster oven) even without convection turned on, but looks like a toaster-oven on steroids. Works very well and looks good. Just be prepared to have space for it, it is bigger than your average microwave! Also, be careful - all 4 sides and top get hot when it is on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+123points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Great Little Oven

12/09/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this oven as a Christmas gift two years ago. I absolutley love this oven! I have used it for every holiday. It makes cooking your side dishes so easy. My big oven gets turned on about twice a year now. The convection mode is wonderful for baking cakes & pies, you get nice even baking in a much shorter time frame.
My only dislike is that it won't fit a 13x9 pan. I just find myself using all of my smaller casserole pans. If I am cooking for more than 2 people, I will split it off into two smaller pans and cook them at the same time.
I highly recommend this product. I'm spoiled!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Perfect for two

07/08/2007
By ,
Goodman, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this product as a much more economical alternative to replacing our large oven, and this countertop oven has all the space that we need to prepare meals for the two of us. Plus the convection feature allows us to cook the meals faster.
We really love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Does the Job! Excellent Product.

10/21/2009
By ,
Southern Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this a few weeks ago. Took forever to arrive, packaging was the original package (but it made it undamaged!). Bought for the sole purpose of replacing my Travel Trailer's original propane stove/oven.
Pros-
It has everything. Easy timer, easy temp settings, easy cooking settings. Fast to use, Convection acts slightly faster than conventional. WILL cook two 12" pizzas, does a great job as well! Comes with 2 baking sheets, extra rack, and rotisserie. Unit heats FAST! Roomy inside! Also has a slide in/out "drip tray", which is a nice feature.
Cons-
Not many! Sheets that come with it are non-stick, no big deal there! Some will see the size as a Con, I did not and planned for it. I am not a fan of the overall front lid design (straight glass), nor am I a fan of the "rack" design (just oven standard). Makes it a little difficult to work with, when pulling racks out.
Note:
I haven't had it long enough to comment on durability. I have cooked more than 25 meals in it already, of all different things, and have been QUITE happy with it. This thing can easily cook for two people in a small apartment, or Travel Trailer. (Which I have done). I have not tried baking in it as of yet.
The unit gets HOT, just like any oven. Plan to give the unit extra side space for venting, and rear space as well. Mine is in the same exact spot as my original propane unit, works fine there. If you have the counter space, this unit is GREAT. If not, I could see plopping it on a small table too.
Overall, excellent unit so far, easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

convection oven

07/23/2007
By ,
long island, new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product a year ago and I wholeheartedly reccommend this to anyone with limited space and a need to cook!!! Wonderful!!
I have an apartment with no stove and this fills all my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Great Idea, Poor Result

01/20/2008
By ,
Elizabethtown, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This oven was just what we were looking for to save on electricity costs. It is large enough for 2 full size DiGiorno pizzas and 7 lb roasts and has convection also. Unfortunately, the first one we had didn't close enough to keep the heat in, could only get it up to 325. The one we have now has a 1/4" gap where the crumb tray inserts, becomes the bottom of the oven, and lets the heat dissipate through there and around the door. We set it as high as it would go and couldn't get the temp to 400. Also the temp dial is too easily moved, the timer dial is not calibrated in any way to allow for accuarate settings. The only accurate way to time something is to set it to stay on and set a separate timer. We are very disappointed that something we hoped would be a real saving turned out to be such a disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

First Hand Experience

07/10/2009
By ,
Tucson
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read many reviews before purchasing this oven and was a little hesitant. But given the price, I had to give it a try! Now that I have used all functions I can give a reasonable assessment.
Size: It's big. If you don't have the room, get something smaller -- my 16" of vertical space seems about right. Hmmm, ability to cook 12" pizzas is great, but why is it I find most frozen pizzas bigger?
Gets hot: Obviously; it's an oven! It's not insulated so allow space and be glad it generates less ambient heat then your main oven. Also, since it bakes faster in convection mode, the duration of that heat is less. Keep children's fingers under control.
Rotisserie mode: Was a bit concerned as I had seen some negative comments mentioning "flimsy". While the forks are probably not to be considered heavy duty, they are adequate for the 4lb claimed capacity. Just take care centering your meat and tying loose ends as necessary. The pork tenderloin I cooked up was suitable for photography! Mess? only drippings on the pan below -- no spatter otherwise.
Durability: Too early to say much. All parts look good and seem to be of the proper weight. However, one of the included baking pans warps 1/2" or so at baking temperature and returns to shape as it cools. Haven't tried the second pan. This doesn't seem to be a problem but keeps me from giving it a perfect evaluation.
I recommend this unit without hesitation for anyone who has the space and would like to relegate their main oven to storage a storage space for pots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Best purchase for the cost

12/07/2010
By ,
Chester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our oven went out right before the Thanksgiving Holiday and I needed something that would bake most of my Thanksgiving dinner. I searched the internet and went to several sites before I found this one. It did the job better than expected. At first I opted to purchase a more expensive countertop oven from a different store, but I thought hey why not give this a try. It was reasonable in price and there were good reviews on it. I got to tell you we are not in any hurry to fix our main oven as this one does the job. I am so glad I made this purchase. Once I got my settings right for each item that was baked from the stuffing to the turkey it was a breeze. And I absolutely love the rotisserie feature. It is wonderful. I would recommend this product to anyone in the market for such an item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

Great Product

02/07/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying the Hamilton Beach countertop convection oven is everything I wanted plus more. I thoroughly investigated the features and reviews of all other similar products and became convinced pretty quickly that this one was the best choice for me. I love baking 2 sheets of cookies or 2 frozen pizzas at the same time without having to heat up the big oven for a small meal. I have no negative comments to make about the product. In addition to that, I would like to compliment Wal*Mart on their site-to-store FREE shipping option. It allows their customers to purchase products online and pick them up at any Wal*Mart store with no cost for shipping. This same product was also available online at Target, Lowes, Home Depot, K-Mart, Amazon, etc. However, the price was always considerably higher and it was rare to ever find free shipping on a larger item like this .. thus increasing the competitor's price even more. Thank you, Wal*Mart, for putting your customers first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!!

05/09/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have actually owned this since we got married 4 years ago. We have used it at least 3-4 times a week since. It is still working like it is brand new!
We do have a gas range and oven in my house, but we barely have used it since we have this product. We cook EVERYTHING in there! It does an excellent job!
Actually, we are going to purchase another one to have when my husband travels. We have recommended this to several family members who have purchased one as well!
This is a great product and it lasts!! You won't be sorry!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

LOVE THIS OVEN!

05/01/2011
By ,
Grand Rapids, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This oven is designed to fit under cabinets. Easy to use and holds two 12" pizzas at once. Doesn't heat up kitchen like stove oven. Bakes well. The baking pans that come with are sturdy metal. The door stays down while you take food out and I like that the glass curves out instead of flat so leaves room if needed for pans on rack. It is attractive, easy to use and nice weight metal, not flimsy...well designed and is very attractive. LOVE it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach Countertop Oven with Convection, 31197R

No Toast

06/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The oven is great, rotisserie- great, everything great except does not toast. We end up baking the bread. Something like toast but takes longer. Still we are very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 598 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next