Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Conair Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Conair Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Keep your tresses in place and in fashion all through the day by treating your hair to a hot conditioning treatment with the Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer. Unlike the standard hair dryer, which can only dry hair, this item promotes long-lasting style results while delivering healthy-looking and shiny hair. The 400w Conair hair dryer can be used with rollers of all sizes to create beautiful curls and waves. You can also use the hot air vent brush to create salon-type results in the comfort of your home. This bonnet dryer comes in a compact case with a handle for easy portability. It features an easy lock system that allows you to unfold it by just pressing a button. The bonnet dryer is portable and small enough to bring along wherever you go.
Average Customer Rating:
3.355 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(307 Reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
77
3 stars
33
2 stars
30
1 star
68
Customer Recommendation64%197 out of 307reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
77
3 stars
33
2 stars
30
1 star
68
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

I like it, but

12/15/2010
By ,
Arlington, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this hair dryer. It works well and does its job, but the one I had 40 years ago was better in several ways: (1) It was much easier to insert the hose into the bonnet than this new one (and it didn't pull loose accidentally like this one can do); (2) the on-off and heat controls are directly opposite (on the back side) of the unit from where the hose comes out, so it is awkward to reach around to change the temp control while the machine's in use; (3) my old hair dryer including all its individual parts fit neatly into a case with a handle. This new one has the hose connected inside the case, and the latch on the case does not snap tight, so it is too loose and easily comes undone. I can't fit the bonnet into the compartment when I'm done, so I'm left with part of the dryer outside of the case, and I'm more likely to misplace it that way. Overall, I am pleased to have found another hair dryer after all these years, and this one will do, but I must say I miss the old style!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Good when travelling

08/15/2007
By ,
Fishkill, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product a month ago and used it about 3 times till now. I think overall it was a good purchase. I am not a USA resident and in my country appliances are 220volts, so when I came here I wanted to buy a 110volts hair dryer and I choose this one for its price. In addition to its cheap price, it is lightweight, of moderate power and the soft bonnet is really big. But, I would have prefered it a lot better if it was more powerfull than 400watts.
When you use it on the low heat you probably will have no problems as it can work continuously for 2 hours. Also, it is good for your hair to be gently dried and the result is good. Unfortunately when your try to use the medium or hot levels, after 20-30 minutes the dryer stops completely and you have to wait about 10 minutes till it works again.
So my advice is to use the low heat and have a 2 hours nap till your hair dries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

just love it!

01/16/2008
By ,
Pitman NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so enjoying my soft bonnet hair dryer. It's a flashback to a more youthful time in my life. It's a much easier and more pleasant way to dry and curl my hair than holding up my arms while using a blow dryer and then burning my finger tips with hot rollers. I can have a cup of coffee, read a book, what ever and the curls last much longer when dried in with rollers under a dryer hood.
Younger people may not find it as attractive or convenient as I do but for those of us that grew up using bonnet dryers, I think they will absolutely love using one again.
The only thing I don't particularly care for is the way the hood, cord and hose are stored. It's a bit difficult to get everything inside the case. . .the old hat boxes were easier and probably sturdier but not as compact. . .guess it's a bit of a trade off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

I am happy with this

01/18/2010
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really long hair and I braid it all the time in one braid and am tired of it drying naturally and taking forever so I thought I'd try this. I have to say... I made a good choice. My hair is thick. It works, is light and gets the job done if your tired of holding a hair dryer. The hose is a little shorter then I would like. I could see it tearing eventually where the hose meets the bonnett as it is very thin. So you have to be careful. It is louder then I thought it would be but you can still watch TV turned up and deal w it. Put on your make up while your hair is drying. Great for drying waves or curls. That's what I do with my braids and then take them out when dry and turns out beautiful. I definitely would recommend. I will get another when this one wears out. I would suggest taking a large hair clip and clip part of hose to your shirt to get it to stay as it weighs down some. This trick works great!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

GREAT!!!!

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tube does get hot, but if you prop it up on something, you'll be ok. I used this as I was sitting in my bed reading.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Good for the Price.

07/28/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I agree with most of the other reviews.
The bonnet is somewhat small, and about as thin and light-weight as a shower cap.
The heavy weight of the attached hose pulls down on the bonnet, which was annoying at first, and prevented the hot air from fully circulating.
Now I use a clothespin to secure the hose's nylon cord, and hang it at a higher level behind my head. Problem easily solved, and the bonnet inflates as it should.
Many reviews have stated that these units overheat, and stop working.
I have not experienced this. I use my dryer twice a week, and run it for at least an hour on the highest setting, with no problems whatsoever.
The trick is to make sure the airflow is not restricted. I use my dryer while in bed, and I prop it up on top of a book.
As of writing, I have had this hair dryer for about a month, and have used it around ten times.
I use the dryer for hair and scalp conditioning, and as part of my regimen for treating male baldness and preventing further hair loss.
So far I have seen excellent results. The added heat treatments in my bi-weekly routine has vastly stimulated hair growth, with really impressive results in my hair's improved thickness and texture.
The dryer is also very relaxing to use. I recommend its purchase, and I would buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

This bonnet is OK.

02/01/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The packaging is compact, which is nice. I use it to deep condition my natural hair.Getting the hose and bonnet in & out of the case is annoying. No matter how I retract the hose or fold the bonnet, it's difficult to pack and unpack. A few times, I thought I was going to rip the hose. I also do not like the way the hose weigh down the bonnet. It causes the bonnet to tilt in the direction of the hose. It doesn't seem to warm the top of my hair the way it does the sides. Overall, it's an okay investment. The cost is economical and it gets the job done. It's just not user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Great dryer

04/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just wanted to say I have had this dryer for about 3 years and it is still going strong.
It does get very hot so have to always use the med. setting for awhile and then down to cool. and like someone else mentioned I have to put something around my neck as it still is too hot where the hose comes out.
It is too hard to put hose and bonnet back together in case when done so I never do. Just sit on the shelf as is.
All that being said, it has lasted a long time and just had to replace the bonnet recently. I do wish you could order the separate bonnets from Walmart though.
My hair is fairly short so it dries in less than a half hour so I can't speak for those with really long hair...Also for those that say it would get hot and shut off, I only had that happen twice and it was my fault as both times I got it against something that blocked the air vent and it shut down in seconds then came back on in a few minutes. Seems like a built in protection against it getting too hot.
Yes, I love some of the old ones like the lazy daisy, but there isn't much to choose from in the soft bonnet style anymore and this has worked great for me, so when this does quit, I will replace it with same.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Convenient Labor Reducer

01/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hair Style: Dreadlocks
I have been touching up my own hair for 5 years now and over these years my hair continued to grow. As it got longer, it took longer for it to dry. I tuck all of my hair inside of the bonnet and can comfortably sleep, do my nails, watch tv, or whatever else I need or want to do in a stationary position. I wish that the dryer's heat temperature was a little higher (hotter), but it does get the job done especially for the price!!! Thanks Wal-mart!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Product Not for Me

05/14/2009
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I chose to this soft bonnet hair dryer even though there were mixed reviews because of its portability, but am not satisfied at all with how it works. The product claims to have a bonnet big enough to fit over jumbo rollers, which is true, but putting the bonnet on is very difficult with rollers in your hair and messes up the positioning of the rollers, resulting in messed up curls. Furthermore, the heat does not get all the way aound to the opposite side, so you do have to turn the bonnet around half way through drying. I did read about this in the reviews and didn't think it would be a problem, but with how hard it is to fit the bonnet over the rollers, additional difficulty is added when you have to turn it around in order to finish drying your hair. I wish this product worked better for me, however, it did not meet my expectations by a long shot. I will be returning it as soon as possible and replacing it with a hard bonnet hair dryer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Very Nice

01/14/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the dryer. When I first opened it my husband asked what contraption I purchased now. Once I washed my hair and dried it.....he then wanted to get in on the action! (he has locs and so do I) This dryer works great and I could still watch t.v. and take a nap! Highly recommended. Only downfall is now I've been drafted to do my hubby's hair. :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Excellent!

11/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A++
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Good dryer

09/07/2014
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Conair bonnet hair dryer works well for drying my shoulder length permed hair while I'm putting my makeup on in the morning. The hose has proven to be long enough to be able to move some at the vanity. I will agree with other reviewers that the connection of the hose to the bonnet can be frustrating as it will fall off occasionally. I'll usually take the bonnet off and fluff my hair and then put it back on to finish drying; sometimes I'll need to finish drying with a hairdryer and diffuser if I want to curl a few strands. The hose, cord and bonnet will store inside the case. I have been careful with the bonnet so that it does not tear, especially when it is warm. I was pleased with the price and the ship to home option.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Good.

10/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works good.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Hair dryer

10/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It drys my hair
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Conair soft bonnet

07/04/2010
By ,
Columbia, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first brought this product it worked fine. I am African-American and my daugther and I have very thick hair. So we are accustomed to setting under the dryer for long periods of time. But this hair dryer keeps shutting itself off. I have moved it to different outlets in our home and it still keeps cutting off. The price is great, but the product needs a little work.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Conair Hair Dryer

10/25/2010
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dryer does a pretty good job, however, the hose is too short to get comfortable while hair is drying.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

convenience

07/26/2007
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recommend this product for it's versatile size and manuverability. When you want to watch a movie and be able to "hear" it as well, this is the hair dryer to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Granny loved it

11/29/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother in law had been looking for a lightweight, easy to use bonnet hairdryer and asked me to look for one for her. I found this Conair at a few sites, and it appeared to be well liked by other consumers. She has used it twice, and absolutely loves it! It is so light that she has no difficulty setting it up, and it's a wonderful alternative to the hand held models for someone, like her, who is unable to hold up their arm for a long period of time. Very highly recommended, especially for those who like this type of dryer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Good hair dryer.

09/25/2014
By ,
Philadelphia., PA.,
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It work well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 254 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next