Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Conair Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Conair Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Pamper yourself with a hot conditioning treatment for healthy-looking, shiny hair any time you want with the Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer. For long-lasting styling results, this soft bonnet Conair hair dryer can be used with rollers of all sizes to create beautiful curls and waves. You can also use the hot air vent brush to create salon-type results in the comfort of your own home. This 400 watt hair dryer comes in a compact case with a handle for easy portability. It features an easy lock system that allows you to fold and unfold it by just pressing a button. This Conair hair dryer with its small footprint does not occupy much space in your room.
Average Customer Rating:
3.294 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(289 Reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
71
3 stars
32
2 stars
30
1 star
67
Customer Recommendation62%180 out of 289reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
71
3 stars
32
2 stars
30
1 star
67
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

This bonnet is OK.

02/01/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The packaging is compact, which is nice. I use it to deep condition my natural hair.Getting the hose and bonnet in & out of the case is annoying. No matter how I retract the hose or fold the bonnet, it's difficult to pack and unpack. A few times, I thought I was going to rip the hose. I also do not like the way the hose weigh down the bonnet. It causes the bonnet to tilt in the direction of the hose. It doesn't seem to warm the top of my hair the way it does the sides. Overall, it's an okay investment. The cost is economical and it gets the job done. It's just not user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Good when travelling

08/15/2007
By ,
Fishkill, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product a month ago and used it about 3 times till now. I think overall it was a good purchase. I am not a USA resident and in my country appliances are 220volts, so when I came here I wanted to buy a 110volts hair dryer and I choose this one for its price. In addition to its cheap price, it is lightweight, of moderate power and the soft bonnet is really big. But, I would have prefered it a lot better if it was more powerfull than 400watts.
When you use it on the low heat you probably will have no problems as it can work continuously for 2 hours. Also, it is good for your hair to be gently dried and the result is good. Unfortunately when your try to use the medium or hot levels, after 20-30 minutes the dryer stops completely and you have to wait about 10 minutes till it works again.
So my advice is to use the low heat and have a 2 hours nap till your hair dries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

just love it!

01/16/2008
By ,
Pitman NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so enjoying my soft bonnet hair dryer. It's a flashback to a more youthful time in my life. It's a much easier and more pleasant way to dry and curl my hair than holding up my arms while using a blow dryer and then burning my finger tips with hot rollers. I can have a cup of coffee, read a book, what ever and the curls last much longer when dried in with rollers under a dryer hood.
Younger people may not find it as attractive or convenient as I do but for those of us that grew up using bonnet dryers, I think they will absolutely love using one again.
The only thing I don't particularly care for is the way the hood, cord and hose are stored. It's a bit difficult to get everything inside the case. . .the old hat boxes were easier and probably sturdier but not as compact. . .guess it's a bit of a trade off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

I like it, but

12/15/2010
By ,
Arlington, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this hair dryer. It works well and does its job, but the one I had 40 years ago was better in several ways: (1) It was much easier to insert the hose into the bonnet than this new one (and it didn't pull loose accidentally like this one can do); (2) the on-off and heat controls are directly opposite (on the back side) of the unit from where the hose comes out, so it is awkward to reach around to change the temp control while the machine's in use; (3) my old hair dryer including all its individual parts fit neatly into a case with a handle. This new one has the hose connected inside the case, and the latch on the case does not snap tight, so it is too loose and easily comes undone. I can't fit the bonnet into the compartment when I'm done, so I'm left with part of the dryer outside of the case, and I'm more likely to misplace it that way. Overall, I am pleased to have found another hair dryer after all these years, and this one will do, but I must say I miss the old style!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

for the price, it can not be beaten!

02/03/2014
By ,
Canton, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this hair dryer. It is very easy to use. Light weight and compact to go anywhere. Adjustable heat settings for ultimate comfort and efficiency.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

handy, cost and use effective

02/02/2014
By ,
East Orange
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a dryer that was flexible and dryable at the same time. This is my second one because my granddaughter borrowed (yeah right) the first one and I never saw it again.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Great dryer

04/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just wanted to say I have had this dryer for about 3 years and it is still going strong.
It does get very hot so have to always use the med. setting for awhile and then down to cool. and like someone else mentioned I have to put something around my neck as it still is too hot where the hose comes out.
It is too hard to put hose and bonnet back together in case when done so I never do. Just sit on the shelf as is.
All that being said, it has lasted a long time and just had to replace the bonnet recently. I do wish you could order the separate bonnets from Walmart though.
My hair is fairly short so it dries in less than a half hour so I can't speak for those with really long hair...Also for those that say it would get hot and shut off, I only had that happen twice and it was my fault as both times I got it against something that blocked the air vent and it shut down in seconds then came back on in a few minutes. Seems like a built in protection against it getting too hot.
Yes, I love some of the old ones like the lazy daisy, but there isn't much to choose from in the soft bonnet style anymore and this has worked great for me, so when this does quit, I will replace it with same.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Great dryer for price

02/02/2014
By ,
Long Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your looking for a good dryer to do treatments and Deep conditioning treatments at home this is a good dryer. I don't think it is good to sit under and completely dry your hair because the case gets really hot, but if your looking for home treatments it's good with the bonnet attachment.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Compact and Powerful

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dryer replaced a much heavier one by a different manufacturer. I like the light weight and compact design. It's settings are simple and provide plenty of air power to dry hair quickly. It costs less than the replaced dryer that I bought 6 years ago.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Good for the Price.

07/28/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I agree with most of the other reviews.
The bonnet is somewhat small, and about as thin and light-weight as a shower cap.
The heavy weight of the attached hose pulls down on the bonnet, which was annoying at first, and prevented the hot air from fully circulating.
Now I use a clothespin to secure the hose's nylon cord, and hang it at a higher level behind my head. Problem easily solved, and the bonnet inflates as it should.
Many reviews have stated that these units overheat, and stop working.
I have not experienced this. I use my dryer twice a week, and run it for at least an hour on the highest setting, with no problems whatsoever.
The trick is to make sure the airflow is not restricted. I use my dryer while in bed, and I prop it up on top of a book.
As of writing, I have had this hair dryer for about a month, and have used it around ten times.
I use the dryer for hair and scalp conditioning, and as part of my regimen for treating male baldness and preventing further hair loss.
So far I have seen excellent results. The added heat treatments in my bi-weekly routine has vastly stimulated hair growth, with really impressive results in my hair's improved thickness and texture.
The dryer is also very relaxing to use. I recommend its purchase, and I would buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Convenient Labor Reducer

01/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hair Style: Dreadlocks
I have been touching up my own hair for 5 years now and over these years my hair continued to grow. As it got longer, it took longer for it to dry. I tuck all of my hair inside of the bonnet and can comfortably sleep, do my nails, watch tv, or whatever else I need or want to do in a stationary position. I wish that the dryer's heat temperature was a little higher (hotter), but it does get the job done especially for the price!!! Thanks Wal-mart!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Versatile dryer

01/17/2014
By ,
Auburn , wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this dryer for what one might consider an unconventional use . I have a long haired dog that requires a lot of grooming . Normal hair dryers are much noisier and bulky to dry her and brush at the same time and the noise tends to scare her more . Using this tube to dry her is much easier . After a couple of times she actually seemed to enjoy the warm air hitting her and drying and brushing is a breeze . So I would recommend this for any pet owner who has ever tried to bathe and dry their pet at home . It seems to be much quieter and the tube is easily handled .
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

not suitable

03/24/2014
By ,
TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
...was disappointed in this dryer, the hose kept falling out when the power was turned on, so had to turn it off & put the hose back in place, did this 3/4 times, the first time I tried it, then had to hold it to dry my hair so returned it the next day:(
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

I am happy with this

01/18/2010
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really long hair and I braid it all the time in one braid and am tired of it drying naturally and taking forever so I thought I'd try this. I have to say... I made a good choice. My hair is thick. It works, is light and gets the job done if your tired of holding a hair dryer. The hose is a little shorter then I would like. I could see it tearing eventually where the hose meets the bonnett as it is very thin. So you have to be careful. It is louder then I thought it would be but you can still watch TV turned up and deal w it. Put on your make up while your hair is drying. Great for drying waves or curls. That's what I do with my braids and then take them out when dry and turns out beautiful. I definitely would recommend. I will get another when this one wears out. I would suggest taking a large hair clip and clip part of hose to your shirt to get it to stay as it weighs down some. This trick works great!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Faulty Hose Connection

03/14/2014
By ,
Barbados
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are considering purchasing this product, please beware of the faulty hose connection.
I purchased this dryer today and will be returning it tomorrow; never even unwrapped the cord. When I tried to attach the hose, it kept slipping out of the holes which are designed to secure it to the bonnet; the bottom line is that this connection is not a snap lock, just a twist turn and it never stayed connected.
Returning to the store tomorrow to claim a refund. Ridiculous!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Very Nice

01/14/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the dryer. When I first opened it my husband asked what contraption I purchased now. Once I washed my hair and dried it.....he then wanted to get in on the action! (he has locs and so do I) This dryer works great and I could still watch t.v. and take a nap! Highly recommended. Only downfall is now I've been drafted to do my hubby's hair. :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Product Not for Me

05/14/2009
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I chose to this soft bonnet hair dryer even though there were mixed reviews because of its portability, but am not satisfied at all with how it works. The product claims to have a bonnet big enough to fit over jumbo rollers, which is true, but putting the bonnet on is very difficult with rollers in your hair and messes up the positioning of the rollers, resulting in messed up curls. Furthermore, the heat does not get all the way aound to the opposite side, so you do have to turn the bonnet around half way through drying. I did read about this in the reviews and didn't think it would be a problem, but with how hard it is to fit the bonnet over the rollers, additional difficulty is added when you have to turn it around in order to finish drying your hair. I wish this product worked better for me, however, it did not meet my expectations by a long shot. I will be returning it as soon as possible and replacing it with a hard bonnet hair dryer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Good hair dryer

03/17/2014
By ,
Arnold, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THis hair dryer works good, my wife likes it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

Would not recommend

02/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This hair dryer only has one air flow setting and it's loud. It should have a low and a high setting, low being more quiet and high being louder. The bonnet is too small for large curlers so air does not get to the curlers on the top of your head. The hose that attaches to the bonnet comes unattached too easily. It doesn't attach to the bonnet securely. Also, the hose is not long enough. The string thing in the hose is annoying and I don't understand the purpose of it. It is not explained in the directions.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Conair Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer, 400W

probably good dryer

03/05/2014
By ,
roseburg oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to take back cause the hose would not stay connected to bonnet.
The dryer seemed to have good flowing air thru the cap when I turned it on. Dryer a bit noisy, though.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 236 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next