Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Presto Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

The Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer is a must-have accessory for any kitchen. It is a stainless steel deep fryer with dual baskets. The fryer can fry two food items at once in extra large batches. The electric deep fryer has a 12-cup food capacity and you can enjoy restaurant-like food at home with this accessory and fry up family-sized meals in no time. The oblong-shaped baskets are ideal for large pieces of chicken or fish and the adjustable thermostat helps you set the perfect frying temperature for your food items. Multiple safety features also round out the package. The Presto dual basket stainless steel deep fryer has an 1800-watt immersion element that gives quick preheating and fast oil recovery time. It comes with an easy cleaning enameled pot. While cooking, you can use the filtered cover to reduce splattering. Cook your favorite deep fried items with the adjustable thermostat that allows you to select from a variety of frying temperatures.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(357 Reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
247
4 stars
89
3 stars
13
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation96%341 out of 356reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 253 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
247
4 stars
89
3 stars
13
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Great Fryer

08/03/2009
By ,
Burnham, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this not to long ago and have been putting it to the test since getting it. Overall VERY good fryer, I can easily fry some chicken and french ries at the same time with no issues. It has a removable element for easy cleaning and grease filtering. The duel basket system is great for when you wanna do several items or a bunch of a single item. The quick connect power cable is a great safety feature, although its a tad short for my tastes. I wish it had a temp read out instead of the dial knob, but for the price im not complaining. Once it reaches temerature it holds it fairly well even with adding food. It says not to use the lid for high moisture foods like fries, but thats only fresh cut fries, you can safely toss the lid on if your using frozen store bought fries. Even when frying fresh high water foods it doesnt send oil flying due to its deep basin. My ONLY dislike with this product is warm up time, it takes a smidge to long to warm up to the higher temps for my tastes, but im also used to a smaller fryer. Comes with a catalog in which you can purchase a single jumbo basket instead of using the 2 smaller ones included. Overall, this is a great fryer for an average size family, its not the smallest fryer out there so if your tight on kitchen space you may have to make room for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Randleman, NC
Thanks for the review
Posted 02/17/2014
I just want to thank you for taking time out to write a honest review. Presto & Wal-Mart should be thanking you as well. Thank you for letting us know all the benefits and even the con of having a short cord. I am going to be purchasing this fryer.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Great Fryer

01/05/2014
By ,
Dothan Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been a great fryer for my husband and I. I have used it almost every night to cook with. I can do a whole meal for us in 30 minutes or less.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

great fryer even for the pro

01/16/2014
By ,
Rock Island, Ill.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this fryer is the best for the money because you can take the hole thing apart and store every part within the main fryer and it will even go back in the box it came in. I have used it to fry just about everything even fair foods. Just ordered the larger basket and it works very well. Hopes this helps all of you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

A tremendous value!

01/02/2009
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I searched high and low and reviewed dozens of deep fryers before settling on this one. So far it has been flawless in its performance.
One little drawback is the temp issue. Every deep fryer is capped at reaching about 375º. I would have liked to seen a bit more.......400-415º is ideal. The real secret to healthy (yes, I just said healthy!) deep frying is the temp of the oil. You want the oil hot enough to sear the outer surface closed. Once the outer surface is sealed closed, it prevents oil from entering into the food being fried.
Harold McGee in his excellent book, "On Food and Cooking" proved that you can indeed deep fry food and have literally NO oil enter the final product. That means it is cooked through with no oily after taste. The secret to this is the temp of the oil. His experiments settled on about 415º as the ideal temp to deep fry. That is hot enough to seal the surface, yet not too hot to burn the food before it is finished frying.
Another suggestion I have........Don't waste a lot of money on Peanut oil!! Instead, go to a restaurant supply store or Sam's Club and buy the food service grade shortening. Most of these are "creamy" mixtures that can withstand multiple cooks using the same oil. I owned several A&W restaurants and we would change our fryer oil only a couple times a week. That is after using them all day, every day. For the home cook, You can keep the same oil in your fryer for many, many cooks.
The myth behind peanut oil is that it has a higher burn point than other oils. It is true, but the difference is very small. Besides, you will never reach the burn point, so why pay double what other oils costs?
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+255points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Excellent Performer

09/16/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased over 2 years ago and it hasn't failed me yet. Employed as an Executive Chef and this fryer definitely cooks close to commercial quality. Wish that the fryer cover slots for the fryer basket handles were smaller to reduce heat loss and it would probably cook even faster.
I use it often to make deep-fried sweet potato cakes for friends and the results are always the same: excellent.
Cleanup is easy and the appearance fits in well with any decor.
It will be hard to improve something this good for home use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

fryer

01/09/2010
By ,
Natrona Hts,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great fryer,cooks fast and allows more than one food to be cooked at a time.Easy to clean because the fryer oil tank can be removed.That is a huge plus over our old fryer.We threw it away when we saw how good this one worked.The old one was very hard to clean because the oil tank couldn't be removed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

deep frying made simple

02/20/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The deep fryer is well worth the money. The only fault I have found is the lid does not fit snuggly when not in use. I use a splatter screen immediately when dropping the baskets to eliminate the oil from splattering. I also ordered the large basket for deep chicken/wings. Works better than the two baskets for this process. The large basket allows the pieces more room. It is rather large so be prepared to make room for it when not in use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Everyday useable

11/22/2007
By ,
Henderson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and son think they have to have french fries or tater tots everyday so I have been through a few fryers. The side by side baskets are very handy to fry chicken & tots at the same time. I've only had this Presto for a few weeks but can tell that if it will hold up to all the usage we give it, I"ll love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Disappointed

07/30/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After reading the countless reviews on this product, I made the purchase. It's ok, but not a wonderful as everyone made it out to be. If you want crispy fried food (the reason for the fryer...right?) you can not keep the splatter lid on during cooking. If you want crispy fries for example, you can only add one sliced potato at a time because the temp drops and doesn't recover before they are browned...so more than one gets you mushy, oily fries. My biggest problem is that the baskets rusted after my first wash. Must be that I had too high of an expectation after reading all the positive reviews. Overall, it's not a bad fryer, just disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Not the product it was 8 years ago.

07/20/2012
By ,
Gretna, Nebraska
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second Presto Dual ProFry that I have purchased. I bought the first one about 8 years ago. The second was purchased in July 2012 as a gift for a friend. Same box but there were some differences in product quality that I found to be very disappointing. 1) It no longer has a strong durable stainless steel frame like the earlier models, therefore, the metal will easily bend or dent. 2) The cover is no longer stainless steel, but made of plastic. 3) The enamel pot does not sit as cleanly in the frame as the earlier model, which means the baskets do not sit as cleanly on the enamel pot. 4) Made more cheaply, but cost more than my earlier model.
It did a great job of frying, but I am curious to how long this product will hold up over the years.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Love it!

08/27/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this fryer several times a week to make french fries, chicken, appetizers, etc. We have saved a ton of money by buy in bulk from the warehouse stores and skipping the trips to the Fast Food Joints.
It is large enough to make quantities to feed my 3 teen-aged sons. The double baskets let me cook fries and chicken fingers at the same time or onion rings and mozzarella sticks. Food is cooked in about 3 to 4 minutes. I like the cover with screen to keep the oil from splattering when lowering the baskets and frying.
After I let the oil cool, I strain it and store it (in a huge plastic pretzel barrel, the perfect size) to use again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Is a very helpful product

08/20/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is wonderful to have this product the food cook evenly and faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Have already used it quite a bit

06/12/2008
By ,
MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although we received this our Presto Fryer just a little over one week ago - we have used it even more than I ever expected we would.
It's just so easy... so easy to fry foods JUST right every time.. And so easy to clean up.
One tip: raw battered foods do stick to the baskets no matter how many times you pre-dip the baskets into the hot oil... And this is a huge fried mess. :) The best thing you can possibly do is simply fry such items without the baskets altogether. No harm done.
I would definitely recommend this product to anyone .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

i think anyone who has kids needs one!

09/26/2011
By ,
west columbia sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love that i can make both chicken nuggets and fries and not have to wait on the second food to be done meaning the first gets cold i absolutely love it it does take more oil then i thought it would a gallon didnt fill it to the max line it filled it to a little over the min line the baskets are also a little small in my opinion but even with the min oil level i am able to cook plenty at once in one drop i can cook enough for a family of four the basket's handles also fold down for space saving it is a pretty big deep fryer size wise but i think its well worth having i love how easy it is for me to cook with it and make exactly what i need in half the time im so glad i bought this item versus the single basket ones you normally see
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

You will love this product.

02/10/2008
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful, cooking with it makes frying easy. You don't have to worry about to much oil sticking to your food. I recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

What a find!

10/14/2010
By ,
Epping, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a fry daddy for years, I also use an electric fryer. I tried making fried chicken in this unit...what took 1 1/2 - 2 1/2 hrs before took less than a half hour! The chicken came out moist, crisp and not at all greasy. I loved the ease of use, the temperature controls...and the drop baskets! I'm wondering what took me so long to make this purchase?! Would I recommend it...you bet I would. I loved everything about this machine and can't wait to make my next meal. Next up, fried seafood night!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Nice Fryer!

01/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my wife for Christmas. She has used it once so far, but is already raving about how much she likes it! I personally like the storability of the unit, the fact that it breaks down for cleaning and most of it is dishwasher safe, and the lid that can be left on while using the fryer. The dual basket system is the selling point of this fryer, but you can also order one large basket for it if you're just doing one type of food; which we're going to do. I gave it an average rating on durability only because it's new to us and I have no idea how long the unit will last. The price was a bit higher than I probably would have guessed compared to other fryers, thus the "good" rating on value, but even with that said we are happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

A Great Dual Fryer ! ! !

12/17/2009
By ,
Duncanville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The fryer is exactly as described. I bought it a few years ago on Black Friday and have never regretted my purchase. It sets up is a breeze and so is cleaning up after. The two basket system is really convenient especially when you need to fry different items. I've fried Chicken, Shrimp, battered vegetables, precooked breaded Steaks (right out of the Freezer) and Fries (My fries are very crisp). You can even hang the baskets and allow the oil to drain before serving your food. No need to worry about blotting with paper towels. I have had other fryers and this the best one I've had so far. Heats up very quickly. Recovers nicely after adding frozen food. If you like to fry often, then this IS the one to get. I definitely would recommend buying this fryer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

big and nice

09/11/2008
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at Wal Mart .com and had it ship to store. I got when they promised. I opened it and used it right away. It takes 5L of cooking oil to fill to the max cooking line I used Crisco we made home made fried chicken breasts 8 pieces. then some crinkle frozen fries. It came out better than you can get at any fast food place and it was done in 20 minutes. I heated the oil while I prepared the chicken and it was ready. you need alot of space for it on the counter but it cleaned up easier than using a fring pan. Easy and quick meals without having to pay for fast food is for me. It will more than pay for itself. my husband is looking up how to make doughnuts chicken fried steaks rolled tacos and fried buritos so it is well worth the money. enjoy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto Dual ProFry 12-Cup Deep Fryer

Better than I thought it would be.

08/24/2010
By ,
Fairdield, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used it 3 times allready, it cooks really fast was following the directions to make homemade chicken strips, directions said it would take 18 min. to cook the chicken but only took a few minutes before I knew it it burned. Did french fries in about 5 min. my other deep fryier took 15-20 min. way longer. Would like the compartments to be seprate and the lid to be solid with no slits to let dust and lint in when not in use. Other than that it works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 254 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next