Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Rubbermaid Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

Keep drinks or food cold or warm on the road with this compact, 5-liter travel cooler/warmer from Rubbermaid. It has space for up to 9, 12 oz. cans and includes two built-in cup holders, a padded seat and storage pouches. Plus, it plugs directly into your car's 12-volt DC outlet or any 12-volt DC power source.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation83%15 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

Refrigerates well

10/07/2007
By ,
Butler, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has met my expectations overall...
The refrigeration works extremly well and because it runs constintly it runs pretty quitely.
The only downfall that I would report is that the cup holders are next to useless. They are not anywhere close to large enough to simply hold a 8oz. beverage can, nor deep enough that I would trust something not to topple over. My suggestion would be to the Manufacture, Either eliminate them both and expand the capasity of cooler area or make one holder instead of two and make it oversized and DEEEEP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

Great value!

08/06/2007
By ,
Hoffman Estates, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on the road all day and when I found that using cold packs was not useful anymore, I switched over to thermoelectric cooling. I tell ya, this is AMAZING. You never have to worry about putting cold packs in the freezer anymore! You simply plug this cooler into your car and everything turns ice cold. The only drawback in this cooling device is that there has to be room around the cooler so the fan can vent out the hot air. If the cooler is kept in enclosed areas, the cooling isn't as efficient. I also like the fact that the interior dimensions fit soda cans perfectly. This will save you a lot of money as opposed to buying pop from stores. I highly recommend this product to people that travel a lot and especially for those who work on the streets (e.g. police officers, paramedics). NOTE: I would not recommend using this device for storing insulin or other medical products. While the cooler works well there is no guarantee of maintaining a certain temperature constantly, i.e. there's no thermostat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

excellant for use everyday for work

10/14/2007
By ,
TYLERTOWN, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE LOVE THE COOLER/HEATER FOR MY HUSBAND TO USE IN THE WORK TRUCK EVERYDAY. THANKS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

A very handy product

08/26/2007
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a very handy tool for my husbands lunches. I warms very well. It puts an end to sandwiches everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

Enjoying the product

11/26/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my brother who travels a lot. He says it worked just dandy for him! Kept drinks and insulin cold. Glad I got it! Would do it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 6 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

Great

01/09/2008
By ,
Cleburne,Al.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is great my Husband loves it. He drives a truck and he doesn't have to stop to buy something hot or cold. Thank you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer
12/11/2007
By ,
Mesa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a little smaller than what I was expecting. I was hoping to have it hold more but all in all if you need something small like for a day trip this would work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

Good Deal

07/05/2007
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this product due to our heavy travel schedules during the day. With summer time, it is difficult to make it into the office for lunch so we thought it best, and economical, to purchase this travel cooler to keep our lunches cool or warm while traveling during the day. It was an excellent idea. It works perfectly and keeps our meals nice and fresh for lunch time. At times we wish we would have gone with a slightly larger version as this one makes it a tad difficult to pack our tupperware, but we manage! Also, the cord is VERY difficult to get back into the compartment so it just hangs all day. But, a minor issue compared to the ability to save on eating out daily and the option to have fresh, healthy home cooked dishes available for lunch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

On the go cooler

07/25/2007
By ,
New Orleans LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cooler works as advertised. It takes about an hour too cool off but as long as you plug it shortly before leaving it works great. I use it on road trips and on my boat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer
11/21/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little unit. As I work outside, I like hot lunches in the winter and cold lunches in the summer. It does everything I want it to and more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

smaller than I thought

07/12/2007
By ,
Dallas, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While it does it's job of cooling...you cannot stand up a small bottle of water in it. You have to tilt it and then only can you get 4 bottles in it. Cans would be better but they dont sell water in cans.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 12 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

whatfor

10/16/2007
By ,
NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had this product for a few days and it's already broken. The hatch that covers the cord broke off. It's nothing but a poorly made compartment for the electrical cord. That's my only problem with this product so far. It did keep my things nice and cold. I didn't try the warmer yet though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

Good value but flimsy

12/02/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty good value. Pretty flimsy construction. 12vdc cord compartment cover broke the first time I opened.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer

poor product

11/01/2007
By ,
Monroe, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Your website did not convey the fact that when you shut the car off the unit shuts off. If you are out of the car for a long period of time then your food will not stay warm in the cold weather and cold in the hot weather.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rubbermaid 5-Liter Thermoelectric Travel Cooler and Warmer
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5