Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Exergen Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Exergen Exergen Temporal Thermometer

The Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer is the perfect thermometer for your family and helps you to take accurate temperatures easily. It is easy to use and safe, which is why it is recommended for the entire family. Since this portable thermometer can capture temperatures with a gentle stroke of forehead, you can use it to measure the temperature of your infant with ease. You just have to stroke it over your childs forehead and it will capture the heat from the temporal artery. This temporal scanner thermometer can take 1000 readings in a single second and selects and displays the most accurate reading to you. The red LED light on the thermometer starts flashing when the correct scan appears and you can read it easily. The Exergen Temporal Artery Thermometer is powered by a 9v battery. The Exergen Thermometer is fast, accurate and very convenient to use and can even be used to obtain the temperature of a sleeping child.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(592 Reviews) 486
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
441
4 stars
87
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation91%536 out of 590reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 150 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
441
4 stars
87
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

excellent

01/25/2010
By ,
dallas tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this product very much. I had 2 kids one is 3 years old and second one is 7 months old. elder one gets seizures when he has high fever. my both kids got high fever at same time and this helped me alot. taking temperatures for every hour and giving medications based on fever is really very painful job with 2 kids. this helped me alot. this accuracy is very good. dont know how others dont get an accurate reading. i took reading for myy younger son it showed 103.6 and immediately we went to emergency there they took the temp reading as 103.4 with their thermometer. first thing we have to do is put closely to the skin like flat and take
reading. another thing is clean the lens with Alcohol swab atleast once a day while using the thermometer. we have to take care of the lens so that it wont get dusted with debris. It helped a lot. but one thing is the cap is really not very tight for it. thats what is disa[ppointing me other wise its great product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Accurate!!

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't normally write reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised with this product! My kids were sick with a fever on and off for like a month. I usually take their temp internally but that's kind of awkward for the babysitters. So I asked a friend and she recommended this product. I bought it quickly because it was at a much lower price than in the drugstores. After I pushed purchase...then I read the reviews. I was disappointed to read that there were so many negative reviews about how it didn't work properly. So I figured I would try it and see how it went...I could always return it if it didn't work. Well, it came and I started my tests. It was RIGHT ON! I felt comfortable after about 10 tests that the temp I was getting from this was the same as the internal temp. My kids love it too. They like pretending how it goes on their forehead. So while I might take an internal temp just to be absolutely sure, I will definitely use this the majority of the time. It worked for me and my two kids and I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

You just have to use it correctly

10/25/2012
By ,
Western US
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this thermometer. It's true that the readings vary slightly each time you take it. I purposely do several readings. I watch to see a general temperature range emerge. I usually swipe each side of the forehead and do a quick test behind one ear. The first read is usually too cool, so I'll discard that reading and repeat it. After that reading, I might get a 101.3, 101.8 and a 101 - but I am able to extrapolate that my child's fever is probably around 101.8 (the highest reading). I can do those three tests in less than 10 seconds (and while my child is sleeping) which is so much easier than other types of thermometers. I've used digital, oral, rectal and ear thermometers in the past and this is my favorite. One trick to get it to read accurately is to make sure you get a smooth (but completely flush) pass over the temporal artery (which is in the depression on either side of your forehead). If you miss this spot as you cross the forehead, your temps are going to be way off.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Excellent!!!

03/12/2010
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product at least 5 - 5 1/2 years ago when I first had my son and he had RSV. I watched the nurses use something similar in the hospital and absolutely loved it. I went shopping afterwards and found one at a reasonable price. I took it with me to my next appointment and my pediatrician wrote all the information down to pass on to other parents. We compared it to their thermometer and it was close enough that she was impressed. I have had it since, changed the battery twice, if that and it's still working. Though I think the cap could be tighter or more secure in some manner, I absolutely love it. No waking a sick child or person to take a temp. The only trouble is to make sure that they haven't been laying or sleeping on the side to take the temp. Then you can get a pretty outrageous temp, believe me I did. I still keep a standard mercury thermometer as a back up just in case, but I never use anything other than this one and highly recommend it to everyone. I've even had friends try it out just to see for themselves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Surprise -- Reviews are NOT hyped!

02/01/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw all the great reviews for this product. So many in fact that it made me a little suspicious. Then I saw Consumer Reports stating that it's accurate, but that the cheap -- and cheap-feeling -- oral thermometers are just good. Further, I saw a few "Product has gone downhill" reviews here.
So I was somewhat skeptical. Well, I went ahead as ordered, and all the praise is 100% right on! So solidly built, and quick and easy to use (but DO heed the instructions) -- and it doesn't give me wacky readings like those oral thermometers that CR claimed are just as reliable. When I felt fine my "CR-Highly-Rated" oral thermometer was giving me readings from 96.3-97.1. I.e., low and all over the place.
But with the Exergen Temporal it's 98.6 - 98.7 -98.6 - 98.6-98.7! The only time it was more than a tenth of a point off from 98.6 was when I failed to heed the instructions to give it a brief rest time between readings. (Of course for some people their personal "normal" is a bit different than 98.6, but it should be pretty consistent when there is no fever.)
So glad I had found the Exergen. I was on the cusp of concluding that there just aren't any reliable thermometers anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

RN mommy loves it!

03/05/2008
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When this type of thermometer first came out for healthcare professionals, we tested it's accuracy for several weeks, as compared to esophogeal temp probes (stuck down the throat while intubated for surgery). It is just as accurate as the esophogeals, digitals, both rectal and oral, and more accurate than a tympanic (ear) thermometer. I was extremely pleased when it came out for the public. My 2 1/2 year old screams bloody murder when we try to take his temp when he's really sick, (he'd play with it if he wasn't sick--big clue to us that he WAS sick)and that was trying under the arm. With this one, he can "help" mommy by holding it with me, and I trust the readings I get with it, since I personally helped test it in the operating room. The only thing, as was true with the tympanic (ear)ones, it is a little expensive, but well worth it just to not fight with the child to take a temp. The tympanics are very easy to use wrong, as you have to pull the earlobe the right way, and anyone who has had or has attempted to take a rectal temp, we KNOW how that can be, especially waiting for the thermometer to read.
Take the extra money to buy it, it is well worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Learning curve

12/06/2007
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews on here, I must say that I am shocked that people would give this thermometer a bad rating. I am a nurse and we use the professional model of this device and it is just as accurate as a rectal thermometer. I bought this model to carry with me while working. I use it to take temps in the ER. On the average, I use this thermometer about 40 times per shift. The key is understanding that fevers will fluctuate all the time. Yes, you can get a different reading each time the device is used. If you take the temp on one side of the head and aren't satisfied with the reading, then scan the other side of the head. make sure the device is in constant contact with skin or it will not read properly. Also, make sure you follow the scanning directions. I would always take the higher reading as accurate over a lower reading. One reviewer indicated that her child's temp was 103 and when she took them to the ER it was 99. Remember that fevers will fluctuate. If you give a fever reducer for a temp of 103, you can expect the fever to be different the next time you take the temp.
This product is wonderful and I would highly recommend it to all parents. Most hospitals are not using ear therometers anymore because they have been found to be unreliable. Hospitals are also moving away from rectal thermometers due to rectal tears that can occur when children move and shift while taking their temp.
It's always good to have more than one way to take a temp. I recommend an oral thermometer and a temproral scanner. Always go by the higher temp.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+450points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hemet and Havasu
rnpj2000
Posted 04/03/2012
Thanks for the info. I was wondering if this thing would hold up to ER use etc... I am a float pool nurse (mainly work ER). I am tired of having to hunt for one that works (Our hospital ER still uses the ear and the floor uses oral) I wanted to purchase one to make my job a little easier...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Exergen Temperal Thermometer

12/29/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first purchased this thermometer after receiving an email from John Hopkins University about it finally being available for private purchase. I was a little skeptical, but purchased it anyhow because my daughter was constantly running 106+ degree fevers (VERY scary--she was still a baby). For the first week I compared every reading to that of a rectal reading (sorry, but rectal IS the most accurate.....). This thermometer was DEAD ON with the rectal reading. Yes, a 2 second reading was just as accurate, yet A LOT less invasive. I have now owned it for over 8 years, and am just as pleased with the accuracy today as I was years ago.
The only problem I have had with this item over the years is the battery became loose and it would turn off. I folded a very small piece of cardboard and placed it in the battery compartment.....problem solved. Before I purchased this thermometer I had tried almost every thermometer out there, and this is BY FAR the best I've found!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Excellent Product!!!

11/14/2008
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a traveling nurse who uses this product every day. I bought my fist one 3 years ago, and other then changing the battery, I have never had any problems using it. I puchased a second one to be used at home for my own family. I have also recommended it to many of my clients and colleagues. It is an excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Excellent Product

08/08/2007
By ,
McKinney, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most amazing thermometer! I first saw it at my daughters pediatricians office. It is very easy to use and there is no wait! It is the gift I buy for every baby shower and recommend it to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Tried and Tested

03/16/2011
By ,
Humble, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a thermometer to purchase for my 1 yr old who wouldnt sit still for an axillary or rectal temp and was too young for an oral. After reading many reviews I decided to purchase this thermometer and was soon able to use it because my whole family got the flu. I purchase this along with the Braun 4520 ear thermometer so that I could compare which was more accurate.
When my dds got a fever from the flu I put the thermometers to the test. I first used the oral thermometer that I already had, then the Braun and the Exergen right after each other. Of course they all read something different but which was right?
One evening I had to take my dd to the ER because her temp was reading "Hi" on the Exergen (which means above 106-107). The oral said 105 something. I gave her some Motrin and off we went. I brought all 3 thermometers with me to the ER. When in triage, the nurse took my dd temp with the Professional Exergen model it read 101.0. Then I used my Exergen and it read 102.1 so the nurse used the Professional oral probe themometer and it read 102.2. Right then I knew that Exergen was just as accurate as the oral probe they use in hospitals. I tried the Braun and it read 100. 4, not even close.
I will be returning the Braun back to Walmart and trashing the Oral themometer I have. The Exergen was the most accurate. Once you get use to using it, its really quite simple. All of my temps read around the same thing whether Im scanning from the middle of the forehead to the left or right or just putting it behind the left or right earlobe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Easier than rectal!

01/24/2010
By ,
Columbus, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an RN. I work in home care and have done without a thermometer instead of having to deal with probe covers and such. If the patient did not own a thermometer, I used the back of my hand for guestimation. When the Exergen was the deal of the day recently I decided this was an opportunity I couldn't pass by. I love this device. It is so fast, easy, and appears to be accurate. All you need to accompany this equipment is an alcohol swab for light cleaning between patients. I would never have paid full price for one but the value price was great (less than $40). It is sturdy and should last a long time with only battery changes as maintenance. One little drawback, it came with a cover for the head but that did not snap on well and I lost it the first day. All good, it was not used for obtaining results only to protect the head when not in use. I would recommend this thermometer over any other means. Much more accurate than the tympanic models as there is no wrong way to place this on the person.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Must Have

08/20/2010
By ,
Dubuque, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have kids or even if you don't this is great and where technology has improved. I was actually admitted to the hospital recently and this is what was used to take my temp. It was so much nicer then having something stuck in my ear or under my tongue. And we have used it on our 4 yr old. It was very quick and convenient and accurate. Having a wife that is a nurse was also instrumental in making the decision to purchase this for our home. And another big factor was the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Great product

12/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the backlighting feature... exactly what our 1st generation version, which this one replaced, was lacking. 1st one lasted about 10 years. Buying on-line and picking up at the store saved us $7 over the price on the shelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Seems good so far

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After years of wildly inaccurate ear and oral thermometers (to say nothing of the ordeal of rectal thermometers), we figured all the doctors offices and ERs couldn't be wrong and ordered one of these. It seems good, though it's difficult to know when one is getting an accurate reading. One side of my son's forehead is smooth, but the other side is bumpy, so the thermometer can't "navigate" there as well. It's also confusing to turn off -- several times I've pressed the off button, only to get the memory options, loud to soft alarm and once, horrifyingly -- Fahrenheit became Celsius. But I was encouraged by all the positive reviews here, and once I get the hang of it, the peace of mind that comes with an accurate temperature reading will be priceless.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Easy to Use on a Newborn

07/04/2007
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thermometer is easy to use and accurate on a newborn baby. It works on his forehead even when he is squirming on the changing table.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Easy to use!

09/14/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for the whole family. Its easy to use...just remember to take to probe cover off! The readings seem to be very accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

Good Product

04/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is great! No more rectal. The only down side that I have found is that you may have to run it across a forehead a few times before getting the same reading.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer
06/03/2013
By ,
Hyde Park NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I rated the value lower just because I think that $35 is a bit pricey for a thermometer, although my husband who is more tech savvy said he was surprised it didn't cost more...Anyway I bought it because I have newborn twins on the way and liked the idea of not having to do rectal or armpit temps with regular thermometers, and the fact that you can do it while they're sleeping. The directions are very easy to read and the thermometer is simple to use, just make sure you remove the plastic cap! I didn't realize it was supposed to come off and when I tested it on myself it said my temp was 68F...then I saw what I did wrong and tried it again, more accurate reading about 98F. It comes with its own battery which is nice, and I think it will be very convenient to use on the kids. I am planning to buy more for my other friends with babies on the way too.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Exergen Temporal Thermometer

very accurate!

11/18/2010
By ,
north carolina and Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a school nurse and use this on a daily basis. It is very accurate and quick to use. I just bought one for my sister who had twins. She was thrilled to be able to check their temperatures without disturbing them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 487 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next