Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sentry Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Sentry Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Keep documents, heirlooms, jewelry or computer hardware safe from fire with this 0.8 cu. ft. -capacity, fire-resistant SentrySafe MS0100 Fire-Safe Combination. This 0.8 Cu Ft Combination Safe has a shelf, which can be fixed in multiple positions according to the size of the contents. It also has a key rack and a compartment to store smaller items. It can hold standard and A-4 size papers, binders, and folders. It uses a 3-number combination lock with clicking dial, and four live-locking bolts. This SentrySafe Security Safe is fire proof and keeps your valuables safe in the event of a mishap. It has the UL certification for 1-hour of proven fire protection. This SentrySafe Fireproof Safe is proven to stay intact and safe even after a huge fall.
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation91%84 out of 92reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Excellent safe for the price.

02/24/2012
By ,
Mountain Home, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After seeing some of the negative reviews, I just had to post a good one. I am retired Air Force, at one time in charge of 12 safes at once, so I've had some experience with this type of security. First of all, all really good safes will be able to work the handle and open them until you spin the dial to re-secure them, this is normal. When I decided that it was time to get a home safe, I knew that Wal Mart had a selection of them, and was expecting to pay over $200 for one of any decent size that was fire proof. I was happily surprised that this decent sized safe was available for under $90. After reading the boxes of everything they had to offer, I chose this one, and the only thing I would change on it, is the set combo, as that should be changeable. However, in their defense I would guess it's because if it is set by them, then it would be possible to retrieve the combo should it be forgotten by the owner. If properly bolted to the floor, this safe should do everything that you could want from a safe which is hold your valuables, and keep them from burning for a reasonable amount of time. I may end up owning more than one of these in the future and bolt them together and to the floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Worth Every Penny...but has some bugs...

12/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned my safe for over 5 years. I am also getting ready to purchase another for my mother and her new house and will be getting this model!
It has a few quirks though... First it says it is a 3 digit combination, where in actuality you must use a 4 digit... for example: R15 L32 R45 L99... where as the paper work doesn't give you the R45 number (and of course that isn't a real combination as far as I know, If it is someones I apologize). The only other down fall I have found is that you MUST turn the dial when you close it, or it doesn't relock and will open when you turn the handle!!!
As someone said before it does have plastic hangers (for like keys and whatnots), but it is metal underneath. It has a moveable shelf so you can choose how far you need the distances on the shelf, but it only has one shelf.
All in all, I am buying another one just like it. Worth the money, but did everything I needed and wanted it to do. For under $100 you don't get the bells and whistles, but ours have ziploc protected documents, not million dollar jewels. I am happy with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Worth the money

09/20/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this safe for over three years and never had a problem with it. When my house was broken into, the thieves couldn't gain access to anything inside. The plastic handle was torn off, but other than that it held up well. I bolted it to the floor which made it impossible for it to be carried away. Overall it is a good product that does what it is supposed to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Hinge Broke Off Door

03/21/2013
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this safe thinking it would be great for important documents, etc. The amount of items I had fit ok. I opened it on occasion but not that often. Needed to get into it the other day and the combination worked but one of the hinges had frozen up. I tried to carefully open the door and the hinge broke. Contacted the company with the problem via email. They were great to respond really quickly but said that all they could do is replace the safe for the cost of shipping since it was out of warranty. The shipping was almost equal to purchasing the safe again. Well, I thought about it and decided I didn't want another safe from them if it would break after just a few years. Also, I read that their combination safes are very easy for burglars to break into. So I am looking for a digital lock and maybe a different manufacturer for a home safe product. Hope this helps someone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

don't bother!

07/16/2010
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this product in-store.....and returned it two hours later very disappointed. Picture on box seems misleading. Combination lock was defective (like other reviews listed here) as I could open safe within 3 to 4 clicks of actual number. On other attempts, could not open safe at all. Plastic construction seemed necessary for waterproof rating, but plastic combination lock a very poor design. Wouldn't really pay more than $50 for something like this. Finally decided on a First Alert double combo lock (same size) with a FULL steel construction. Now that's the safe I wanted in the first place! Willing to sacrifice waterproof rating for more solid construction and ease of use (reliability).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Good quality

04/02/2012
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Sentry Fire Safe. The first was purchased 22 yrs ago and is still in great shape. The fit and finish is good the interior is lined with plastic and the shelf is plastic and removable. At about 70 pounds it won't be carried away very easily, but bolting to the floor is recommended. The only "complaint" I have is that the combination dial clicks as it passes each number while dialing in the combination. The clicking is loud enough that it could be heard anywhere within about 60 feet of where the safe is located and is a problem if you want to open it without anybody knowing about it. Overall I feel this will provide excellent protection for my items and should do so for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

This Is A Heavy Duty & Nice Safe

09/08/2008
By ,
Bellevue, Ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a very nice safe for the money, Just wish it wasn't plastic behind the door where the lockin mechanism is and the shelf was a little bit more sturdy. But I do recommend it because it has a lot of space and holds everything i need it to. I also like that it is heavy so the little ones cant run away with it or if someone did try to steal it......they're gonna have a hard time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

safe

07/18/2008
By ,
columbia, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall seems to be a good product. I like to
be able to change the combination, but with this
model you can't.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Safe is heavy and good, but very poor security

04/25/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The safe is very poor as far as security, the hinges are on the outside open on right of safe...
This safe can be opened by pulling the top pin out then the bottom pin out, then the safe door is no
longer attached & very easy to open, my 10 year old son opened it with a screw driver in 1. minute
Do not waste your money on this safe, the top and bottom pins slide out very very easy.........
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe
01/02/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed with this safe. It had a dent in the side of it straight out of the box even though the box had no dents in it, so this dent did not happen during delivery. Then as soon as I turned the combination I knew it was going back to the store. This the the loudest combination lock I have ever used. The shelf inside is made of cheap plastic that bows with the slightest amount of weight on it. I would not recommend this safe to anyone. Definitely not worth the 90 dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Our first safe

12/10/2012
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We never had any kind of safe before.
After enbarking on a life devoid of credit cards and loans, ie. cash only we found ourselfs in a position of carrying way to much cash in the house. $14,000.00 for the "newer car" $4,000.00 for the other newer car fund, $800.00 for the car repair fund, $800.00 for the house maintenance fund, etc. In addition to this we also paid off the house so many valuable papers were hanging around.
So we decided a fire safe were in order. I saw on a web site that Walmart had this safe on a Black Friday special for about $90.00. I went to a store to check it out. $149.00.
It looked OK but expensive. A couple of days later I went on line to Walmart.com. Amazingly it was right there for $88.00+ .99 shipping. I jumped on it. Including a weekend the safe was delivered in 4 days.
I had some problems with anchoring it to the concrete floor. My problems, not the safe's.
It seems to do what we want. We keep our papers in Zip Lock bags to protect from water damage, and only keep papers and cash in theree, no guns.
Overall a great deal for me and my bride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Great Safe

01/15/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this yesterday from Walmart and straight away I knew what I was doing with it. I have never owned a safe before and found this very easy to use. I would highly recommend this safe for any sort of use. Its very strong, heavy, fire & water resistant, big, bulky, has shelving and overall a quality product. I have seen other peoples comments on here saying that these safes are bad and have given them a bad name. This could be due to a defective safe they brought or purely through personal taste. Overall thanks Walmart, you did it again!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

An Excellent Choice and Value

05/22/2012
By ,
Middletown, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this safe. The only drawback was that it did not come with the optional kit to bolt it onto the floor. I imagine that would have added something to the price but it would have been worth it. I will order the kit directly from Sentry. It is heavy and not easy to move but it could be done if one really wanted to. The combination lock works beautifully. If I ever need another safe it will be a Sentry...but a considerably larger one. I didn't know I had so much to put in there before I bought it so calculate space wisely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

seems sturdy

11/11/2012
By ,
scottsdale, az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this safe is very heavy however, any dilligent thief would be able to lift it. highly recommended to bolt into floor if possible. it comes with a factory combination (and no key), so now you have to keep the combo in a secret place. the interior shelf is very flimsy and will hold only papers and maybe light jewelry.
the dial and handle feel very cheap and flimsy. i am afraid to try any torque on it (just to test its strength) because it feels like it will break off. but overall, this safe appears for now to do what is intended. i wouldn't trust my life savings with it, but if you have some paperwork or small items you want protected from fire and a lazy thief, this is a decent option.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe
12/18/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this safe online because i was six months pregnant at the time. We got the wrong one and I had to have my husband go with me to a walmart to return it and buy the right one. My husband had trouble opening it for a while, but he's gotten the hang of it. Overall, it's a good safe but probably
Better to buy in store. Oh and it slides well on carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Nearly perfect

11/14/2013
By ,
Carson city, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I must say I'm not a frequent safe buyer but I got this for my boyfriend for Christmas and it has all the qualities that he wants. The only complaint I would have is that on the picture the lock dial looked like the "traditional" metal ones. However my dial is plastic and doesn't spin smoothly, it clicks and it quite loud actually. I love it but I do wish it had the metal dial that spins effortlessly.
I'm fairly certain that there are different models and I happened to receive this one. Overall very happy, worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

KEEP what is YOURS,, (( Keep others OUT ))

04/30/2013
By ,
20619
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish i would have bought this Yrs. ago...... But from this day on --- Me & ONLY ME have access to MY stuff.. Whether it be my pills, (( good idea for parents with teenagers )) , credit cards,, cigs ( another good one for paernts with teenagers ).. change, bills $$$$$$ , important documents etc.etc... Plenty of room to store YOUR stuff... 3 digit combination works well... Every home should invest to get one.... price was very good.. $100.00 I HAD a problem with family members taking WHAT WAS MINE.... Sentry Fire- Resistant Safe has given me back WHAT IS MINE !! thank YOU..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Works Great

01/16/2008
By ,
Wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Might be a little nosier then I thought it would be. But other then that it is great to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

ok I guess

03/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall good value for the money. I was hoping for a metal locking mechanism without the plastic cover, but this works. I couldn’t locate any hard points to bolt it to the floor or wall, but since I’m still renting that wasn’t an option. Instead I encased it in 2” of solid wood and built it into my office desk :D I recon the added 2” of wood will give it some added fire protection, and the entire desk weighs about 200lbs. Good starter safe, but I will probably go with something more durable and pry resistant in the future
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sentry Fire-Resistant 0.8 cu. ft. Safe

Just What We Wanted

03/07/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son wanted a safe to store his important papers an collectibles. He didn't want one with an electronic lock because they can often times be opened by tripping the locking mechanism with a well placed blow. This one was just right. Heavy enough to prevent it from just be taken but still capable of being moved around a bit. Plenty of room on the inside. We would have liked to have been able to change the combination ourselves but you can't. The price was right too and it arrived several days early.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next