Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Gentle scalloping, decorative moulding and big wooden drawer pulls give this six drawer dresser a vintage feel. The perfect complement to the South Shore Summer Breeze collection, this white dresser is just right for any bedroom in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.725 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(302 Reviews) 284
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
117
3 stars
41
2 stars
14
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation79%238 out of 301reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
117
3 stars
41
2 stars
14
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

It's worth it

10/11/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reviews on this scared me- but I went ahead & bought it. This is a changing table/dresser for our baby's room- and it works great. It does take a good amount of time to put it together. However, things were clearly marked and instructions easy to follow.
It's sturdy- and if you're concerned- you can reinforce it on the back w/ an extra piece of wood. We didn't- but if it gets rocky- we will. I wouldn't stand on it- but for a changing table for someone less than 20 lbs - works fine.
I put different knobs on it and gave it a more unique look. We've gotten a lot of compliments on it.
It's not a solid finish- you can see the brush strokes which is fine. Just a FYI.
Also, this is for sale - exact brand and model - at Target for $20 more than Walmart and at Babies R Us for $45 more than Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 2 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

What a piece of garbage

04/15/2012
By ,
Fairfield, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent 4-hours on a Sunday putting this thing together. First off the instructions are God awful. I spent more time reading, re-reading, and then reading them again to figure out which hardware to use.
When screwing the drawer stabilizere bracket, the screw left a gap inside the drawer (see picture).
The final straw was the cabinet assembly. Several of the quick fit dowel and the Cam Klix ripped out of the hole. This resulted in the dresser totally collapsing (see pic).
Now I gotta take more time and ask a friend to help me return this piece of junk.
If you are thinking, good luck screwing things in as it does not recommend using a drill.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 3 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

fall in love

02/21/2013
By ,
bronx, new york
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my 4yrd daughter for her new room make over. I was watching this product online on multiple sites and reading reviews. When i saw walmart had it a steal. I ordered it and waited. I arrive quickly less the a week. some people said it cam chip. But mines was wrapped in plastic well. Everything was labeled and written well. I put it together with my husband, that took 2 hours it may happen less if i wasn't watching kids and he used the wrong screws. Besides that all was a go. I hate the knobs they look like they need another coat of paint. the dresser too looks like that but more of a distressed look somewhat. I replace the knobs which were on sale at target and made the dresser pop. Now i love the dresser more than every. The Best thing i love but was different is that the brackets the attach the dresser to the drawer is made of plastic, one the snap n the draw doesn't come out so easy. So i am not worry about the dresser falling on her.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Beautiful Dresser

02/03/2014
By ,
Claremont, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm completely impressed with walmart on this one. I was very worried from the beginning about not being able to see the item first, having it shipped and then building. First off shipping was extremely fast I did not expect to see it for another week, and was pleasantly surprised to find it on my doorstep 5 days before the initial delivery date. It was packed soundly, and not a piece was damaged. Item is beautiful, exactly like the photo & description, perfectly solid and well made. Set-up was a breeze I did it myself, taking my time, and it took me and hour & a half tops. I was also very impressed with the way hardware for each drawer was individually packaged, i'd never seen that before, it made the process go very smoothly . Directions were just like every other set i've had, some steps make you read them a few times to grasp what they're telling you to do, but I figured them out. I do recommend building drawers one at a time they kind of make it sound like you should do each step for all 6 at once, but it definitely made it easier to finish one before starting the other, once you get the first one done you'll be a pro at the rest. Really I have nothing bad to say about this dresser well worth the money. I couldn't imagine spending any more on a dresser when the quality of this one it so great and exactly what I needed. *Side note if your using this in a nursery, it is the perfect size for a standard changing pad.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 5 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

love the look

03/14/2012
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
when I put the frame together I was upset at first because the frame of the dresser was shaky I took it apart all ready to send it back I began my search for a dresser I liked as equally as this one to find none to my liking and no way was I paying $600.00 for something I did not love so I decided to give it another shot and I am so glad I did the drawers slide smoothly even though the sliders are plastic it is sturdy once it's all put together very nice and worth the money had it together with no help in about 2 1/2 hours the color is white with an antique look to the paint cant wait to order the 5 drawer dresser to match
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

This is just perfect

09/09/2010
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this dresser and two nightstands to go in my girly room that is done in pink, white, gold and crystal. Even though the ad says it is cream it is actually arctic white and goes perfectly with my room decor.
I don't know why many reviewers complained about this product it is very sturdy. If you are concerned about the strength of the bottom of the drawers it is easy to add a 1 x 1 inch wood support underneath on the dresser frame but IMHO it doesn't need it.
As for drawer size it holds all the things I need to go in it very well.
The drawers slide in and out nicely with stops to keep them from coming all the way out.
This dresser has lots of possibilities for decorating, including repainting if you want another color or decoupage.
I changed the plain white knobs for ones with gold trim and ceramic rounds with roses for under $15 and then added more gold leaf trim around the edges of the center drawer facing and it looks way more expensive than it was.
I wish Wal Mart carried more items of this collection, its a great set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 7 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Nice for the price

09/10/2009
By ,
Avis, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews, I was a little apprehensive when it came to purchasing this dresser. However, my husband and I decided to go ahead and "chance it".We are so glad that we did.
This dresser does need to be assembled, and it does take some time. My husband is very handy, and he didn't have any trouble with me reading the directions to him. We were so pleased with the end result. It is very sturdy and the drawers work very smoothly.
I would recommend this dresser to anyone that has the patience to assemble the dresser. You will need two people to assemble it and a lot of time to complete it. It is definitely worth the time and price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+74points
Review 8 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Nice/solid piece of furniture. Highly reccomended!

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first child so of course I went runnning to Babies R Us and picked out a nice crib and dresser and together it would have costed me well over $1,000. I am so glad I came to my senses and took a chance and ordered from Walmart. And it was a chance because I had no idea what kind of quality any of the furniture I bought would be and without seeing it 1st, I wasn't sure what I would be getting.
Luckily I was pleasantly surprised. Both the crib and the dresser I purchased from Walmart were exactly what I ended up wanting but didn't necessarliy know I wanted. I thought I had to spend over a $1,000 to get a nice, clean, classic look but I didn't. The crib was a piece of cake for the fahter to be. The dresser, came in a lot of pieces but with about an hour he had had it together. Both items are nice solid piece of furniture. As parents we want the best and the safest items out there. But the best and the safest are not always the most expensive. I am sincerely happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Nice dresser

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice dresser. Very heavy. Had to have a second delivered because first came damaged. Not too hard to assemble. Bottom of drawers a little odd. All of inside is gray then the bottom panel if you want it gray to match it has a stamp all over it. But it is inside the dresser and has clothes on top most of the time but it's odd to assemble.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Great Dresser for Children & Well Worth the Price!

11/20/2013
By ,
White Plains, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical to purchase furniture from Walmart even thought the reviews for this piece were positive. I wanted an inexpensive piece for my newborn until we were ready to purchase a complete set. My boyfriend put it together and although it took a few hours to complete, it was well worth it! I love this dresser and it is well worth the price. It is sturdy, holds a lot of items and is very stylish. I love that the drawers are easy pull in/out and even comes with stoppers so they won't slam. I thought I would be buying a full set for my daughter but instead I am purchasing the additional pieces! The free ship to store feature is very helpful and Walmart made it very easy for me. They even offered to help load it in my car. I am not one is review items online but I hope this helps a parent who is looking for an inexpensive GREAT dresser!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Good

06/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Not Worth The $$! Would NOT buy again.

02/09/2014
By ,
Deptford, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this South Shore 6 drawer dresser and a Sauder Shoal Creek 6 drawer dresser about a week apart. The Sauder was about $50 more but the difference in overall quality is well worth it!
South Shore uses plastic parts for everything, even the drawer slides! You can even see the plastic L brackets holding the drawers together every time you open any of the drawers. The feel of the drawers when you open them tells you its junk! Not built to last when kids will be using them.
For $50 more Sauder uses metal slides and they are adjustable. That alone is worth the price difference! All other parts are quality too. Easy to assemble and looks great. We liked the dresser so much we bought two matching night stands. Built almost as good as "real" furniture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 13 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

very sturdy and beautiful dresser

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not too easy to put together but worth the time, looks great in my guest room
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Good product for the money

06/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed this dresser to complete a seldom used guest bedroom. The drawers are on plastic slides, but the plastic seems flexible but durable.
My only complaint was the color. I ordered white to go with the other furniture. Although it was sold as white, it was actually a very antique almost yellowish white. It didn't match the other furniture at all. I will probably eventually repaint it. But that's still better than $500+ at a furniture store.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Good look HORRIBLE instructions

02/27/2011
By ,
Cleveland, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My husband and I are far from idiots but these have to be the worst instructions I've ever dealt with. We actually stopped after putting the drawers together, out of frustration just to finish the rest the following day. I purchased bunk beds and a desk with a hutch plus chair and I put them together with ease. The instructions to this were horrible. They refer to the parts such as screws with numbers in the instructions but none of the bags that come with it have numbers on them and the pictures don't help to compare. The dresser looks great although not made with real wood (which we knew) overall it's nice just a project to put together. Like the other review written it is actually white not cream I'm assuming they say cream because although it's white you can see the brush strokes in the paint which allow the light wood to show a little. I bought all white furniture and even though it's not pure white it still matches nicely. Good for the price but prepare to spend some time building it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

love it

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was a pain to put together but it has been great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Bad quality

06/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad quality! Wish I could upload the pic to show everyone
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Dresser

05/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for a little girls room. I wish it had a better paint finish in it. It looks like it was primed and not painted.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

You get what you pay for

04/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dresser is good for the price. It is not made of real wood (which we knew) therefore it is cheap, but for the price you get what you pay for. We bought it for our daughters room and hope to get at least 5 years out of the product. The good thing is the drawers are self locking, meaning then can't come all the way out unless you push on a tab. This is safe for my kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 20 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Do not buy

03/04/2012
By ,
Pasadena, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"South Shore" is the right name, because Snookie must have designed this dresser.... Fist off, I have assembled dozens of pieces of furniture. This dresser is by far the worst. The instructions are ok but the design, and quality flat out, are junk. There is the same old cam lock pin system for securing that I have used many other times. However, for this dresser, but when I pushed them into the particleboard they broke through the other side of the board. This brings up the particleboard. It is of the lowest density/ quality and seems to be made up of sawdust and play dough. Bottom line is I had to add about 20 wood screws to hold it together so it would not fall apart when I moved it into the room.
Bottom line is: not what I was expecting for $180.00
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 285 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next