Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Gentle scalloping, decorative moulding and big wooden drawer pulls give this six drawer dresser a vintage feel. The perfect complement to the South Shore Summer Breeze collection, this white dresser is just right for any bedroom in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.735 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(249 Reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
90
3 stars
37
2 stars
9
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation79%197 out of 248reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 109 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
90
3 stars
37
2 stars
9
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

It's worth it

10/11/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reviews on this scared me- but I went ahead & bought it. This is a changing table/dresser for our baby's room- and it works great. It does take a good amount of time to put it together. However, things were clearly marked and instructions easy to follow.
It's sturdy- and if you're concerned- you can reinforce it on the back w/ an extra piece of wood. We didn't- but if it gets rocky- we will. I wouldn't stand on it- but for a changing table for someone less than 20 lbs - works fine.
I put different knobs on it and gave it a more unique look. We've gotten a lot of compliments on it.
It's not a solid finish- you can see the brush strokes which is fine. Just a FYI.
Also, this is for sale - exact brand and model - at Target for $20 more than Walmart and at Babies R Us for $45 more than Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

What a piece of garbage

04/15/2012
By ,
Fairfield, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent 4-hours on a Sunday putting this thing together. First off the instructions are God awful. I spent more time reading, re-reading, and then reading them again to figure out which hardware to use.
When screwing the drawer stabilizere bracket, the screw left a gap inside the drawer (see picture).
The final straw was the cabinet assembly. Several of the quick fit dowel and the Cam Klix ripped out of the hole. This resulted in the dresser totally collapsing (see pic).
Now I gotta take more time and ask a friend to help me return this piece of junk.
If you are thinking, good luck screwing things in as it does not recommend using a drill.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

fall in love

02/21/2013
By ,
bronx, new york
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my 4yrd daughter for her new room make over. I was watching this product online on multiple sites and reading reviews. When i saw walmart had it a steal. I ordered it and waited. I arrive quickly less the a week. some people said it cam chip. But mines was wrapped in plastic well. Everything was labeled and written well. I put it together with my husband, that took 2 hours it may happen less if i wasn't watching kids and he used the wrong screws. Besides that all was a go. I hate the knobs they look like they need another coat of paint. the dresser too looks like that but more of a distressed look somewhat. I replace the knobs which were on sale at target and made the dresser pop. Now i love the dresser more than every. The Best thing i love but was different is that the brackets the attach the dresser to the drawer is made of plastic, one the snap n the draw doesn't come out so easy. So i am not worry about the dresser falling on her.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Beautiful Dresser

02/03/2014
By ,
Claremont, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm completely impressed with walmart on this one. I was very worried from the beginning about not being able to see the item first, having it shipped and then building. First off shipping was extremely fast I did not expect to see it for another week, and was pleasantly surprised to find it on my doorstep 5 days before the initial delivery date. It was packed soundly, and not a piece was damaged. Item is beautiful, exactly like the photo & description, perfectly solid and well made. Set-up was a breeze I did it myself, taking my time, and it took me and hour & a half tops. I was also very impressed with the way hardware for each drawer was individually packaged, i'd never seen that before, it made the process go very smoothly . Directions were just like every other set i've had, some steps make you read them a few times to grasp what they're telling you to do, but I figured them out. I do recommend building drawers one at a time they kind of make it sound like you should do each step for all 6 at once, but it definitely made it easier to finish one before starting the other, once you get the first one done you'll be a pro at the rest. Really I have nothing bad to say about this dresser well worth the money. I couldn't imagine spending any more on a dresser when the quality of this one it so great and exactly what I needed. *Side note if your using this in a nursery, it is the perfect size for a standard changing pad.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

love the look

03/14/2012
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
when I put the frame together I was upset at first because the frame of the dresser was shaky I took it apart all ready to send it back I began my search for a dresser I liked as equally as this one to find none to my liking and no way was I paying $600.00 for something I did not love so I decided to give it another shot and I am so glad I did the drawers slide smoothly even though the sliders are plastic it is sturdy once it's all put together very nice and worth the money had it together with no help in about 2 1/2 hours the color is white with an antique look to the paint cant wait to order the 5 drawer dresser to match
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

This is just perfect

09/09/2010
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this dresser and two nightstands to go in my girly room that is done in pink, white, gold and crystal. Even though the ad says it is cream it is actually arctic white and goes perfectly with my room decor.
I don't know why many reviewers complained about this product it is very sturdy. If you are concerned about the strength of the bottom of the drawers it is easy to add a 1 x 1 inch wood support underneath on the dresser frame but IMHO it doesn't need it.
As for drawer size it holds all the things I need to go in it very well.
The drawers slide in and out nicely with stops to keep them from coming all the way out.
This dresser has lots of possibilities for decorating, including repainting if you want another color or decoupage.
I changed the plain white knobs for ones with gold trim and ceramic rounds with roses for under $15 and then added more gold leaf trim around the edges of the center drawer facing and it looks way more expensive than it was.
I wish Wal Mart carried more items of this collection, its a great set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Not Worth The $$! Would NOT buy again.

02/09/2014
By ,
Deptford, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this South Shore 6 drawer dresser and a Sauder Shoal Creek 6 drawer dresser about a week apart. The Sauder was about $50 more but the difference in overall quality is well worth it!
South Shore uses plastic parts for everything, even the drawer slides! You can even see the plastic L brackets holding the drawers together every time you open any of the drawers. The feel of the drawers when you open them tells you its junk! Not built to last when kids will be using them.
For $50 more Sauder uses metal slides and they are adjustable. That alone is worth the price difference! All other parts are quality too. Easy to assemble and looks great. We liked the dresser so much we bought two matching night stands. Built almost as good as "real" furniture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Great Dresser for Children & Well Worth the Price!

11/20/2013
By ,
White Plains, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical to purchase furniture from Walmart even thought the reviews for this piece were positive. I wanted an inexpensive piece for my newborn until we were ready to purchase a complete set. My boyfriend put it together and although it took a few hours to complete, it was well worth it! I love this dresser and it is well worth the price. It is sturdy, holds a lot of items and is very stylish. I love that the drawers are easy pull in/out and even comes with stoppers so they won't slam. I thought I would be buying a full set for my daughter but instead I am purchasing the additional pieces! The free ship to store feature is very helpful and Walmart made it very easy for me. They even offered to help load it in my car. I am not one is review items online but I hope this helps a parent who is looking for an inexpensive GREAT dresser!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Nice for the price

09/10/2009
By ,
Avis, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews, I was a little apprehensive when it came to purchasing this dresser. However, my husband and I decided to go ahead and "chance it".We are so glad that we did.
This dresser does need to be assembled, and it does take some time. My husband is very handy, and he didn't have any trouble with me reading the directions to him. We were so pleased with the end result. It is very sturdy and the drawers work very smoothly.
I would recommend this dresser to anyone that has the patience to assemble the dresser. You will need two people to assemble it and a lot of time to complete it. It is definitely worth the time and price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Love it!

04/15/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy and visually beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Good look HORRIBLE instructions

02/27/2011
By ,
Cleveland, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My husband and I are far from idiots but these have to be the worst instructions I've ever dealt with. We actually stopped after putting the drawers together, out of frustration just to finish the rest the following day. I purchased bunk beds and a desk with a hutch plus chair and I put them together with ease. The instructions to this were horrible. They refer to the parts such as screws with numbers in the instructions but none of the bags that come with it have numbers on them and the pictures don't help to compare. The dresser looks great although not made with real wood (which we knew) overall it's nice just a project to put together. Like the other review written it is actually white not cream I'm assuming they say cream because although it's white you can see the brush strokes in the paint which allow the light wood to show a little. I bought all white furniture and even though it's not pure white it still matches nicely. Good for the price but prepare to spend some time building it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

worth it!

03/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what I expected. Looks great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Beware of the color

03/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was very excited to receive the item quickly. However, upon opening the package, I noticed the color is NOT solid white. Rather, the dresser has an off white base with cream colored striations to mimic a wood grain finish. If you step a few feet back, the dresser looks cream. Walmart customer service get FIVE stars though. First, they sent another dresser right out in case the first one I received was a fluke. It also arrived quickly, but with the same color issue. I called back and they offered to have both picked up at my convenience.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash
07/22/2007
By ,
Panama City,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very sturdy and pretty easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Wasn't happy

03/13/2014
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's not real wood and you can't use a drill to put it together and the brackets to put the draws in are plastic would not last for a baby or a kid very long returned it let down
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Very disappointing!

03/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poorly painted it's very streaky and came in with a big dent right on top. I was very disappointed in this product which was for my baby's room.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Love AM's New Beautiful Dresser! !

03/06/2014
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It matched her bed beautifully and it was affordable. Also, Walmart's site to store pickup assembled this for free. Now that's Awesome customer service for every bang for your buck...just can't beat that!! Not to mention, how fast it was ready with great customer service. Will definitely recommend this to my friends! !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Good dresser but color doesn't match image.

02/25/2014
By ,
LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This dresser was easy to set up, but ended up being wobbly. After using wood glue on it it was really sturdy. The color did not match the picture which was very disappointing. It doesn't seem to have enough coats of paint, the grain from the wood is still showing through. Aside from color, it does match the image. There is space underneath the top drawers which shows in the image but it isn't very noticeable in person. Overall I am satisfied with the dresser, I think painting it will allow me to fall in love with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

Great dresser

03/12/2014
By ,
Kalamazoo, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dresser
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Summer Breeze Double Dresser, White Wash

You get what you pay for

04/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dresser is good for the price. It is not made of real wood (which we knew) therefore it is cheap, but for the price you get what you pay for. We bought it for our daughters room and hope to get at least 5 years out of the product. The good thing is the drawers are self locking, meaning then can't come all the way out unless you push on a tab. This is safe for my kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 232 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next