Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

South Shore South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

The South Shore Bookcase Headboard will make a sturdy and cute looking addition to your bed, giving it elegance and panache. The headboard offers a great display place to keep decorative items. It is a twin bed bookcase headboard that is great for kids who are in the process of outgrowing their toddler beds. The headboard has been given a laminated white wash finish that will blend it beautifully with your child's bedroom dcor. The product, made from engineered wood, will provide good durable service for many years at an affordable budget. The white bookcase headboard offers spacious storage and display space, divided into five divided compartments as well as a long shelf. The South Shore headboard comes with well written, step-by-step instructions that include pictures to help you assemble the bed within a short period of time. Each piece is labeled to minimize the chances of error while assembling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
40
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation89%116 out of 130reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
40
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Adorable!

04/29/2011
By ,
Northern KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 8yr old daughter...she loves it!! Very quick shipping and Easy to put together.
wonderful product!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Very nice, sturdy headboard.

07/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The side shelves are a bit too small for most books, and due to their small size, will be prone to collecting odds and ends/clutter, which is one thing I was trying to avoid. Still, it is a very sturdy headboard and it looks nice. When putting it together, it is much easier to start by attaching the shelves to one of the side panels rather than starting at the top as the directions indicate. Once I did that, I had the whole thing together in about 15 minutes. I was afraid it might look cheap or flimsy but it really looks nice.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Absolutely beautiful - I LOVE THESE BEDS!

03/29/2013
By ,
Cape Cod
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought two of these beds for our daughters' room (sold their bunks as they are SUCH a pain in the butt to make the beds). These were not hard to put together and are BEAUTIFUL. The girls absolutely LOVE their new beds. They looks so beautiful in their room. I'm so glad we bought these. And if you need a mattress, look for the mattress in a box (about $125?). Seriously, it is so dang comfortable that I went into their room to take a nap the other day than in my kind size bed with expensive mattress. No joke!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Very nice headboard

10/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This piece was easy to put together and good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Not what we expected!

08/07/2008
By ,
Orange, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this headboard and bed set for each of my 2 kids who are 3 and 5 years old. I did not expect these beds to last through their teens but the quality of the bed was well below my expectations. The bed is made of very thin particle board and the paint was extremely thin also. The handles on the drawers had a rough texture from the poor paint job. The beds were poorly packaged and I had to return one of the beds because a large piece of it was broken in half. I also found a chip in the particle board the size of a quarter on one of the headboards in an area that was fairly visible. I like the style of the beds but the quality and the condition that it was in when we opened the box was well below our expectations. The picture of the bed and headboard looked really good online but in real life the quality is reflected in the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

LOVE IT!!!!!!!!

01/18/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 bed boxes, headboards, and a nightstand for my daughters' bedroom. It is too cute. The color works well with their bedroom, all of the parts were in the box, and nothing was damaged. The bed was easy to put together. The directions were clear and there were even pictures to give you step by step instructions. It took about an hour and a half to put it together. All you need is a screwdriver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

I am thrilled with this bed

02/03/2008
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled with this Headboard. It was easy to put together. Directions were well written -- each piece is labeled so there's less room for error.. The end result is a very nice looking sturdy Bookcase Headboard. We bought it for our daughter who had outgrown her toddler bed -- and "thank the heavens" she wants to sleep in her own bed now -- No more trips to crawl into bed with me... I did not think we could ever break her of that – but this bed made it possible….
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

LOVE this headboard!

12/11/2010
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this headboard (and entire bedroom set) because we loved the design over others. It also has an unbeatable price. It was fairly easy to assemble, and we just love it. Very nice!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Great Buy!!

04/17/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchased a nightstand and two sets of bookcase headboard and mate box for my girls room and I'm glad we picked this one.. It looks great in their room and they like it a lot!! therefore we are happy.. =) It was pretty easy for me to put together.. although one of the piece in the bookcase headboard was different like the other review that I've read..luckily is was a back piece.. so what's up with that?.. i think overall the quality is pretty good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

A good buy

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this with the 3 drawer bed. The bookshelf headboard was a big hit with my 9 year old to store her books for bedtime reading. Has room to store other items as well. Very easy to assemble and looks nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Super Easy to put together!

06/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these and am not a FAN of putting things together! Super easy, Super sturdy, looks solid and fantastic!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash
04/14/2013
By ,
Eufaula, Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was excited to get this new bed for my daughter. However, the measurements were incorrect. There is an inch gap from bottom of shelves to supporting legs. therefor, more supports pieces on the bottom were unable to be attatched properly. Thankfully, I was putting this up in a corner of the room so the walls can hold this up. I like the appearance of the whitewash, it matches her purple walls well, but that gap was too much of an eye sore, so I had to doctor somethings up. I would like to have some of my money back due to the inconvenience of spending money on something that isn't exactly how it is supposed to be, and not because of me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Cracked

10/04/2007
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ordered this headboard and had it shipped to our local store. After we had the bed and the rest of the headboard put together, we noticed that the white part that was supposed to be nailed to the back of the bookcase was cracked in one corner and therefore a hole would be seen through one of the cubbies. We placed it against our daughters lilac wall and decided that we liked the bookcase better without the back on it because we can see the color of her walls through the cubbies. However, we may still order a new backing for her bookshelf - in case we want to use it in the future.
PS. Also, it is a VANILLA stain - NOT WHITE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Cute Headboard

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter and I were pleased with this product. We received it in a timely fashion, and all of the pieces were there. One piece had a small, shallow crack, but it was on the inside. I put some gorilla glue over it for extra stability, and it seems fine. It was very easy to put togther, and easy to attach to the bed. My daughter loves the shelves.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Disappointment

12/09/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these, with the twin mates bed w/drawers & 2 of the nightstands. The beds BOTH arrived broken & while were were in the process of returning them, my husband attempted to put together one of these. There were too few holes pre-drilled. While my husband is capable of doing this, we decided to return the whole lot, due to the poor quality. The beds, by the way, arrived in boxes that appeared completely undamaged, another nod to the quality. They are made in Canada, if anyone is interested, though clearly not to any higher quality standards than any other country.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

A good bed for the price

04/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The headboard overall was good. The only problem is there doesn't seem to be enough bracing in the back so the top part does wiggle a little but nothing a couple extra pieces of hardware from your local store can't fix. Somehow the headboard did break a little during assembly and after the holiday weekend I will be calling to discuss a replacement part if possible. My daughter loves her big girl bed she has slowly been using all the storage space to store all of her ponies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Not upto the mark

04/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this bed for my daughter who was very excited to recieve it. But when we took it out of the box to assemble it we found out that the paint job very bad. The wood behind the white paint was visible. The strokes of the paint were visible. It seemed like only one light coat of paint was done.
I like the bed especially the headboard and really wanted to save it for my daughter. But had to return it due to the cheap paint job.
I did not assemble the bed to see if it was sturdy enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

Nice looking headboard for the money.

11/12/2013
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The headboard looks great in my daughter's bedroom. It is just what we were looking for. All pieces were in the box and they all arrived in great condition. My husband and I followed the directions for setup and we finished in about 45 minutes. Everything seemed to line up great when we set it up, but we did find just a couple of places where we needed to use a screw were not drilled yet. It made it challenging to put the screws in the wood without some kind of a starter hole, but we managed. Would have been easier to just get the drill out though. Overall we are very pleased. One note about the color: it is not a crisp white paint color, but that is stated when you look at the product's description. I personally like the white wash look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

UGH!

11/23/2010
By ,
Casco, Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i bought the box bed for my daughters room. had a little bit of trouble putting that together. the screws never wanted to fit in the holes they provided, but after alot of work, they finally did. (and i consider myself to be pretty crafty at putting things together.) a couple months later we got the money to buy the headboard and ran into the same problems with the headboard as we did with the bed. the screws did not want to tighten, the peices did not fit properly and there were dents and cracks in the wood panels. very frustrating especially when you have the millions of little (and heavy) pices all over and you have to pack it back up and figure out how to get it back to the store with 2 kids in tow. very disappointed and not sure at this point if its even worth trying for another one....UGH!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Summer Breeze Twin Bookcase Headboard, White Wash

good headboard

06/27/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a good headboard with storage options. It was quite straight forward to put together as well. The only reason why I didn't give it full stars was that one of the pieces (G1) didn't have dowel pin holes on one side !! I had to drill the holes myself to make sure it fit as per the installation instructions !
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next