Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Eureka Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Eureka Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

The Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum strikes the elusive, optimum balance between lightweight portability and robustness to provide unparalleled efficiency in the cleaning process. Weighing less than 12 pounds, this compact canister vacuum helps you choose from floor types to suit different cleaning surfaces. For instance, you can switch from bare floor to carpeted areas at the flick of a button, which adapts the cleaning process to conform to the change in surface. A cursory glance at the bag change indicator reveals if the bag needs to be emptied. You can set the height of the handle to suit your convenience using the adjustable telescopic handle. The hose swivels in 360 facilitating hassle free vacuuming in all directions while the 17-feet power cord lets you cover large areas without resorting to a different power outlet. The automatic cord rewind vacuum lets you rewind the cord using a cord-rewind button so you can store the Eureka vacuum cleaner with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.865 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
65
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation78%138 out of 178reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
65
3 stars
15
2 stars
9
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Works For Me!

01/21/2009
By ,
WBL Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this lttle guy a few weeks ago at my local Walmart AFTER reading the reviews. Based on what I had read I thought I would try it.
I was looking for something light weight with alot of power. I have 3 large dogs and a lot of dog hair, especially now in the winter. I vacuum alot, at least once a day. I use this little guy on all my tile flooring, he is not that great on carpet so I use my uprights on those areas. I do use a special attachment from my uprights with it to do my carpeted stairs.
I like the fact that it is light enough to carry up and down the stairs.
The on board tools are whimpy, but I have two Eureka uprights and the tools fit this one just fine. The metal adjustable tubes are nice. My uprights are plastic and have cracked.
I do have a concern about the retractable cord. I am a bit afraid that it will be the first thing to fail, so I help it out by guiding it into place. And yes, it could be longer but to me that is a minor issue.
For the price, this is a nice little vacuum, lots of power and light weight. Just what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 2 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Great vacuum -- very pleased

08/27/2007
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 25 years of reliable service, the motor on my Eureka Mighty Mite canister vacuum finally bit the dust. I was afraid that I would discover that "they don't make 'em like they used to." To the contrary, the new model offers many improvements relative to the classic model. The maneuverability of the canister unit is excellent, and the maneuveribility of the vacuum head is outstanding (the swivel joint and micro wheels are ingenious). The auto cord retract feature is super convenient. The metal wand is much more durable than the plastic wands on most other models, and it stays together better. The fact that the canister can store in an upright position makes it much easier to fit into my closet. Last but not least, the suction is more powerful than my classic model. ---- What don't I like? The dust bag on this model is much smaller than the bag on my classic old model. It doesn't come with a floor brush as standard (although the brush from my old model fits the new wand just fine). I'm not sure how durable the auto cord rewind mechanism will be (it feels like it will be the first thing to go). ---- This model is designed for hard floors, rugs, stairs, upholstery, etc. It does not have a beater bar in the vacuum head, so it would not be a good choice for lots of wall-to-wall carpeting. For the kitchen, hallways, etc., it's ideal, since it's powerful, light, and maneuverable. ---- Overall, I'm thrilled with the new vacuum. I wish I'd traded in my old classic years ago; the new model is clearly superior. ---- I researched comparable models pretty carefully before choosing this one. Interestingly, Amazon and other online stores didn't seem to carry this model, which is the only one that had all the features I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+148points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gallatin, Tn
Eureka Rally 2 Vac
Posted 10/16/2011
I love this. It's small, light weight and perfect for hard wood or tile floors! I have 4 dogs and 2 cats and have to vaccum every day. It works great for me. My only complaint is the floor brush is now sticking. They want $25.00 for a replacement piece. I only paid $48.00 for the vac. I think that is rediculous! I would rather spend another $48 and get a new one and give the old one to charity!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Perfect for a Picky Buyer

01/17/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After returning 2 battery operated uprights I chose the Eureka canister based on price, light weight and appearance. The simple design was important for preventing future repairs like with the crazy looking, more expensive uprights. I was concerned about the light/plastic vaccumn head but was pleased when I got home. The suction is great for lifting debris in the cracks of my wide pine floors. I had to vaccumn several times over my flat rugs before realizing to use the brushes located on the head. They pulled all the lint off my rugs-very pleased. Love the easy storage and light weight. The cord length works well as it's long enough to vaccumn each room seperately. Unplugging it from each room prevents tripping over the cord or having it grab furniture along it's path.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 4 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

great little vac

05/23/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this vac! I have arthritis and it's very hard for me to lug around my upright for cobwebs, this vac is easy to use ,comes with a great attachment for upholstery & curtains. I have to order bags because their a little hard to find, but ,it's worth it ! Glad I bought it , I'm very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 5 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Worth considering

04/05/2008
By ,
Bumpass VA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit is lightweight but rugged enough to last if it is taken care of. T type bags are non-existant in stores so look elsewhere and stock up. Works very well on hard surface floors and steps. Cord is a little on the short side so buy a 25' extention cord to keep with the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 6 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Great vacuum

07/23/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great vacuum for the price and for what it is. I only have hardwoods, so I'm not sure, if it's strong enough for carpet. But for my needs I love it.
The only thing is, I wish the cord would be a little longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 7 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

excellent vacuum

03/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this after reading reviews. It is a fantastic machine. The wand expands to various heights so it's easy to put away, yet adjusts to be comfortable when using. It maneuvers easily and is light enough to carry.
Retractable cord works great so far. Wish it was a bit longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 8 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Great Little Vac! Great Value!

10/27/2009
By ,
Long Neck, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WALMART DOES IT AGAIN!!!! This vac is the best of all the small vacs I've owned, including Oreck and Mighty Mite! This one doesn't tip over because it swivels, both the hose and the vac! The value is incredible because of the features.The extension wand is metal, which if you ever had plastic, know they crack. The 11 amps makes this powerful enough to handle difficult jobs like pet hair from 2 long haired cats. The attachments are good too. The small dust brush/crevice are good for small jobs. I have larger ones for larger jobs left over from the other vacs that fit. You can order a larger dust brush for a small amount which still makes this a great value.The floor tool is good for hardwood floors and low napped rugs. I use my upright for carpeting. The only drawback is the small bag, but then, nothing here on earth is perfect!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 9 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Just what I was looking for!

04/09/2010
By ,
Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's cheap, reasonably powerful, and not too big.
I clean houses for a living and this vacuum is everything I was looking for. (If only it came in neon green!)
My one complaint is that the place the hose connects to the canister is an elbow joint instead of straight in. I understand they did this thinking it improves swiveling, but for me it places too much pressure on that seal as I pull it around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Love my new "smallvac"

04/03/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Shark stick vac with hose attachment simply died, so I took the opportunity to buy a new, better vacuum. My mom always used a Eureka Mighty Mite which she referred to as "the smallvac", so I sought that brand. For $48.88 plus tax, I worried that I was buying an inferior product, but since getting it home and putting it through it's paces, I love it. It has very strong suction that had no trouble with cat litter, hair, even larger items with the bare floor attachment. I will mention that I never use this kind of vacuum for any kind of carpet (that's what an upright is for), so if that is a necessary feature for you, I would peruse some other reviews. I had no issues with the length of hose, quality of hose (no kinks) or having to bend over with the telescoping hose and attachment, although I am only 5' 4". This little vacuum wheeled around beautifully wherever I went and the retractable cord feature was smooth, fast, and very convenient. I also liked that the cord retractor and power buttons are large and on the top of the machine, so they can be turned on and off with a foot if desired. I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. My Shark sounded like a jet about to take off, but this one is quite mild for the power it seems to have. This vacuum takes Eureka bags that are easy to locate in any store. I hate emptying bagless vacuums. The icing on the cake for me is that the vacuum is yellow, my favorite color! Definitely a good buy for the price. I'm not sure what else I would want in a vacuum that I'd be willing to pay more for, this seems to have it all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 11 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Mother-in-law loves it

11/30/2009
By ,
Litchfield Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I made this purchase for my mother-in-law, since she doesn't 'do' computers. She has been looking for a replacement for the canister vac we bought her at Walmart a few years back. The hoses got beat up and there are no replacements anywhere. This one was easy for her to assemble and set up. And she is just thrilled with it! She is able to do her own vacumming at 80 years of age, only needing some help with furniture moving. The tubes on it are made of metal, not brittle plastic. And the indicator telling her when the bag is full is a big help to her, too. I just hope that bags are available at Walmart when she needs them. Definitely a win-win!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 12 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Just like the reviews said. Great buy.

05/15/2011
By ,
Apex, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this mainly for wood floors and dog hair control. It does the job. It's light and has enough suction power to keep my hardwood floors clean and free of dustbunnies, furballs and crumbs. It even takes care of dog hair on small entry and area rugs. You can carry it with one hand while using other hand to vacuum stairs (harwood too) I gladly give it better ratings than the more expensive "sharks" I bought before. Could have longer cord and more power? sure, but for the very reasonable price, it is a great buy. My walmart did have the T bags on sale but at higher price than the 9 bag pack offered on line. Buy bags on line!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 13 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Nice easy to use vacuum

12/08/2010
By ,
Forest Lake, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife needed a vacuum to replace a 25 year old Kirby that she used as an oversized canister vac. This little vacuum is lightweight and still has enough suction to pick up dog hair on stairs, cat litter, and even bolts, screws and a pen. The cord wrap feature is also very convenient. Works great, easy to move around the house and stows away nicely. Well worth the money spent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 14 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

nice canister vac

02/23/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replacement filter bags are not carried by walmart online or in walmart stores. The "T" filter bags are very hard to find.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bullhead City, AZ
I bought my replacement bags @ Walmart
Posted 10/16/2011
I purchased this vac @ Walmart the other day and right beside it they had the replacement bags... I also looked online for "T" size bags and they have them there.. Walmart, Sears and alot of other stores carry this size bag...........
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B
01/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A month ago I purchased this vacuum. Right away the hose comes out of the vacuum. Maybe because when you pull it the hose is attached at the top of the canister rather that the front where it would be easy to pull around. The cord retracts about half way and then you have to feed it in the rest of the way.
I got a replacement vacuum after a few phone calls. The same thing with the second one. Not worth the money.
Might be ok for your son or daughter away at college. That's about it!
Very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 16 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Great, inexpensive vacuum.

07/09/2012
By ,
Northeast
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this about a year ago, after having an upright for years that I found too big and awkward. I only have wood floors, so I didn't need a beater bar. I have always preferred canisters to uprights, because they are easier to handle, and to use attachments. I read the reviews, and this one was rated well. The handle is telescoping, so it's easier to store. The handle hooks to the bottom of the vacuum so it's easier to store, and carry around. I have found after having this for a year, that it's sturdier than i thought it was going to be. The tube is thinner than more expensive canisters, but that hasn't been a problem. The cord re-winder still works great. It has great suction on floors, and I have used it on area rugs and it has worked well. The only thing I don't like is the size of the vacuum bag. It is quite small, so you have to check it quite often to make sure it's not full. They don't sell them in the store, so I have to make sure I order them from this site, and get enough at one time. That's probably because of the space that the cord re-winder takes up. There was only one attachment, a crevice-brush tool that stores on the bottom of the vacuum. I have found that it has fallen off and been lost on more than one occasion. I wouldn't store it on the bottom, I would put it elsewhere.
For a fifty dollar vacuum, I was surprised of the quality and suction power of this vacuum. I have been happy with it, and if it is taken care of, the bag checked, and you realize that this is mainly to be used for floors, you should be happy with this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 17 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Eureka Maxima 11-Amp Canister Vacuum, Model 972B

05/06/2009
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The suction is really powerful, and it also has a brush to clean up hair on the carpet. The best feature is its suction power.
However, the wand keeps falling out of the hose when vacuuming, since the wand is considerably heavier than the hose. This is the only problem, but still this is only minor. Its power totally compensates for this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 18 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Useless

09/16/2010
By ,
Granger, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am baffled why so many like this thing. It was okay on the hardwood but on carpet its useless. I had to go over the same spot several times to pick up visual dirt. The cord is not long enough. I have to stop halfway up the stairs to unplug and replug this thing in. Honestly, it didn't even seem like it vacuumed anything. The carpet doesnt even have a slight mark on it. Maybe it just picks up light lint that sits on top of the carpet. The wand is simply too short. I am hunched over using this thing and I am only 5'4, so its not like I am a tall person. Had a shoulder ache after using it 15 minutes. My store had the bags so I bought several packages. There was no issue for me on this but since so many complain about it, I am wondering if Walmart is ready to stop selling this. I know this machine was only 48 bucks but its not worth it to keep. I am going to return this, hopefully the store won't give me a hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

High pitched SCREECH!

06/05/2012
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just bought this today and anxious to try it out after reading the great reviews. Don't believe
no one mentioned the very annoying, high-pitched whistling sound it makes. At first I thought
maybe I did not have a part properly connected, but I checked at rechecked and found nothing wrong there. Also disappointed with the length of the hose, wand and power cord. As far as cleaning power, it did a good job, but for the whistling sound alone (like nails on a blackboard!)I have to return it. I couldn't get through one vacuum listening to that!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 20 for Eureka Rally 2 Canister Vacuum with Automatic Cord Rewind, 980B

Huge disappointment! Don't buy this one!

06/21/2012
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a lightweight canister with cord rewind. This one should have been perfect, except that it came without the second part of the extension so is good for people who are under 4' 6" only. There's no beater bar, so pet hair must be manually removed and fed into it. It tips over very easily so I found myself dragging it on its side much of the time. The thumb air controller stays open, spits out pieces of dirt on me. The extension won't stay connected to the head.
Worthless! It's going back.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next